Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

06 Picanto or 02 Golf

• 10-02-2019 10:10pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21

I have been gifted an 02 Golf 1.4l and currently own an 06 1l Kia Picanto.

I do not see the Picanto passing the NCT in March as it has some rusting on the bodywork, the clutch is extremely heavy for a 1L and a warning light comes on for the breaks/handbrake intermittently while driving.

However, I know an 02 Golf is not going to be without its woes down the line as well.

Would anyone with experience of these cars be able to weigh in as to which is worth investing in and which to dispose of?

Not too knowledgeable about cars so any and all advice is welcome!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 84,761 ✭✭✭✭Atlantic Dawn
    M

The 02 1.4 Golf would have one of the worst powered engines on the face of the earth.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21 CoffeeCrap

The 02 1.4 Golf would have one of the worst powered engines on the face of the earth.

I appreciate the response! Can you elaborate on what you mean by powered? As in, the engine is too weak for the car, it guzzles gas or it drains the battery?

Thanks again

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,582 ✭✭✭greasepalm

The golf is a bit too old and maybe insurance be too much and engine maybe on its limits for nct pass.

Check brake fluid level low as brakes maybe worn down?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,363 ✭✭✭✭bazz26

Not a great choice either way to be honest. I'd see how the Picanto fairs with the NCT first before making a decision. Golf is a bigger and heavier car and the 1.4 litre engine is pretty weak in them, it will use more juice than your used to with the Picanto but will inevitably feel like a tank in comparison though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,055 ✭✭✭selectamatic

CoffeeCrap wrote: »
    I appreciate the response! Can you elaborate on what you mean by powered? As in, the engine is too weak for the car, it guzzles gas or it drains the battery?

Thanks again

They're underpowered, can develop a thirst for oil as mileage increases and they need to be serviced regularly to keep them reliable however their not too hard on fuel if driven easily.

The golf will be a much more comfortable car to drive especially if it isn't the absolute base spec. Insurance could be an issue though with it being a 02.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 84,761 ✭✭✭✭Atlantic Dawn
    M

CoffeeCrap wrote: »

Thanks again

The Corolla of the same era has nearly 20bhp more from a 1.4 engine.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 91 ✭✭ourheritage

If it was me I'd hold onto the Golf as my life was saved by a 2000 model. Another thing you could do would be to sell them both and search for a Passat as you would have about 2500 from the sale of them both and you would get a 2007 model for that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 788 ✭✭✭babi-hrse

A mkiv 1.4 golf will burn oil at that age. Would have lost most of its horses and be feck all boost after 3rd gear. Golfs are well put together heavy enough steel in em in event of crash.
    Sell both for scrap and buy a old corolla or civic at least Japanese cars are lightweight so don't do too much pulling on engine

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,738 ✭✭✭✭Squidgy Black

If it was me I'd hold onto the Golf as my life was saved by a 2000 model. Another thing you could do would be to sell them both and search for a Passat as you would have about 2500 from the sale of them both and you would get a 2007 model for that.

You'd be lucky to get more than a couple hundred quid for a 02 Golf these days, even if it's spotless and has a long NCT. Similar with the Picanto, you'd be looking at a grand, maybe 1200 at a push if it's low mileage and well maintained.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 91 ✭✭ourheritage

You'd be lucky to get more than a couple hundred quid for a 02 Golf these days, even if it's spotless and has a long NCT. Similar with the Picanto, you'd be looking at a grand, maybe 1200 at a push if it's low mileage and well maintained.

Well I did a search on Done Deal and that is how I came up with those prices so it might be a good idea to have a look for yourself

Asking and getting are 2 very different things though.

A picanto that might struggle with the nct and a 02 petrol golf would sell for a combined total of sub €1k imo

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,127 ✭✭✭✭Gael23

That accolade goes to the VAG 1.9 SDI. Modern day buses can move faster.

Gael23 wrote: »
    That accolade goes to the VAG 1.9 SDI. Modern day buses can move faster.

Na the sdi has/had amazing reliability and longevity as its redeeming feature. Pretty economical too if ya do 40mph everywhere

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21 CoffeeCrap

Thanks for all the responses, helpful to get insight from people who know cars unlike myself! I have decided I am going to use the golf as my main car (as the insurance has worked out same price and it is more comfortable) but the picanto will be stored up and I will give it to my better half to use when she starts driving herself.
    All extremely helpful answers and I appreciate it!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,582 ✭✭✭greasepalm

One thing with storing cars is they need a run to keep brakes working and battery charged and not having a flat spot on wheels.