Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Best / Worst 2018 Movies

• 28-12-2018 12:48am
    Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,066 ✭✭✭

My list

Best

Searching
    A Quiet Place
    Infinity War
    First Man
    A Star Is Born
    Black 47
    Overlord
    Ant-Man and the Wasp
    Outlaw King
    Game Night
    Halloween

Worst

Tomb Raider reboot
    The Meg
    Blockers
    Blackkklansman
    Aquaman
    Skyscraper
    Crazy Rich Asians

• Moderators, Sports Moderators, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,559 Mod ✭✭✭✭yerwanthere123

Best:
    Searching (My favourite of the year)
    Love, Simon
    A Star Is Born
    Tully
    Hearts Beat Loud
    To All the Boys I've Loved Before
    Unsane
    A Quiet Place
    Hereditary
    Black 47

Worst:
    Game Night

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 305 ✭✭Smertrius

best is bumblebee its best transformers live action movie ever

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,880 ✭✭✭✭gmisk

Best
    A quiet place
    Free solo
    Avengers
    Spider-man into the spiderverse
    Mission impossible Fallout
    Leave no trace
    Widows
    Tully
    A star is born
    Searching
    Three billboards
    Love, simon
    Annihilation (bar the ending)
    Bohemian rhapsody (really swept me along, rami Malek fantastic)

Worst
    Venom
    The predator
    The nun
    Cloverfield paradox
    The hurricane heist
    Michael inside
    Black 47 (not terrible but disappointing)

Biggest disappointment for me was jurassic world, with a really excellent director I was hopeful for a lot better, but it was poor.

One I really enjoyed that people seemed to hate red sparrow.

Oh and to all the boys I've loved before was a really lovely little rom com have to agree there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 305 ✭✭Smertrius

Aquaman belongs in the best section because Aquaman is officially the highest grossing DCEU movie

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,807 ✭✭✭speedboatchase

I didn't see much but here goes:

Best:
    A Star is Born
    Blockers
    Black Panther
    Mission Impossible: Fallout
    A Quiet Place
    Bohemian Rhapsody
    Paddington 2

Worst:
    Deadpool 2
    Crazy Rich Asians
    Tag

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,560 ✭✭✭✭lawred2

Best:
    Searching (My favourite of the year)
    Love, Simon
    A Star Is Born
    Tully
    Hearts Beat Loud
    To All the Boys I've Loved Before
    Unsane
    A Quiet Place
    Hereditary
    Black 47

Worst:
    Game Night

Game Night was grand - I'd think it harsh to classify it as the worst movie of 2018. But shure we're all different

I can't remember any standout movies for goodness or badness in 2018. All a bit humdrum and derivative if you ask me.

• Users Awaiting Email Confirmation Posts: 1,518 ✭✭✭Ciaran_B

Best
    ----

Sorry To Bother You
    Leave No Trace
    The Endless
    Annihilation
    Phantom Thread
    Blackkklansman
    Lady Bird
    Mandy
    Cold War
    Kissing Candice
    Daphne
    Thoroughbreds
    Never Goin' Back
    Cameron Post
    Hereditary

• Moderators, Sports Moderators, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,559 Mod ✭✭✭✭yerwanthere123

lawred2 wrote: »
    Game Night was grand - I'd think it harsh to classify it as the worst movie of 2018. But shure we're all different

I can't remember any standout movies for goodness or badness in 2018. All a bit humdrum and derivative if you ask me.

I don't believe it to be the worst movie of 2018, but it's probably the worst I've seen. I don't think it was terrible, but I'd give it 5/10 at the very most.

I'd also add Green Book to my list of best movies above.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 30,019 CMod ✭✭✭✭johnny_ultimate

There's rarely any year that's a proper write-off in cinema, but even going by that 2018 felt like a pretty special one. A pretty steady stream of interesting, challenging and fun films where we even got a couple of exceptional Hollywood franchise films.

Top ten (not in any particular order beyond the first two or three)
    Burning - Lee Chang-dong's Murakami adaptation is a perfect hybrid of the two men's styles. A mysterious but exhilarating film, impeccably crafted by the South Korean master.
    Roma - The best film Alfonso Cuaron has made, and that's saying something. A feast of pure cinema.
    Dawson City: Frozen Time - The surprise of the year, and a highlight from DIFF. Stunning use of archive footage - some mesmerisingly damaged - to capture a town's history and reflect on the fragility of the cinematic image. Dat soundtrack too.
    Isle of Dogs - I don't know how Wes Anderson manages to keep refining and evolving his trademark style. But he does, and Isle of Dogs is therefore magnificent.
    Lady Bird - Greta Gerwig's film has this odd, casual brilliance. It's easy to overlook that in such a low-key, understated piece of work... but this is a special film, and can't wait to see what Gerwig does next.
    Phantom Thread - Paul Thomas Anderson's best in years. More accessible than his recent work without losing the formal or storytelling rigour. Deliciously dark, eccentric stuff.
    Zama - Lucrecia Martel's beautiful fever dream of a film. Puts you right in there in the oppressive jungle humidity in a way I haven't seen since classic Herzog - although to suggest this is anything but its own beast would be to do it a disservice.
    Minding the Gap - A devastatingly honest, personal documentary in which young Bing Liu tackles challenging subject matter (directly involving himself and his friends) with the grace of a master.
    One Cut of the Dead - The most purely enjoyable film of the year, and I can't say why without spoiling the fun. Suffice to say, it has some delightful surprises up its sleeve and the last act is a straight-up, crowdpleasing triumph.
    The Image Book - I’m all in for late Godard.

Ten more (i.e. ones that are in basically just as good as the ones above)
    Madeline's Madeline
    Shoplifters
    Cold War
    On The Beach Alone At Night
    Mission Impossible Fallout / Spider-Man - Into The Spider-Verse
    (OK, that's two for the price of one, but they're both delightful in their own way)
    Support the Girls
    Shirkers
    Climax
    The Image You Missed
    (the best Irish film I saw in 2018)
    Die Tomorrow

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,256 ✭✭✭Decuc500

My favourite films from 2018 in no particular order

First Reformed A 'Late Period Masterpiece' from Paul Schrader

Lean On Pete Exceptional adaptation of the Willy Vlautin novel full of great performances

Mission: Impossible - Fallout Best Hollywood action blockbuster in a long time

Thoroughbreds Wickedly black comedy

All The Money in the World Nice to see Ridley Scott still producing great films

Unsane Nice to see Steven Soderbergh ditch the retirement plan

Red Sparrow Very engrossing old fashioned espionage drama

Three Billboards... Uncompromising film, very angry and startling

Free Solo Not a fan of documentaries but this was amazing. Completely gripping and sweaty palm inducing

Outlaw King The opening 8 minute tracking shot was incredible

Blackkklansman I saw this in London's BFI which added to the experience.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,995 ✭✭✭Ipso

I don't believe it to be the worst movie of 2018, but it's probably the worst I've seen. I don't think it was terrible, but I'd give it 5/10 at the very most.

I'd also add Green Book to my list of best movies above.

Yeah, if you think Game Night was the worse film of last year you obviously haven't had your wife make you watch Hallmark films!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 52 ✭✭Keatsian

My favorites: A Quiet Place, Leave No Trace, Annihilation.

Hated: The Predator

Overrated: You Were Never Really Here

Not seen yet: Roma

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,503 ✭✭✭✭Also Starring LeVar Burton

Best:
    Murdair Mhám Trasna - Excellent TG4 Feature Length DocuFilm, more people need to see it. I believe it did pretty well at the Festivals though, so that's good.
    Spiderman: Into The Spiderverse - Greatest Superhero Movie Ever? Just might be! And the Animation was fantastic.
    Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri - Well written, beautifully paced, perfect casting, especially Frances McDormand and Sam Rockwell
    A Quiet Place - Solid Concept, Well Executed, Can't Fault It, a Genuinely Thrilling Thriller
    Black Panther - A Great Villain tends to make or break a Superhero Movie and Michael B. Jordan's Killmonger is one of the best villains we've had so far.
    Bohemian Rhapsody - Rami Malek couldn't have done much of a better job in his portrayal of Freddie Mercury. Outstanding performances from everyone though.
    Avengers: Infinity War - In terms of pure spectacle it hit all the right notes.
    To All The Boys I've Loved Before - Did not expect to enjoy this one as much as I did; one of the best film surprises of the year.
    Love, Simon - Shut up, I wasn't crying in the cinema, there was just something in my eye...
    The First Purge - I love all The Purge films, but this was easily my favourite one so far.
    The Miseducation of Cameron Post - This one probably flew under a lot of people's radar's, but its worth checking out, and Chloë Grace Moretz needs to be getting more roles like this.

Really Good, but not quite up there with the "Best":
    A Simple Favor - Sometimes it didn't feel like Paul Feig knew if he wanted it to be a Comedy or a Melodrama, but I enjoyed the hell out of it all the same.
    Bumblebee - I swore I'd never go see another Transformers movie years ago because they were so bad and there was no hope for the franchise, but I'm glad to be proven wrong.
    Deadpool 2 - It was never going to be as good as the first one, but still pretty solid.
    Game Night - An unexpected delight. Not the greatest comedy of all-time, but very good all the same.
    Blockers - Two words; John Cena!

Overrated, but watchable:
    Ant-Man & The Wasp - Superhero fatigue was beginning to set in by the time this one came around and while it was good, it was very anti-climactic after the Trifecta of Epic that was Thor: Ragnarok, Black Panther, and Avengers: Infinity War
    Lady Bird - It was probably hyped up a little too much and just didn't live up to my expectations.
    Crazy Rich Asians - Look it was good, but not as amazing as people were making it out to be, although I do love all the cast and thought many of them had been criminally underrated for years, so glad to see them finally getting the recognition.
    The Hate U Give - It was just missing something and didn't seem to cater to its audience as well as other films of its ilk, but for what it was, it was grand.
    Cam - Madeleine Brewer's performance makes it worth the watch, but the overall story is a bit meh.
    Dublin Oldschool - Don't think it translated as well from Stage to Screen as they thought it would, but still decent enough.

Worst:
    Ready Player One - Ugh, the book is good, but the film is just a complete mess, and just because Steven Spielberg directed it doesn't mean we need to fawn over it like some masterpiece, because it's awful and only marginally more bearable than Batman v Superman: Dawn of Justice (which, for the record, is the cinematic manifestation of Satan's Taint).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 626 ✭✭✭Wedwood

Solo: A Star Wars Story
    The movie that can make the case for being in both the best and worst camps at the same time.

Best:
    The cast were very good, Ehrenreich did for Solo what Pine did for Kirk.
    The movie soundtrack was an excellent collaboration between John Williams and John Powell.
    The story was what it needed to be, a light hearted caper movie that hit all the expected origin story pieces.
    Was everything Last Jedi wasn't.

Worst:
    The cast were terrible. Clarke plays herself in every role. Not to mention the robot with PMT.
    The movie soundtrack was a rehash of original trilogy themes thrown in to disguise a bad movie.
    The story was everything it didn't need to be, a light hearted caper movie with all too predictable origin story pieces.
    Was nothing like Last Jedi.

Wedwood wrote: »
    Solo: A Star Wars Story
    The movie that can make the case for being in both the best and worst camps at the same time.

Best:
    The cast were very good, Ehrenreich did for Solo what Pine did for Kirk.
    The movie soundtrack was an excellent collaboration between John Williams and John Powell.
    The story was what it needed to be, a light hearted caper movie that hit all the expected origin story pieces.
    Was everything Last Jedi wasn't.

Worst:
    The cast were terrible. Clarke plays herself in every role. Not to mention the robot with PMT.
    The movie soundtrack was a rehash of original trilogy themes thrown in to disguise a bad movie.
    The story was everything it didn't need to be, a light hearted caper movie with all too predictable origin story pieces.
    Was nothing like Last Jedi.
    You kind of wonder what the Lord and Miller version of this film would have been like...i doubt it could have been worse.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6 j.thornton

Spiderman: Into The Spiderverse is probably the best movie i've seen in my life! Great animation and soundtracks, plot and characters revealed exactly to the perfect point
    Not a fan of a big screen, but would probably see it for a thousand more times

j.thornton wrote: »
    Spiderman: Into The Spiderverse is probably the best movie i've seen in my life! Great animation and soundtracks, plot and characters revealed exactly to the perfect point
    Not a fan of a big screen, but would probably see it for a thousand more times
    It is a triumph!
    Wasnt expecting it to be as good as it was.
    The animation styles used were terrific as well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,067 ✭✭✭✭fryup

Best: Three Billboards

Worst: Deadpool 2

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,423 ✭✭✭✭Outlaw Pete

Dark River / Black 47 my two favourite films of the year.

I Feel Pretty / Robin Hood the two worst.

Has there even been a decent Robin Hood?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,423 ✭✭✭✭Outlaw Pete

The Costner / Elizabeth Mastrenstroneooeo one was good from a chick flick perspective (although was loved up at the time myself and so that may have clouded my judgement). People weren't sick of that Bryan Adams song yet either so that may have helped too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,300 ✭✭✭✭razorblunt

Of course there has.
    Men in Tights!

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 22,693 CMod ✭✭✭✭Sad Professor

Yes, the Errol Flynn film from the '30s. It's easily the best and the main source for nearly all the others.

razorblunt wrote: »
    Of course there has.
    Men in Tights!

of course :D