Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Service advisor motor industry

• 18-01-2019 6:45pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 41

Looking for a bit if info. who here works as a service/after sales advisor here?? looking for for some info on the position.
    thanks

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 235 ✭✭rev2.0

Used to work in the area, feel free to pm me

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 41 civicowner

rev2.0 wrote: »
    Used to work in the area, feel free to pm me

cheers you have a pm

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,688 ✭✭✭✭mickdw

I always thought it would be a nice job but then someone told me that even in reputable dealerships, they are expected to upsell. That makes me think it is a terrible job.

mickdw wrote: »
    I always thought it would be a nice job but then someone told me that even in reputable dealerships, they are expected to upsell. That makes me think it is a terrible job.

ive been a service advisor last 4-5 years so now the crack with the role. the questions I have are more salary and bonus schemes people are on as I think I might be getting screwed over a small bit 😂

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,582 ✭✭✭khaldrogo

mickdw wrote:

In every single business that has any intention to stay afloat upselling is part and parcel of it.
    The waiter is trying to upsell wine and dessert to you.
    The dentist is trying to upsell teeth whitening/teeth straightening etc.
    The hairdresser is trying to upsell hair products to you.
    The bathroom shop is trying to upsell the expensive fittings to you.
    The clothes shop is trying to upsell accessories to you.
    The supermarket is trying to upsell impulse buys at the tills to you.

Upselling is not restricted to the motor trade and it is not something to look down on. If someone is trying to pressure the upsell that's different but if a service advisor is advising you need new wipers then that is normal upselling and like with all upselling you are allowed to say no.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,917 ✭✭✭✭Toyotafanboi

I was service advisor for a few years for a few different brands. People sink or swim very quick, it's not the upsell or the wages that's a killer it's the fecking abuse that gets you!

Upsell is par for the course in any main dealer anyway, maybe not in some mom and pop country dealers but in any of the big groups it certainly is. Basic wage should be better than the likes of sales etc but you'll want upsell to get you across the line.

Put a figure on it OP what's your basic and OTE and what part of the country are you in?

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators Posts: 17,861 Mod ✭✭✭✭Henry Ford III

Stressful position imho

I was service advisor for a few years for a few different brands. People sink or swim very quick, it's not the upsell or the wages that's a killer it's the fecking abuse that gets you!

Upsell is par for the course in any main dealer anyway, maybe not in some mom and pop country dealers but in any of the big groups it certainly is. Basic wage should be better than the likes of sales etc but you'll want upsell to get you across the line.

Put a figure on it OP what's your basic and OTE and what part of the country are you in?

il drop ya a pm there if ya don't mind?

Stressful position imho

been at it 5years I that part ain't what troubling me 😂

khaldrogo wrote: »
    mickdw wrote:

In every single business that has any intention to stay afloat upselling is part and parcel of it.
    The waiter is trying to upsell wine and dessert to you.
    The dentist is trying to upsell teeth whitening/teeth straightening etc.
    The hairdresser is trying to upsell hair products to you.
    The bathroom shop is trying to upsell the expensive fittings to you.
    The clothes shop is trying to upsell accessories to you.
    The supermarket is trying to upsell impulse buys at the tills to you.

Upselling is not restricted to the motor trade and it is not something to look down on. If someone is trying to pressure the upsell that's different but if a service advisor is advising you need new wipers then that is normal upselling and like with all upselling you are allowed to say no.
    That's all fair enough however I think it's particularly rough on the customer in motor servicing because all too often it's sold on safety grounds and when dealing with elderly especially, this is an evil tactic.
    A set of wipers is fair game but when businesses start frightening the elderly into having discs and pads all round when not required, those type of customers will not question it. This is far beyond a waiter trying to sell desert - the safety fear is the sick part of the upselling here.

This is a fair point but despite what the masses believe, this sort of tactic is the exception not the rule.

mickdw wrote:
    That's all fair enough however I think it's particularly rough on the customer in motor servicing because all too often it's sold on safety grounds and when dealing with elderly especially, this is an evil tactic. A set of wipers is fair game but when businesses start frightening the elderly into having discs and pads all round when not required, those type of customers will not question it. This is far beyond a waiter trying to sell desert - the safety fear is the sick part of the upselling here.

I would have thought it is the very definition of upselling.... selling you something you didn't need.
    The well known chain outlets that specialise in tyres and brakes are very skilled at selling people parts and services that were certainly not needed.
    If one was not wise to these outlets, they would be going home every time with 4 new tyres, brakes all round and a couple of new shocks.

mickdw wrote:
    I would have thought it is the very definition of upselling.... selling you something you didn't need. The well known chain outlets that specialise in tyres and brakes are very skilled at selling people parts and services that were certainly not needed. If one was not wise to these outlets, they would be going home every time with 4 new tyres, brakes all round and a couple of new shocks.

Talking absolute drivel.

khaldrogo wrote: »
    Talking absolute drivel.

Well maybe not all these bits every time but close to it. I've seen it in reality, we have seen the threads on here about such activities and we have seen the rouge dealers type TV from UK.
    Which chain do you work for?

Qualified 20 years. Ran after sales in a main dealer. Worked in 7 different main dealers. Have seen more underhand shenanigans from main dealers than any chain outfit. 30 grand a month in warranty work that was never carried out.

Have been a manager in 2 of the largest chains over the last 10 years. If any of my staff tried to sell parts that weren't needed they'd be out the door.

However, I have found over the years that different mechanics have very different opinions on what constitutes a part needing replacement. And the customer tends to go with the opinion of whoever is going to save them money on the day.

In terms of brake discs, in all the main dealers I worked I never saw anyone (including myself) measure the discs and find out what the minimum thickness was. It wasn't until I started in the chain that I was asked what thickness was when I said a car needed brakes.

Last thing I will say is if you have not WORKED in one of these chains you are defaming then anything thing you have to say about the goings on in them is drivel. And I will extend an open invitation to anyone who wants to come to my garage and watch my lads work and the level of customer care we provide.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,917 ✭✭✭✭Toyotafanboi

You wouldn't get away with that kind of messing Now, with warranty claims these days you're lucky to get paid for work you've actually done, the way most manufacturers have their process laid out now creating fictitious claims is virtually impossible.

Never a truer word spoken though in terms of mechanics opinions on wear and the customer flying with the cheapest opinion. That is the hardest part of the business whether main dealer or independent IMO.