Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

What is a "professional"

• 26-03-2019 6:06pm
    Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 127 ✭✭

You do see this advertised on plenty of rent adverts. Professional couple, professionals house, so on.

What, exactly, is a professional in the scheme of these ads? It presumably aims to dissuade students, the unemployed, part time workers etc but what does it really mean.

Does it exclude warehouse workers?
    Tradesmen?
    Lorry drivers?

Something about professional hints slacks and black leather shoes, yet plenty of people with this attire are on appallingly bad money. Why not just say working people wanted?

Is it a oblique way of saying we want people who regard themselves as middle to upper class, preferably with some sort of 3rd level qualification?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,642 ✭✭✭thomil

For me, it's anyone who has been able to move past an entry level job and has left the most extreme part of their partying days behind them, so people who are somewhat stable in their income and employment situation. I haven't seen the term used in a way to exclude tradesmen as such.

Good luck trying to figure me out. I haven't managed that myself yet!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,685 ✭✭✭✭NIMAN

I think it basically means someone who is employed.

Another way of saying I don't want some dole scrounger renting my house, cos they'll likely wreck it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26,658 ✭✭✭✭OldMrBrennan83

Ads like that mean someone who wears a suit to work.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 32,688 ✭✭✭✭ytpe2r5bxkn0c1

It's intended to limit it to Doctors, solicitors, etc and is a snobbish term.

Anybody who is employed and thus receives payment for their labour is a professional, but it's not just anybody these people want.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 127 ✭✭Maurice Yeltsin

There's a lot of people wearing shoes and a shirt to work who earn 23k. It's always strange how the CSO reports finance to be the top earning sector. By gross mean maybe, the median money would be very average for the bulk of staff.

Unless he never shows up half the time there's nobody in Dublin wearing work boots earning less than 36k per year (at a minimum), bar apprentices. With most qualified trades reasonably above that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,275 ✭✭✭Your Face

Hulk Hogan and the lads.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 127 ✭✭Maurice Yeltsin

NIMAN wrote: »

Another way of saying I don't want some dole scrounger renting my house, cos they'll likely wreck it.

House sharing with the perennially unemployed is a second job in itself. Never again. I'd go to prison sooner than live with some stoned leftie on rent supplement again.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,474 ✭✭✭Obvious Desperate Breakfasts

In the context of rentals, I just take it to mean ‘somebody who is working and is mature’.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

Professional couple = really good at being a couple, maybe even experts

• Closed Accounts Posts: 594 ✭✭✭Force Carrier

Katie Taylor is a professional. She used to be an amateur.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,226 ✭✭✭Credit Checker Moose

I has a profession, that makes me a professional.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,555 ✭✭✭Roger Hassenforder

Is it not just people who are working and wont be claiming rent allowance.
    And no students.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,592 ✭✭✭✭kneemos

People who get paid by the month.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,385 ✭✭✭lainey_d_123

House sharing with the perennially unemployed is a second job in itself. Never again. I'd go to prison sooner than live with some stoned leftie on rent supplement again.

Sounds like you lived with one of my ex-housemates. Lazy hypocritical w@nker. Full of talk of how much he hated 'the man' and didn't want to work for 'the man' but not a problem living off dole money funded by other people's hard work, using public services and helping himself to food purchased by myself and the other working housemates. I don't think there's any more odious type of person than an educated person from a middle class background who has chosen to be unemployed and live a scrounging lifestyle.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,839 ✭✭✭✭padd b1975

In the context of rentals, I just take it to mean ‘somebody who is working and is mature’.

I always thought it meant someone who wasn't a student.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,839 ✭✭✭✭padd b1975

biko wrote: »
    Professional couple = really good at being a couple, maybe even experts

I'm still not renting out a room to them!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,947 ✭✭✭✭Beechwoodspark

I’ve a friend a chartered accountant.

Divorced the wife. Cheating the whole time so no surprise. Drinks every night to excess. Sacked many times. Doubt he earns much.

But he’s seemingly a professional.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,092 ✭✭✭The Tetrarch

An organised occupation where you profess to follow the rules of the organisation.

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 10,446 Mod ✭✭✭✭xzanti

Someone who has their sh1t together.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,055 ✭✭✭JohnnyFlash

Slightly archaic term, but would be used in rental ads to indicate the landlord is looking for teachers, accountants, nurses, software developers etc. People who hopefully will pay the rent on time and not destroy the place.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,239 ✭✭✭Jimbob1977

Traditionally:

White collar, office job, with no manual labour.... doesn't get hands dirty

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,474 ✭✭✭Obvious Desperate Breakfasts

padd b1975 wrote: »
    I always thought it meant someone who wasn't a student.

Yeah, that too.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,750 ✭✭✭Avatar MIA

An organised occupation where you profess to follow the rules of the organisation.

We have a winner

Divorced the wife. Drinks every night to excess. Sacked many times. Doubt he earns much. But he’s seemingly a professional.

While employed and a member of CAI, yes, your FRIEND is a professional.

Divorced the wife. Drinks every night to excess. Sacked many times. Doubt he earns much. But he’s seemingly a professional.

I wouldn't like to be your enemy.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,555 ✭✭✭Roger Hassenforder

Slightly archaic term, but would be used in rental ads to indicate the landlord is looking for teachers, accountants, nurses, software developers etc. People who hopefully will pay the rent on time and not destroy the place.

That must be the first post of yours where you havent regaled us with a tale of you wearing the sod off some wan after a feed of Mojitos

#slipping

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 952 ✭✭✭s4uv3

It's a bit nonsensical to advertise a rental property and look for "professionals".
    I looked at a property a few years back. It was recently extensively done up, because the previous family had proper trashed the place. Holes in doors, paintwork destroyed, kitchen in rag order etc.
    They were a 'professional' family though....2 doctors and their kids. :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,844 ✭✭✭✭somesoldiers

Damn, I’m a Vice President in an IFSC based financial company, but we are casual these days and I usual just wear jeans, T-shirt and runners- guess I needn’t apply

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,439 ✭✭✭✭Purple Mountain

Professional job seeker.

To thine own self be true

• Closed Accounts Posts: 201 ✭✭upinsmoke

Anyone in a dirty job, part time job, on minimum wage, not working standard hours can feck off.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,009 ✭✭✭Tangatagamadda Chaddabinga Bonga Bungo

I would have assumed it to mean anyone who works a 9-5 job. So no students, people on the dole, disabled, people who work night shifts or single parents are welcome to apply.

It's basically asking for the 'safest' category of tenant.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,769 ✭✭✭Pinch Flat

Would a professional tarmac Driveway layer qualify?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,947 ✭✭✭✭Beechwoodspark

I wouldn't like to be your enemy.

I’m only setting out the facts as they are. I’m a very non judgmental person I’d happily spend lot of time with him and have a good chin wag about it all

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,271 ✭✭✭Elemonator

It always struck me as that it meant that they were in stable jobs and are mature, meaning that their party days are behind them and their financial situation is unlikely to jeopardise your own in relation to rent/bills etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,059 ✭✭✭✭Spanish Eyes

Joking aside, I think from a LLs perspective it is someone who is a salaried employee with a permanent contract, no kids, no dogs, no goldfish, no cats, and who can provide a rock solid traceable reference from their employer and AN other.

Oh and older 28 or so too. Gives time to get to the salaried employee level with some record of that.

Just my ten cents. But I appreciate the humour too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 444 ✭✭RCK1

Generally speaking I always viewed it as a snobbish term used by people in certain office based jobs. Professional is what you are at your job e.g. high standard,work ethic etc...

On the flip side of that I never liked the term "a working man" as it perceives that people not doing the jobs associated with the term arnt actually doing proper work.

Of course, from a socio economic pov there are higher and lower professionals.

At least LL aren't so distinguishing :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,633 ✭✭✭✭Widdershins

''The professions'' originally meant the occupations that required university education. Like Medicine , when that became 'respectable '. Now, I don't know , it's vague.

I'm going to guess it's code for ''employed people only ''

''The professions'' originally meant the occupations that required university education. Like Medicine , when that became 'respectable '. Now, I don't know , it's vague.

I'm going to guess it's code for ''employed people only ''

That's all it is. It literally just means they want someone who is employed and not a student or on the dole.

Some crazy chips on shoulders on display here.

I always thought a professional was someone who had a career that needs specialist knowledge and/or training, and that required membership of a professional body.

Candie wrote: »
    I always thought a professional was someone who had a career that needs specialist knowledge and/or training, and that required membership of a professional body.

Depends on the context. In the context of a landlord/flatshare, they just want someone who has a job. I replied to an ad looking for professionals when I started my first job in Dublin at 22. Was in a call centre. No bother.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,797 ✭✭✭Sir Osis of Liver.

Whenever I see it,I'm reminded of this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,751 ✭✭✭✭For Forks Sake

Pinch Flat wrote: »
    Would a professional tarmac Driveway layer qualify?

Depends on whether you can produce a tax cert or not.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,174 ✭✭✭✭Tom Mann Centuria

Bodie, Doyle and Cowley were all Professionals.

Oh well, give me an easy life and a peaceful death.

upinsmoke wrote: »
    Anyone in a dirty job, part time job, on minimum wage, not working standard hours can feck off.

Professional Dancer?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,436 ✭✭✭dartboardio

Pretty easy.

Someone with a job.

I know if i was a landlord id want someone in employment rather than sitting around all day on jobseekers (little bit different if that person lost their job in an unfortunate circumstance or are out sick unable to work on illness benefit or something)

Sure you'd get all sorts applying for an apartment or renting a house id imagine.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,769 ✭✭✭Pinch Flat

Depends on whether you can produce a tax cert or not.

Cash job, boss.