Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Speed camera tolerance

• 03-02-2019 7:51pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 792 ✭✭✭

I do a lot of driving and over the last year. I've drove past speed cameras a bit over the limit. Have drove past doing 104 in a 100 zone about four times and have been doing 63 in a 60 zone about twice. I know these because that's the limit I had my speed limiters set to.

I haven't gotten a ticket yet. I know it's possible that my speedometer is a few percent out, but I'm curious if anyone has an idea of the tolerance there is with speeding tickets?

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators Posts: 17,861 Mod ✭✭✭✭Henry Ford III

Yes. Speedos are normally a bit optimistic

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,795 ✭✭✭Isambard

by co-incidence 104 in my car is actually exactly 100

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 792 ✭✭✭sob1467

Isambard wrote: »
    by co-incidence 104 in my car is actually exactly 100

As a matter of interest how do you find out this?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,546 ✭✭✭✭Reggie.

sob1467 wrote: »
    As a matter of interest how do you find out this?

Gps id say

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 416 ✭✭uncommon_name

105 comes in around 100 in my car.
    My phone, dash cam and sat nav all say 100 when speedometer says I am going 105.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,655 ✭✭✭i57dwun4yb1pt8

sob1467 wrote: »
    I do a lot of driving and over the last year. I've drove past speed cameras a bit over the limit. Have drove past doing 104 in a 100 zone about four times and have been doing 63 in a 60 zone about twice. I know these because that's the limit I had my speed limiters set to.

I haven't gotten a ticket yet. I know it's possible that my speedometer is a few percent out, but I'm curious if anyone has an idea of the tolerance there is with speeding tickets?

thats cos you havent gone over the limit

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 57 ✭✭AbdulAbhaile

86 got one of the truck drivers in our place a ticket. It was a 100 limit for cars.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,249 ✭✭✭magentis

86 got one of the truck drivers in our place a ticket. It was a 100 limit for cars.

80kmh is the limit for a truck on single carriageway national roads.The speedo was probably indicating 90kmh or more for him to be done at 86kmh.
    The amount of trucks travelling at close to 100kmh when they are supposed to be limited to 90kmh is beyond ridiculous.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 547 ✭✭✭Duffryman

I used to cover District Court sittings for a local newspaper. As a result, I saw hundreds, if not thousands, of speeding prosecutions go through the system. Remember a case ends up in court if the on-the-spot fine is not paid, and in court, either the GATSO operator or the Guard has to give evidence of the speed.

Anyway, I once kept records of exactly this kind of thing to see if I might get a story out of it, and over the course of 250 speeding prosecutions that I kept track of:
    Lowest speed I saw prosecuted in a 50 km/h zone was 56 km/h.
    Lowest speed in a 60 zone was 66 km/h.
    Lowest speed in an 80 zone was 88 km/h.
    Lowest speed in a 100 zone was 107 km/h.

There’s no motorway in the court district I usually covered, so I couldn’t collect figures for a 120 zone. But based on how the figures above suggest a ‘tolerance’ of 10% in lower zones and little less than 10% in others, you’d probably be okay up to about 125 km/h before getting a fine.

And before anybody might say it, I’m not encouraging anybody to break the limit by even 10%. I’m just answer the original question.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,267 ✭✭✭mikeecho

GoSafe
    6km over in 50/60/80
    9km over in 100/120

Garda ROBOT vans have the tolerance set by the operater

Garda at side of the road with Laser Gun.
    Decides themselves

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,293 ✭✭✭✭Mint Sauce

When my speedo reads 100, the GPS reads about 96. When the speedo reads 120, the GPS reads about 112. Even though I know the speedo reads over, I'll continue to go by the speedo, I dont want to give the Guards or GoSafe any excuss, even if they do have a tolerance.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,267 ✭✭✭mikeecho

Mint Sauce wrote: »
    When my speedo reads 100, the GPS reads about 96. When the speedo reads 120, the GPS reads about 112. Even though I know the speedo reads over, I'll continue to go by the speedo, I dont want to give the Guards or GoSafe any excuss, even if they do have a tolerance.

I've a UK import.. I just set cruise control to 85mph. Prob doing 130km.. and I just keep an eye out for vans.

Never had an issue (except fuel consumption)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 57 ✭✭AbdulAbhaile

magentis wrote: »
    80kmh is the limit for a truck on single carriageway national roads.The speedo was probably indicating 90kmh or more for him to be done at 86kmh.
    The amount of trucks travelling at close to 100kmh when they are supposed to be limited to 90kmh is beyond ridiculous.

As far as I'm aware the limiters on the trucks we useare set to 85kms. The taco is required to be accurate and is calibrated as part of the regular testing schedule, every 2nd year I think and so reads accurately. He was going slightly down hill when he was tagged.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,616 ✭✭✭corsav6

There's a hidden menu on our Vectra, same on most Opel/Vauxhall between 02 and 11. It shows the ECU recorded speed and it's usually 10% below the actual clock readings.
    130km on the clock is 113km on the hidden menu. The GPS is quiet accurate in fairness, always 1km either side of the actual speed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,541 ✭✭✭Leonard Hofstadter

BMWs for the past 25 years or so have this as well in a hidden menu. The speedo in mine is quite accurate, 125 on the speedo is 120 in reality.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,249 ✭✭✭magentis

As far as I'm aware the limiters on the trucks we useare set to 85kms. The taco is required to be accurate and is calibrated as part of the regular testing schedule, every 2nd year I think and so reads accurately. He was going slightly down hill when he was tagged.

I would be very surprised if they are set below the motorway limit of 90kmh.

Of course a truck or bus will push ahead of the limiter going downhill.Its something that needs to be watched.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,795 ✭✭✭Isambard

BMWs for the past 25 years or so have this as well in a hidden menu. The speedo in mine is quite accurate, 125 on the speedo is 120 in reality.

4% same as mine

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,254 ✭✭✭Kevin Finnerty

Anything like this in Audis? C6 A6.
    Set mine to 127 or 105 and nearer for the lower limits since I got 3 points for 66 in a 60.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,430 ✭✭✭RustyNut

magentis wrote: »
    I would be very surprised if they are set below the motorway limit of 90kmh.

Of course a truck or bus will push ahead of the limiter going downhill.Its something that needs to be watched.

A lot of companies have their limiters set to 85kmh or below. Stobarts yokes were set to 80, Nolan transport the same, DHL, Musgraves and a lot of others are set to 85, the fuel saving makes up for any time loss.

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators Posts: 17,861 Mod ✭✭✭✭Henry Ford III

Waze has a handy GPS speedo with a warning chime. Has saved me a couple of times.