Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

24/7 Garda protection for former taoiseach

• 26-12-2018 3:45pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 68 ✭✭

John Bruton who accidently because Taoiseach for 900 days without an election back in the mid 90s has Gardai outside his house in Meath 24/7. Why ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,245 ✭✭✭myshirt

He owes Chuck Norris money.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Music Moderators, Politics Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 22,360 CMod ✭✭✭✭Dravokivich

In case of civil war.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,155 ✭✭✭✭Del2005

They had one outside a dead one's house for a few weeks, they had to review the security risks to see if they could remove the protection for the dead person!

The reason is that there was a terrorist campaign on the island and leaders/ex leaders were a prime target. See above for why we still have it 20 years later.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,458 ✭✭✭✭gandalf

Probably because of all the "heroes" around these days.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,661 ✭✭✭✭kneemos

Plush gig.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,609 ✭✭✭✭arybvtcw0eolkf

Jay Zee wrote: »
    John Bruton who accidently because Taoiseach for 900 days without an election back in the mid 90s has Gardai outside his house in Meath 24/7. Why ?

We the people don't elect An Taoiseach.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,497 ✭✭✭✭flazio

I imagine the official line is that he was a political leader in the time of The Troubles and therefore is still at risk from dissidents who refuse to lie down. Whether that's true or not I don't think it's for the ordinary tax payer to decide.

This too shall pass.

• Site Banned Posts: 12,341 ✭✭✭✭Faugheen

People will find anything to give out about won’t they?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,950 ✭✭✭✭whisky_galore

Because he's worth it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,901 ✭✭✭Badly Drunk Boy

So he's still in Meath, is he? Thanks for the tip-off!

If anybody needs constant protection it's John Unionist. There's one pig with his nose wedded to the trough of Irish taxes. The most egregious of a great many parasites on the Irish taxpayer. He has been on a massive ministerial pension from us since he was 34 years old in 1982. Think about that. And the other pensions he has added to it in the years since. Immoral stuff, defended by all the snivelling rightwing toerags from the arsehole of nowhere here who'd in the same breath whinge about poor people being a burden on the state.

As for ethics, Bruton's also a grade A hypocrite who has spent his life pushing the glorification of people who used violence for the political aims of British imperialism, while feigning moral superiority about political violence when it's used by people for the political aim of Irish independence. A brilliant destruction, from the basis of historical facts, of John Bruton's relentless glorification of John Redmond was penned by, of all people, Ronan Fanning shortly before his death: Pouring water on the flames of ‘what if’ history.

Yeah, and that's before we mention Bruton's unctuous eulogy to Charles Windsor in Dublin Castle in 1995, or his minister's notorious "The Famine was a shared experience between the British and Irish peoples" comment. Bruton has been, by some distance, the most Irish-hating of politicians in a party noted for its obsessive anglocentricity. John Bruton is an unequivocally objectionable representative of any sort of free Ireland. Only Fine Gael could promote such a backward slaveen mentality in its ranks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,384 ✭✭✭Duffy the Vampire Slayer

He became Taoiseach in a perfectly valid manner. As was already pointed out, we don't vote for the Taoiseach.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 689 ✭✭✭nim1bdeh38l2cw

It's because of people like Fuaranach above that our former Taoisigh need Garda Siochana protection.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,489 ✭✭✭Yamanoto

Many years after leaving office, the man still retains an almost unrivalled ability to irk republican loons.

Keep up the good work John.

If anybody needs constant protection it's John Unionist. There's one pig with his nose wedded to the trough of Irish taxes. The most egregious of a great many parasites on the Irish taxpayer. He has been on a massive ministerial pension from us since he was 34 years old in 1982. Think about that. And the other pensions he has added to it in the years since. Immoral stuff, defended by all the snivelling rightwing toerags from the arsehole of nowhere here who'd in the same breath whinge about poor people being a burden on the state.

As for ethics, Bruton's also a grade A hypocrite who has spent his life pushing the glorification of people who used violence for the political aims of British imperialism, while feigning moral superiority about political violence when it's used by people for the political aim of Irish independence. A brilliant destruction, from the basis of historical facts, of John Bruton's relentless glorification of John Redmond was penned by, of all people, Ronan Fanning shortly before his death: Pouring water on the flames of ‘what if’ history.

Yeah, and that's before we mention Bruton's unctuous eulogy to Charles Windsor in Dublin Castle in 1995, or his minister's notorious "The Famine was a shared experience between the British and Irish peoples" comment. Bruton has been, by some distance, the most Irish-hating of politicians in a party noted for its obsessive anglocentricity. John Bruton is an unequivocally objectionable representative of any sort of free Ireland. Only Fine Gael could promote such a backward slaveen mentality in its ranks.

Ah FFS.

Could you not stop the frothing at the mouth bollixology until the new year?

I swear, a bowl full of poxy brussel sprouts would be less bitter and easier to swallow than the pure bile you shinners spew at times.

You’d give indigestion to Bobby Sands, so you would.

It's because of people like Fuaranach above that our former Taoisigh need Garda Siochana protection.

Equally, it's because of people like you that Ireland ends up with parasites like Bruton in power.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,055 ✭✭✭JohnnyFlash

Equally, it's because of people like you that Ireland ends up with parasites like Bruton in power.

People who vote for moderate parties of the centre? The majority of people?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 205 ✭✭contrary_devil

I think the Garda protection for former Taoisigh, justice ministers etc etc should only be for a maximum of 10 years after they leave the post. If they have said or done something during their tenure I would think that they would be reasonably safe after this period, if they have irked some people after leaving office then they shouldn't have the state picking up the tab for protecting them, if that were the case there's a lot of politicians would need protection.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,848 ✭✭✭✭padd b1975

If only...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,629 ✭✭✭touts

So does Brian Cowan still have Garda protection? I'd say those Gardai have a few interesting 3am stories. And Bertie? I'd say he probably gives his detail the slip fairly regularly. And as for Enda. I'd say the poor lads minding him must yearn for a 3am story to break the boredom.

All bark and no bite. He's safe enough on that score.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,276 ✭✭✭sdanseo

If Bruton was an accidental Taoiseach, what was Cowen? Varadkar?

None of the three were leader of the largest party when elected to the Dáil that made them Taoisigh.

I'm no blueshirt but singling one out over the other sounds a bit like an agenda.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 198 ✭✭0cp71eyxkb94qf

The hilarity of posters pretending to be Irish and singing the praises of this parasite. Trolling really is as lost art. Isnt there a boards.co.uk or whatever equivalent you could go to?

is there a 32 county boards ye could post to from the office/warehouse/wherever the fcuk they have ye?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 198 ✭✭0cp71eyxkb94qf

is there a 32 county boards ye could post to from the office/warehouse/wherever the fcuk they have ye?

Yeah it's called boards.ie. The clue is in the name of the website.

Jesus I knew the Tory cuts to education were bad....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,055 ✭✭✭JohnnyFlash

Does this protection apppy when they are on their holidays etc?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 241 ✭✭MarkHenderson

Extraordinary waste of tax payers money but you know single mums/social housing etc...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,669 ✭✭✭California Dreamer

Del2005 wrote: »
    They had one outside a dead one's house for a few weeks, they had to review the security risks to see if they could remove the protection for the dead person!

The reason is that there was a terrorist campaign on the island and leaders/ex leaders were a prime target. See above for why we still have it 20 years later.

Liam Cosgrave was Taoiseach in 1977. He still had Garda outside his house for 2 months after his death.

In case he came back as a zombie?

• Site Banned Posts: 12,341 ✭✭✭✭Faugheen

I happen to believe that the likes of SF, PBP and any other socialist ‘parties of the people’ who claim to only get paid the living wage despite costing the taxpayer the same as any other TD are the true parasites who know they’ll never get into power.

But hey, if you think those parties are right for the country then you go ahead and believe their lies and populist bull****.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 691 ✭✭✭DS86DS

myshirt wrote: »
    He owes Chuck Norris money.

53d5e0506dd41ac5b9a32c5cb892c11e.jpg