Advertisement
If you have a new account but are having problems posting or verifying your account, please email us on hello@boards.ie for help. Thanks :)
Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Lens for Nikon D90

Options
  • 13-02-2019 3:49pm
    Registered Users Posts: 3,235 ✭✭✭

Hi all,

Always had a keen interest in photography but recently have developed a fascination with it. Don't have the funds to upgrade camera till around xmas so just want to pick up a nice prime lens to play around with.

I had a 50mm Canon prime lens but found the zoom too close sometimes, want to take some nice portrait shots but want some versatility, thinking 35mm Nikkor 1.8G but am open to suggestions, absolute novice so would love some advice from more experienced photographers as I can see myself delving deeper and deeper into it.

I have a Tamron 28-200mm lens and a Nikkor 35-80mm, neither anything special but suit me fine. Budget isn't huge so nothing over €150 second hand or €200 new, not sure how I can hide a €200 lens from herself but that's my problem to worry about!

Thanks in advance

Dave

Comments

• Moderators, Motoring & Transport Moderators Posts: 23,157 Mod ✭✭✭✭Alanstrainor

If the lens is specifically for portrait work the the 50mm 1.8 makes a lot of sense. Since the D90 is a crop sensor it would make that 50mm more like a 80mm which is a very good focal length for portraiture.