Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Alcohol consumption gone hugely down

• 05-03-2019 12:20am
    Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,552 ✭✭✭

Is 2019 the year we see the huge decline of alcohol consumption even quiet social pints seems to be dying
    Was out with visitors tonight was driving so on coffee and minerals the city(Limerick) was dead

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 24,409 CMod ✭✭✭✭Ten of Swords

bigpink wrote: »
    Is 2019 the year we see the huge decline of alcohol consumption

No

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 206 ✭✭BuzzMcdonnell

Don’t tell the students, it’ll drive them to drink.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,492 ✭✭✭pleas advice

thats limerick citay

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,785 ✭✭✭KungPao

I’m doing my bit to keep the average up.

#imdoingmybittokeeptheaverageup

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,328 ✭✭✭✭freshpopcorn

Coke is the thing on AH mod nights out!

Don't forget the hookers!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,492 ✭✭✭pleas advice

9fmO2nB.png

• Closed Accounts Posts: 67 ✭✭Big Words

It is of course.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,775 ✭✭✭✭Princess Consuela Bananahammock

It's been going down for a while now, but not hugely. Apparently, this is why we need minimum alcohol pricing.

Everything I don't like is either woke or fascist - possibly both - pick one.

The things they do with empty wine bottles.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,102 ✭✭✭greencap

Its to do with social media and the realization that everyone else except you has a six pack and a party house in Spain where they rub tanned six packs with models.

They drink protein shakes, while you drink beer. Thats the key difference.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,232 ✭✭✭Sam Quentin

All the Alcos are at home,. just having a 'WEE' glass of wine, while they cook dinner,eat dinner,clean up after dinner, watch quare city etc etc..... That 'glass' of wine goes a lonnnnng way :-))

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,275 ✭✭✭Your Face

Underpants gnome logic.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,551 ✭✭✭SeaFields

I wouldn't be using a Monday night as a barometer for your theory op

• Closed Accounts Posts: 382 ✭✭Giveaway

Consumption is not down. Increase in off licence sales. While less money is spent on drink, volume of alcohol drank has increased. Ie rip off pub/club prices vs supermarket sales. Also recreational drug use. Cannabis is massively more popular but being ilicit is not being picked up by the stats

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,325 ✭✭✭xi5yvm0owc1s2b

A major study published last year found that Irish drinking patterns are comparable to other European countries. Irish women have the seventh highest level of average daily drinks in the world, but Irish men were not in the top 10.
    The highest prevalence of male drinkers was in Denmark, Norway, Germany and Argentina, Poland and France. For women, it was in Denmark, Norway, Germany and Argentina.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,926 ✭✭✭Reati

9fmO2nB.png

Haven’t had coke and a Galway hooker in years!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,199 ✭✭✭✭jimgoose

Well I personally drink four thousand litres of beer per capita. EVERY capita.

Consumption in pubs/clubs is down right enough, hardly surprising given the price of it. As alluded to upthread, consumption at home is way up, via off-licenses and supermarkets. Only yesterday I was introduced to the word "prinks", which made me want to kick somebody. I'm told it is a contraction of "pre-drinks", i.e. chungwans and/or chungfellits gathering at a house to get sloshed before going out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,183 ✭✭✭jobless

the price of pints in dublin, im not surprised

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,826 ✭✭✭Feisar

Is alcohol any more expensive today than 5 or 10 years ago when adjusted for inflation?

No I don't think so, however people are copping on to the cost of the pub scene.

First they came for the socialists...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,571 ✭✭✭Red_Wake

There's a direct correlation between the fall in pints consumption and the rise of mental illness.

Think about it sheeple.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,627 ✭✭✭Woke Hogan

Yuck.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,942 ✭✭✭topper75

Is 2019 the year we see the huge decline of alcohol consumption even quiet social pints seems to be dying
    Was out with visitors tonight was driving so on coffee and minerals the city(Limerick) was dead

Sounds like it is your first night out midweek in Limerick since 2007.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,055 ✭✭✭JohnnyFlash

Woke Hogan wrote: »
    Yuck.

You ok, Hogan?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,627 ✭✭✭Woke Hogan

You ok, Hogan?
    I'm a relatively new user to this site but it was recommended to me by a friend of mine last year. He gave me a word of warning before I created my account though, urging me to ignore references to "hamsters running the servers," "mod coke and hooker parties" and Ataris. That was the first of such references I have seen and it made me feel palpably ill.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,199 ✭✭✭✭jimgoose

..."mod coke and hooker parties"...

I don't know much about coke and hookers - I've got geebags and hairy crack, if that's any good to you Chief?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,375 ✭✭✭✭kunst nugget

Red_Wake wrote: »
    There's a direct correlation between the fall in pints consumption and the rise of mental illness.

Think about it sheeple.

People stop self-medicating with alcohol and actually try and sort out their mental health issues? Wasters the lot of them and no craic at all...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,321 ✭✭✭✭listermint

Giveaway wrote: »
    Consumption is not down. Increase in off licence sales. While less money is spent on drink, volume of alcohol drank has increased. Ie rip off pub/club prices vs supermarket sales. Also recreational drug use. Cannabis is massively more popular but being ilicit is not being picked up by the stats

But it is down. And has been year on year for nearly close to ten years

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 109 ✭✭087brain21

Wait till the sun hits us again (hopeful thinking) we wont be long seeing the places fill up again

Where are you getting that from? From most articles I can see online, consumption in Ireland has fallen by about 18% in the last decade and teenagers in Ireland have some of the lowest drinking rates in Europe.

Cannabis is going to become more an issue imo with most of what is sold now being twice the strength of what is on the market a decade or two ago. Back then, it was usually crappy hash you were getting your hands on but any of the weed I've smoked recently absolutely blows the head off of you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,055 ✭✭✭JohnnyFlash

Where are you getting that from? From most articles I can see online, consumption in Ireland has fallen by about 18% in the last decade and teenagers in Ireland have some of the lowest drinking rates in Europe.

Cannabis is going to become more an issue imo with most of what is sold now being twice the strength of what is on the market a decade or two ago. Back then, it was usually crappy hash you were getting your hands on but any of the weed I've smoked recently absolutely blows the head off of you.

Professor Jim Lucey, head of St Patrick’s Hospital, and Professor of Psychiatry in TCD, says cannabis is causing absolutely devastation in some communities - young men barely in their 20’s presenting with profoundly life changing levels of psychosis. It’s reputation as some harmless drug needs to be carefully examined. It ruins lives.

I don't know if my head would have survived my early twenties if I was smoking what's out and about now.

I would favour legalisation and a grading system for strength - at least you'd know what you're getting.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,213 ✭✭✭utyh2ikcq9z76b

Give over, no community is being devastated by cannabis

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,032 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

why have the hippies slowly invaded a thread about creamy pints?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,719 ✭✭✭dundalkfc10

A good % of people here in Dundalk buy our drink, shopping, Oil etc over the border (im sure Monaghan, Cavan, Leitirim, Donegal etc is the same)

They dont have a clue what we drink!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,575 ✭✭✭✭VinLieger

Consumption is absolutely down year over year for over a decade, stop posting about something you obviously have no clue about.

Low cost selling which started and became prevalent during the same period did not increase consumption as claimed proving the main reason for minimum unit pricing was a lie pushed by the vintners

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,193 ✭✭✭Mister Vain

The young lads are more interested in drinking protein shakes these days.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,605 ✭✭✭gctest50

Surely part of it is due to the massive exit :

4xlng5p.png

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,428 ✭✭✭✭odyssey06

gctest50 wrote: »
    Surely part of it is due to the massive exit :

Might be balanced out by the increasing tourist numbers... who like visiting the guinness storehouse and distillery visitor centres.

"To follow knowledge like a sinking star..." (Tennyson's Ulysses)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 310 ✭✭BlackandGreen

a good joint beats a pint any day.

but i mean...i'd be fairly open to having both.

joint and a guinness.

good ****.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 12,548 Mod ✭✭✭✭Amirani

Give over, no community is being devastated by cannabis

Yeah, that's excessive. It does have quite a profound negative impact on a not unsubstantial number of users.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,775 ✭✭✭✭Princess Consuela Bananahammock

All drugs, when abused, ruin lives. Legal or otherwise.

Beyond that, Prof Lucey is being more than a tad hyperbolic - if someone said alcohol was causing absolute devastation in some communites, they'd be laughed at and yet it's been proven to be more addictive and harmful.

Everything I don't like is either woke or fascist - possibly both - pick one.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,995 ✭✭✭Ipso

Stop that, cannabis is a super drug.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,482 ✭✭✭Gimme A Pound

Wouldn't any cold Monday night be dead?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,836 ✭✭✭satguy

€5.10 for a pint of Carlsberg in my local pub.. ( Portlaoise ).
    My Wife will also drink a pint of Carlsberg, so that is €10.20 per round, If we ramble over on Fri or Sat night and have 6 Pints it adds up. ( €61.20 )

Is 6 pints enough ? (not really) ,, Then factor in a portion of curry chips as we have to pass the chipper to get home.

satguy wrote: »
    My Wife will also drink a pint of Carlsberg, so that is €10.20 per round, If we ramble over on Fri or Sat night and have 6 Pints it adds up. ( €61.20 )

Is 6 pints enough ? (not really) ,, Then factor in a portion of curry chips as we have to pass the chipper to get home.

Will ye ride with mad after a gallon of carlsberg and pomme frites?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,552 ✭✭✭bigpink

Wouldn't any cold Monday night be dead?

It would but in a city centre surely a bit of life even social slow pints not mad sessions

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 39,679 ✭✭✭✭PTH2009

You need too be a bit pissed or buzzed sitting in an almost empty pub during a week night. It's so misrible but it can be relaxing but so boring

Pub prices are the problem, over €5 in some places for a pint of Carlsberg but you could go to the offy and get a 6/8 pack for €10/€12

Then we have these hipster micro brewery pubs which some have no life in and you can't talk too loud/sing etc

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,857 ✭✭✭professore

I'm a relatively new user to this site but it was recommended to me by a friend of mine last year. He gave me a word of warning before I created my account though, urging me to ignore references to "hamsters running the servers," "mod coke and hooker parties" and Ataris. That was the first of such references I have seen and it made me feel palpably ill.

Yore Ma!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,857 ✭✭✭professore

satguy wrote: »

I'm imagining Bridget and Eamon for some reason