Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Mean Thing You Did to Siblings

• 23-03-2019 1:16pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 1,172 ✭✭✭

When we were younger, myself & my older brother told all our younger siblings that mum & dad loved us way more & that we were the pretty ones.

We showed them evidence "there were millions of photos of us and very few of them cos they were too ugly, we got the new clothes because we were the best & that they got hand me downs because they weren't worthy etc."

Also, my youngest brother spent a lot of time in hospital when he was about 3. When he was a few years older, he could remember being in hospital but not why so we told him it was because he was really born a girl but our parents wanted an equal number of boys and girls so they brought him back to the hospital and got the doctors to change him so our mum would be happier.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,273 ✭✭✭racso1975

Bro got a filling it was killing him. Told him to bite down on a ball of tin foil.... Has trust issues ever since

• Site Banned Posts: 14 anawfulway

Lick the 9v battery. Always a winner. Convince younger brother he was adopted and "found" in a field. Bit of a bollix with that one. Dare each other to stick objects in the sockets/vcr/cooker/explode yokes in the microwave.

Youngfellas havent an ounce of sense, tis fairly obvious how women have a longer life expectancy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,707 ✭✭✭veryangryman

Sent male cousin to the ladies jacks saying that its the LADDIES.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,768 ✭✭✭✭Mr. CooL ICE

Picked up dead flies from the window sill and chased my sisters with them.

Whenever my sisters annoyed me, I hid one of their slippers. Not two, because I didn't want them thinking they'd misplaced them. I wanted them to know I had taken one of them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,070 ✭✭✭✭pq0n1ct4ve8zf5

You know the film The Truman Show, where his whole life it turns out is a massive reality tv show and everyone in his life actually an actor etc. Like probably a lot of kids, my sister saw it and wondered if it what was going on in her life. But I'd managed to give her such an inferiority complex that she figured the Truman character was probably me because she wasn't interesting enough, but nobody had told her what was going on because she'd give the game away.

Something that wasn't the worst thing I did to her but was very entertaining for me was when she was about 11 or 12 and was making some dessert, she needed some cream and we didn't have any. I told her if you whipped milk for long enough it'd turn into cream. Somehow there was enough trust left in the tank for her to keep trying for about 15 minutes.

Mind you, she stabbed me in the hand and stubbed a cigarette out on me, separate incidents. I deserved them both though.

When we had to watch our little brother we'd flip the laundry basket upside down, put him under it with a couple of toys and put a rock on top so he couldn't toddle away when we weren't looking.

As it turned out we're all very close as adults thank God.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,365 ✭✭✭✭McMurphy

These confessions remind me in Chunks confession to the Fratellis.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,034 ✭✭✭mad muffin

I used to chase down my younger sisters, pin them down and fart in their mouths.

Myself and my brother used to ‘stretch’ our youngest brother in the hall in order to ‘make him tall’.

He’s now the tallest amongst us, so there you go

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,965 ✭✭✭Conall Cernach

I'm the youngest so all the mean things were done to me but here's one that still gets recounted at family get-togethers.

Back in the 70s, I was around 7 or 8, you could go unsupervised into the passage tombs of Knowth and Dowth. We went into Dowth, I think it was, and my sister closed the gate on me and turned off the lights telling me that the spirits were going to get me. I nearly wet myself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,431 ✭✭✭Airyfairy12

My brother used to run allot and would run around the side of the house, my parents where fixing the roof at the time so at the side of the house was a scaffolding, a pathway to walk past and a clothes line the other side. He was always really mean to me so to get him back I tied my skipping rope to the bottom of the scaffolding and stretched it across to the clothes line in the hopes that he's trip over it.
    A couple of days went by and nothing had happened so I forgot all about the skipping rope, about a week later we heard screams coming from the side of the house, he'd tripped over the skipping rope while running. He was fine, barely had a scratch on his leg, he was always a drama queen but it still makes me smirk when I think about it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 916 ✭✭✭geecee

I broke my sisters leg because she wouldn't give me a chipstick!
    She spent the whole summer in a full leg cast as it was her femur....
    My parents were on holidays in Portugal at the time and had to come home early... oops!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,804 ✭✭✭Sir Osis of Liver.

We convinced my younger sister that we adopted her from a tribe of Zulus and that her freckles were where the white paint was flaking off.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 568 ✭✭✭rgodard80a

In the sitting room we had a fairly heavy foot pouch (if that's the right name). Heavy for a cylindrical fabric covered footrest.

When the sisters were due to go to bed, as they walked up the stairs I'd roll it down from the top, like the boulder in Raiders of the Lost ark, bowling them down the stairs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,019 ✭✭✭Polar101

Running a "money exchange", giving my baby brother two small coins for each big one. I was making loads of money from the scam until my parents found out about it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,291 ✭✭✭lbc2019

I threw a rock at my sisters head cos she wouldnt give me the sieve to make my mud cake. Blood pumping everywhere - I didnt sit for days!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,486 ✭✭✭✭gormdubhgorm

This was one my brother did to me.
    It was in retaliation for something I did (can't recall what)

I woke up with the bed soaking wet, turned out there was a small hole in the hot water bottle.
    It did not look accidental.
    So I brought the evidence to the nearby local authorities (my mother)
    My brother cracked under interrogation when bright red and admitted that he had stuck a pin in it.
    My mother thought this was hilarious and praised him for his ingenuity (much to my annoyance).
    I tried a counter strike by putting lots of pins in his pjs, but unfortunately for me they were spotted.
    I lost that battle anyway!

Guff about stuff, and stuff about guff.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,039 ✭✭✭✭retro:electro

My sister used to convince me that because I was born on a certain date it meant I had to join the nuns when I turned 18. We have a great aunt who was a nun who I share a birthday with, I think this is where she got her idea from. I used to bawl crying when she would say it. It’s still used as a joke to this day and for my 18th I had a cake with Mother Teresa on it.

She also used to “time” me cleaning her room, and challenge me in a way so I would think I was beating my record each time. She was never timing me of course, just using me as slave labour the lazy gowl :pac:

Anyway I answered the question arseways but that’s because I was an angel child :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,051 ✭✭✭Gloomtastic!

Ooh soooo many......

My big sister was terrified of spiders. One day she was carrying my baby sister and I suddenly appeared with the biggest spider I could find and pushed it into her face. She screamed and dropped my little sister, luckily (I suppose now) onto some pretty thick carpet. I can still remember the blood curdling screams from my mother as she chased me across the fields waving the wooden spoon (she normally stopped at the gate).

Slightly off-topic but one I remember where I played, what I thought would be, an hilarious trick on my Mum......

My little sister and I standing at the top of the stairs and I rolled a stool down the stairs at the same time getting my little sister to scream. Oh how we laughed! Unfortunately my mother didn’t see the funny side to that one either! :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,576 ✭✭✭Paddy Cow

Not my story but a guy managed to convince his brother he was adopted (usual sibling stuff). The child went crying to his parents who just burst out laughing........they were identical twins :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,740 ✭✭✭Mousewar

My two brothers put me in a suitcase and then fecked it down the stairs.
    #shenanigans

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,534 ✭✭✭✭Purple Mountain

Mousewar wrote: »
    My two brothers put me in a suitcase and then fecked it down the stairs.
    #shenanigans

I put my brother standing up in the wheelie bin and pushed him down the steep hill outside the house.
    In fairness, we thought it was great craic. We didn't think it was being mean or dangerous.

To thine own self be true

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 501 ✭✭✭cazzer22

My brother told me he was thirsty so I gave him a bottle of Calpol and he slept for most of the day at playschool.My parents couldn't figure out why. I think we would've been 3 and I was 4 and a half or 5. Ooooops

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,073 ✭✭✭Rubberlegs

I've posted this before somewhere, I used to tell my sister that we found her down the garden in the septic tank. We pulled her out, washed the sh1t off her and decided to keep her.
    I used to hold her down and mash her little nose into her face, God knows why. I also used to call her "duck arse"
    I used to threaten her with death if she ratted on me for going down the back of the community centre smoking when I was meant to be taking her to Mass.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,161 ✭✭✭frag420

Just before a three hour drive to Galway I convinced my younger brother to put itching powder in his underwear, told him it would make him fart...

That was a long drive!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,736 ✭✭✭Gannicus

Paddy Cow wrote: »
    Not my story but a guy managed to convince his brother he was adopted (usual sibling stuff). The child went crying to his parents who just burst out laughing........they were identical twins :pac:

That one came up in another thread by someone else here recently enough

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,576 ✭✭✭Paddy Cow

Gannicus wrote: »
    That one came up in another thread by someone else here recently enough
    Good job I didn't try to pass it off as my own :p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,360 ✭✭✭Lorelli!

We got on quite well tbf. I think because he's five years older but i always wished I had a sibling that was a year or two older or younger than me. Anyway I remember my aunt had left a pack of cigarettes behind in our house so my mam put them away in the press for her. My brother slowly went through the whole pack stealing them and left only one!

When my mam noticed, he let me take the blame for it. I actually did steal one of them in fairness but he didn't know that at the time and I wouldn't have been as stupid to take practically the whole pack!! :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,831 ✭✭✭✭_Brian

At breakfast one morning I told my sister that ready brek was made from flies wings. She was quite sick.

But really she was the mean one and only admitted it to our parents when she was in her 30’s

Large hole was dug at my grandmothers house for a septic tank. We were playing about it as it was the 70’s and safety never mattered. She got me to hide and roared for my granny to come and just as she arrived she pushed a pile of clay in which bubbled and rippled the water there was pandemonium for a while until I realised how serious trouble we were in.

We lived along a really busy road and she convinced me to take a bike out down to the cross and back and then she would have her turn, about 300m each way on a corner. Soon as I was 20meters down the road she went roaring into the house that she tried to stop me, Jesus I was murdered over that, I was only 7 and she was 9

In the back of the car she would nip her leg and start screaming I did it, I would get clattered and she would grin over it.

She was proper evil, still is, she approves mortgages in the bank.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,271 ✭✭✭Elemonator

At 3 years of age, I managed to tip my then baby brother over in his walker while Mam was on the phone. To this day we still don't know how I did it.

At three years of age again, I set the couch in the living room on fire. He nearly put his hand in it!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,194 ✭✭✭Zorya

Am the oldest of a big family. I was always good with a needle and thread, so I would randomly sew up the cuffs and hems of their pyjamas with tight invisible stitches. The thrill of hearing them roar from their bedrooms. :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 219 ✭✭MiliMe

My sister is terrified of butterflies. I used find dead ones and put them on her pillow. . .
    She was unimpressed

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 3,022 Mod ✭✭✭✭wiggle16

Until he was four or five, my brother had extremely poor speech. I was the only one that could understand him so I used to have to interpret for my parents what he was trying to say.

One time we had a fight, I can't remember what it was over but I think he broke something of mine, but I went and got a pliers out of my da's toolbox, went to the bathroom and cut the chain plug out of the bath. Then I went to my brother and handed him the chain plug and the pliers, knowing that he would not be able to tell my parents that it was me and not him that did it.

edit: oh and when I started secondary school he got into a habit of hiding under the bed when he heard me come in (he was in primary still so he was home earlier than me) and jumping out and frightening the sh*t out of me. After a few times of this happening, I got a box of thumbtacks and scattered the whole box under the bed. Came home from school that day and a couple of seconds after shutting the door behind me all I could hear was him screaming upstairs, covered in thumbtacks....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,780 ✭✭✭Pinch Flat

Locked my little brother in a suitcase and slid him down the stairs. Also got him to sit on metal fence that we hooked up to a farmers electric fence.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,074 ✭✭✭sicknotexi

I was the youngest boy (5 older brothers and 2 younger sisters) so I was usually on the receiving end.

When I was really young my brother got a suit from my fathers wardrobe and start stuffing it with clothes. I came out of my room and he said he had some really bad news, "Daddy's dead". He had died at work when briquettes fell on him apparently(he worked in Bord na Mona). I peered through a slightly ajar door at my da's lifeless legs hanging from the end of the bed and was bawling my eyes out. Not long after my mother arrived home from shopping and I greeted her, still bawling, with "Daddy's dead". She dropped the shopping in shock and was screaming until my brother rushed down the stairs and told her what happened.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,984 ✭✭✭Stovepipe

clever bastard....I hope he got a thrashing...

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 13,339 Mod ✭✭✭✭JupiterKid

Where to start? I used to annoy the hell out of my older sisters and at times the three of us fought like cats and dogs as kids.

Once my older sisters played a trick on me as a kid and was terrified of going up to my bedroom in the dark. My eldest sister took me up to bed, my middle sister lay in my bed and as I went into my room she rose out of the bed like a zombie. I freaked out completely. That’s just a taste of the things we got up to!

Families...:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,420 ✭✭✭✭sligojoek

When my son was 6 or 7, and very blonde, his older sisters told him he was adopted from Sweden and his real name was Gustav. They even forged a letter from his "mother" telling him he was a horrible little bastard and she had no choice but to give him away. To this day, 10 years later, they still bring it up. If he gets cross about something, one of them will say, "Ah shut up Gustav" Or if Sweden comes on telly they'll ask, "Are you feeling homesick?".

To answer the OP;

When my sister was 19 or 20 she used to do a bit of studying in the kitchen on a Sunday evening while waiting for her lift back to college. I'd often lob a soggy biscuit (not that kind) onto whatever she'd be reading. The biscuit was usually followed 3 seconds later by a wet springer spaniel. To this day she fails to see the funny side.