Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

How do you spell this word?

• 02-01-2019 12:36pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,750 ✭✭✭

Do you say "bollocks" or "bollix"?

How do you spell the word "bollocks/bollix"? 59 votes

Bollocks
    0% 0 votes
    Bollix
    100% 59 votes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,753 ✭✭✭✭Timberrrrrrrr

Bollox

As in: This thread is a load of Bollox!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,088 ✭✭✭✭_Kaiser_

Bollox

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,943 ✭✭✭Deebles McBeebles

Ask me bollix.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,089 ✭✭✭marketty

It depends on the context. I'd say you're talking complete bollocks, but I would invite you to ask me bollix.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,378 ✭✭✭✭Potential-Monke

I'm more of a 'He's a bollix' and 'This is a load of bollocks'. I reserve bollix for people and bollocks for everything else.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,865 ✭✭✭fancy pigeon

images?q=tbn:ANd9GcQ9SKmUOBgnC8fLL-8SzN19dN_gXAwhD1yGgzkQf--oE1dO6qx6

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,756 ✭✭✭demanufactured

"Get your bollocks out of my face"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,470 ✭✭✭✭Grayson

Always 'bollocks'. The spelling with an 'x' looks like something a retarded person would write.

I agree with the honorable rereg :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,383 ✭✭✭✭Birneybau

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,122 ✭✭✭Trigger Happy

Never mind the bollocks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,874 ✭✭✭Edgware

Jim Stynes introduced the word Bollocks/Bollicks/Bollix to the Melbourne dressing room when he started his Aussie Rules career. I dont know how he spelt it. His team mates were amazed at how the word could be used as a noun, verb, adjective etc all in the one sentence

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 4,033 Mod ✭✭✭✭Planet X

Bolleaux. ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,903 ✭✭✭ablelocks

bollocks when speaking (relatively) positively about someone -

he's a grand auld bollocks,
    you're only acting the bollocks,
    you're some bollocks, but i love you like a brother,
    get a round in, you bollocks, you haven't bought one yet....

or

bollix when speaking negatively about somone -

he's a nasty bollix,
    he's been acting the bollix all day,
    he's a right little bollix,
    I wouldn't trust that bollix as far as I could throw him....etc

• Closed Accounts Posts: 40,061 ✭✭✭✭Harry Palmr

The dog bollocks

Ye little bollix!

Its all about context

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,043 ✭✭✭Wabbit Ears

they're two separate words used for different scenarios, so both right.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,942 ✭✭✭topper75

I use bollix for indeterminate amounts, the same as I do for coal or snow or milk.

"Those claims were a load of old bollix".

Bollocks is more a unitary expression, and can be a person or a thing.

"The bollocks went and set us a right bollocks of an exam."

• Closed Accounts Posts: 689 ✭✭✭Ray Bloody Purchase

I use the two spellings but both have slightly different meanings.

'Bollocks' is used when someone is a defacto cnut e.g. 'Conor McGregor is a massive bollocks.'

I use 'Bollix' as a term of endearment, to put it in context 'My nephew is an awful little bollix.'

These nuanced and subtle differences can only be found in the written form obviously. When it's said out loud everything is plainly bollox.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 93,552 Mod ✭✭✭✭Capt'n Midnight

they're two separate words used for different scenarios, so both right.
    No. One right and one left.