Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Milk Lorry App.

• 11-03-2019 4:09pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,106 ✭✭✭✭

I'm standing here now waiting on the milk collection lorry to collect my milk.

It goes from any time from 11am to it looks today being late perhaps 5 pm.
    There's the bother of waiting for the milk tank to wash before I can milk then as well.

If I ring my co-op salesman he's able to tell me in a few seconds if the meal lorry is on it's way via a tablet and when that lorry left the mill and where I am on that delivery.

So question is with GPS transponders and modern technology, is there an app where I can just look up to see what truck is going to collect my milk and estimated time of collection or even better real time tracking and see how far down the list I am?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,211 ✭✭✭alps

There's the bother of waiting for the milk tank to wash before I can milk then as well.

If I ring my co-op salesman he's able to tell me in a few seconds if the meal lorry is on it's way via a tablet and when that lorry left the mill and where I am on that delivery.

So question is with GPS transponders and modern technology, is there an app where I can just look up to see what truck is going to collect my milk and estimated time of collection or even better real time tracking and see how far down the list I am?
    You need a driver like ours....owner driver, like clockwork, and if he has any delay, usually only unloading, he will text the farmers on the next load with the length of the delay..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,396 ✭✭✭✭Timmaay

alps wrote: »
    You need a driver like ours....owner driver, like clockwork, and if he has any delay, usually only unloading, he will text the farmers on the next load with the length of the delay..

Better again you need a lorry who consistantly collects between 2am and 5am. Haven't seen or heard from mine in months.

But say get onto the Glanbia connect lads, they are fairly active on twitter.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,332 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

Timmaay wrote: »
    Better again you need a lorry who consistantly collects between 2am and 5am. Haven't seen or heard from mine in months.

But say get onto the Glanbia connect lads, they are fairly active on twitter.

Every morning between 4 and 4.30 here. Unless he sleeps it in. Great that he's here at this time as yard is clear and no kids outside

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,237 ✭✭✭davidk1394

Out of curiosity. Would any leave the driver make a mug of tea coffee in the canteen while their collecting the milk during the day or night or get them something at Christmas?

davidk1394 wrote: »
    Out of curiosity. Would any leave the driver make a mug of tea coffee in the canteen while their collecting the milk during the day or night or get them something at Christmas?

Milk man gets a good Christmas bonus here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,485 ✭✭✭Keepgrowing

Milk at your usual time, that way one of you is punctual and the driver knows. It’s how we operate and driver loves it as he can usually call knowing exactly when we’re finished.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,001 ✭✭✭timple23

For those who have milk collected in early am, have ye automatic gates or what? (From a security point of view)

timple23 wrote: »
    For those who have milk collected in early am, have ye automatic gates or what? (From a security point of view)

No automatic gates yet but when I do I expect it's just a matter of giving the driver a key fob for it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,106 ✭✭✭✭Say my name

Milk at your usual time, that way one of you is punctual and the driver knows. It’s how we operate and driver loves it as he can usually call knowing exactly when we’re finished.

I think it's sorted now according to the driver this evening.

2 day collection starting now and should be a more set time now.
    They know my milking time.
    If he was 5 minutes later this evening the cows would have been in the parlour.

timple23 wrote: »

That's why I'm making a point of not posting what time the milk lorry is collecting at on here.
    That and it's been all over place so I never knew myself.

The driver opens the gate himself here if collecting before morning milking.

I hear drivers can send a text before reaching the farm to have the gates open??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,194 ✭✭✭foxy farmer

Just out of curiosity when the tankers do call do they empty the bulk tank in one go or are they filling their loads and relying on another to call an empty the tank?
    I was talking to a man who milks over 200 cows. He had an issue with a milk collection with astronomical TBC. This was due to the tank not being washed with a week despite 3 lorries calling but none emptied the bulk tank.

Just out of curiosity when the tankers do call do they empty the bulk tank in one go or are they filling their loads and relying on another to call an empty the tank?
    I was talking to a man who milks over 200 cows. He had an issue with a milk collection with astronomical TBC. This was due to the tank not being washed with a week despite 3 lorries calling but none emptied the bulk tank.

If a lorry doesn't empty a tank here. Another one will be waiting to empty it to start off their round.

The drivers have an idea of volumes on each farm and so will know where the lorry will be full.

The milk manager here would be spitting if he heard the carry on in your post.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,485 ✭✭✭Keepgrowing

Auto gate here, driver phones gate on approach. Great job, sorted out salesmen also especially the ethnic types

If a lorry doesn't empty a tank here. Another one will be waiting to empty it to start off their round.

The drivers have an idea of volumes on each farm and so will know where the lorry will be full.

The milk manager here would be spitting if he heard the carry on in your post.

Driver shortage is main cause and driving hours in the week. All drivers employed by the co-op.

Private owned lorries here. But I've been especially warned by my milk manager that if a tank is not emptied to contact him. So I assume it's the same for other farmers collected around me too.

It'll come up on his computer/phone anyway with discrepancies on volumes, collections.

Milk lorries are exempt from tacographs....some guys putting up incredible hours..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,284 ✭✭✭GrasstoMilk

Private owned lorries here. But I've been especially warned by my milk manager that if a tank is not emptied to contact him. So I assume it's the same for other farmers collected around me too.

It'll come up on his computer/phone anyway with discrepancies on volumes, collections.
    The macs are collecting you aren't they? We're there last collection over here. In the yard at 9 am for every collection or even 8.30, you could set your watch to them

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,431 ✭✭✭Mortelaro

When volumes are rising at this time of the year at varying pace from farm to farm,drivers can fill more quickly
    This causes delays as they switch rounds around a bit to fit better until it's got right
    Our driver was up over 2000 litres on what was expected on Sunday for example

Mortelaro wrote: »
    When volumes are rising at this time of the year at varying pace from farm to farm,drivers can fill more quickly
    This causes delays as they switch rounds around a bit to fit better until it's got right

Also factor in drivers could be going anywhere with the load. Sometimes milk from the southeast is going to drogheda etc

He shouldnt be deducted for the tbc as it was out of his control

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,748 ✭✭✭ganmo

alps wrote: »
    Milk lorries are exempt from tacographs....some guys putting up incredible hours..

I thought it was only while collecting and tacos were needed from the last pick up

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,633 ✭✭✭✭Buford T. Justice XIX

Mortelaro wrote: »
    Yeah, the driver here knocks off a farm or two every collection to the private operators this time of year. Today is the last day of 4 day collection, after St. Patricks day it's all 3 day collection until the end of October.

I'd hate to be on private collectors, the last time they were filling in for our driver, they came twice a day over 6 days days to finish off their loads and never emptied the tank. A quick call to the local manager and it was back to every 3 days since.

whelan2 wrote: »
    He shouldnt be deducted for the tbc as it was out of his control

Oh I'd say now there was a few calls made and that was made abundantly clear.

ganmo wrote: »
    I thought it was only while collecting and tacos were needed from the last pick up

List of exemptions on RSA.ie...

o. Vehicles used for milk collection from farms and the return to farms of milk containers or
    milk products intended for animal feed
    p. Mobile banks
    q. Vehicles used for carrying animal waste or carcases which are not intended for human consumption.

Even if the tacho has to be used only for part of the day, it then has no limitation on drivers hours.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,735 ✭✭✭lakill Farm

whelan2 wrote: »
    No automatic gates yet but when I do I expect it's just a matter of giving the driver a key fob for it

don't mind key fob

Get a GSm dialler unit you can limit what phone numbers whom can open the gates . They call the phone number and gate opens.

Anyone not on list can call you and you can call the gates from anywhere in world and they will open. costs about €120 to install and €10/20 top up each year to keep sim card active. calls to sim are free. A fob is €40/50 each so add up the fobs and calculate the few replacements per year