Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Calving advice

• 21-02-2019 11:32am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 107 ✭✭

Morning all,

New member here, and I suppose I'm looking to put my mind at ease more than anything, I bought a couple of Chr heffiers 12 months ago, put then in calf and now their near due, date would be 14th of March fot the first,but assuming the could go either side, I come from a sheep back ground and have been lambing all my life, assuming it's more or less the same just sized up lol, I'm well set up for it, been keeping the food back last few weeks, mineral supplements and scour vaccinations given, the girls themselves are in good shape and with the exception of a jack which will be bought this week all else is in place for it,
    So basically from people who's done it all before any advice or tips for a first time?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,566 ✭✭✭Limestone Cowboy

Morning all,

New member here, and I suppose I'm looking to put my mind at ease more than anything, I bought a couple of Chr heffiers 12 months ago, put then in calf and now their near due, date would be 14th of March fot the first,but assuming the could go either side, I come from a sheep back ground and have been lambing all my life, assuming it's more or less the same just sized up lol, I'm well set up for it, been keeping the food back last few weeks, mineral supplements and scour vaccinations given, the girls themselves are in good shape and with the exception of a jack which will be bought this week all else is in place for it,
    So basically from people who's done it all before any advice or tips for a first time?

Don't rush in trying to get the calf out as soon as you see the water bag. If everything is presented right try an let them progress themselves for an hour or two. If nothings happening then you might need to give a bit of assistance. Heifers are normally slower to get down to business and to calve than cows, could be acting sick for well over a day before they are actually ready to calf.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,209 ✭✭✭KatyMac

And be careful - a lambing sheep is reasonably unlikely to hurt you, but a calving/newly calved cow is dangerous in the extreme.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 242 ✭✭foundation10

I would consider getting help if you haven't calved cows as things can go wrong with jacking, you may think that when you have the head and feet out you are away but it is invariably the back end that will catch you. The back end will never cause you issue with lambing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,225 ✭✭✭charolais0153

I would consider getting help if you haven't calved cows as things can go wrong with jacking, you may think that when you have the head and feet out you are away but it is invariably the back end that will catch you. The back end will never cause you issue with lambing.

You can get caught with the hips with a big lamb, if the head of the calf slips out with not too much pressure, youre grand in my opionion

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 107 ✭✭Charolois 19

Thanks for the replys, but ya I think I'll probably be nervous first time out as they say, just remember to give it time and let it go it's way, but ya if it gets to the stage I do need help I will be calling the vet, I wouldn't risk injuring calve or mother through inexperience,
    You look it up online and all you seem to see is horror stories, but like how many rough calvings would you have as opposed to one that goes well?
    Been honest I'm probably over thinking the whole thing and worrying about the 1 in 100 chance 😂

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,918 ✭✭✭Lime Tree Farm

Best advice ever - by Vet Doreen Corridon, Fedamore, Co. Limerick

watch on YouTube online - 2 hours 39 minute video hosted by the Irish Farmers Journal

"Livestock Demo Ennis Mart 2017"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,676 ✭✭✭kay 9

What are they in calf to

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,018 ✭✭✭L1985

Give the cows oats-best thing we ever did as the cows calf themselves and calfs up and sucking within a few mins.
    Also don't stand watching and stressing yourself....give yourself a time to check when you see her progressing and keep yourself busy-sometimes im more anxious then the cow so that helps!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,182 ✭✭✭✭patsy_mccabe

Best advice ever - by Vet Doreen Corridon, Fedamore, Co. Limerick

watch on YouTube online - 2 hours 39 minute video hosted by the Irish Farmers Journal

"Livestock Demo Ennis Mart 2017"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 511 ✭✭✭anthony500_1

KatyMac wrote:
    And be careful - a lambing sheep is reasonably unlikely to hurt you, but a calving/newly calved cow is dangerous in the extreme.

+1 on this, always treat a freshly calved heifer or cow with respect. Take it they will nail you if they can. Keep that in your head and you won't get caught by her if she does as you will be ready for it when and if it happens. Try not enter the pen if you can and try keep the gate between ye if possible. A smaller pen imo is easier to get the cow where you want her then a big open one.
    Now that's the end of the health and safety spiel,
    It's a lovely time on a farm, it's the only thing that keeps me farming is breading a few cows and it's worth the hassle for the small financial rewards imo
    what are the heifers in calf too????
    Search boards for "calving 2018" there is super advise to be gotten there some of which I needed myself. Make sure you let us know how it goes

https://youtu.be/cETXBXV1BDk
    Watch part 2 aswell.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,209 ✭✭✭KatyMac

Thanks for the replys, but ya I think I'll probably be nervous first time out as they say, just remember to give it time and let it go it's way, but ya if it gets to the stage I do need help I will be calling the vet, I wouldn't risk injuring calve or mother through inexperience,
    You look it up online and all you seem to see is horror stories, but like how many rough calvings would you have as opposed to one that goes well?
    Been honest I'm probably over thinking the whole thing and worrying about the 1 in 100 chance ��

Unless you are trying to calve monsters you could go years without any major trouble in all fairness! In the last 4/5 years I've had one heavy pull with a calf that got stuck at her hips and the cow was only small. Last year an older cow died after giving birth, but I think that might have been milk fever which I'm out of the habit of thinking about. She was angus from friesan cow. I though all was grand and went to bed, but she was dead in the morning. And that's it - the rest calved themselves and the calves were up and bouncing around the field within about half hour.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,163 ✭✭✭Who2

Make sure you get the blue lube and iodine for the calves navel, a stomach tube and a good teat feeder. If you haven’t already put in a calving gate then do so.

Their in calf to a limousine, was advised that their easier calved for the first time, have them on the oats the last 5 weeks or so, and feeding hay, I'm not expecting monsters out of them, but no I'm excited about it, first time there will be calves on the farm in 55 or 60 years, my grandparents the last time, I was going to put in the calving gate and asked my vet about it and he pointed out that with one small change to the crush and a anti backing bar it would be more than fit for the job, so have that done, have all the bits bought up, iodine, lube, tubes, colostrum sachets, bottles, ect , so feel fairly confident on that front, no I'll let ye know surly how it goes and thanks to all again

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,399 ✭✭✭50HX

Best of luck with it.....exciting times ahead for you

Hopefully you won't need it but a red lamp is handy as well

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 511 ✭✭✭anthony500_1

Their in calf to a limousine, was advised that their easier calved for the first time, have them on the oats the last 5 weeks or so, and feeding hay, I'm not expecting monsters out of them,/quote]

I'd take a small live calf any day over a big dead one, good luck with them anyways, hope they all go well for you

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 372 ✭✭TPF2012

Hi all. Have a heifer due to calf shortly. Thing is, she was in heat and ai'ed but 7 days later showed heat again and I got her served again. What date would be the must likely to be conception date? Would the first or second heat have been a false one?

TPF2012 wrote: »
    Hi all. Have a heifer due to calf shortly. Thing is, she was in heat and ai'ed but 7 days later showed heat again and I got her served again. What date would be the must likely to be conception date? Would the first or second heat have been a false one?

Its only 7 days. Impossible to know but keep an eye on the first but its more than likley the 2nd

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,651 ✭✭✭✭Green&Red

OP, the best of luck, like the lads say its a great time of year, you never get sick of seeing a cow calf.
    Like they said give the heifer a chance to calf on her own, even when you see the feet give her time, check shes coming the right way and leave her at it. Once the cow is comfortable you've very little to be worried about
    If you are pulling a calf its handy to have a second person there with a bucket of soapy water, the soap will help the calf slip out. When the calf if out put ur hand back his throat and clear the mucus, rub his lungs to get him breathing and a small drop of cold water in the ear is no harm

So here's the update, first calf out today at half 5ish, big bull calf, called the vet in just to make sure all went o.k, he said it was a good calving, he pulled him with the Jack, she was a it confused to start but an hour in she started cleaning him, soon up on his feet and sucking, thanks too all for the advice and tips, was chatting to ma, first calf born in 53 years on the home place, still sinking in 😂😂