Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Larry Gogan Axed from 2fm

• 08-01-2019 9:56pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 16

Something we never thought would happen has happened, the higher powers in RTE think Larry is too old to be playing Ed Sheeran and Calvin Harris

• Closed Accounts Posts: 32,688 ✭✭✭✭ytpe2r5bxkn0c1

Welcome back!

He seems happy to step back a bit.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,492 ✭✭✭pleas advice

The questions didn't suit him

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,770 ✭✭✭shockwave

About bloody time hes 85 ffs

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16 Austin Mayo

shockwave wrote: »

He is only 84 according to Wikipedia

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 110 ✭✭MaryBrosnan

Welcome back!

He seems happy to step back a bit.

You should become a boards cop.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,503 ✭✭✭✭Mad_maxx

You have to admire the sheer longevity, man never uttered a single interesting opinion publically his entire career yet was still loved, made blandness beautiful

• Closed Accounts Posts: 40,061 ✭✭✭✭Harry Palmr

Have they counted the rings?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,994 ✭✭✭sullivlo

David Attenborough is 92. A legend is a legend. Age not a factor in ability to do a great job.

Unfortunately for Larry, him being a ****e dj stops him doing a great job so 85 is the right time to go.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,588 ✭✭✭touts

I thought he was dead. So getting fired isn't too bad in the grand scheme of things.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,291 ✭✭✭lbc2019

Typical boards miserable whingers- jealous of an old man

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,028 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

He gave Count John McCormack his big break

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,217 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

I've met him a few times over the years. A genuinely nice man. Old School™ Gentleman. And fair fcuks to him being able to keep a career like that going for so long and he's not stopped yet. Not too many 84 year olds are still working a few hours a day connecting with many thousands, never mind an 84 year old who knows who Ed Sheeran and the like are.

Rejoice in the awareness of feeling stupid, for that’s how you end up learning new things. If you’re not aware you’re stupid, you probably are.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,211 ✭✭✭✭Suckit

Mad_maxx wrote: »
    You have to admire the sheer longevity, man never uttered a single interesting opinion publically his entire career yet was still loved, made blandness beautiful

I wonder if they had had a survey for the public with a list of the 2FM DJ's they would prefer to see let go, what position he would appear on the list.

I would bet he wouldn't have been in the top 5.

Suckit wrote: »
    I wonder if they had had a survey for the public with a list of the 2FM DJ's they would prefer to see let go, what position he would appear on the list.

I doubt many of the public know who the 2FM DJ's are today if you asked them

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,503 ✭✭✭✭Mad_maxx

I was always happy to listen to Larry, all I said was he was a remarkably bland person

Owen MacDermott is the only man to take over his place. Raw talent.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 721 ✭✭✭Defaulter1831

Some classics came from the Just a Minute Quiz..

'What star do travellers follow?'
    Joe Dolan:)

'Where would you find the Taj Mahal?'
    Beside the Dental Hospital:)

'Name a bird with a long neck?'
    Naomi Campbell:)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,555 ✭✭✭Roger Hassenforder

*inserts 'Not Sure If Serious' meme

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 737 ✭✭✭vargoo

Use to like him but to opioniated now, trying to hard to sound clever, wanting to censor Xmas song was last straw, wish he would fcuk off now.

Gogan isint leaving either, moving to rte gold (is it?), total non news!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,194 ✭✭✭foxy farmer

Was there some talk of him going to one of RTE DAB channels?

Link?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,039 ✭✭✭✭retro:electro

Saw this on the news earlier but I had the volume down, just saw a montage of his images so I was like “aww did he die?”. Turned the volume up and they said he’s retiring, awh.....from 2fm but moving to RTE Gold.
    The fella is immortal

RTE Gold

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,383 ✭✭✭✭Birneybau

Rte Gold, weekend show

vargoo wrote: »
    Use to like him but to opioniated now, trying to hard to sound clever, wanting to censor Xmas song was last straw, wish he would fcuk off now.

I used to like him, used to like him once..all me loving is gone...long, long gone..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,638 ✭✭✭✭ohnonotgmail

Is that young whippersnapper Marty Whelan still doing the breakfast show on 2FM?

In appearance Larry reminded me of the actor in Fr. Ted who worked for the BBC and turned nasty with drink :)

Only 2FM show I ever left on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,380 ✭✭✭STB.

The first 4 would be the verbal assault breakfast show presenters. Bad enough 3 of them trying to be funny without Lottie bleedin Ryan screaming over the top.

Fanning. Sunday mornings should be some form of retro/classic hits format rather than the droll tones of Dave Fanning.
    tumblr_neadw7dvir1qzd6kwo4_250.gif

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,383 ✭✭✭✭Birneybau

vargoo wrote: »

To true

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 93,567 Mod ✭✭✭✭Capt'n Midnight

What overpaid muppet gets to take his place ?

And who are they related to ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16 Austin Mayo

What overpaid muppet gets to take his place ?

And who are they related to ?

Foxy Laura Fox is replacing him

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,117 ✭✭✭✭Junkyard Tom

Two females attacked Larry Gogan with an axe?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 61,272 ✭✭✭✭Agent Coulson

Who listens to the radio anymore.

Larry just needs to get himself a Podcast.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,073 ✭✭✭✭cena

He was not fired. He is just going to rte radio gold.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,507 ✭✭✭KevRossi

La-ree-ee Go-gannnnnn

Not a grey hair on the mans head at 84, fair play to him.

VIPIrelandPicture-Ref122791-640x551.jpg

KevRossi wrote: »
    La-ree-ee Go-gannnnnn

Not a grey hair on the mans head at 84, fair play to him.

Best wishes to Larry but I'd say he gets a bit of help keeping the grey hairs away ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,189 ✭✭✭✭Sleeper12

Thread title is a bit whack. He is retiring, not getting axed

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,878 ✭✭✭✭arybvtcw0eolkf

He wasn't fired (or axed) from his position.

He's an old man who's on kidney dialysis three days a week for a minimum of four hours per dialysis. He's well over due a break.

A fantastic DJ (never liked to be referred to as a 'radio presenter').

Best of luck to him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,194 ✭✭✭foxy farmer

Sleeper12 wrote: »
    Thread title is a bit whack. He is retiring, not getting axed

He's not retiring either just moving sideways to a non mainstream channel.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,628 ✭✭✭orourkeda1977

I bet he's still crushing fanny in coppers

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,181 ✭✭✭Immortal Starlight

Larry was one of the most familiar and favorite voices of my childhood and teenage years. His shows always made me feel happy. Well done Mr Gogan:) Best wishes for your new show:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,211 ✭✭✭✭Suckit

That's true. Unfortunately.

In Ireland where everybody knows each other and their toilet habits :pac: :rolleyes:, most only probably know who they're related to.
    He would be much better suited for Live 95FM. Whether or not he genuinely thought that was a genuine typo.

https://twitter.com/eoghanmcdermo/status/1082689936938151937