Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Taking a hiding

• 18-01-2019 8:44pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 495 ✭✭

I've been in 2 fights in my life:

The first was when I was about 17. A few lads I hung around with were messing around. A guy I went to school with (who was and probably is a scumbag) had me in a headlock. I was laughing at the start. After I realised he wasnt letting me go, I stopped struggling. He didnt let go and started to tighten his grip. I told him to let go. He started saying "Calm down and I'll let you go" while he was tightening his grip. My throat was half closed, which was pretty scary.

I started to punch him in the ribs. He dropped to the ground while still holding onto me and I kept trying to hit him. With his other hand he punched me in the face a few times. I was starting to pass out at this point (which is one of the most terrifying memories I have) and I stopped struggling. Everyone was watching at this point and one of the girls told him to let me go, which he eventually did (still raging over what a little sneaky sh*t he was).

He was all up for a proper fight when I stood up, but I was seeing stars and could see my eye swelling across my vision. One of the girls took me to the side and asked me if I was alright while a few others asked him what had happened. I dusted myself off and went home.

The second was when I was about 20. I was going to the toilet in a park after being in a nightclub. Another guy was doing the same. I said something jokey to him and he ignored me. I said "Well f*ck off then". Next thing I know he's bashing me (not my finest moment for multiple reasons). I swung for him and watched my fist sail past his face. We wrestled for a minute then I was on the ground and he was kicking me in the head. After a while he stopped and walked away. I went to the hospital and got stitches in my lip.

What was strange to me about these experiences was how I dreaded ever getting into a fight in my childhood but once I did I found it very liberating. I think I overcame my fear of being in a fight and found out I wasn't a coward. I havent been in anything resembling a fight since and have walked away from potential situations but I never had that paralyzing fear again.

I wonder if anyone else has had a positive experience of losing a fight or taking a beating?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,222 ✭✭✭✭freshpopcorn

Thankful because of Gillette these incidents won't happen anymore!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,639 ✭✭✭andekwarhola

• Closed Accounts Posts: 84 ✭✭tomoliver

Used to be in an arranged fight on a regular basis after school- i wouldn't fancy it now

In school in manchester they used to fight in the school grounds -teachers just looked on didn't even bother breaking it up

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,639 ✭✭✭andekwarhola

tomoliver wrote: »
    Used to be in an arranged fight on a regular basis after school- i wouldn't fancy it now

In school in manchester they used to fight in the school grounds -teachers just looked on didn't even bother breaking it up

When I was in 6th class, we used to have a competition that the last person to escape through the school gates at home time got a hiding from the class. Pretty bad stuff in retrospect, some painful ones dished out.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 84 ✭✭tomoliver

When I was in 6th class, we used to have a competition that the last person to escape through the school gates at home time got a hiding from the class. Pretty bad stuff in retrospect, some painful ones dished out.

i can still remember a lad getting an awful hammering in the school yard in manchester

some of the teachers(brothers) were sadists themselves and school had an awful reputation for physical/sexual abuse

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 554 ✭✭✭Fiftyfilthy

Late at night, in a park ,toilets, chatting to a stranger

Were you on the prowl for cock?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,492 ✭✭✭pleas advice

can't remember the last time i got punched in the face,

woke up with a black eye tho

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 495 ✭✭Undividual

Late at night, in a park ,toilets, chatting to a stranger

Were you on the prowl for cock?

Nah, I had to piss. How do you prowl for cock, out of curiosity?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,345 ✭✭✭Grueller

I boxed in my young days a small bit. Have to say the discipline of it made me always try to avoid fights in a funny way. Only ever got in one fight outside the ring. A guy took a dislike to me and out of nowhere started swinging. He had obviously never boxed because they were hail mary haymakers with no hope of landing. I absolutely chinned him with a right cross after he missed a big left. He sat down on his hole dazed. I skulled my drink and got a taxi home within 30 seconds. I had no desire to try for a repeat performance.

• Registered Users, Subscribers, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,631 ✭✭✭✭antodeco

Undividual wrote: »

By going into a park toilet, late at night and talking to strangers

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,814 ✭✭✭harry Bailey esq

The first was when I was about 17. A few lads I hung around with were messing around. A guy I went to school with (who was and probably is a scumbag) had me in a headlock. I was laughing at the start. After I realised he wasnt letting me go, I stopped struggling. He didnt let go and started to tighten his grip. I told him to let go. He started saying "Calm down and I'll let you go" while he was tightening his grip. My throat was half closed, which was pretty scary.

I started to punch him in the ribs. He dropped to the ground while still holding onto me and I kept trying to hit him. With his other hand he punched me in the face a few times. I was starting to pass out at this point (which is one of the most terrifying memories I have) and I stopped struggling. Everyone was watching at this point and one of the girls told him to let me go, which he eventually did (still raging over what a little sneaky sh*t he was).

He was all up for a proper fight when I stood up, but I was seeing stars and could see my eye swelling across my vision. One of the girls took me to the side and asked me if I was alright while a few others asked him what had happened. I dusted myself off and went home.

The second was when I was about 20. I was going to the toilet in a park after being in a nightclub. Another guy was doing the same. I said something jokey to him and he ignored me. I said "Well f*ck off then". Next thing I know he's bashing me (not my finest moment for multiple reasons). I swung for him and watched my fist sail past his face. We wrestled for a minute then I was on the ground and he was kicking me in the head. After a while he stopped and walked away. I went to the hospital and got stitches in my lip.

What was strange to me about these experiences was how I dreaded ever getting into a fight in my childhood but once I did I found it very liberating. I think I overcame my fear of being in a fight and found out I wasn't a coward. I havent been in anything resembling a fight since and have walked away from potential situations but I never had that paralyzing fear again.

I wonder if anyone else has had a positive experience of losing a fight or taking a beating?

I've been maimed, like really maimed on my hand years ago. The guy that maimed me obviously went on and maimed a less forgiving type than meself and is now worm food. Out of the two lads that held me down, one took his own life and the other poor fu*k is living in Cedar House. I received a 5 figure sum as compo from the boss. A gentleman's agreement, no coppers or court involved.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 554 ✭✭✭Fiftyfilthy

Collins dictionary has the term ‘ on the prowl’ to mean

Zealously pursuing potential sexual partners

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,117 ✭✭✭✭Junkyard Tom

I am Jack's complete lack of surprise.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,028 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

Been on the receiving end of s few digs in my teenage years as is the rite of passage for a young man

Apart from that not even started on in the last 25 years because to look at me you would want to really be sure of yourself before you had a go

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 408 ✭✭DubInTheWest

I was in a few fights growing up alright, started on a couple of times in school but I won every fight in school. Different story in the neighbourhood. Was in a couple of good ones, I gave as good as I got but ended up with a broken nose and a scar over my left eye. The oul crooked nose never lets me forget lol

I have a family member, won medals for Ireland boxing. He has a baby face and you'd think butter wouldn't melt in his mouth. Well he was sold something faulty, and when he brought it back they wouldn't refund and not only that but the guy was some big ugly Russian guy pumped up on steroids, I think you know the ones I'm talking about, well he put it to the wrong guy, he ended up with a metal plate in his head after my relative was finished with him. The downside was, he got jailed for it. The judge was he used his skill from the ring.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,484 ✭✭✭Andrew00

OP was on the hunt for some cock

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,412 ✭✭✭✭endacl

Andrew00 wrote: »
    OP was on the hunt for some cock
    It's a bummer when you post what you think is a really a funny post immediately after reading the first post, only to go back and read only slightly farther down the page to see that somebody else got there before you...

Yeah. I used the word 'bummer'. Now's your big chance! Go for it! :D

<juvenile sense of humour set to max>

and, response in...

Maybe the OP was looking for George Michael at the time to get his card stamped autograph ?

Quote by George himself ...
    He defended "cruising" after he was caught emerging from the bushes
    of a park with another man in 2006.

He told Channel 4's Richard and Judy show: "Sorry if people don't like the fact I cruise but the police absolutely accept that it goes on at night."

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,706 ✭✭✭fonecrusher1

So the OP was hiding in the bushes at night in a park next to a public men's toilet. He said or offered a stranger something near the toilets but this person declined and you said "Well f*ck off then"....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,232 ✭✭✭Sam Quentin

Few fights in school, main one I remember is me and a 'friend' messing something like yourself and for some reason he seemed to be using a lot of strength when he was trying to get me to the ground,. I just muttered are we serious.... And then all I remember is us boxing the head of each other.... I had to ask another friend later what the fight looked like and how many punches had I thrown, I remember him saying it was mad looking and that I hit him about 13 times in a few seconds... I really couldn't believe it.....
    Loads of fights in my 20s(usually through drink)... But 2 major ones in my mid 20s and when I lived in London, one in particular I nearly killed a man, started in a club and both of us where thrown out together, continued outside where I nearly put his head through rot iron fencing... Was arrested that time with another friend who tried to stop me......
    The other major one in my twenties took place inside a house which myself and my fiancee shared with another couple,. The other guy was obviously beating on his gf,. I got involved and it was complete mayhem with my opponent receiving serious bite marks on his chest(I don't remember doing that) anyway his gf tried to stop this and ended up getting in a cat fight with my fiancé.. it was mental and we were trying to help the other girl...
    I got a good beating in my late 20s were I think I went unconscious? Remember waking up to the voice of a girl who I didn't know, asking was I ok...I ended up grand but I was shook for a bit and nowadays I avoid physical violence unless necessary!?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,363 ✭✭✭Negative_G

Apart from that not even started on in the last 25 years because to look at me you would want to really be sure of yourself before you had a go

lol.

Let me guess. BMI over 30. Ill fitting clothes from Penney's/Jack&Jones (or Man Utd jersey), a rarely used Ben Dunne Gym/flyefit membership and some generic tribal tattoos with (possibly) a crudely applied celtic cross to show the locals in the pub how hard you are.

Maybe a swallow tattoo on the hand to warn off potential adversaries?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,310 ✭✭✭Pkiernan

I have a family member, won medals for Ireland boxing. He has a baby face and you'd think butter wouldn't melt in his mouth. Well he was sold something faulty, and when he brought it back they wouldn't refund and not only that but the guy was some big ugly Russian guy pumped up on steroids, I think you know the ones I'm talking about, well he put it to the wrong guy, he ended up with a metal plate in his head after my relative was finished with him. The downside was, he got jailed for it. The judge was he used his skill from the ring.

Does your family member have a double barrel first name like JohnJoe or PaddyBoy?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,363 ✭✭✭Negative_G

Pkiernan wrote: »
    Does your family member have a double barrel first name like JohnJoe or PaddyBoy?

Ala, was his second name Mongan, Maughan, Nevin, Cash, Joyce or MacDonagh?

Pkiernan wrote: »
    Negative_G wrote: »
    Ala, was his second name Mongan, Maughan, Nevin, Cash, Joyce or MacDonagh?

Ye dirty keyboard warriors ye, I'll break your head twice.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,503 ✭✭✭✭Mad_maxx

I was in a few fights in school and going out up until the age of twenty, was also in a fight with an intruder on my property when I was twenty seven, that one went to court and I lost even though he left me with a black eye and I merely restrained him

He told the guards I pulled a tazer on him and a week later my house was searched, between corrupt guards ( guy had pull) and my living in a district with one of the most insane judges ever to sit on the bench in this country, to complete the fiasco, my barrister was on his first day and froze

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,315 ✭✭✭mynamejeff

Been in some scrapes over the years but not many considering my life path
    played GAA and rugby for many years

few in sports but nothing to extreme a few yellow cards and only one red ever

worked doors for a while in my very early 20s but found looking the part deterred most problems and a arm lock and quick stroll off the premises did the rest

In general speaking solves most problems and being large helps too

and for negative g no idea what my BMI is train 3 times a week more tkmax than pennys no tattoos and dont follow football

as for taking a beating , few broken bones and black eyes all sports related

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,878 ✭✭✭✭arybvtcw0eolkf

Honestly I never took a beating although I've been in the wars.

Started in school, hey I was a red head growing up in Ballymun so I was always going to be in the thick of things but from memory I was always fairly handy, and a good runner.

Later in life I done nightclub/bar security for 25 years (I've been in the army all my adult life and it was almost impossible to pay a mortgage & raise kids without a second job).

I'm also a Judo black belt (level II coach) and competing at a national level.

All that said I hate violence, I detest it and even after 25 yrs door work I can't get my head around one adult wanting to beat the crap out of another. There's nothing to boast about and its potentially life changing for both parties

Outside of my school days, martial arts competition (hundreds of fights there) and off the doors I've never been in a row. Not even close to one.

That said I'm 53 in March, I'm fairly placid and don't hang around places or with people where I'm likely to find trouble. I suppose I get a bit of road rage thrown at me which I don't respond to, I've too much to lose.

Damn when I think back to my school days I did actually have one tormentor who bullied me terribly. I met the little prick years later when I was head doorman on a club long gone now (The Bridge Bar, Westmoreland St.), I didn't touch him but be nearly crapped himself when I told him to fvck off away from the door, at first he rose to me but then remembered who I was and realized he was probably in a lot of bother right then.

I've had some solid loses in competition though, but that's not violence.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,962 ✭✭✭r93kaey5p2izun

The only hidings I've ever received would fall under the category of domestic violence. I got in a fight once as a child when defending my dog from being beaten by my neighbour who was a couple of years older than me, ended up with a split lip. He was shot dead a few years ago and it couldn't have happened to a nicer person.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,381 ✭✭✭✭Potential-Monke

There was a phase during primary school when I was in 6th class, and I fought every male in my class that year. In quite a few fights in secondary school too. All because of 2 features I couldn't change. Imagine it, going to school every day getting picked on for being different, for having different features to nearly everyone else, features I had no control over and couldn't change. Name calling, pushing, shoving, punching, even being put into a bin at one stage. Everyone thought it was hilarious, egged on the bullies, joined in sometimes.

I'm ginger and short. But imagine if I said I was black or Asian. Same circumstances, different features.

But I'm over it now. I actually look forward to the insults now, because I like to hear if there's any originality to it these days. Anyway, for the fights, I reckon I won about 70%. I may have been small, but because I was ginger I had a strong right arm. The tallest lad in class picked on me one day, everyone egging him on to fight me, so I agreed. We squared up, he was all confident because he was a lot taller than me, so I ran in and punched him into his left eye, knocked him down. He looked up, slightly shocked, cut just appearing under his eye. I walked away, everyone stunned. That was the last fight of primary school.

It continued into secondary school, I never really got taller, just grew a bit. Only 5'7" now at 35. Fought so many people in secondary school, again with most of them thinking I'd be a push over. No one expected the strong right. I actually got suspended once for fighting, and all I was doing was watching this one! It continued all the way into 5th year, when the lanky cnut of the class was flicking the back of my head (he was sitting behind me). So I calmly got up, picked up my table and threw it straight at him. Sat back down. Class was stunned. Teacher walked in, I'd no table, it was on a heap beside yer man. Asked what happened, I explained what happened. Got suspended but no one picked on me again after that.

Oh, I suppose to finish the story, I became a Garda so I could then bully everyone else for 9 years... :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,476 ✭✭✭Bigmac1euro

There was a phase during primary school when I was in 6th class, and I fought every male in my class that year. In quite a few fights in secondary school too. All because of 2 features I couldn't change. Imagine it, going to school every day getting picked on for being different, for having different features to nearly everyone else, features I had no control over and couldn't change. Name calling, pushing, shoving, punching, even being put into a bin at one stage. Everyone thought it was hilarious, egged on the bullies, joined in sometimes.

I'm ginger and short. But imagine if I said I was black or Asian. Same circumstances, different features.

But I'm over it now. I actually look forward to the insults now, because I like to hear if there's any originality to it these days. Anyway, for the fights, I reckon I won about 70%. I may have been small, but because I was ginger I had a strong right arm. The tallest lad in class picked on me one day, everyone egging him on to fight me, so I agreed. We squared up, he was all confident because he was a lot taller than me, so I ran in and punched him into his left eye, knocked him down. He looked up, slightly shocked, cut just appearing under his eye. I walked away, everyone stunned. That was the last fight of primary school.

It continued into secondary school, I never really got taller, just grew a bit. Only 5'7" now at 35. Fought so many people in secondary school, again with most of them thinking I'd be a push over. No one expected the strong right. I actually got suspended once for fighting, and all I was doing was watching this one! It continued all the way into 5th year, when the lanky cnut of the class was flicking the back of my head (he was sitting behind me). So I calmly got up, picked up my table and threw it straight at him. Sat back down. Class was stunned. Teacher walked in, I'd no table, it was on a heap beside yer man. Asked what happened, I explained what happened. Got suspended but no one picked on me again after that.

Oh, I suppose to finish the story, I became a Garda so I could then bully everyone else for 9 years... :rolleyes:

I can see why you became a guard

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 495 ✭✭Undividual

endacl wrote: »
    It's a bummer when you post what you think is a really a funny post immediately after reading the first post, only to go back and read only slightly farther down the page to see that somebody else got there before you...

Yeah. I used the word 'bummer'. Now's your big chance! Go for it! :D

<juvenile sense of humour set to max>

and, response in...

I guess the way I told it makes it sound a bit gay alright. Sure its all legal now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,681 ✭✭✭bodice ripper

I had the **** kicked out of me a few times as a young teenager by older male teenagers. It wasn't liberating.