Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

It will be later than you think tomorrow morning.

• 30-03-2019 6:02pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,059 ✭✭✭✭Spanish Eyes

So, you are lying there and thinking it is ten bells, but it really is eleven.

Get up outta that.

I detest these changes of clocks.

Anyone else feel the same. But we are stuck with it for now unless someone decides in a few years that it will all be the same at this time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,440 ✭✭✭✭Sardonicat

Anyone else feel the same. But we are stuck with it for now unless someone decides in a few years that it will all be the same at this time.

Just 1 more year Spanish.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,275 ✭✭✭Your Face

I hate that about clocks, they change every second.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 11,904 Mod ✭✭✭✭igCorcaigh

Your Face wrote: »
    I hate that about clocks, they change every second.

Even when they're wrong, they're sometimes right. Hate clocks.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,070 ✭✭✭Franz Von Peppercorn

igCorcaigh wrote: »
    Even when they're wrong, they're sometimes right. Hate clocks.

Right twice a day, innit.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,488 ✭✭✭Fighting Tao

The devices I use for telling me the time automatically change so it will be exactly what I expected. No later, no earlier.

Get up outta that.

It’s malcontents like you that have caused the recent messing with a working system.

“Ooh I lose an hour of sleep once a year”. Feck off.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,844 ✭✭✭✭somesoldiers

I love eejits in work still talk about arranging their BS meetings in GMT for the next 6 months when they really mean BST

The devices I use for telling me the time automatically change so it will be exactly what I expected. No later, no earlier.
    But they've stolen an hour of precious sleep!

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 11,904 Mod ✭✭✭✭igCorcaigh

I love eejits in work still talk about arranging their BS meetings in GMT for the next 6 months when they really mean BST

Or IST for us Irish.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,896 ✭✭✭Hande hoche!

Working a night shift this evening, so tis grand.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,956 ✭✭✭✭Omackeral

I detest people who say the bolded part.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,690 ✭✭✭✭Skylinehead

Omackeral wrote: »

You hate people who say the time?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,593 ✭✭✭theteal

So enjoy yourself. . .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,636 ✭✭✭FishOnABike

But it really is eleven. Irish Standard Time is one hour ahead of GMT ( or UTC if you prefer). We put the clock back in Winter.

In Ireland, the Standard Time Act 1968 legally established that the time for general purposes in the State (to be known as standard time) shall be one hour in advance of Greenwich mean time throughout the year.

This act was amended by the Standard Time (Amendment) Act 1971, which legally established Greenwich Mean Time as a winter time period.

Ireland therefore operates one hour behind standard time during the winter period, and reverts to standard time in the summer months. This is defined in contrast to the other states in the European Union, which operate one hour ahead of standard time during the summer period, but produces the same end result.

i think you mixed up their post with people who say the 'oh but if the clocks didnt change it would really be 10, not 11, so it's reaaaaaally 10'

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,795 ✭✭✭Mrcaramelchoc

I love sittin in the kitchen,listenin to the grandfather clock shmoking the fag and havin de drop of whishkey. nothin but me and the clock.waitin for it to go forward

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,488 ✭✭✭Fighting Tao

Sardonicat wrote: »

Why should I believe you? I’ll set the alarm in the morning and I’ll get up at that time not an hour behind!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 32,688 ✭✭✭✭ytpe2r5bxkn0c1

Or we're paying back the hour we borrowed in October.

Why should I believe you? I’ll set the alarm in the morning and I’ll get up at that time not an hour behind!
    You'll be sleepy. It will be darker ( if you're an early riser) . I hate this time shift. Hate it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,034 ✭✭✭mad muffin

I’ve already the clocks forward… fück it.

Or we're paying back the hour we borrowed in October.

Speak for yourself. I was woken up early.