Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Handing in your notice

• 17-01-2019 7:33pm
    Site Banned Posts: 3

I handed in my notice recently, it's very satisfying, all the stresses if projects and deliverables gone until the new job. I'm still putting in some effort, I wouldn't take the piss.

How much effort do you put in after handing in your notice?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,600 ✭✭✭893bet

As much as possible.

If you do a couple of years good work it will all be undone in the minds of people if you leave the handover in a jocker to the next person. People remember that!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,737 ✭✭✭Yer Da sells Avon

Any time I handed in my notice, it felt like a weight was lifted from my shoulders and I suddenly started really enjoying the job.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,544 ✭✭✭Marengo

I handed in my notice recently, it's very satisfying, all the stresses if projects and deliverables gone until the new job. I'm still putting in some effort, I wouldn't take the piss.

I presume references from the job your leaving have been sorted:)

• Site Banned Posts: 3 Hudson Yard

Marengo wrote: »
    I presume references from the job your leaving have been sorted:)

References don't matter these days, but I clearly said I don't take the piss. Effort will be reduced but my tasks are still taken care of.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,544 ✭✭✭Marengo

References don't matter these days, but I clearly said I don't take the piss. Effort will be reduced but my tasks are still taken care of.

Really? I haven’t changed job in 14 years, internal promotions, so I’m probably out of touch. They were all the rage in 2005:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 737 ✭✭✭vargoo

"I'm leaving now"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,042 ✭✭✭zl1whqvjs75cdy

I'm working out a 12 (!) week notice. I am so bored. They've stopped giving me work and I'm drinking coffee like it's going out of fashion. Dying to leave

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,397 ✭✭✭CPTM

Marengo wrote: »
    Really? I haven’t changed job in 14 years, internal promotions, so I’m probably out of touch. They were all the rage in 2005:D

These days it's an email to the company's HR department to confirm job title and dates worked in the company.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 737 ✭✭✭vargoo

Yiz are going to need to put in your made up job titles when your posting

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,881 ✭✭✭Peatys

Ah sure it's yourself.. clocks ticking! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,802 ✭✭✭✭For Forks Sake

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20 pablopicasso1

I'm working out a 12 (!) week notice. I am so bored. They've stopped giving me work and I'm drinking coffee like it's going out of fashion. Dying to leave

Both of you are lucky beyond belief. After the 4th consecutive 11 hour day of the 3rd consecutive 6 day week of mind splitting screen staring and 16 years of the same thing and the biggest trunchbull boss imaginable I can think of little else that would make me happier than handing my notice in and seeing that chink of light way down that tunnel.

Sorry to bring the mood down just.... yeah

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,535 ✭✭✭✭Purple Mountain

Whys yer man banned already!?

To thine own self be true

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,245 ✭✭✭myshirt

Both of you are lucky beyond belief. After the 4th consecutive 11 hour day of the 3rd consecutive 6 day week of mind splitting screen staring and 16 years of the same thing and the biggest trunchbull boss imaginable I can think of little else that would make me happier than handing my notice in and seeing that chink of light way down that tunnel.

Especially when that light at the end of the tunnel is an oncoming train on it's way to hit you right in the sack.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,408 ✭✭✭whomitconcerns

CPTM wrote: »
    These days it's an email to the company's HR department to confirm job title and dates worked in the company.

Good luck with that... It's an email or phone call to people you have in common on LinkedIn or otherwise.. So they can get it all warts and all

• Closed Accounts Posts: 32,688 ✭✭✭✭ytpe2r5bxkn0c1

Whys yer man banned already!?

Same reason as his last 8 or 10 bans.

• Administrators, Social & Fun Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 78,456 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭Beasty

Same reason as his last 8 or 10 bans.

7,827 actually.

Hope he's happy in his new job and they manage to keep him occupied....

myshirt wrote: »
    Especially when that light at the end of the tunnel is an oncoming train on it's way to hit you right in the sack.

Yeah...the trunchbull driving it. She's the kind of person that would make a train run by just looking at it....so it could get away from her.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,349 ✭✭✭Odhinn

I was "let go" after 18/19 years. 'Zero' would be the honest answer. Place went bust and folded 5-6 weeks later.

Odhinn wrote: »
    I was "let go" after 18/19 years. 'Zero' would be the honest answer. Place went bust and folded 5-6 weeks later.

Sounds like the dream I wake up from every morning. Redundancy?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,349 ✭✭✭Odhinn

Sounds like the dream I wake up from every morning. Redundancy?

The minimum as prescribed by law. 70 hour weeks, working through migraines, flu, coming in out of hours all forgotten. Mind you I expected nothing better - the place was like a monarchy, in that it was your relationship with board members that dictated your treatment and wage. The two who rewarded my efforts were no longer with us by the end.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,950 ✭✭✭✭whisky_galore

Wtf is a 'deliverable'? Management speak BS.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,535 ✭✭✭✭Purple Mountain

Beasty wrote: »
    7,827 actually.

Hope he's happy in his new job and they manage to keep him occupied....

I thought he was genuine.
    Too gullible for my own good.

To thine own self be true

Odhinn wrote: »
    The minimum as prescribed by law. 70 hour weeks, working through migraines, flu, coming in out of hours all forgotten. Mind you I expected nothing better - the place was like a monarchy, in that it was your relationship with board members that dictated your treatment and wage. The two who rewarded my efforts were no longer with us by the end.

Work sucks. You throw ten years at something thinking there's a better life just that couple of years away if you stick with it and go above and beyond.

At least you got the redundancy and complete relief of stress as some kind of reward.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,085 ✭✭✭The Tetrarch

The company where I worked was described to me as a supertanker, moving in one direction, and your efforts will not change the direction in the slightest.
    It hit the rocks after I left (14 months "notice").

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,566 ✭✭✭valoren

In terms of IT a deliverable would constitute the production release for a specific project or product.

Say the current code is version 5.0.

There are a number of bugs, issues and change requests being tracked since the last 4.9 release.

So for 2019, the steering committee decide that there is sufficient issues that need to be fixed and a portion of the IT budget is set for a 'deliverable' of a 5.1 production release incorporating the most pertinent fixes with a set date that everyone then works towards. The business, the testers, the developers, the project managers etc.

Staff then go around talking about '5 point 1' for months until it is eventually deployed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,516 ✭✭✭BrokenArrows

Then how about finding a new job

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,681 ✭✭✭facehugger99

I worked for 6 years in a job I really hated during the recession - because bills, mortgage, kids etc.

When I handed in my resignation I was walking on air for the next couple of weeks.

Handover was brilliant - telling some poor fcuker that all the sh;t I'd been dealing with for the last 6 years were now his problem.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,219 ✭✭✭✭biko

I don't bother with notices, I just go postal.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,942 ✭✭✭topper75

It just means the stuff that is to be done.

Ordinary guy: "So this yoke that needs to be done has to be ready by the 19th?"

Management bull****ter: "Yes, the deliverable."

Ordinary guy: "Sorry I didn't catch that. What is deliverable?"

Management bull****ter: "Milestone. Offline. Feedback. You wouldn't understand."

Then how about finding a new job

Easier said than done... Mortgage etc ... Plus I'm in the horrible situation of hating the type of job too so moving company and doing the same thing somewhere else isn't really appealing. Granted, the trunchbull wouldn't be there but still...

I'd give anything to go back to college and just completely change direction. If only I had the dough

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,230 ✭✭✭✭B.A._Baracus

Feck notices. Jobs will be quick to send you down the road without notice if need be.

But look, I get it, we all have different scenarios. Someone who's been in a place for years and wants that great reference is going to jump through hoops and give appropriate notice.

On the flip side someone who is done and hates the job isnt going to give a bollocks so why give any notice. They ain't going back.

Do what you want I say.
    Some people even take a few weeks sick off thus allowing them to start the new job and collect pay from both for a short time. That's life.