Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Celebrity Home of the Year

• 02-01-2019 10:00pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 2,067 ✭✭✭

Just why? ....why?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,909 ✭✭✭Gwynplaine

Saw a bit of it there. The older lad is so gay.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 84 ✭✭Tipp star

I really like this show. John Boynes home is lovely and imo the deserved winner

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,243 ✭✭✭Mena Mitty

Gwynplaine wrote: »
    Saw a bit of it there. The older lad is so gay.

He gave the Donegal house a 10 and was none too pleased when the other expert gave it a 7.

Very entertaining all the same.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,766 ✭✭✭✭castletownman

I'm surely not the only one shocked that Jean Byrne didn't have a sex dungeon tucked away somewhere in her house :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 154 ✭✭seablue

John Boyne's house a worthy winner for showing what you can do with a standard modern house, but I'd personally prefer to live in Jean Byrnes house. I love those old houses and the room looking out onto the lovely garden looked so peaceful.

Can't believe Hugh W gave 10 for the Donegal McMansion. Totally agree with the new judge, they ignored the fab setting by putting in small windows and half covering them with huge expensive curtains.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,564 ✭✭✭✭whiskeyman

Hugh really didn't get on well with the new judge.
    Giving the Donegal house a 10 was more to insult him I think!
    That spat was as entertaining as the show itself!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,459 ✭✭✭NSAman

Why? Because they can. Cheap TV.

Its a cheap and Nosey way of seeing who has what... no undies on the bedroom floor and you can be sure the cleaners were in the day before.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,067 ✭✭✭368100

NSAman wrote: »
    Why? Because they can. Cheap TV.

Its a cheap and Nosey way of seeing who has what... no undies on the bedroom floor and you can be sure the cleaners were in the day before.

I just don't understand why anyone would watch it, or why anyone would show off their home like that, stinks of having a superiority complex

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,721 ✭✭✭✭Muahahaha

That McMansion in Donegal was awful, apart from it being some sort of fake Georgian you could barely see the views and beach out the windows.

On the show I missed the previous architect, the baldy guy. He always came out with some good lines and generally pissed "design legend" Hugh Wallace off.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,648 ✭✭✭honeybear

Muahahaha wrote: »
    That McMansion in Donegal was awful, apart from it being some sort of fake Georgian you could barely see the views and beach out the windows.

Agree, but Ramona came across very well

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,459 ✭✭✭NSAman

honeybear wrote: »
    Agree, but Ramona came across very well

Th Real Houewives of Donegal.... House was fecking awful. Imagine having those views and small crappy windows covered in heavy drapes in a fake mock Tudor...taste is severely lacking not to mention common sense.

I was watching this in bed late one night, the one that won, jaysus its personalised but what a nightmare to clean.

Liked Ms. Byrnes little house was very cute.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,454 ✭✭✭mloc123

The Donegal house was the ultimate McMansion... I doubt an architect was involved at any stage in the build

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,804 ✭✭✭recipio

Its astonishing that the more money people have the more they gravitate to conservative taste. Building a mock Victorian house like that is like putting on your grandfathers clothes - I'm amazed Hugh gave it a 10. You gotta admit all the houses are interesting though.;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,020 ✭✭✭123654789

You got to question his taste if he thought that yoke deserved 10/10
    The new judge is good, and i liked the bit of an argument that broke out. They're usually ridiculously polite.