Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Is Ireland expensive because of thieves and chancers?

• 29-01-2019 5:09pm
    Site Banned Posts: 725 ✭✭✭

Hotels might seem more expensive in Ireland than some other European countries, but then you hear stories from hotel operators of how many Irish consumers cancel last minute, don't show, turn up and check out early after running up huge bills, or cause serious damage to hotel property, and cancel credit cards before the hotels can charge them. Ordinary, decent, hard working people can hardly expect good value when hotels have to cover these costs.

Insurance premiums are another example of this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,419 ✭✭✭corner of hells

Balanadan wrote: »
    Hotels might seem more expensive in Ireland than some other European countries, but then you hear stories from hotel operators of how many Irish consumers cancel last minute, don't show, turn up and check out early after running up huge bills, or cause serious damage to hotel property, and cancel credit cards before the hotels can charge them. Ordinary, decent, hard working people can hardly expect good value when hotels have to cover these costs.

Insurance premiums are another example of this.

Car insurance premiums ?

• Site Banned Posts: 725 ✭✭✭Balanadan

Car insurance premiums ?

Yeah.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,261 ✭✭✭joeysoap

Sunday Times last Sunday 8 Polish guys have claims following rear ending. Despite saying ones evidence wasn’t very believable he awarded 3 of them €10k each. Judges living in their own world is part of the problem.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 391 ✭✭Flyingsnowball

Why do people see something happen in Ireland and think, woah that only happens here?

Humans are humans a lot of the time.

Threads up and running , now if we just find a way of getting travellers and Muslims into it .

• Site Banned Posts: 725 ✭✭✭Balanadan

Threads up and running , now if we just find a way of getting travellers and Muslims into it .

There are plenty of Irish people act worse than the travellers that they complain about.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,500 ✭✭✭✭DEFTLEFTHAND

Why do people see something happen in Ireland and think, woah that only happens here?

'Chancery' and trick acting are deeply ingrained in Irish culture.

We make heroes of chancers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,181 ✭✭✭✭iamwhoiam

Because the law is often not enforced here and sueing culture is out of control

You should see the rap music scene in other countries.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,554 ✭✭✭valoren

I see those obnoxious insurance fraud ads are working.

That's the crux of it. Messages such as those ad's will always fall on deaf ears to the people they are targeting. As if some sociopathic arsehole planning an insurance fraud will see the ad and tell himself "You know what, they are right, it's time to take a conscientious look at my amoral plans and also to think of my fellow motorists who will be financially impacted following the successful conclusion of my nefarious plan"

As such these ad's are naive and blind to the basest elements of human nature. They may as well be talking to the wall. Looking back at the backlash from the Gillette ad, the furore was because they are preaching to moral, righteous men who felt insulted at being told how to behave when they already bloody know that and all being cast alongside the dickheads and twats who never change. As per above the bully or the sexist is not going to say "Thank you multinational corporation for making me think twice about my behaviour"

Saint Charles Haughey of the Louis Charvet shirt ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,554 ✭✭✭valoren

The Cute Hoor

valoren wrote: »
    The Cute Hoor

Only in Ireland would cute hoors like Dell boy Trotter, Ned Kelly, Hilary Clinton and Che Guevara get away with it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,819 ✭✭✭BalcombeSt4

There's thieves and chancers in every country, only here we call them the Government.
    Things are also expensive because multinational corporations do not pay there fair share of tax so working class people have to pay more tax than they should have to.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 529 ✭✭✭yoke

<...>Things are also expensive because multinational corporations do not pay there fair share of tax so working class people have to pay more tax than they should have to.

Complete rubbish. Those multinational corporations don’t earn their money in Ireland, so actually they’re taking money from Europe (single market) and paying tax here. Even if they didn’t pay a cent of tax, their 100,000 well paid workers are probably keeping your “working class” afloat, due to their taxes and other contributions.
    Don’t bite the hand that feeds you...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,819 ✭✭✭BalcombeSt4

They don't earn any money in Ireland but pay (very well apparently) 100,000 of people out the goodness of their giant hearts.

And even if any of that is true are over reliance on a handful of large multinational corporations is a huge threat to the Irish economy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 529 ✭✭✭yoke

They don't earn any money in Ireland but pay (very well apparently) 100,000 of people out the goodness of their giant hearts.

And even if any of that is true are over reliance on a handful of large multinational corporations is a huge threat to the Irish economy.

Well, yes, they do create jobs. And they do pay well.
    If there was lower tax somewhere else with a stable political system and somewhere they think they could attract talent, I’m sure they’d all move there fairly quickly (after considering all factors).

Over-reliance on anything is a potential threat to the economy, I’ll agree with that, but I don’t see the alternative here... it’s not like we can just decide to become an economic powerhouse tomorrow with massive amounts of money and a huge self-sustaining market to make money from for ourselves. The Irish export economy is tiny if you take away the multinationals, and farming - if you took away the multinationals, we’d be back to relying almost completely on farming to bring in money into the country.

And if there’s no money coming into the country, but you still want to buy computers and internet equipment and cars and aeroplanes and microwave ovens and all the other things we don’t produce here, you’re going to need some large new-found oil reserves or some other source of cash...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 268 ✭✭ShaneC93

Balanadan wrote: »
    Hotels might seem more expensive in Ireland than some other European countries

Hotels ARE more expensive in Ireland but insurance premiums has little to do with it, it's a supply/demand thing.

There is currently a 7,000 hotel room shortage during peak season in Dublin alone, based on demand, with enough new hotels / rooms to cover this not set to come online until late 2022. That is why there is so many hotels being built - one one street alone in Dublin (Abbey Street) there is planning permission granted for 12 different hotels all in the past couple of years. 12!

thats what Maradonna said about his 'hand of God' goal against England.

He said in Buenos Aries, a pick-pocket or petty thief has a certain amount of respect because of his skill in getting away with it.

It must be a Catholic thing

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,593 ✭✭✭Wheeliebin30

There's thieves and chancers in every country, only here we call them the Government.
    Things are also expensive because multinational corporations do not pay there fair share of tax so working class people have to pay more tax than they should have to.

Ahhh jaysus...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,593 ✭✭✭Wheeliebin30

Half of our tax intake is from corporation tax from multinationals.

Do you actually believe what you’re writing without any facts?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 150 ✭✭Worn Out

Every time a traffic light turns red in Ireland watch all the chancers put the pedal to the metal. Lunatics.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 784 ✭✭✭thecornflake

Ahhh jaysus...

. . . . .howerya love, are ya well?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,857 ✭✭✭professore

In other countries (US excepted) they laugh ridiculous claims out of court. And they don't give 60 grand awards for tiny scars.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,857 ✭✭✭professore

What's your brilliant alternative solution?

If the likes of you go near the multinationals the hard working people of ireland who actually keep the place running will get out on the street and you will see how small this parasitic socialist commie element who think money grows on trees and wouldn't know work of it slapped them in the face actually is.

Go off to Venezuela!

Farming isn't viable either in its current form. Its massively subsidised by the EU.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 84,761 ✭✭✭✭Atlantic Dawn
    M

Mortgages much more expensive too because you can not pay a single cent on it for a number of years and not be evicted.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,903 ✭✭✭✭mfceiling

Worn Out wrote: »
    Every time a traffic light turns red in Ireland watch all the chancers put the pedal to the metal. Lunatics.

You spelt pricks wrong.