Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Getting anxiety about walking my dog.

• 20-03-2019 11:05pm
    Registered Users Posts: 1,437 ✭✭✭

Lately I’ve seen a pit bull roaming around on the road with its owner who plays fetch with it outside his front garden.

But I read story’s before about them killing dogs
    I kinda get nervous before going out the front door it’s a horrible way to be.

Any advice?

• Registered Users Posts: 14,032 ✭✭✭✭tk123

Ignore it? Or go and say hello to the owner? It sounds like your more worried about the dogs breed than anything it’s done?

• Registered Users Posts: 3,274 ✭✭✭cocker5

The dog outside playing with its owner? It’s hardly roaming ... how do you know its def it’s infact a pit bull?

Why not approach the owner.... ask them about the dog - it’s probably super sweet .. it’s not the breed it’s the individual dog

Maybe if you meet the dog / get to know it there won’t be any fear? It’s worth a try

• Registered Users Posts: 1,292 ✭✭✭em_cat

We’ve a rescue Yorkie x that has a bull mastiff as one of his few friends and a Pom that made friends with a rottie and a lanky lab today.

I think you’d do well to ignore the sensationalist media, go and meet the owner, most bull breed owners are very aware of the media’s view on them and from my experience are pretty well trained.

Tbh, all dogs can be obnoxious, aggressive little or big ****es, it’s all down to training and care.

Also, although I prefer to keep small/ medium breeds, I would be more likely to trust the temperament of the larger breeds and very specifically larger bull breeds, not a fan of the small/toy bull breeds, but that’s from direct experience not because of stories I’ve heard.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,761 ✭✭✭Knine

Ah here as much as I love all breeds of dogs I'd be wary of taking mine out until I knew how this dog was with other dogs. While many Pit Bulls & their crosses can be great with people, there is also quite a lot of them who are dog aggressive & yes they can do a lot of damage in a fight with another dog.

Maybe go talk to the owner & see if he can keep it under control when you are out with your dog. I have a neighbour who also does the fetch thing with his dogs & it is a right pain for me when they come charging over the minute I try to leave my house with my dogs! Some people just have no cop on.

• Registered Users Posts: 32 CarolineBee

So, I have a staffy/mastiff cross. I adopted after he was rescued from a heartbreaking situation. For the first 6 years of life he was shown no love, training or safety. He spent a year in a rescue centre - partly down to the ridiculous breed ‘racism’ he suffers.
    My dog was fully assessed at rescue and from that knowledge we treat him as ‘dog reactive’. That means I walk him in quiet areas where he won’t encounter off lead dogs and never allow him off lead. He also wears a muzzle if I’m in area where he may encounter a dog, and finally yellow sign on his harness advising he needs space. This is done for his protection.

George, that’s his name, was dumped at the age of 6 as having been bred for fighting he proved to be useless due to no natural aggression. He was however used as practice for younger aggressive dogs due to his size. 6 years of that. The end result, apart from his scars is that he is terrified of dogs and if they come too close for too long he will growl.. I’m anxious every time I go out with him because of other off leash dogs approaching him with ignorant owners shouting ‘don’t worry mines frinedly’... no dog should be allowed to approach another dog without an ok from the other owner first.

My biggest issue is Pam the Pug who lives across the street and regularly escapes from the garden. She has barked, lunged at and even nipped my dog on occasions. Despite this he has never retaliated though does try to run as far away as his lead allows with me still attached.
    If my dog behaved like that he’d be classed as vicious, the owners of the pug think its cute/funny that she picks a fight with my large dog.

So yes, he is a bull type breed that may attack other dogs. I control that risk and expect other dog owners to respect my space by controlling their dogs. He would only react through fear.

He is the extreme end, like every breed individual dogs have different temperaments and responsible owners assess each case.

The sensationalist reporting on bull type breeds is ignorant, ill informed and caters only for those unwilling to learn.

Instead of focusing on the breed of the other dog maybe just focus on your control of your dog, if you’ve got that right then there will be no issue.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,761 ✭✭✭Knine

Instead of focusing on the breed of the other dog maybe just focus on your control of your dog, if you’ve got that right then there will be no issue.

If only it was that simple. You can control your own dog all you like but a loose out of control dog can create all sorts of issues if it approaches dogs who are fully under control. Anyone that thinks the breed is not an issue is naive. I would be much happier if an out of control Pug charges over to me then one of the more powerful breeds in case a row breaks out.

Knine wrote: »
    If only it was that simple. You can control your own dog all you like but a loose out of control dog can create all sorts of issues if it approaches dogs who are fully under control. Anyone that thinks the breed is not an issue is naive. I would be much happier if an out of control Pug charges over to me then one of the more powerful breeds in case a row breaks out.

I don’t entirely disagree with what you are saying. My point being that I have to ensure my dog is fully under control at all times and never make a mistake with that as the consequences could be horrific and, he will immediately be judged as dangerous when if a smaller dog displays the same behaviours, ie: barking, lunging snapping etc they are judged cute and plucky.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,702 ✭✭✭horse7

The dog,and any dog, should by law be on a lead,ring the dog warden,it's not unfair on you to worry about taking your dog out.

• Moderators, Home & Garden Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 10,952 Mod ✭✭✭✭Stoner

The sensationalist reporting on bull type breeds is ignorant, ill informed and caters only for those unwilling to learn.

It's not ill informed to suspect types of dogs that have a history of being involved in blood sports and have a particular type of bite might behave in a way that reflects the origin of the animal.

Its possibly an ignorant position to take in suggesting that these traits have disappeared IMO, just because a person has had a different experience of a particular animal.

I've two collies the younger one has city patents, was never on a farm, but instinctively crouches down when he sees sheep.

horse7 wrote: »
    The dog,and any dog, should by law be on a lead,ring the dog warden,it's not unfair on you to worry about taking your dog out.

This is not correct the law does not state anywhere the dog should be on a lead

• Registered Users Posts: 1,437 ✭✭✭biggebruv

In park yesterday another dog off leash stands around and sits as it sees me and my dog I think ok it looks normal enough lol

As I’m just turning the corner it soon comes over and starts getting aggressive.

I hear the dogs owner scream the dogs name and she says “oh he’s normally very friendly”
    Ugh yeah whatever F””k off leave me alone.

Assholes and I don’t mind dogs being off leashes but if you know your dogs not friendly that really pisses me off.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,437 ✭✭✭biggebruv

cocker5 wrote: »
    This is not correct the law does not state anywhere the dog should be on a lead

On a public road no?

I see a guy walking a Rottweiler without a lead and it gets me anxious. I know the dogs probably fine but if it decided to bolt over Us and my dog goes into play mode it could attack my dog.

biggebruv wrote: »
    On a public road no?

I see a guy walking a Rottweiler without a lead and it gets me anxious. I know the dogs probably fine but if it decided to bolt over Us and my dog goes into play mode it could attack my dog.

nope unfortunately not... the law states "under effective control" no where does it state on lead

https://www.citizensinformation.ie/en/environment/animal_welfare_and_control/control_of_dogs.html

please don't get me wrong I agree with you all dogs should be on lead - it drives me mad but its not the law im afraid

biggebruv wrote: »
    On a public road no?

I hear you... my cocker (old and with hip issues) is ALWAYS on lead.. walks in between us ever night.. we do a "loop" around where we live.. without fail at some point during the walk a dog (off lead) will run up like a lunatic and many times growl / nip (thankfully my guy is non reactive and looks up to us for comfort) BUT im going to be honest and say 99% of these are small yappy dogs and spaniels too! not big dogs (so far thank god)

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,442 ✭✭✭Choc Chip

please don't get me wrong I agree with you all dogs should be on lead - it drives me mad but its not the law im afraid

Why should all dogs be on lead? If I've got good recall, I'm much happier for my dogs to be off-lead sniffing.

OP: pop over and say hi, then ask if his dog is good with other dogs. If he says yes, sound. If not, I'd ask him to stick his dog on a lead when your's come out (and I'd be more concerned about why it's off-lead if he knows it's not good with others), but no point worrying prematurely!

Stoner wrote: »
    It's not ill informed to suspect types of dogs that have a history of being involved in blood sports and have a particular type of bite might behave in a way that reflects the origin of the animal.

Its possibly an ignorant position to take in suggesting that these traits have disappeared IMO, just because a person has had a different experience of a particular animal.

I've two collies the younger one has city patents, was never on a farm, but instinctively crouches down when he sees sheep.

Totally - breed traits exist, the collies and GSDs I grew up with totally demonstrated that.
    Interestingly known breed traits for staffies do not include aggression, historically known as nanny dogs due to their relationship with children. They are known to be dog anti social and will not look to engage in play with other dogs. (Obviously that is breed trait and their maybe exceptions to the rule)

• Registered Users Posts: 1,189 ✭✭✭Murt10

I hear you... my cocker (old and with hip issues) is ALWAYS on lead.. walks in between us ever night.. we do a "loop" around where we live..

I have a lively Springer. I confess to seldom, if ever, walk him on the lead.

First of all, when I take him for a walk, I normally drive him to a park and out he gets. He then relieves himself and I clean up and away he goes, all the time sticking relatively close to me.

His breeding is that of a hunting dog. It's always open season on rabbits and squirrels and these are chased like there is no tomorrow. Pheasants are also chased when they are not nesting or breeding. The dogs sole purpose in life is to run out in front of the hunter and to raise pheasants and game. He will chase anything that moves. It's in his DNA and he's in heaven doing it.

A retrievers is also a hunting dog. His function is to walk alongside the hunter and bring back whatever he has shot, so he's happy walking alongside his owner.

Out on his walk, when my dog comes across another dog, he runs up to him, stops about 10 foot away and stays completely still, wagging his tail all the time. The other dog then knows that he's only there to say hello and not attack. They have a good sniff of one another and then back to the hunt.

The last time I took him to the vet for his annual NCT, after a careful examination of his muscles, the vet said to me that he didn't know what exercise I was giving him, but it was working and to keep it up.

Unfortunately, I cannot walk him through a housing estate off the lead. Instinct takes over, and he goes hunting. People understandably don't particularly like their cat being hunted on their own property.

If we are in a park and he comes across a cat, doing what nature intended, hunting, the hunter becomes the hunted and he'll chase them. Cats have no problem getting away.

Anyway, my point is that I would have to spend hours and hours a day trying to tire him out, if he was on a lead all the time, and he would be miserable not doing what his breed was created for.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,748 ✭✭✭ganmo

nope unfortunately not... the law states "under effective control" no where does it state on lead

https://www.citizensinformation.ie/en/environment/animal_welfare_and_control/control_of_dogs.html

there is reference to keeping greyhounds on leads in the control of dogs act and the restricted breed law requires a short lead.

i always say that a lead is the only way to guarantee control. to adopt the phrase "for the want of a nail the horse was lost"
    "for the want of a lead the dog was lost"

I've never shot a dog that had a lead attached

Choc Chip wrote: »
    Why should all dogs be on lead? If I've got good recall, I'm much happier for my dogs to be off-lead sniffing.

OP: pop over and say hi, then ask if his dog is good with other dogs. If he says yes, sound. If not, I'd ask him to stick his dog on a lead when your's come out (and I'd be more concerned about why it's off-lead if he knows it's not good with others), but no point worrying prematurely!

because in all honesty MOST dogs don't have good recall or they are not socialised correctly, I see it most days dogs charging up to other dogs .. maybe your dog is different but its not a regular occurrence where I live

its a pain in the ass if im honest .. I don't want your dog or any dog no matter how friendly near my dog... and visa versa, my guy is always on lead and doesn't bother anyone...

Murt10 wrote: »
    I have a lively Springer. I confess to seldom, if ever, walk him on the lead.

First of all, when I take him for a walk, I normally drive him to a park and out he gets. He then relieves himself and I clean up and away he goes, all the time sticking relatively close to me.

His breeding is that of a hunting dog. It's always open season on rabbits and squirrels and these are chased like there is no tomorrow. Pheasants are also chased when they are not nesting or breeding. The dogs sole purpose in life is to run out in front of the hunter and to raise pheasants and game. He will chase anything that moves. It's in his DNA and he's in heaven doing it.

A retrievers is also a hunting dog. His function is to walk alongside the hunter and bring back whatever he has shot, so he's happy walking alongside his owner.

Out on his walk, when my dog comes across another dog, he runs up to him, stops about 10 foot away and stays completely still, wagging his tail all the time. The other dog then knows that he's only there to say hello and not attack. They have a good sniff of one another and then back to the hunt.

The last time I took him to the vet for his annual NCT, after a careful examination of his muscles, the vet said to me that he didn't know what exercise I was giving him, but it was working and to keep it up.

Unfortunately, I cannot walk him through a housing estate off the lead. Instinct takes over, and he goes hunting. People understandably don't particularly like their cat being hunted on their own property.

If we are in a park and he comes across a cat, doing what nature intended, hunting, the hunter becomes the hunted and he'll chase them. Cats have no problem getting away.

Anyway, my point is that I would have to spend hours and hours a day trying to tire him out, if he was on a lead all the time, and he would be miserable not doing what his breed was created for.

my dog is 14... and is far from miserable... like your dog he is a hunting dog so if I walked him off lead he would be gone like a rocket... so for his safety and my peace of mind he is never off lead.. I do walk him at the weekends (and in the long evenings) up the mountain on a retractable lead so he runs about and sniffs to his hearts content

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,442 ✭✭✭Choc Chip

because in all honesty MOST dogs don't have good recall or they are not socialised correctly, I see it most days dogs charging up to other dogs .. maybe your dog is different but its not a regular occurrence where I live

its a pain in the ass if im honest .. I don't want your dog or any dog no matter how friendly near my dog... and visa versa, my guy is always on lead and doesn't bother anyone...

I don't know if that's a dig or a compliment. :D

Both mine have decent recall. I live on a farm and they have to. One couldnt care less about your dog or you, but I'd never have her off lead around deer. The other doesnt have a hunting bone in his body but is overly people friendly so i call him back and he's on lead as soon as i see people. I know their triggers but they're both off-lead every day and managed around their individual issues.

Mine potter around a farm for a few hours most days and all weekend. I cant imagine never letting my dogs off lead. I get your point - people around here let their dogs roam and it wrecks my head, but its a bit extreme saying dogs should never be off lead.

Choc Chip wrote: »

I don't know if that's a dig or a compliment. :D

Both mine have decent recall. I live on a farm and they have to. One couldnt care less about your dog or you, but I'd never have her off lead around deer. The other doesnt have a hunting bone in his body but is overly people friendly so i call him back and he's on lead as soon as i see people. I know their triggers but they're both off-lead every day and managed around their individual issues.

Mine potter around a farm for a few hours most days and all weekend. I cant imagine never letting my dogs off lead. I get your point - people around here let their dogs roam and it wrecks my head, but its a bit extreme saying dogs should never be off lead.

Not a dig at all :) it’s great to hear of dogs with good recall ... just from my experience most dogs where I live have little or no recall and poor socialisation .. not the dogs fault of course .. I do think all dogs should be kept on lead in built up / public places.. while ur dogs may be well behaved many dogs are not and their owners are oblivious or couldn’t care less to that fact!

• Registered Users Posts: 3,224 ✭✭✭jellybear

Just on the point of off lead dogs, while it's great that some people's dogs have great recall skills, unfortunately not all off lead dogs do. Also, it's impossible to know that your dog will come back 100% of the time.
    My dog has been attacked on approx. 5 occasions in my estate by off lead dogs. Each time I have had him on lead, muzzled and under control. It has now gotten to the point where he is fearful of dogs, very reactive and I can't blame him. It's a horrific thing to go through. I myself have suffered because of these off lead dogs too. I will not walk him by myself, I am fearful of it happening again etc.
    My point, and while I'm sure it won't be recevied well by some, is that unfortunately off lead dogs can cause a lot of harm. Yes, you are entitled to have your dog off lead, but just be considerate of others ie. if for example I was passing you it would mean so much to me for you to put your dog on the lead if there is even the slightest chance your dog will approach mine. Your off lead dog may be great with other dogs but, unfortunately, my dog does not like being approached by other dogs so I'm doing my part by keeping him under control. A tiny bit of inconvenience for you will save so much stress and upset for me and my dog.
    Just my opinion and as I've said, not everyone will agree but until you've been on the other side of it you won't understand so I just wanted to share my experience.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,748 ✭✭✭ganmo

I do think all dogs should be kept on lead in built up / public places.

So the only place to let dogs off would be the countryside cause that's gonna end well. In fact in the dlrcoco area it's already like that since they changed the bylaws about dogs on beaches in 2012 we've had more problems with dogs than the previous 10 years.

ganmo wrote: »
    I do think all dogs should be kept on lead in built up / public places.

So the only place to let dogs off would be the countryside cause that's gonna end well. In fact in the dlrcoco area it's already like that since they changed the bylaws about dogs on beaches in 2012 we've had more problems with dogs than the previous 10 years.

Where did I say the countryside?

Maybe .... just maybe if owners spend their time training and socializing their dogs correctly then it wouldn’t be an issue .. but sadly it is

jellybear wrote: »
    Just on the point of off lead dogs, while it's great that some people's dogs have great recall skills, unfortunately not all off lead dogs do. Also, it's impossible to know that your dog will come back 100% of the time.
    My dog has been attacked on approx. 5 occasions in my estate by off lead dogs. Each time I have had him on lead, muzzled and under control. It has now gotten to the point where he is fearful of dogs, very reactive and I can't blame him. It's a horrific thing to go through. I myself have suffered because of these off lead dogs too. I will not walk him by myself, I am fearful of it happening again etc.
    My point, and while I'm sure it won't be recevied well by some, is that unfortunately off lead dogs can cause a lot of harm. Yes, you are entitled to have your dog off lead, but just be considerate of others ie. if for example I was passing you it would mean so much to me for you to put your dog on the lead if there is even the slightest chance your dog will approach mine. Your off lead dog may be great with other dogs but, unfortunately, my dog does not like being approached by other dogs so I'm doing my part by keeping him under control. A tiny bit of inconvenience for you will save so much stress and upset for me and my dog.
    Just my opinion and as I've said, not everyone will agree but until you've been on the other side of it you won't understand so I just wanted to share my experience.

I agree with you :)

I don’t begrudge anyone having their dog off lead. It does come with the responsibility of ensuring your dog is under control : ie won’t approach people or other dogs and will respond to recall.

My dog wears a yellow sign on his lead saying he needs space. He isn’t aggressive, but because of his background he has no tolerance for other dogs being in his face and will growl. He’s a mastiff/staffy cross so I will never allow that situation to escalate. That has meant me bodyblocking between my dog and a larger retriever with no recall before now. My dog had hackles up and growling, other dog was barking and the owner was shouting over ‘don’t worry he’s friendly’. For a massive range of reasons dogs cannot like other dogs approaching them. They can only tell them that they’re not welcome in their own way.
    Also, off lead dogs approaching people can be an issue. My nephew is terrified of dogs and will no longer walk in the local park as he’s had dogs jumping up on him. From what he’s said the dogs were being friendly but his over reaction could well have escalated the situation.