Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Is Dublin a microcosm of Ireland?

• 03-02-2019 1:35pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,327 ✭✭✭

Some capital cities do not really reflect what the rest of the country is like.

For example, London does not represent England. It is world apart from somewhere like Bodmin, Huddersfield or Norwich.

Likewise, Berlin is a world apart from somewhere like Wuppertal or Bielefeld.

In Ireland, do you think Dublin is a microcosm of the rest of the country or totally different?

Permit me to be blunt: NO.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 32,688 ✭✭✭✭ytpe2r5bxkn0c1

Not even remotely.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,961 ✭✭✭buried

Sure if it reflected what the rest of the country looked like then the whole island should be one gigantic concrete laden city. The Cliffs of Moher would be called the Cliffs of Google.

Bullet The Blue Shirts

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 24,422 CMod ✭✭✭✭Ten of Swords

Dublin does not contain a representative number of culchies to be considered a microcosm of Ireland

Thankfully!!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,246 ✭✭✭judeboy101

Is Dublin full of Kunts?then yes it is a microcosm of Ireland.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26,658 ✭✭✭✭OldMrBrennan83

Kildare is a closer representation. Especially since the vast majority of this country disappeared up the hole of the Celtic tiger and became an utter cúnt.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,284 ✭✭✭✭RMAOK

Not a chance

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,055 ✭✭✭JohnnyFlash

It is the economic, political, and cultural capital of Ireland. Our biggest and best city. Some mucksavages from hellholes like Tipperary town and Longford don’t like the place and believe that living in their own soulless kip is somehow a superior experience. Wrong of course.

Thread title is like one created by someone who registered on boards in Feb 2019, tbf. Dissappointing from OP.

• Site Banned Posts: 79 ✭✭Robert Wolfe

It is the economic, political, and cultural capital of Ireland. Our biggest and best city. Some mucksavages from hellholes like Tipperary town and Longford don’t like the place and believe that living in their own soulless kip is somehow a superior experience. Wrong of course.

In Dublin you hand over a quarter of your income every month to share a rathole with 6 Romanians and spend your days dodging knackers and junkies on the streets.

Meanwhile in my small town 'hellhole' I pay 50 euro a week for a huge room in a mansion of a house (got my own bathroom too).

People here are friendly, the travellers know their place and I the only diversity I have to experience is hard working Poles, benign east Asians and beautiful foreign au pairs.

Feels outstandingly good man.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,801 ✭✭✭✭bodhrandude

Well we don't have a Luas in County Galway or the city and we don't have Dublin bus or Dart. I think Galway might only have one venue to accommodate a thousand people at a gig, so no friggin way that the west is anything like Dublin city.

If you want to get into it, you got to get out of it. (Hawkwind 1982)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,194 ✭✭✭Zorya

Unless ye have sheep, goats and deer on the hills, a grassy strip down the middle of yer roads, forestry creep, and people in very old-fashioned clothes shouting hep hep hayor (yiz cúnts!) as they carry bags of nuts through water-logged fields to the cows. Do ye? :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,477 ✭✭✭weemcd

Not at all. Majority of Ireland is made up of white native, reluctant or ex-catholics. Dublin is completely and totally multi-cultural, and thus quite different to the rest of Ireland.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 753 ✭✭✭Legend_DIT

What capital city IS a microcosm of the broader country?

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 24,422 CMod ✭✭✭✭Ten of Swords

Legend_DIT wrote: »

City states ;)

Singapore would be a good example

• Closed Accounts Posts: 391 ✭✭Flyingsnowball

Dublin is becoming a global place like Paris, Berlin, New York, London etc.

The rest of the country can keep its character and rely on Dublin for funding and grants and stuff all while moaning about it and complaining how people from there think they are great.

When a country child has ideas above his grant allowance he can head up to the big city and get a job for a few years until he can come home and buy a pub. Where he can sit behind the bar moaning about Dublin until he retires.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,327 ✭✭✭jetsonx

I would love to know this also.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,219 ✭✭✭✭biko

No capitol represents the country any more.
    They are more alike each other than other places in their own countries.

The capitol
    latest?cb=20140121195448

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,736 ✭✭✭Irish Guitarist

I've often heard people speaking with really strong Dublin accents and thought they were talking some foreign language.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,564 ✭✭✭Titzon Toast

We haven't had one of these threads for a few days at least. Nice work OP.

"It's a kip"
    "It's full of drugged up zombies"
    "They think they so great up there"

"Yeah?, well we subsidise every other county with our tax take"

Blah, blah, blah.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 933 ✭✭✭El_Bee

Tallaght, Lucan, Blanch, Cabra, Finglas, Darndale, Coolock, Artane, Ballymun, North & South inner city have huge problems with Drugs, Violent crime, Joyriding (what areas of Dublin DON'T have bikes flying around 24/7?) and anti-social behaviour, Gardai response isn't bad in terms of time, but the majority of people they arrest are walking free with another conviction to add to the long long list. Hospitals are overcrowded, Schools are a nightmare, Traffic is bad, I know this is describing most cities around the world, but we're talking about dublin and dublin only (also what kind of mentality is that "London's a ****hole too, so how dare you complain about Dublin?"). Outside Dublin though you can't get sick, and don't be the victim of crime, as large parts of the country are essentially cut off from services. So no, Dublin is it's own little oasis of chaos in a country that barely functions, at least that's how I see it, but I'm pessimistic and cynical, and live in a ****hole that I probably won't escape.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,534 ✭✭✭Mr. teddywinkles

We haven't had one of these threads for a few days at least. Nice work OP.

"It's a kip"
    "It's full of drugged up zombies"
    "They think they so great up there"

"Yeah?, well we subsidise every other county with our tax take"

Blah, blah, blah.

Say most of it is spent on Dublin's infrastrutue.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,228 ✭✭✭BBFAN

Yeah, I don't get it. What a stupid question.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 391 ✭✭Flyingsnowball

BBFAN wrote: »
    Yeah, I don't get it. What a stupid question.

I think op just learned what microcosm meant and wanted to use it in conversation.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,907 ✭✭✭Stephen15

El_Bee wrote: »
    Tallaght, Lucan, Blanch, Cabra, Finglas, Darndale, Coolock, Artane, Ballymun, North & South inner city have huge problems with Drugs, Violent crime, Joyriding (what areas of Dublin DON'T have bikes flying around 24/7?) and anti-social behaviour, Gardai response isn't bad in terms of time, but the majority of people they arrest are walking free with another conviction to add to the long long list. Hospitals are overcrowded, Schools are a nightmare, Traffic is bad, I know this is describing most cities around the world, but we're talking about dublin and dublin only (also what kind of mentality is that "London's a ****hole too, so how dare you complain about Dublin?"). Outside Dublin though you can't get sick, and don't be the victim of crime, as large parts of the country are essentially cut off from services. So no, Dublin is it's own little oasis of chaos in a country that barely functions, at least that's how I see it, but I'm pessimistic and cynical, and live in a ****hole that I probably won't escape.

Most towns in Ireland have rough areas some worse than others so does Dublin. Also the rest the country has a far worse traveller problem than Dublin look at Rathkeele for example which is not in Dublin. I live in Dublin and the area I live in doesn't have any of the problems you mention sure look at farms that are being burgled aswell as another example. There is crime in most parts of the country. Most hospitals suffer from overcrowding sure Limerick hospital is said to have the worst overcrowding and Galway has the worst traffic.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 933 ✭✭✭El_Bee

Stephen15 wrote: »
    Most towns in Ireland have rough areas some worse than others so does Dublin. Also the rest the country has a far worse traveller problem than Dublin look at Rathkeele for example which is not in Dublin. I live in Dublin and the area I live in doesn't have any of the problems you mention sure look at farms that are being burgled aswell as another example. There is crime in most parts of the country. Most hospitals suffer from overcrowding sure Limerick hospital is said to have the worst overcrowding and Galway has the worst traffic.

I literally address all this in my post. Also, I'm happy your area is peaceful and I woulnd't begrudge you that, but "my area is fine" is the same as telling an amputee "well I have both my arms/legs", exactly what do you want me to do with that?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,547 ✭✭✭Agricola

Not a chance.

Cremation is a perfectly acceptable type of funeral in Dublin. In many parts of rural Ireland, t'is something only blow-ins from England and protestants do. Not mutually exclusive groups of course.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,126 ✭✭✭Snow Garden

I think it's a silly question.

Dublin is nothing like smaller towns and cities down the country. To be honest Dublin seems to have gotten very rough and stressful, it would pain me to live there again. It feels more like a grotty English city if I am being honest.