Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Sheep damaging gardens

• 10-02-2019 9:42am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,310 ✭✭✭

Since farmers can shoot uncontrolled dogs damaging their property (sheep), what rights do homeowners have when irresponsible farmers consistently allow their livestock to damage neighbours gardens?

You are mixing up rights and responsibilities.
    Farmers are supposed to look after the welfare of their flocks.
    Practically is someone is letting sheep wander could you improve your defences against them?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,576 ✭✭✭Rows Grower

You are mixing up rights and responsibilities.
    Farmers are supposed to look after the welfare of their flocks.
    Practically is someone is letting sheep wander could you improve your defences against them?

Waffle.

No one is responsible for improving defences against wandering sheep.

The farmer is 100% responsible to ensure his sheep cannot stray from his land.

"Very soon we are going to Mars. You wouldn't have been going to Mars if my opponent won, that I can tell you. You wouldn't even be thinking about it."

Donald Trump, March 13th 2018.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,268 ✭✭✭✭uck51js9zml2yt

I'll bring the mint sauce :)

Waffle.

No one is responsible for improving defences against wandering sheep.

The farmer is 100% responsible to ensure his sheep cannot stray from his land.
    Practicality. If the farmer doesn't care enough to control them the farmer doesn't care about someone else's garden.

It's appears that you are the one who cannot grasp the meaning of "rights and responsibilities".

"Very soon we are going to Mars. You wouldn't have been going to Mars if my opponent won, that I can tell you. You wouldn't even be thinking about it."

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,748 ✭✭✭ganmo

You can shoot them
    BUT
    You'll be open to prosecution for criminal damage and firing a gun near a house.

The control of dogs act gives a defence. The shooter can still be brought to court but all he has to say is it was worrying sheep

Shooting the sheep is definitely not the answer to the problem and will only create bigger problems.

If the farmer or farmers have been made aware of the situation and have done nothing to prevent it happening (or even if it only happened once) the farmer is responsible for paying for any damage caused by the sheep.

Pictures of the sheep on private property where the tags can be identified would be essential to prove any case.

Copies of any texts sent to the offending farmer reporting his sheep are on your land again would also help.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,721 ✭✭✭✭_Brian

Contact the department of agriculture and report the sheep as straying.

You may need to make repeated contacts and if possible have a number of neighbors do likewise.

Farmer will have a visit from the dept.

If the sheep are accessing the gardens via the road I would also call the guards and report the sheep on the road, again continue to do this and have others do the same. If the sheep are continuing to cause a danger to the public the guards will call and have a word.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,310 ✭✭✭Pkiernan

I'm not going to shoot them.

Might let my 2 rottweilers chase them around for a while though.

3rd time now. Farmer doesn't care.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,219 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

Pkiernan wrote: »

How are they getting in? Is it through the hedge or the gate?

Be very careful there because that could come back to bite you in a very serious way if the sheep were to be chased onto a public road and an accident happened.

Ring the Gardai and make a complaint, text the farmer responsible, take pictures and let the farmer know you intend to bring a claim in the small claims court if it ever happens again.

He'll brick it then when he realizes he will open to losing his grant money as well as whatever the small claims court will cost him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,601 ✭✭✭Hoboo

I know you're kidding, but don't punish the sheep. Probably have lambs on board too, animal cruelty is not the answer.

It's appears that you are the one who cannot grasp the meaning of "rights and responsibilities".
    The OP asked what rights they have: afaik
    You can sue for damages.
    You can report to the guards.
    You can impound them.

None are particularly practical or definitive.

The farmer as noted has rights to protect which aren't relevant and responsibilities to control which the OP has very little chance of enforcing.

What remedies do you suggest?

whelan2 wrote: »
    How are they getting in? Is it through the hedge or the gate?

We have electric GSM gates. The sheep are loose on the road. As we approach to go home, the gates open and they rush in.

The OP asked what rights they have: afaik
    You can sue for damages.
    You can report to the guards.
    You can impound them.

None are particularly practical or definitive.

The farmer as noted has rights to protect which aren't relevant and responsibilities to control which the OP has very little chance of enforcing.

What remedies do you suggest?

Mod snip.
    This type of post is unnecessary, uncalled for and unwanted here. Rows Grower , if you cant post in a civilised manner in this thread you might want to consider not posting. This will be the last warning you'll get. Thanks. GC.

I might try to sell them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,808 ✭✭✭✭Water John

Ah now that is a bit different, no excuse to the farmer though. I presume you can turn off the fob and use a pin number instead.
    BTW the sheep are not breaking in, you are opening the gate and letting them in.

I might try to sell them.

It's all about tags and paperwork now so that's a non runner.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,748 ✭✭✭ganmo

http://www.irishstatutebook.ie/eli/2013/act/15/section/12/enacted/en/html#sec12

That's what you'd be guilty of if you did that

Print out section 8 and bring it to the gardai, if they don't act they're open to ridicule

Water John wrote: »
    Ah now that is a bit different, no excuse to the farmer though. I presume you can turn off the fob and use a pin number instead.
    BTW the sheep are not breaking in, you are opening the gate and letting them in.

Oh sweet lord, that's it for me, I'm out.

Water John wrote: »

That's an awful thing to say. I'm not letting them in FFS.

Your attitude is unbelievably Irish.

If you open your gates and loose pitbulls attack your kids, then it's your fault too I suppose?

Go on out if it.

ganmo wrote: »
    http://www.irishstatutebook.ie/eli/2013/act/15/section/12/enacted/en/html#sec12

That's what you'd be guilty of if you did that

Print out section 8 and bring it to the gardai, if they don't act they're open to ridicule

Yawn

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,221 ✭✭✭✭m5ex9oqjawdg2i

ganmo wrote:
    ... firing a gun near a house.

Mind quoting that section? What's the minimum distance?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,808 ✭✭✭✭Water John

Yes it's wrong and annoying that the sheep are regularly on the road. But that was not the complaint you raised here.
    For example I have a grid across my entrance. The neighbours heifers were on the road, now they had got into the habit of breaking out, about 20 got spooked and jumped the grid into the lawn. I didn't loose the rag with him.
    I can tell you 20 heifers would do a lot more damage than any amount of sheep.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,166 ✭✭✭Still waters

I helped a neighbour load 6 heifers one early Sunday morning whos owner was letting them into bounding land, we dropped them into a forestry about 5 miles away, it took him nearly a week to find them, they had plenty grass and water so they were happy enough for the week, he never did it again, there's only one way to deal with scum like this, keep harassing him, call the guards, report him to the department and take down tag numbers, make a nuisance of yourself the same way he's doing to you, keep your gates closed and dont give him any ammo to say you should have your gates closed, also get his phone number, both mobile and landline if he has one, get his wife's number(if he has one) when he gets sick of answering you and ring her, lads hate having to listen to the wife and if that dont sort him bring the bastard to court

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,127 ✭✭✭✭Gael23

It would be much more humane to shoot them than having them chased by Rottweilers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,147 ✭✭✭Sheep breeder

_Brian wrote: »
    Contact the department of agriculture and report the sheep as straying.

You may need to make repeated contacts and if possible have a number of neighbors do likewise.

Farmer will have a visit from the dept.

If the sheep are accessing the gardens via the road I would also call the guards and report the sheep on the road, again continue to do this and have others do the same. If the sheep are continuing to cause a danger to the public the guards will call and have a word.

Nothing to do with the department.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,147 ✭✭✭Sheep breeder

We have electric GSM gates. The sheep are loose on the road. As we approach to go home, the gates open and they rush in.

Any chance this is on the Curragh Kildare or on commonage lands.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,316 ✭✭✭tanko

Any chance this is on the Curragh Kildare or on commonage lands.

I'd say the sheep dont exist and this isn't happening at all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,996 ✭✭✭✭gozunda

Living in the countryside? Animals straying? Yes it happens. I have an elderly neighbour - a bit strange at the best of times and wouldn't be the best at fencing. Have found his animals wandering and even in my place from time to time.

Do I get annoyed, scream, write angry posts on boards?

No I help the old codger out because it's the right thing to do both for him, the safety of the animals and others.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,577 ✭✭✭Suckler

Full Guide here on how to deal with wandering sheep. Also highlights potential hazards gathering them up, indications of number of assistants required.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=IvY6lY7MJ04

Suckler wrote: »
    Full Guide here on how to deal with wandering sheep. Also highlights potential hazards gathering them up, indications of number of assistants required.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=IvY6lY7MJ04

Lol. So you know the old fella living alongside me! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,688 ✭✭✭✭mickdw

Got me.

Very good guide here as to problems with sheep and types of fencing.

Need it to watch it to the end .... :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,412 ✭✭✭✭endacl

let the farmer know you intend to bring a claim in the small claims court if it ever happens again.
    But what if the farmer knows what the small claims court procedure is for? He’ll know that it doesn’t cover the situation described and the OP would look foolish.

You may be thinking of Judge Judy.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 9,041 Mod ✭✭✭✭greysides

Thanks everyone for posting, I think it's been covered fairly completely.

Thread closed.

The aim of argument, or of discussion, should not be victory, but progress. Joseph Joubert

The ultimate purpose of debate is not to produce consensus. It's to promote critical thinking.

Adam Grant