Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Does dogsh1T spike in cold weather?

• 19-01-2019 12:12AM
    Closed Accounts Posts: 84 ✭✭

Not the dogsh!t itself but the levels ,it seems to be everywhere in the last few days

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 554 ✭✭✭Fiftyfilthy

Yes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,975 ✭✭✭✭whisky_galore

It's hardly surprising, so many dog owners who can't clean up after their fur babies.
    Nearly hit a straying fur baby yesterday, just having a walk, by himself on the road.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 84 ✭✭tomoliver

I didn't see any for a while but now it's everywhere all of sudden

Hence my query

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 85,666 ✭✭✭✭Atlantic Dawn
    GDY151

The darkness allows selfish dog owners to let their dogs $hite without anyone seeing it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,084 ✭✭✭theguzman

I really don't know why people have dogs in their houses or apartments it is just plain disgusting and totally unhygienic. I recently bought a second hand house which had been rented prior to the foreclosure and auction where I bought it. The only problem in the house is damage from dogs, they gnawed away the stairs bannisters and gnawed on door frames also. The former tenant who allowed their dog to damage another persons property like this must be a total absolute scumbag, the former landlord obviously did nothing and considering the house was being foreclosed they probably didn't care either. These are the same sort of people who would bash their car door of your car but ate the head of you if it was done to themselves.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 502 ✭✭✭Pero_Bueno

I used to like dogs, now however I would happily kick them to death now that I live in a city and there is dog**** all over the streets.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,172 ✭✭✭Allinall

theguzman wrote: »
    I really don't know why people have dogs in their houses or apartments it is just plain disgusting and totally unhygienic. I recently bought a second hand house which had been rented prior to the foreclosure and auction where I bought it. The only problem in the house is damage from dogs, they gnawed away the stairs bannisters and gnawed on door frames also. The former tenant who allowed their dog to damage another persons property like this must be a total absolute scumbag, the former landlord obviously did nothing and considering the house was being foreclosed they probably didn't care either. These are the same sort of people who would bash their car door of your car but ate the head of you if it was done to themselves.

You probably should have bought a different house.

For your own mental wellbeing, like.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,165 ✭✭✭Rubberchikken

we've always had a dog. no damage here. only excellent angel-like fur babies and we clean up the poo.
    and they only enhance a home. consider instead the smell from dirty nappies/cigarette smoke/unwashed humans.
    give me a fur baby any day:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,267 ✭✭✭✭nullzero
    °°°°°

Pero_Bueno wrote: »
    I used to like dogs, now however I would happily kick them to death now that I live in a city and there is dog**** all over the streets.

A bit harsh don't you think?

Glazers Out!

You might want to get help, mental help.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,393 ✭✭✭MonkieSocks

=(:-) Me? I know who I am. I'm a dude playing a dude disguised as another dude (-:)=

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,832 ✭✭✭✭DrPhilG

Stop calling them fur-babies for feck sake, you sound like lunatics.

I'm mad about animals (1 dog, 7 cats at present) but they're not babies. They're dogs and cats.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,693 ✭✭✭✭kneemos

Probably decomposes faster in hot weather/heavy rain.

DrPhilG wrote: »
    Stop calling them fur-babies for feck sake, you sound like lunatics.

I'm mad about animals (1 dog, 7 cats at present) but they're not babies. They're dogs and cats.

They're not dogs, they're good boys.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,351 ✭✭✭✭super_furry

I guess cold weather in Ireland usually coincides with clear skies and no rain to wash it away?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 603 ✭✭✭Gentleman Off The Pitch

Walking anywhere in Ireland has basically become collecting dog **** with your shoes. It's got so bad that I've started to despise dog owners. Around my area it appears that if the dog ****s a couple of mm off the road or path, the owner is automatically resolved of any obligation to clear it up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 671 ✭✭✭Plopsu

There was a definite increase where I work over the Christmas like Santa had been flinging it from his sleigh as he passed overhead.

They're not dogs, they're good boys.

True, and cats aren't cats, they're assholes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,964 ✭✭✭Deebles McBeebles

Noticing a fair bit of it too. Its usually left by the auld wans with their bichon frise/mini yorkie/chihuahua type dogs.

You could DNA test every lump of sh*t in my town and not one of them would belong to my dogs. If you can't clean up after your dog, maybe you should have a look at yourself.

Noticing a fair bit of it too. Its usually left by the auld wans with their bichon frise/mini yorkie/chihuahua type dogs.

You could DNA test every lump of sh*t in my town and not one of them would belong to my dogs. If you can't clean up after your dog, maybe you should have a look at yourself.

There's some massive dog turds left after the usual family favourites, labs and retrievers too, having a walk for themselves, happy out.
    It's like India or a developing country more than Western Europe at times, people thinking it's ok to let them wander unattended all over, chasing cars etc.

There's some massive dog turds left after the usual family favourites, labs and retrievers too, having a walk for themselves, happy out.
    It's like India or a developing country more than Western Europe at times, people thinking it's ok to let them wander unattended all over, chasing cars etc.

Oh yeah, its not exclusively the little dogs, have seen plenty of bigger ones too but folks seem to think because its a little dog, its ok to leave it there.

Still better than horse sh*t on the path, made my way through one of those this morning too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 96 ✭✭bsloepro

Notice a fair bit myself. Possibly due to short days and people not taking their dogs to parks etc after work, but instead out on the local paths. P1sses me off no end. I have a lab and wouldn’t consider leaving the house with at least 3 sh1te. These people give the rest of us a bad name. Another thing that really gets to me is the people who bag it but then throw the bag somewhere that’s not a bin. That’s even worse cos it can’t even decompose.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,067 ✭✭✭✭fryup

True, and cats aren't cats, they're assholes.

well at least cats have the good grace to clean up after themselves, by covering up their own cr"p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,397 ✭✭✭SortingYouOut

Met Eireann actually forecasted dog ****e and I'm pretty sure there was a nationwide warning in place, so anyone only has themselves to blame if they stand in it.

Beverly Hills, California

Met Eireann actually forecasted dog ****e and I'm pretty sure there was a nationwide warning in place, so anyone only has themselves to blame if they stand in it.

Brown weather warning?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,287 ✭✭✭✭RMAOK

Brown weather warning?

:D:D:D

fryup wrote: »
    well at least cats have the good grace to clean up after themselves, by covering up their own cr"p

Most of them...

One of ours was hand raised from about 2 weeks old. Had to bottle feed her and even wipe her arse to coax out her first solid dump. Normally the mother will lick their arse and abdomen to make them go. I stuck with a damp tissue.

Seemingly it's the mother who will also teach them manners and etiquette, such as burying their own poop, because she doesn't. The rest all do, but you know a mile off when Lucy has laid cable, it stinks because she just drops it on top of the litter and saunters off.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,710 ✭✭✭D3V!L

We bring our lad for a walk around Crumlin (Dublin) and let him sh*t where he wants. Its not like they'll notice.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,809 ✭✭✭Hector Savage

Most of them...

One of ours was hand raised from about 2 weeks old. Had to bottle feed her and even wipe her arse to coax out her first solid dump. Normally the mother will lick their arse and abdomen to make them go. I stuck with a damp tissue.

Seemingly it's the mother who will also teach them manners and etiquette, such as burying their own poop, because she doesn't. The rest all do, but you know a mile off when Lucy has laid cable, it stinks because she just drops it on top of the litter and saunters off.

Yeah, I tend to use damp tissue myself, the whole idea of licking a cats hole isn't very appealing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,814 ✭✭✭harry Bailey esq

Yeah, I tend to use damp tissue myself, the whole idea of licking a cats hole isn't very appealing.

No, it wouldn't be everyone's cup of tea Hector. I was pondering the accumulation of dogsh1te though. After a few pints I figure it's not that dogs crap more in winter, the cold air just keeps it 'fresher' for want of a better word so it takes longer to break down.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 32,688 ✭✭✭✭ytpe2r5bxkn0c1

fryup wrote: »

Yes, usually in my flower beds where I'll be digging or weeding. Fine if they'd use their owners' gardens instead of mine.

As the old saying goes, you don't sh*t where you eat.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,800 ✭✭✭tretorn

I agree about the hygiene.

I was in a neighbours house last week and savouries were laid out on a low table. Their dog, the size of a small pony kept coming in and out and the dog lovers there kept petting him, he was brushing off the food and his tail was right on the table. Another smaller dog was there too and the dog lovers were cradling her like a baby. God only knows what she was stuck into in the park, I left early.

Am so sick of dog dirt too, the local park is full of it and thats where the children play football, the roads are tooo busy to play on and they should be able to goto a park without coming home covered in Dog poo.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,510 ✭✭✭✭Dial Hard

As a dog owner who religiously picks up after mine, there is nothing more annoying than stepping in someone else's dog sh*te.

I did have a very satisfying "Ain't karma a bitch moment" last year though. Had brought my dog down to the Dodder. Woman with a Boxer and two kids is up ahead of me, her dog pooed, she stood there watching it, then just walked off. Two seconds later one of the kids stepped in dog sh*t and the mother went mental. How I laughed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,461 ✭✭✭Bob Harris

There's one more piece of dog shít on the streets when you're on them.

Dial Hard wrote: »
    As a dog owner who religiously picks up after mine, there is nothing more annoying than stepping in someone else's dog sh*te.

I love asking if they have forgotten to bring a bag and then offer them one.

A bag of what. On tick?

Get some catmint seeds and throw a few into the neighbours on the sly and you shouldn't be bothered by them any more. Also, the zoo will give you as much wild predatory cat scat as u can take away. That works too

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,576 ✭✭✭Paddy Cow

theguzman wrote: »
    Not all dogs could survive living outside. Mine are toy dogs and probably wouldn't last one night. Not all renters who are dog owners are as$holes. I had carpets before I got my pets. Once I got them, I paid to have new lino floors put down. Much easier to clean. By the way, my dogs also sleep in my bed :pac: How much does that disgust you? :p

Paddy Cow wrote: »
    Not all dogs could survive living outside. Mine are toy dogs and probably wouldn't last one night. Not all renters who are dog owners are as$holes. I had carpets before I got my pets. Once I got them, I paid to have new lino floors put down. Much easier to clean. By the way, my dogs also sleep in my bed :pac: How much does that disgust you? :p

Who wears the flea collar?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,809 ✭✭✭Hector Savage

Get some catmint seeds and throw a few into the neighbours on the sly and you shouldn't be bothered by them any more. Also, the zoo will give you as much wild predatory cat scat as u can take away. That works too

? what does catmint do ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 85 ✭✭anitaca

Letterkenny has seen higher levels of horse dung on the footpaths lately. I horse**** you not.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 502 ✭✭✭Pero_Bueno

nullzero wrote: »
    A bit harsh don't you think?
    DubInMeath wrote: »
    You might want to get help, mental help.

Jesus lads , I wouldn't ACTUALLY kick a dog to death* - this is AH ffs!

* Just chuck them in a sack in the canal