Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

why do gardai ask you what speed you were going?

• 03-02-2019 10:11am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,276 ✭✭✭

It's a typical scenario. They ask you do you know what the speed limit is here or do you know how fast you were going?
    Answering may incriminate you. Has this ever happened to you? How did you respond?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,365 ✭✭✭✭McMurphy

bobbyss wrote: »
    It's a typical scenario. They ask you do you know what the speed limit is here or do you know how fast you were going?
    Answering may incriminate you. Has this ever happened to you? How did you respond?

I usually answer with another question....

"Is there a prize if I answer correctly Garda?" Seems to work well with them.

They love that. It usually results in me getting a good belly laugh from the gaurd, him or her calling me a wee rascal and being sent on my way.

They’re just checking how alert you are. You should always know what speed zone you’re in and what speed you’re doing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 46 Bill nye

Jaysus guard the speedo says I was doing the speed limit!

• Site Banned Posts: 512 ✭✭✭Dakotabigone

There is 50 euro there in the dash vent there gardaaa.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 81 ✭✭Trump Is Right

Me: "50 Euro per hour Mr Garda??"

Mr. Garda: "I think you'll find it's closer to 80 euro per hour!"

Me: "If you say so boss..." :D

Mr. Garda: "Have a nice day!"

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,691 ✭✭✭4ensic15

What's up with you? Did your brother get the farm?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 736 ✭✭✭TCM

They’re just checking how alert you are. You should always know what speed zone you’re in and what speed you’re doing.

If "always" then you would be driving with you're eyes on the speedometer. Difficult enough to do that I'd say.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,143 ✭✭✭Auguste Comte

Or they are trying to get you to admit you were speeding. It makes their job easier.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,878 ✭✭✭✭arybvtcw0eolkf

Simple, he/she has no proof but they suspect you of speeding so they're asking you to hang yourself.

"Now Mr Makikomi do you know what speed you were doing?".

"Yes your Guardship (they like you licking their arse), but do YOU know what speed I was doing?".

"Carry on"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,750 ✭✭✭Avatar MIA

One possible reason is that they are effecting conversation to see if the driver is drunk.

The other, far more likely reason, is that they are trying to extract the maximum hilarity out of their miserable professional lives knowing they are on the bottom rung of AGS, having been placed in an obscure location by management where civilian operated technology can do their job, which is subject to ridicule by Kit-Kat ads.

As the years drag on and the realisation dawns that they're never going to "break the big case" they'll likely supplement the above query with "Don't do it again, I never forget a face".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,166 ✭✭✭Fr_Dougal

“Not sure, Garda, I was texting the mrs’

D’oh!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

"I don't know how fast I was going cause I was looking at my phone, also I'm drunk"

Tears away in the night laughing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,828 ✭✭✭✭nullzero
    °°°°°

"yes Garda, the speed i just bought off of my drug dealer".

Glazers Out!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,276 ✭✭✭bobbyss

It's never actually happened to me but I am assuming that gardai have proof of speed before approaching otherwise why would anyone say they were driving in excess? I don't think a garda can ticket you without proof by speed gun etc . It seems an unprofessional way of going about business. One of the functions of the gardai is to protect your rights yet by asking this question they are trying to get you to say you are guilty if you are in fact speeding. I think the best thing to do is to follow all instructions and answer all questions you are legally required to. But I don't think you are legally required to tell them what speed you thought you were going.

Are you serious?

I know for a fact a Garda can get you ticketed regardless if they've proof or not about whether you were using a phone or not.

Their word is pretty much gospel.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,078 ✭✭✭questionmark?

The other, far more likely reason, is that they are trying to extract the maximum hilarity out of their miserable professional lives knowing they are on the bottom rung of AGS, having been placed in an obscure location by management where civilian operated technology can do their job, which is subject to ridicule by Kit-Kat ads.

As the years drag on and the realisation dawns that they're never going to "break the big case" they'll likely supplement the above query with "Don't do it again, I never forget a face".

Would you like some ketchup for that chip on your shoulder?

I know you are, but what am I?*

*I'm assuming the juvenile taunt was deliberate.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 391 ✭✭Flyingsnowball

It’s like a hairdresser asking if you are going anywhere nice on your holidays or a priest asking if your children know how to keep secrets,
    it’s an ice breaker for nervous people who find it hard to initiate conversation.

Are you serious?

I know for a fact a Garda can get you ticketed regardless if they've proof or not about whether you were using a phone or not.

Their word is pretty much gospel.

I see. Have you ever got a speeding ticket without proof that you were in fact speeding? Just on the say of a garda?

Yes.

A Garda car was behind me once while I was doing 135 on a motorway.

And what's with all the quotes?

Quotes? What Quotes?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,001 ✭✭✭ayux4rj6zql2ph

This has happened to me, my thoughts on this are that they are qualified individuals who have studied psychology, and are using this in an attempt to get one to confess to an offence by self admission.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,473 ✭✭✭✭Blazer

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 6,309 Mod ✭✭✭✭mzungu

Ah, they are just making a bit of pleasant small talk before they rightly fine you for speeding! :D:pac:

This has happened to me, my thoughts on this are that they are qualified individuals who have studied psychology, and are using this in an attempt to get one to confess to an offence by self admission.

Since when did the Gardai study psychology?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 469 ✭✭rafatoni

Pulled in by a guard many years ago around 1am with 2 friends in the car, i was on a main enough road while guards were pulling out of a housing estate.. flashed lighs and i pulled in. guard asked me if i was drinking to which i replied no. I wasnt drinking. Said Guard then stuck head right into the car (obviously to see if smell of Drink) asked for my licence and then checked tax, insurance all the usuals.

When it all tallied up the guard told me to head on my way but to watch my speeding in the future?? I actually said i was doing 40 (this was a 60 zone minimum) again i was only ticking along as it was late. He then saod rather quite forceably that i was speeding and any further i would be fined. I just answere ok and moved on.

rafatoni wrote:
    When it all tallied up the guard told me to head on my way but to watch my speeding in the future?? I actually said i was doing 40 (this was a 60 zone minimum) again i was only ticking along as it was late. He then saod rather quite forceably that i was speeding and any further i would be fined. I just answere ok and moved on.

This really annoys me. This arrogance comes from never being challenged. I am assuming he had proof of speeding? I don't think you are legally required to open the window fully. Perhaps a bit to communicate. I would be interested to see what the law says in that regard. I would always follow legal instructions from a guard. But if the law says they must have proof of speeding via speed gun then I would argue the point with him. In a perfect world I would also have a camera with audio as back-up mounted in the car.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,315 ✭✭✭mynamejeff

Yes.

A Garda car was behind me once while I was doing 135 on a motorway.

so you were speeding

and you got stopped for speeding

and done for it

what the problem ? dont speed dont get caught

This really annoys me. This arrogance comes from never being challenged. I am assuming he had proof of speeding? I don't think you are legally required to open the window fully. Perhaps a bit to communicate. I would be interested to see what the law says in that regard. I would always follow legal instructions from a guard. But if the law says they must have proof of speeding via speed gun then I would argue the point with him. In a perfect world I would also have a camera with audio as back-up mounted in the car.

I don't think he was charged with speeding. They get trained in Templemore how to act with the public, but it may not always translate well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,088 ✭✭✭✭_Kaiser_

rafatoni wrote: »
    Pulled in by a guard many years ago around 1am with 2 friends in the car, i was on a main enough road while guards were pulling out of a housing estate.. flashed lighs and i pulled in. guard asked me if i was drinking to which i replied no. I wasnt drinking. Said Guard then stuck head right into the car (obviously to see if smell of Drink) asked for my licence and then checked tax, insurance all the usuals.

Sound more like he saw a few lads in a car late at night and thought he had a nice drink-driving situation to write up, but instead found everything in order and his ego meant that he couldn't let it go without trying to reassert his "authority" by saying the guy was speeding when he wasn't

The arrogance and general incompetence of the Gardai is ridiculous. It's no wonder there's scandal after scandal. The good ones are hugely outnumbered by the bad, or those who just don't give a crap about the responsibilities and impact of the job.

As I keep saying, it's a ground-up restructuring the force needs if they want to shake off the image - laughably repainting all the cars to "Road Policing" after the breathalyzer scandal with "Traffic Corps" is fooling no one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,739 ✭✭✭scamalert

Its nervous situation when getting pulled by guards, thou if nothing wrong was done why be offended, most guards are sound, grand they have to deal with animals daily so some might be cranked up. But comparing guards to most EU or even US cops they are soft here.

Not saying they should be anywhere close like they have in US, but being insulted by simple question one should know what speed limit is on the road and respond accordingly.

scamalert wrote:
    Not saying they should be anywhere close like they have in US, but being insulted by simple question one should know what speed limit is on the road and respond accordingly.

Yeah but I don't think anyone here is saying they don't know what the speed limit is but it's the attitude of the gardai when they talk down to you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,858 ✭✭✭Church on Tuesday

Lack of originality?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,092 ✭✭✭The Tetrarch

This actually happened.
    Stopped by Garda.
    I roll down the window.
    Garda your fly is open.
    Oh, thanks ...... I could charge you for careless driving. I'll let you off this time.

(better to try this only when the Garda's fly is open).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 449 ✭✭RobbieMD

Why would anyone not open the window fully? If the Garda was so inclined there are powers available that allow them to drive your car if they want. I also imagine that any discretion for minor offences would be dispensed with. There are very few cars out there with absolutely everything correct on them, and I imagine that being awkward with the Garda just means you’re going to be treated similarly.

RobbieMD wrote:
    Why would anyone not open the window fully? If the Garda was so inclined there are powers available that allow them to drive your car if they want. I also imagine that any discretion for minor offences would be dispensed with. There are very few cars out there with absolutely everything correct on them, and I imagine that being awkward with the Garda just means you’re going to be treated similarly.

Some people probably do not like being told what to do. Especially when they are not obliged to.