Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Siku v Britain's farm toys

• 25-12-2018 8:32am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,006 ✭✭✭

Santa was very here here and brought a Britain’s new holland with trailer and a relation gave a jd and trailer to the other lad. All 1/32. Great for the imagination, they’re loving them! The hitch on the siku doesn’t seem to close fully like the Britain’s though and trailer comes off a bit. Is that the way are they are?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,173 ✭✭✭✭Muckit

Yeah the hitches not great on the siku. If you lift UP the lever while moving it towards cab you might be able to get it back another notch. But still not as tight as Britain's.

Saying that the quality of Britain's stuff has gone downhill in the last 15-20years compared to the stuff l played with myself in the 80's.

See the way I've this positioned. I have it pushed behind where it was designed to latch.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,163 ✭✭✭Who2

My wee man has only turned 1 and my wife told me I have to wait until next year before im allowed but him any Britain’s farm toys.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,555 ✭✭✭✭Reggie.

Who2 wrote: »
    My wee man has only turned 1 and my wife told me I have to wait until next year before im allowed but him any Britain’s farm toys.

Something like that here myself

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,006 ✭✭✭farawaygrass

Muckit wrote: »
    See the way I've this positioned. I have it pushed behind where it was designed to latch.
    I was trying that and nearly had it but felt there was no more give in it and didn’t want it to break. I got a ring for a lambs tail and put it on. Improved it greatly

Trying to post pic but can’t seem to on phone

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,942 ✭✭✭Odelay

Santa was very here here and brought a Britain’s new holland with trailer and a relation gave a jd and trailer to the other lad. All 1/32. Great for the imagination, they’re loving them! The hitch on the siku doesn’t seem to close fully like the Britain’s though and trailer comes off a bit. Is that the way are they are?

Britain’s toys were all I wanted as a kid. They were some piece of kit and I had years playing with them. By my early teens I had enough to contract all of north Munster.
    Great for the imagination planning out roads and fields using the design in the carpet.
    Clocked up miles tranversing door saddles and ramps on and off door mats.
    Reckon I leant the basics of reversing a trailer from playing with them.

Still trying to stay away from all the electronic stuff and get them using their imagination. They hardly left them down today. Was great to see

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,566 ✭✭✭Limestone Cowboy

Odelay wrote: »
    Britain’s toys were all I wanted as a kid. They were some piece of kit and I had years playing with them. By my early teens I had enough to contract all of north Munster.
    Great for the imagination planning out roads and fields using the design in the carpet.
    Clocked up miles tranversing door saddles and ramps on and off door mats.
    Reckon I leant the basics of reversing a trailer from playing with them.

Likewise :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 227 ✭✭fastrac94

Santy came to our house this morning with bags and boxes galore,all the latest stuff for everyone! Yesterday while looking for something in the attic my own dad found a box of old toys I had as a kid,for the craic he brought a Britain's self propelled class forager down with him,1985 is stamped on it! Guess what my three year old hasn't left outa his hand all day!!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,033 ✭✭✭giveitholly

fastrac94 wrote: »
    Santy came to our house this morning with bags and boxes galore,all the latest stuff for everyone! Yesterday while looking for something in the attic my own dad found a box of old toys I had as a kid,for the craic he brought a Britain's self propelled class forager down with him,1985 is stamped on it! Guess what my three year old hasn't left outa his hand all day!!!!!

Great story and what christmas is all about

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,332 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

Still trying to stay away from all the electronic stuff and get them using their imagination. They hardly left them down today. Was great to see

That's the thing now so many kids with their head stuck in phones and consoles. Had a lad here during the summer fixing the milk tank. Kids were having a water fight in the yard. He said he could stay all day watching them laugh. Another lad was watching youngest lad in the garden a few weeks ago. He stuck pieces of paper with footballers names all around the goalposts. When he hit a piece of paper with the football that player was on his dream team. He said that's what we used to be like, you don't see much of it anymore. Sad thing is it's very young kids that are being given phones or tablets to keep them quiet. How many gardens do you never see kids out in?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,485 ✭✭✭Keepgrowing

If you place an elastic band around steering wheel and under lift arms hitch will be tighter. Did it when I was a kid and my lads are at it still.

Siku are better IMO as hitch can be replaced. Replacement hitches can be bought online. Mr 9 here has a nice little business going replacing them for his school buddies. Buy for €2 and charges €5 for service. Mammys are glad to pay, Jed do one or two most weeks

Sure parents were probably giving out about children moving from sticks and stones when marbles and teddy bears came around!

Gotta move with the times! Everything as adults is becoming increasingly automated and computer related. Phones and tablets are only steps towards this. But like everything in moderation.

My eldest lad is 3 and a half and his self directed learning from the phone is unreal. He'll open up youtube himself and has learnt all his colours and numbers to 20 through the phone. He can rhyme off the alphabet. He has learnt over 10 nursery rhymes through youtube. He watches the "small tractors" which are youtube clips of lads and girls his own age playing with their toy tractors etc.

His learning isnt limited to the phone, but rather an integral part of it. Child minder and Playschool has been unreal too. They dont use phones there. We'll take some credit as parents too, but with 2 of us working fulltime , in reality the time is against us. It's manners and discipline in the main.

If we're out for lunch somewhere, that's our downtime. That's them but it's also me and the missus as their parents. If they want the phone, they'll get it. Once they eat their dinner. Parents aren't robots or performing clowns to entertain their kids 24/7.

That's just my take on things.

There is extremes to every scenario but I think most will agree that kids have to more access to electronics at the moment. Kids are so quick at picking it up anyhow. It’s no advantage to them to be watching a cartoon or playing a silly game constant on a phone or tablet.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 751 ✭✭✭valtra2

Muckit wrote: »
    Sure parents were probably giving out about children moving from sticks and stones when marbles and teddy bears came around!

Gotta move with the times! Everything as adults is becoming increasingly automated and computer related. Phones and tablets are only steps towards this. But like everything in moderation.

My eldest lad is 3 and a half and his self directed learning from the phone is unreal. He'll open up youtube himself and has learnt all his colours and numbers to 20 through the phone. He can rhyme off the alphabet. He has learnt over 10 nursery rhymes through youtube. He watches the "small tractors" which are youtube clips of lads and girls his own age playing with their toy tractors etc.

His learning isnt limited to the phone, but rather an integral part of it. Child minder and Playschool has been unreal too. They dont use phones there. We'll take some credit as parents too, but with 2 of us working fulltime , in reality the time is against us. It's manners and discipline in the main.

If we're out for lunch somewhere, that's our downtime. That's them but it's also me and the missus as their parents. If they want the phone, they'll get it. Once they eat their dinner. Parents aren't robots or performing clowns to entertain their kids 24/7.

That's just my take on things.

100% agree on all of the above.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,190 ✭✭✭ruwithme

no doubt you will be buying more tractor toys in the years ahead, can i suggest buy the siku tractors. couple of reasons. replacement hitches, much nicer tractor to play with as the steering is superior on the siku compared to Britain's.with the exception of two Britain's tractors here they rest have all lost a front wheel for some reason.

probably because of the steering when i think about it.all that said Britain's still make some nice quality attachments for tractors.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,225 ✭✭✭charolais0153

I used always have "bruder" toys. Lasted well enough tbh

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,651 ✭✭✭Suckler

It's always around Christmas this type of thing comes up - "weren't like that in my day"
    Reminds me of this!

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ue7wM0QC5LE&t=21s