Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Why isn't the "k word" (for travellers) censored on boards?

• 28-02-2019 5:04pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 616 ✭✭✭

I have seen many threads which centres on travellers or where the thread eventually descends into a reference to travellers and people have often used the "k word" to describe them.

In my opinion, the use of the "k word" is equivalent to using the "n word" for the black community. It is completely unacceptable. I do appreciate that moderators will scold a poster (usually) if they use the "k word", but from what I can see, it can be typed without it automatically reverting to asterixes like the "n word" would, or other swears and offensive language.

You might tell me that there is a feedback forum, but I'd like to capture a wide audience in the highest traffic forum on this website.

Should the "k word" be censored on boards in the same was as other foul language is?

Should the "K word" be censored like the "n word"? 1 vote

Yes
    0%
    No
    100%
    Crock Rock 1 vote

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,500 ✭✭✭✭DEFTLEFTHAND

Knacker is a profession in the agricultural industry.

They dispose of animal carcasses.

You really have the knack of this.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 616 ✭✭✭Crock Rock

No
    Knacker is a profession in the agricultural industry.

They dispose of animal carcasses.

It's a defunct job and is no longer applicable.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,286 ✭✭✭✭tom1ie

Crock Rock wrote: »
    I have seen many threads which centres on travellers or where the thread eventually descends into a reference to travellers and people have often used the "k word" to describe them.

In my opinion, the use of the "k word" is equivalent to using the "n word" for the black community. It is completely unacceptable. I do appreciate that moderators will scold a poster (usually) if they use the "k word", but from what I can see, it can be typed without it automatically reverting to asterixes like the "n word" would, or other swears and offensive language.

You might tell me that there is a feedback forum, but I'd like to capture a wide audience in the highest traffic forum on this website.

Should the "k word" be censored on boards in the same was as other foul language is?

I’m not gonna get into an argument about this, I’m knackered after working all day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 373 ✭✭oLoonatic

What if i wanted to say " i tried to knacker out the kids" It would look like I'm doing something awful to them!

It's still a job title in agriculture.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,437 ✭✭✭✭Ash.J.Williams

But we can still say "Cooper"?

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 10,974 Mod ✭✭✭✭artanevilla

*** ***** ***** **** ********?
    ******* ** *** *** *** ******* ***** *****!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 382 ✭✭Giveaway

"a person whose business is the disposal of dead or unwanted animals, especially those whose flesh is not fit for human consumption."
    this is the dictionary definition. that is all

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,541 ✭✭✭PokeHerKing

Crock Rock wrote:

Knacker has a silent K. ****** doesn't, that's the difference.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,089 ✭✭✭✭_Kaiser_

Or.... people could just stop trying to censor everything they are personally offended by or don't like and view the world as adults.

CONTENT and CONTEXT is far more important.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,503 ✭✭✭✭Mad_maxx

I never use the K word

I call them tinkers, a prominent member of that community on twitter has the handle "loud tinker"

No
    _Kaiser_ wrote: »
    Or.... people could just stop trying to censor everything they are personally offended by or don't like and view the world as adults.

CONTENT and CONTEXT is far more important.

So. using your logic, should the "n word" not be censored?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,696 ✭✭✭✭NIMAN

Why not just type the word Knacker in the thread title.

No-one will sue you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,301 ✭✭✭✭gerrybbadd

Knackers - so you want it banned cos it's inflammatory against this group or because the word is no longer really in use for it's original purpose?

Because if that's the case, they shouldn't be called Travellers either. Some of them haven't moved fúck all in years

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,499 ✭✭✭Sabre0001

I'm knackered after reading this thread

🤪

So. using your logic, should the "n word" not be censored?

Nope. Censorship solves nothing. It certainly won't change the attitudes that are often cited as the reason.

Besides, someone going around giving out about n-words or k-words :rolleyes: usually tells me a lot more about them than the people they're ranting about!

No
    NIMAN wrote: »
    Why not just type the word Knacker in the thread title.

No-one will sue you.

It's a disgraceful and racist word. It's like using the "n word".

They are an equal member of our society and should be treated as such.
    This isn't 1930's / 1940's Nazi Germany.

I would never call Travellers "knackers"; it's a generic description of a wide array of messing, filthy, dirty people in society. If somebody is not too knackered to come up with an alternative word that's equally as apt, go for it.

Etymology of knacker

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,420 ✭✭✭corner of hells

Au contraire , I think you will there are licensed dead animal collectors who collect dead farm animals unfit for human consumption and bring them rendering plants .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,643 ✭✭✭RollieFingers

Peter Casey Number One

No
    _Kaiser_ wrote: »
    Nope. Censorship solves nothing. It certainly won't change the attitudes that are often cited as the reason.

Besides, someone going around giving out about n-words or k-words :rolleyes: usually tells me a lot more about them than the people they're ranting about!

What would that be now?
    Go on. Be a grown up and tell me. I bet you'll just run away and not answer me now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,022 ✭✭✭skallywag

Au contraire , I think you will there are licensed dead animal collectors who collect dead farm animals unfit for human consumption and bring them rendering plants .

+1 I've a family member doing the same.

It's a disgraceful and racist word. It's like using the "n word".

This isn't 1930's / 1940's Nazi Germany.

1) Its not racist.
    2) Fair enough, where did I say they weren't?
    3) You're right, are you calling me a Nazi?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,170 ✭✭✭✭ED E

Then why are they constantly insisting they're special?

What would that be now?
    Go on. Be a grown up and tell me. I bet you'll just run away and not answer me now.

I'm going nowhere don't worry :)

I was actually referring to someone abusing people tells me more about them (but I accept it was badly worded), but on the flip side it does also identify people looking to be offended over certain words rather than the point the person is making.

Again, censorship is not the answer. Education and open discussion of concerns is how you change attitudes

Look man, we all get abuse thrown at us from time to time. I get called a culchie, a bogger, a stone thrower, an ignorant fcker from Tipperary.

It's about how you deal with it, we have to rise above the hate.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,325 ✭✭✭xi5yvm0owc1s2b

Congratulations, OP. I've never seen the word knacker used as much on Boards as I have today.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,549 ✭✭✭jcd5971

Crock Rock wrote:
    They are an equal member of our society and should be treated as such. This isn't 1930's / 1940's Nazi Germany.

I'm knackered after reading this thread.

Also you brought up nazis I'm invoking godwins law.

Mods you now have no choice but to mod this thread/s

No

(1)It's a disgraceful and racist word. It's like using the "n word".

(2)They are an equal member of our society and should be treated as such.

(3)This isn't 1930's / 1940's Nazi Germany.

1) Its not racist.

2) Fair enough, where did I say they weren't?

3) You're right, are you calling me a Nazi?

(1) How is it not racist? They are a distinct ethnic group and deserve the respect that comes with it.

(2) I never said that you said otherwise. I am reinforcing my belief that the word is a disgraceful word to use against another person.

(3) I never called or implied you were a Nazi either, discrimination were derogatory words are used against different ethnic groups is an anachronism of Nazi Germany.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,977 ✭✭✭mikemac2

Still a job and still used by farmers

(1) How is it not racist? They are a distinct ethnic group and deserve the respect that comes with it.

(2) I never said that you said otherwise. I am reinforcing my belief that the word is a disgraceful word to use against another person.

(3) I never called or implied you were a Nazi either, discrimination were derogatory words are used against different ethnic groups is an anachronism of Nazi Germany.

1. Respect is earned, not conferred

2. You are entitled to your opinion of course, just as those who disagree with you are. The key is to respect that opinion even if you disagree, not try to have it shouted down/censored

3. Not sure what Nazi Germany has to do with it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,022 ✭✭✭skallywag

mikemac2 wrote: »
    Still a job and still used by farmers

I guess the OP thinks somehow that animals don't die on farms anymore :rolleyes:

They are a distinct ethnic group

They're as Irish as the rest of us.

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 30,972 Mod ✭✭✭✭Insect Overlord

It's also used in some parts of Munster in much the same way "skobe" is used for ruffians in Dublin.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,439 ✭✭✭Wailin

Awh, you poor little delicate flower. So easily offended, my heart aches for you.

No
    They're as Irish as the rest of us.

Not according to the law.

I was born in Derry.
    A traveller is born in Derry.

How are they a different race to me?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,688 ✭✭✭Ilovethe bonesofyou

What a crock of ****. Oh yeah check out the asterixes on that bad boy.

Not according to the law.

What law?

No
    I was born in Derry.
    A traveller is born in Derry.

How are they a different race to me?

Two people can be born side-by-side in Vilnius.
    One could be an ethnic Lithuanian and one could be ethnic Russian.

Lithuania has two distinct ethnic groups, ethnic Russians and ethnic Lithuanians. Both, are of course Lithuanian citizens, but from separate ethnic groups.

One of the women working in my local barber shop is an ethnic Russian Lithuanian citizen.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,518 ✭✭✭✭dudara

It's also used in some parts of Munster in much the same way "skobe" is used for ruffians in Dublin.

Pretty much this - I’d use knacker to mean skobe, gurrier etc. for me, that’s the common definition, aside from the old agricultural definition.

I’d never use knacker in relation to the Travelling community as that feels derogatory (though I can’t articulate why I feel that way).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,225 ✭✭✭✭freshpopcorn

Thanks for the feedback.
    If you believe a post is offensive report it.
    We'll then look into it.
    I have told people in the past not to use that word and use the word traveller/travellers instead.