Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Minister for health's office evacuated.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,943 ✭✭✭Deebles McBeebles

And me like a fool praying for more snow to get the day off. All it takes is an envelope.

"Gardaí, the Army bomb disposal unit and the hazardous materials support unit from Dublin Fire Brigade were at the scene. Also at the scene were six units of the Dublin Fire Brigade and ambulance as well as four support vehicles."

The bare minimum of resources.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,717 ✭✭✭✭Muahahaha

"Gardaí, the Army bomb disposal unit and the hazardous materials support unit from Dublin Fire Brigade were at the scene. Also at the scene were six units of the Dublin Fire Brigade and ambulance as well as four support vehicles."

If it had of been anthrax then that wouldn't have been enough resources

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,605 ✭✭✭gctest50

And the SECTOAR COMMANDER c/w hard hart in case they get hit by stray end of white and blue garda muppet tape

7JORm2k.jpg

Pity it didn't go to Hawkins House, would have been a great opportunity to do a demolition job.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,592 ✭✭✭✭kneemos

Why six units of the fire brigade for a package of white powder?

kneemos wrote: »

The lads could have used it as staying awake powder if it turned out to be something a bit more Colombian.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 12,548 Mod ✭✭✭✭Amirani

Whatever the reasoning for this; protest or having a laugh etc. it's beyond stupid. Poor fecker who was opening Harris' mail is likely pretty shook.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,896 ✭✭✭sabat

What were the actual odds that some random Irish person managed to obtain some weaponised anthrax and send it to Simon Harris? 10 million to one?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,711 ✭✭✭keano_afc

They should tell Harris it will take 2 years before he can get back in the office.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 693 ✭✭✭The Satanist

Nothing says "pro-life*" like a bag of anthrax

*I've already decided to blame that crowd

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,225 ✭✭✭✭freshpopcorn

I think Simon has being posting stuff to himself!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,817 ✭✭✭✭whisky_galore

sabat wrote: »
    What were the actual odds that some random Irish person managed to obtain some weaponised anthrax and send it to Simon Harris? 10 million to one?

It's probably an envelope of talcum powder.

sabat wrote: »

Someone should Tweet this request to Paddy Power and see what they say.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,034 ✭✭✭mad muffin

Simon Harris-

“I don’t feel like going into work today…”

“I fancy a day off…”

Looks into the corner of the nursery room-

Talcum powder-

Simon Harris-

“I wonder…”

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,837 ✭✭✭Edward M

And you might well be right.
    I don't know who it is, maybe investigations will reveal it.
    It's worrying though just from the point of view of implied threat I feel.
    I'm in favour of protest as long as its peaceful, I suppose this isn't an actual violent threat, but it implies it in some ways.
    There's been a lot of militant protesting of differing sorts lately, I just worry on that as militancy tends to bypass political discord and militants tend to want to achieve their goals by force, wonder what would happen if they gained rule or governance really?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,055 ✭✭✭conorhal

This has got to be the first time in the history of the Irish state that a minister has actually called the cops when a brown envelope crossed his desk...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,275 ✭✭✭Your Face

I hope his pension is ok.

anyone taking bets on this?

I'd put the house on it. And a fiver on the Fingal Batallion.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,417 ✭✭✭ToddyDoody

Can I be the first to say that the next health minister has done a terrible job.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,694 ✭✭✭✭Alf Veedersane

kneemos wrote: »

Decontamination.

It's in the protocol for dealing with suspected anthrax

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 210 ✭✭Ted Johnson

Probably the Fingal 1st Battalion of the (non) Workers Socialist Revolutionary Committee.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,365 ✭✭✭✭McMurphy

61KglLM.jpg

• Closed Accounts Posts: 274 ✭✭Auntie Semite

It's funny how the minister has gone from villian to victim in such a short space of time.

Yes, I often wonder who's doing this?

The lizard people.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 274 ✭✭Auntie Semite

The lizard people.

The same Lizard people that stitched up Maurice McCabe?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 423 ✭✭BRYAN Is Ainm Dom

Whoever send the package is pure and utter scum. Hopefully the authorities make an example.

The same Lizard people that stitched up Maurice McCabe?

No, which is surprising given how identical the situations are.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,624 ✭✭✭Working class heroes

It was either travelers or Muslims or foreigners or jews or dole scroungers or something.......

Racism is now hiding behind the cloak of Community activism.

When has overgrown schoolboy Simon Harris ever been considered villainous?

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 53,860 Mod ✭✭✭✭Necro

I think Alan has being posting stuff to himself!

Who the fook is Alan? You wouldn't have inside info on this now would you freshpopcorn.... :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,202 ✭✭✭✭Pherekydes

It was either travelers or Muslims or foreigners or jews or dole scroungers or something.......

Gemma has it sorted:

https://twitter.com/gemmaod1/status/1102564299883597824

Who needs Sherlock Holmes?

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 23,211 ✭✭✭✭beertons

Must have been pancake mix.

Necro wrote: »
    Who the fook is Alan? You wouldn't have inside info on this now would you freshpopcorn.... :eek:

I was told at a secret meeting recently at a service station on the M7.

I meant Simon!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,482 ✭✭✭Gimme A Pound

The people who are incapable of thinking anything else about government ministers other than "der scum" and then do stupid sh1t like this?

It's not that conspiracy-ish.

The people who are incapable of thinking anything else about government ministers other than "der scum" and then do stupid sh1t like this?

It's not that conspiracy-ish.

I get this.
    I just find he seems to get a bit of relies/praise when these thing happen to him.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,482 ✭✭✭Gimme A Pound

I get this.
    I just find he seems to get a bit of relies/praise when these thing happen to him.
    Yeah people who don't blindly buy into the narrative that he's a villain.

worth noting that it wasnt just a ministers office but an entire department cleared out under stressful circumstances today, and theres a reason things like this are taken seriously-because there's always the chance that somone nuts enough to send a suspicious package "just to make a point" is already 90% nuts enough to follow up on actually going ahead with the full threat.

if you think this was in any way merited, acceptable or funny - not just from the point of view of the people who had to leave their workplace today under that kind of threat, but as a member of the society we all live in and contribute to by our words and actions- then you're a piss-poor excuse for a human

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,138 ✭✭✭✭elperello

A very stupid stunt to pull.
    Fair play to all involved in the response.
    When they debrief after today lessons will have been learned and in future the response will be even better.