Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Livestock acccidents

• 08-01-2019 7:41am
    Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 3,360 Mod ✭✭✭✭K.G.

did a safety course before christmas and one of the things that came up is that animal related accidents numbers continueing to rise every year- cant remember was it deaths or incidents.im just wondering why that is the case,is due to alot of drystock farmers being part time there fore cattle dont have alot of contact with humans or is it to do with increased work load in larger herds on dairy farms.dont want to get into a them and us discussion just thought this might raise awareness of the issue and interested to hear yer thoughts behind the stats

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9 Spiker21

K.G. wrote: »
    did a safety course before christmas and one of the things that came up is that animal related accidents numbers continueing to rise every year- cant remember was it deaths or incidents.im just wondering why that is the case,is due to alot of drystock farmers being part time there fore cattle dont have alot of contact with humans or is it to do with increased work load in larger herds on dairy farms.dont want to get into a them and us discussion just thought this might raise awareness of the issue and interested to hear yer thoughts behind the stats

Poorly set up handling facilities in some cases I reckon. And then lads working off farm full time and trying to rush through jobs in the evening when they get a chance doesn’t help either. I know I’m our area a good few accidents have happened with the older generation, where their sons have left to go work in Dublin etc and they are left doing the work generally by themselves during the week

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,837 ✭✭✭Doctors room ghost

Continental breeds and not a tenth of the handling cattle used to get with lads working full time.one time you could milk an old white head cow in the corner of a field.try getting a limo to stand for milking now.shed go through you and the gate

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,685 ✭✭✭Cavanjack

You will find the majority of these accidents with stock involved older people going into pens with suckler cows. Heard of several cases last spring.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 282 ✭✭golodge

Many things can happen. Most of the time people don't cull as fast as they should. Two weeks ago 42years old man has been killed in the field. Raised Angus. Been found the next day in the field. Nobody saw what has happened, but earlier he has mentioned that there was one animal, which should be culled soon due to character.
    Last summer mom has told us, that she has escaped an accident. She was carrying a bag of meal for the heifers in the field and has tripped over something under the hind legs of one heifer. The heifer was startled and kicked her hind leg. Luckily it was just a very weak kick, otherwise mom would have had a strong kick to her head. Nobody would have known what has truly happened.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 1,916 Mod ✭✭✭✭Albert Johnson

I believe it's a combination of factors that have led to an increase in incidents. Due to the ever declining rural population farming is becoming more and more a one person operation in many cases. This lack of help may mean that an individual is forced to attempt various jobs on there own where previously some assistance would be available. An injuries that occur while alone could easily have serious consequences.

In many cases livestock farming is coupled with off farm employment be it either full or part-time. This can be a double edged sword as time constraints due to the day job can see farm duties rushed or carried out in less than ideal conditions. Fatigue from working long hours can also be a contributing factor to an increased level of incidents.

A limited time spent farming due to other commitments can also have the knock on effect of wilder animals due to less human contact. In particular during the grazing season stock may be herded from a vehicle a few days a week and be otherwise left to fend for themselves. This translates to animals that are unaccustomed to being handled on a regular basis, infrequent handling for husbandry practices such as testing or dosing may lead to negative association's of human intervention.

Finally margins in sectors such as beef are under constant downward pressure. Therefore the money available for updating handling systems and other safety measures may not be available. For example suckler and drystock farms in the beef heartlands are often small fragmented units, it is difficult to install up to date handling units on the above as more than one unit may be needed due to separate land parcels.

These are only some of the factors that could lead to an increase in the chances of an incident occuring. An ever increasing age profile of farmers coupled with a drive to increase production can also play a part in increased livestock related accidents. Livestock and farming are unpredictable and therefore it's almost impossible to totally remove the chance for accidents to occur. Ultimately it's down to individuals to assess there situation and use planning and targeted spending to minise the chances of becoming yet another statistic.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,586 ✭✭✭✭Bass Reeves

If I remember from our discussion group meeting on H&S livestock are the biggest cause of farm deaths followed by machinery. Below is a Teagasc survey

https://www.teagasc.ie/media/website/.../2018/TNFS-HS2017.pdf

Slava Ukrainii

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,837 ✭✭✭Doctors room ghost

I believe it's a combination of factors that have led to an increase in incidents. Due to the ever declining rural population farming is becoming more and more a one person operation in many cases. This lack of help may mean that an individual is forced to attempt various jobs on there own where previously some assistance would be available. An injuries that occur while alone could easily have serious consequences.

In many cases livestock farming is coupled with off farm employment be it either full or part-time. This can be a double edged sword as time constraints due to the day job can see farm duties rushed or carried out in less than ideal conditions. Fatigue from working long hours can also be a contributing factor to an increased level of incidents.

A limited time spent farming due to other commitments can also have the knock on effect of wilder animals due to less human contact. In particular during the grazing season stock may be herded from a vehicle a few days a week and be otherwise left to fend for themselves. This translates to animals that are unaccustomed to being handled on a regular basis, infrequent handling for husbandry practices such as testing or dosing may lead to negative association's of human intervention.

Finally margins in sectors such as beef are under constant downward pressure. Therefore the money available for updating handling systems and other safety measures may not be available. For example suckler and drystock farms in the beef heartlands are often small fragmented units, it is difficult to install up to date handling units on the above as more than one unit may be needed due to separate land parcels.

These are only some of the factors that could lead to an increase in the chances of an incident occuring. An ever increasing age profile of farmers coupled with a drive to increase production can also play a part in increased livestock related accidents. Livestock and farming are unpredictable and therefore it's almost impossible to totally remove the chance for accidents to occur. Ultimately it's down to individuals to assess there situation and use planning and targeted spending to minise the chances of becoming yet another statistic.

All great points

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,447 ✭✭✭Dunedin

Couldn’t disagree with anything here and the sad part is most of the points can’t or won’t be changed

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,123 ✭✭✭Who2

With the best will in the world and all the best of facilities, accidents will happen. I’m sitting here with a pain in my right leg from a kick I got in it today. She just got me at the right time I wasn’t close enough to avoid the sting or far enough away to avoid it altogether. It was through a new handling facility, with plenty of help. It could have broken my leg but I got lucky ( I think). It wasn’t from any of the limos either it was a Hereford.
    When your dealing with animals anything can happen it’s unfair comparing it to any other industry because there isn’t anything like it. We can limit and try to avoid a lot of situations but it’s impossible to eliminate all risks when your dealing with animals that all have different characters.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,128 ✭✭✭✭patsy_mccabe

There's kind of a catch 22 at play here. To have quiet cattle you need to interact with them closely every day. At the same time you increase the risk of injuiry by doing so.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 973 ✭✭✭sonnybill

There's kind of a catch 22 at play here. To have quiet cattle you need to interact with them closely every day. At the same time you increase the risk of injuiry by doing so.

What do ye lads use to inspect hooves, I find it deadly lifting And tying to the side of crush , they do some lashing .. what’s the best value hoist ?

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 3,360 Mod ✭✭✭✭K.G.

the other day a few my weanlings broke on to aroad and a neighbour rang to tell me when she came on them out walking.she commented on how quiet they were and that thats rare now compared to years ago.as for handling facilities we didnt have a crush up to the early 90 s and used to test 1.5 year old bullocks in a loose house.my point is that alot of the skills to handling cattle have gone missing as well not enough time spent at it as well.the other big issue is working alone.a small incident can turn critical due to being on your own.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,611 ✭✭✭Mooooo

K.G. wrote: »
    the other day a few my weanlings broke on to aroad and a neighbour rang to tell me when she came on them out walking.she commented on how quiet they were and that thats rare now compared to years ago.as for handling facilities we didnt have a crush up to the early 90 s and used to test 1.5 year old bullocks in a loose house.my point is that alot of the skills to handling cattle have gone missing as well not enough time spent at it as well.the other big issue is working alone.a small incident can turn critical due to being on your own.

Current crop of incalf heifers are the same, would walk towards someone looking for a rub and follow you over the road. My maidens however are the opposite, a couple will stick their heads up and take off running if they see someone. They got spooked or chased at some point in May and have been difficult to manage ever since. Have been walking thru em every day at housing, hoping they'll be calmer when let out.
    Being on your own is a big thing alright. Facilities is important as is common sense. I used to leave the phone inside to get more done outside at times but tbh if anything happened it would be the only way to call for help

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,555 ✭✭✭Limestone Cowboy

sonnybill wrote: »
    What do ye lads use to inspect hooves, I find it deadly lifting And tying to the side of crush , they do some lashing .. what’s the best value hoist ?

I'd chance a lot of jobs myself with stock but leave all the trimming to local hoof man with crate. Probably the only safe way of doing it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 973 ✭✭✭sonnybill

I'd chance a lot of jobs myself with stock but leave all the trimming to local hoof man with crate. Probably the only safe way of doing it.

I never have any paring to do but just the odd stone or whatever and usually it’s not when the Parer is in the area

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,555 ✭✭✭Limestone Cowboy

sonnybill wrote: »
    I never have any paring to do but just the odd stone or whatever and usually it’s not when the Parer is in the area

I know what your saying, I'm lucky that he's only down the road. Have nightmares thinking back of trying to tie their leg to the crush bars when I was younger with the auld fella.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,611 ✭✭✭Mooooo

Hoofnak type that hooks on to the crush would be safer than trying to catch a leg with a rope alone. Also not that dear in the scheme of things. Just make sure crush is solid where it hooks on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,778 ✭✭✭Dakota Dan

Cavanjack wrote: »
    You will find the majority of these accidents with stock involved older people going into pens with suckler cows. Heard of several cases last spring.

More than older people, at what age is older in your opinion? Mickie Healy had a similar accident around 2 years back, he's hardly old, he is older than many though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,174 ✭✭✭✭Muckit

Dakota Dan wrote: »
    More than older people, at what age is older in your opinion? Mickie Healy had a similar accident around 2 years back, he's hardly old, he is older than many though.

Im reading his book atm.....and l don't read! But l was taken with his interview with Matt cooper before christmas. I'm not into politics but as a person he's tough out. He got a bad doing before that cow accident and nearly died in a road traffic accident. Went back driving a track machine a short time after even though he couldn't walk. Had a lad carry him in on his back. That determination for you. Has to be admired.

Muckit wrote: »
    Im reading his book atm.....and l don't read! But l was taken with his interview with Matt cooper before christmas. I'm not into politics but as a person he's tough out. He got a bad doing before that cow accident and nearly died in a road traffic accident. Went back driving a track machine a short time after even though he couldn't walk. Had a lad carry him in on his back. That determination for you. Has to be admired.
    Isn't it Danny that drives the track machine? My sister in laws husband (John) is working with eps in Mallow and was doing a job in Killgarvan and Danny was on the job with his mini digger. They had the back door of the eps van open and Danny was working beside it, when they went to close it it wouldn't close as it was buckled with a fresh dent. John asked Danny if he hit it with the bucket and Danny replied Jaysus John I didn't touch it with guilt written all over his face :D

Muckit wrote: »
    Did you read the part where this lovely looking girl came into his office wearing a very short mini skirt? I heard him on the radio talking about it, sad story. He has some good stories in fairness.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 1,916 Mod ✭✭✭✭Albert Johnson

Dakota Dan wrote: »

I would be of the opinion that ageing and the concept of being older will vary depending on the age of the person being asked. It's understandable that no one will like to class themselves as older and less able but it is a fact of life.

The figures on farm related deaths and therefore livestock related paint a stark picture. The majority of deaths involve either the old or the very young, farm accidents are not recorded to the best of my knowledge but I would imagine the results would be similar. It is important to anaylize the above data and question as to why these trends are apparent?

The very young have no place around livestock especially when handling or other husbandry practices are being carried out. Therefore it can be said that many accidents are a result of carelessness or distraction of the child's guardian and curiosity on the child's behalf.

The elderly are a different matter as they are more able to make decisions on there own behalf. They may also not be aware or prepared to accept that they are less able to safely carry out what were once routine tasks. I see it with my own parents and neighbour's that they are not as agile or quick to react as they once were.

I would also question as to whether age related illness's such as Parkinson's or similar are a factor in incidents relating to older people. Distraction or other loss of concentration or cognitive ability may lead to a person who was once capable making errors of judgement. These errors may lead to close calls or worse but may not be accepted by the person involved for fear of appearing less capable.

It is important to remember that no one is infallible irrespective of age and that complacency or bad judgment of risks can lead to incidents. However younger people are on average better able to react, are more resilient and display better awareness of the dangers involved. The official figures support this anaylsis and should be taken into consideration when discussing farm safety.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,055 ✭✭✭older by the day

If your a farmer in your eighties or nintys and spent your life with your cows and your tractor and your dog. Ask, is it better to wither away in a nursing home or to stay going till it kills you? My wife tells me to stop my father giving in bales and driving the tractor, I say it is better to keep going and have an interest in life than withering away ???

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,223 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

If your a farmer in your eighties or nintys and spent your life with your cows and your tractor and your dog. Ask, is it better to wither away in a nursing home or to stay going till it kills you? My wife tells me to stop my father giving in bales and driving the tractor, I say it is better to keep going and have an interest in life than withering away ???

I fully agree, first thing health and safety man asked the other day was is there any older or younger people around the farm. He did a speech on how many elderly farmers had died in farm accidents. I am fully aware of the risks and would never stop him being out on the farm

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,837 ✭✭✭lab man

Another man killed today with a cow in cooraclare county Clare may God rest him in peace

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,062 ✭✭✭✭John_Rambo

My Ag-science teacher predicted the rise of cattle related incidents in 1989 with the above reasons. He also predicted the BSE crisis when he took us to a by-products factory!! :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,998 ✭✭✭farawaygrass

John_Rambo wrote: »
    My Ag-science teacher predicted the rise of cattle related incidents in 1989 with the above reasons. He also predicted the BSE crisis when he took us to a by-products factory!! :eek:
    He never mentioned the outcome of brexit by any chance?!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,062 ✭✭✭✭John_Rambo

He never mentioned the outcome of brexit by any chance?!

Nope. Amazing, passionate teacher though. Leaving cert Ag-science class all passed the honours papers, I got an A... In Drumcondra of all places. :o Hasn't done much for my (advertising) career except for the time I thought it wasn't a good idea for Bord Bia to have a photo of cattle in a field full of Ragwort. Took the retoucher hours to photoshop out the yellow!! However, it didn't do any harm socially.

Brexit? GUBU stuff.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,380 ✭✭✭893bet

An accident on the farm will usually lead to the withering away.

We all know countless stories of older people who had falls etc, broke a bone or hurt themselves and were never right again.

There is a balance to be struck.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 499 ✭✭Joe Daly

Any accident is a life changing moment, mentally or physical .