Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Whats up with some recruiters making unscheduled phone-calls?

• 13-03-2019 5:54pm
    Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 172 ✭✭

I'm job hunting at the moment, and a lot of the roles I apply for are through recruiters. What is their problem with making unscheduled phone calls?

If you want to chat with me about roles, that is absolutely no problem. Send me an email first so we can schedule one. Do not call me randomly. I have had two very nice recruiters who emailed/linked messaged me to arrange a call. This is the professional way to do it IMO.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,121 ✭✭✭amcalester

The early bird gets the worm.

And if you apply for a job, give your phone number then don’t be surprised if they phone you.

The alternative is they put the candidate forward who isn’t a PIA.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 514 ✭✭✭argentum

Fecking cheek of them trying to earn money and actually get you a job.To be honest you have an attitude problem that you need to change to get on in any future job you may get.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,794 ✭✭✭Squall Leonhart

My problem is unsolicited calls from recruiters who call my place of work about jobs! They may have a cv on file from previous applications, and this is fine, but instead of calling my contact number (my mobile), they call me at my desk.

This has happened several times recently by well known firms.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 172 ✭✭devlinio

I do not have an attitude problem. It's important to be prepared when talking to someone about a potential job and calling someone without a scheduled time is unprofessional.

My last boss emailed beforehand when we want a skype call. That's normal.

devlinio wrote: »
    I do not have an attitude problem. It's important to be prepared when talking to someone about a potential job and calling someone without a scheduled time is unprofessional.

You don’t understand the recruiters role.

amcalester wrote: »
    You don’t understand the recruiters role.

Maybe not. It's my first time using them. But it's common courtesy to arrange a suitable time for a call, no?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,807 ✭✭✭Jurgen Klopp

Ah jaysus, say someone walked out in a job and the recruiter has a contact or is friendly with the company in question, they could ring and say we need someone ASAP

Of course they'll ring you rather than sit on it meanwhile some other recruiter fires in CVs before you even "schedule your call"

I know the chances of a roll that way may be slim compared to the usual official hiring process but you never know

Maybe not. It's my first time using them. But it's common courtesy to arrange a suitable time for a call, no?

It’s not, the call isn’t an interview. It’s a casual chat to discuss the role available and any others that might be.

The recruiter has to get your CV into the hiring company before someone else does otherwise he doesn’t get paid.

If you’re waiting around expecting an email introduction, and a scheduled call then expect the recruiter to move on to the next candidate.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 142 ✭✭whoopsadaisy

Are you referring to recruiters or just in general?

Speaking with a recruiter isn't formal - I would treat it with the same air of respect that I would if I was speaking to a potential employer - but as has been already said, they aren't interviewing you. They're screening you to find out more about you and what you're looking for, to see whether or not they can help you.

It's a recruiters job to understand you so they can introduce you to suitable jobs that they're working for. When a recruiter places a candidate with a company, the company pays them a fee which the recruiter will typically earn commission off.

Unless a candidate is completely one of a kind, if you're unresponsive / uncooperative with recruiters (internal or external), no one is going to bother chasing you for a conversation. If you're not happy about unscheduled calls, all you have to say is that you're not free to speak but would be happy to at X time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,095 ✭✭✭Rubberchikken

i would prefer the recruiter that calls anytime to the one who doesnt.
    plus if you're job hunting then surely it benefits you to make every effort.
    after all, what could the unscheduled phone call be interrupting.

someone i know currently job hunting has had two different companies express an interest in meeting face to face, they email asking for a suitable time. emailed back that any time is good and nothing more is heard.

imo very unprofessional and downright rude but maybe thats company ways nowadays.

sorry op.for diverging off:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 565 ✭✭✭frosty123

well at least OP you got a phone call from them....they promise all sorts when i sign up..and i never hear from them again:confused: jokers

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,733 ✭✭✭OMM 0000

I'm job hunting at the moment, and a lot of the roles I apply for are through recruiters. What is their problem with making unscheduled phone calls?

If you want to chat with me about roles, that is absolutely no problem. Send me an email first so we can schedule one. Do not call me randomly. I have had two very nice recruiters who emailed/linked messaged me to arrange a call. This is the professional way to do it IMO.

I don't agree with this at all.

I feel young folk are becoming weird when it comes to normal social things.

Someone calling you without notifying you is unprofessional?

Honestly that seems weird to me.

Let's think this through:

What's the problem with it?

Your phone rings. You don't recognise the number. You answer or don't answer.

Let's say you don't answer. That's the end of it.

Let's say you answer. You talk to them.

Let's say you answer but it's a bad time. You tell them "Hey how are you. Can I give you a ring back later?"

There was a time when it was normal to interact with people face to face or voice to voice.

OK I just looked at your post history and you're a software guy.

You need to learn to enjoy interacting with people, or at least not see it as weird or something which makes you uncomfortable.

There will reach a time in your career where your hard skills will stagnate. What will set you apart from the other software guys around you is your people skills.

OMM 0000 wrote: »
    OK I just looked at your post history and you're a software guy.

You need to learn to enjoy interacting with people, or at least not see it as weird or something which makes you uncomfortable.

There will reach a time in your career where your hard skills will stagnate. What will set you apart from the other software guys around you is your people skills.

I know you're 100% right. My people skills are not great unless I know them. My family/friends I'm grand. Everyone else, I'm not. It took me months to bond with my co-workers in my last job.

Thanks for all the comments guys. I'm going to force myself to answer every phone call from now on.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 12,853 Mod ✭✭✭✭riffmongous

Pmsl at this thread." Having glanced at a handful of your posts OP, I feel important enough to be able judge you and ask why are you even bothering with a recruiter when you have so many problems with your personality you will need to work on first, to have any chance of a job" :rolleyes:

Pmsl at this thread. Having glanced at a handful of your posts OP, I feel important enough to be able judge you and ask why are you even bothering with a recruiter when you have so many problems with your personality you will need to work on first, to have any chance of a job :rolleyes:

A mod talking the piss out of a user, WOW. Get a grip. I don't have many problems with my personality at all. I have had jobs before, in retail, construction, and most recently software. So yea, I've no chance of a job.

I'm not being serious mate, I'm talking about the rest of the comments you've gotten. The total opposite to how you've read it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,493 ✭✭✭JustJoe7240

I'm not being serious mate, I'm talking about the rest of the comments you've gotten. The total opposite to how you've read it

Initially I read your comment how the op did, and was like what a c*nt, but re reading it made me laugh out loud because I got it very wrong the first time

I thought the roll eyes was enough of a clue!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,450 ✭✭✭LollipopJimmy

Recruiters are kind of damned if they do and damned if they don't. Some candidates like you would prefer a mail where others prefer a phonecall. I am a recruiter and I will always call but low voice and ask if it's a good time to chat.

I know you're 100% right. My people skills are not great unless I know them. My family/friends I'm grand. Everyone else, I'm not. It took me months to bond with my co-workers in my last job.

I used to be a very shy teenager. I'm very outgoing and confident now (maybe too confident).

I know you didn't ask for advice on this, but I'm going to give you some advice on the things which worked for me:

1. You can fake it. Be a "good listener". Let other people speak, smile, ask questions. Do this enough and you'll get comfortable at it. No one needs to know you're dying inside.

2. Surround yourself with outgoing people. I can't explain this, but their outgoing-ness will rub off on you somewhat. You'll find with time you also become more outgoing.

3. Improve your confidence. An "easy" way to do this is to improve your physical appearance. Go to the gym and build some muscle (this plus a keto style diet will work wonders), get a haircut once per month, wear nice clothes (get a female friend or colleague to pick your clothes for you if you're clueless - as a general rule, plain and well fitted is a safe look), wear decent shoes, keep good oral and body hygiene.

4. Force yourself to go to social meet-ups. You could start with a couchsurfing meet up. I suggest this because the people there are just looking to talk to local people. So you just have to be friendly and answer their questions and ask them about themselves. Also, there's booze involved so everyone is relaxed.

5. Accept there's nothing wrong with being shy. There's nothing wrong with you. But you should try to improve this aspect of yourself, as there are so many good things which come with being comfortable around people.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 537 ✭✭✭rgmmg

Recruiters are kind of damned if they do and damned if they don't. Some candidates like you would prefer a mail where others prefer a phonecall. I am a recruiter and I will always call but low voice and ask if it's a good time to chat.

Why are you doing the low voice?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,493 ✭✭✭JustJoe7240

I thought the roll eyes was enough of a clue!

Maybe it wasn’t, 3 posters took up your post wrong

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,450 ✭✭✭LollipopJimmy

rgmmg wrote: »
    Why are you doing the low voice?

Person answers phone, possibly sitting next to colleague or whatever. It's meant to be a private call

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,674 ✭✭✭Skatedude

Never heard of that happening in years of dealing with job recruiters