Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

BMW Motorcycle Parts/Service

• 01-01-2019 9:04pm
    Registered Users Posts: 1,179 ✭✭✭

Does anyone know of a source of second hand BMW motorcycle parts in Ireland or indeed an experienced BMW mechanic,I have found that parts and services bought via BMW main dealers are a serious rip-off and many main dealer mechanics have never worked on BMW bikes

• Registered Users Posts: 4,230 ✭✭✭Goose81

Stanford wrote: »
    Does anyone know of a source of second hand BMW motorcycle parts in Ireland or indeed an experienced BMW mechanic,I have found that parts and services bought via BMW main dealers are a serious rip-off and many main dealer mechanics have never worked on BMW bikes

If you are looking for parts to fit yourself you would be best off buying them off the internet from the UK.

What bike is it and what parts do you need..

What do you mean main dealer mechanics haven't worked on BMW, if your bringing it to BMW dealership of course they will have worked on them..

Best mechanic in Dublin is supposed to be http://www.ndmoto.com , don't know if you are in Dublin though. I don't know of any BMW specialist mechanics floating about tbh

• Registered Users Posts: 2,031 ✭✭✭colm_c

NDM don't do bmw servicing (last I checked).

Parts wise, motorworks are pretty good, although if it is just service kits, any good shop will have them.

Main dealer won't be expensive for OEM parts, they are on par with the uk.

I usually use cotters to service my BMW, fairly sound to deal with.

• Registered Users Posts: 22,140 ✭✭✭✭Esel

Try City Spares for s/h parts.

Not your ornery onager

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,001 ✭✭✭ayux4rj6zql2ph

Esel wrote: »
    Try City Spares for s/h parts.

• Registered Users Posts: 642 ✭✭✭Lyle Lanley

What part of the country are you in? Best BMW mechanic is in Leitrim. Have always bought parts from Motorworks too.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 445 ✭✭Teddy Daniels

What part of the country are you in? Best BMW mechanic is in Leitrim. Have always bought parts from Motorworks too.

Who ? Gr ?

• Registered Users Posts: 642 ✭✭✭Lyle Lanley

Who ? Gr ?
    Yep, Gordon is your man. Maybe not the cheapest around but hes been on BMs for years himself, not much he doesn't know.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,128 ✭✭✭Emmersonn

There is a lad in Newmarket Co. Cork. Name is Andy Hourigan. (brother of Tim) Was the mechanic in Kearys Motorrad for years until he went private.
    Mobile 0872956045. Sound bloke. Motorworks in UK specialise in new and spare parts for BMW. All models. Their website is worth a look

• Registered Users Posts: 1,179 ✭✭✭Stanford

Yep, Gordon is your man. Maybe not the cheapest around but hes been on BMs for years himself, not much he doesn't know.

Could some one please PM me details for this Gordon gentleman, I am in the Limerick area, the local BMW dealer does not service BMW bikes!!.

• Registered Users Posts: 12,766 ✭✭✭✭galwaytt

Could some one please PM me details for this Gordon gentleman, I am in the Limerick area, the local BMW dealer does not service BMW bikes!!.

There is no local Limerick BeeEmm dealer. You have 3 in Ireland : Joe Duffy, Kearys and Maddocks. All others are Indys.

Ode To The Motorist

“And my existence, while grotesque and incomprehensible to you, generates funds to the exchequer. You don't want to acknowledge that as truth because, deep down in places you don't talk about at the Green Party, you want me on that road, you need me on that road. We use words like freedom, enjoyment, sport and community. We use these words as the backbone of a life spent instilling those values in our families and loved ones. You use them as a punch line. I have neither the time nor the inclination to explain myself to a man who rises and sleeps under the tax revenue and the very freedom to spend it that I provide, and then questions the manner in which I provide it. I would rather you just said "thank you" and went on your way. Otherwise I suggest you pick up a bus pass and get the ********* ********* off the road” 

• Registered Users Posts: 2,189 ✭✭✭scotchy

galwaytt wrote: »
    There is no local Limerick BeeEmm dealer. You have 3 in Ireland : Joe Duffy, Kearys and Maddocks. All others are Indys.

Maddocks aren't official dealers anymore.

Describe themselves as Independent BMW specialists.

You also have Platinum Motorcycles in Bray specializing in BMW.

💙 💛 💙 💛 💙 💛

Am I being mislead by the attached?

https://www.nconlanandsonsbmw.ie/web/about-us

• Registered Users Posts: 2,936 ✭✭✭D3V!L

They look like just a BMW card dealer.

In 2009 they took over the BMW franchise and are an "approved BMW" dealer, they have similar premises in Naas, I'm confused?

• Registered Users Posts: 229 ✭✭KT10

In 2009 they took over the BMW franchise and are an "approved BMW" dealer, they have similar premises in Naas, I'm confused?

They're BMW car dealers, not BMW Motorrad dealers.

Only 2 Motorrad dealers in the country, Kearys in Cork and Duffys in Dublin.

Take your bike to Andy Hourigan, nice bloke.

They do cars, not bikes.

Ode To The Motorist

“And my existence, while grotesque and incomprehensible to you, generates funds to the exchequer. You don't want to acknowledge that as truth because, deep down in places you don't talk about at the Green Party, you want me on that road, you need me on that road. We use words like freedom, enjoyment, sport and community. We use these words as the backbone of a life spent instilling those values in our families and loved ones. You use them as a punch line. I have neither the time nor the inclination to explain myself to a man who rises and sleeps under the tax revenue and the very freedom to spend it that I provide, and then questions the manner in which I provide it. I would rather you just said "thank you" and went on your way. Otherwise I suggest you pick up a bus pass and get the ********* ********* off the road” 

scotchy wrote: »
    Maddocks aren't official dealers anymore.

Describe themselves as Independent BMW specialists.

You also have Platinum Motorcycles in Bray specializing in BMW.

Yes, but Maddocks have a level access other Indy's don't, due to their history.

Ode To The Motorist

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,878 ✭✭✭✭arybvtcw0eolkf

I've my bike 12 months next month (R1200GS) with 47k miles.. I'm well able to service it myself but since its got a full BMW history and when I'm changing it I intend going for another 1200GS I'm going to price a service of JD Motorrad for the craic.

Too expensive and I'll be sorting it myself, this should be interesting.

• Registered Users Posts: 716 ✭✭✭Sir Galahad

Yes, but Maddocks have a level access other Indy's don't, due to their history.

Maddock's are as expensive as main dealers. Mark in Platinum Motorcycles in Bray was Maddock's BMW trained mechanic before going out on his own. He is really honest, my GS was recovered there on a trailer with a suspected clutch problem. Before the recovery even unloaded the bike Mark had fixed the problem (a tiny screw inside the lever) . No charge at all. Others would have charged to "investigate" the issue. And he's only minutes from the DART station as well if you are returning to collect your bike.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,878 ✭✭✭✭arybvtcw0eolkf

Maddock's are as expensive as main dealers. Mark in Platinum Motorcycles in Bray was Maddock's BMW trained mechanic before going out on his own. He is really honest, my GS was recovered there on a trailer with a suspected clutch problem. Before the recovery even unloaded the bike Mark had fixed the problem (a tiny screw inside the lever) . No charge at all. Others would have charged to "investigate" the issue. And he's only minutes from the DART station as well if you are returning to collect your bike.

Nope, got to disagree.

I wrote this up here a few years ago. I had a BMW R1100S with what I thought was a fooked clutch. I put it off the road while I put aside a grand to have the clutch replaced, even had to burrow a bike to attend a mates funeral (he was killed on his bike).

I left my bike into Joe Duffy's in Finglas, its nearest to me. I was expecting a whooping €1000 or more to replace it.. Got a call that afternoon to say there was an air lock in the hydraulics and the cost was just the price of the new fluids, something like €37.

I've had some awful service from JD's too, but it has to be said that they're not always the bad guys.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,936 ✭✭✭D3V!L

I've had some awful service from JD's too, but it has to be said that they're not always the bad guys.

The consistently f*cked up major with every recent dealing with them. Myself and my missus take our bikes to Belfast for servicing and never had any issues with them.