Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Drogheda ??

• 19-12-2018 8:20pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 451 ✭✭

Every time you open the paper or turn on the news in recent weeks Drogheda seems to have a pipe bomb discovery or something happening on a halting site ...never thought this town had many travellers ... is this another town going down the tubes through lack of policing and leniant judges. ??

• Closed Accounts Posts: 32,688 ✭✭✭✭ytpe2r5bxkn0c1

hurler32 wrote: »
    ... is this another town going down the tubes through lack of policing and leniant judges. ??

No.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 249 ✭✭kjbsrah1

Maybe more to do with the demand for drugs is high and the persons selling it want to control their patch. Ethnicity of persons involved crosses all races.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 53,835 ✭✭✭✭tayto lover

Travellers fighting over the drugs market.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,170 ✭✭✭enricoh

Most of em will be locked up in 5 years time, ala the gangs in Limerick.
    There was 4 or 5 caught a few weeks ago with a fella they had kidnapped, stabbed n tortured in the bath upstairs. They should get a decent stretch for that.

enricoh wrote: »
    Most of em will be locked up in 5 years time, ala the gangs in Limerick.
    There was 4 or 5 caught a few weeks ago with a fella they had kidnapped, stabbed n tortured in the bath upstairs. They should get a decent stretch for that.

Bathman is running around Dundalk as if nothing happened to him. They will get him again if he doesn't watch himself.

Bathman is running around Dundalk

Sounds like the most lame superhero ever.

Omackeral wrote: »
    Sounds like the most lame superhero ever.

I know the little fecker. I had occasion to have words with him. He ain't lame at all, he can fairly run.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 32,688 ✭✭✭✭ytpe2r5bxkn0c1

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 95 ✭✭pnecilcaser

Jesus this makes for grim reading as I am considering moving to Drogheda.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 933 ✭✭✭El_Bee

is the sale agreed? might want to reconsider :D Anyone know where statistically the safest place in Ireland is?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,734 ✭✭✭Duckworth_Luas

El_Bee wrote: »
    is the sale agreed? might want to reconsider :D Anyone know where statistically the safest place in Ireland is?
    The Computer Science and Statistics department at UCC have recorded only two murders in the last 5 years.

Meanwhile, at the Maths and Statistics department at UCD, there has been 5 killings, 12 attempted murders and a full scale riot.

The Statistic department at DIT have recorded just one crime, the theft of a paper clip, so in terms of statistics it wins easily.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 95 ✭✭pnecilcaser

El_Bee wrote: »

No I am at the very early stage of sifting through daft.ie and scouring the internet for information on the best areas in and around the town. I knew it was rough around the edges but I live in a fairly crap area of Dublin right now anyway so I am kind of used to it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 568 ✭✭✭rgodard80a

No I am at the very early stage of sifting through daft.ie and scouring the internet for information on the best areas in and around the town. I knew it was rough around the edges but I live in a fairly crap area of Dublin right now anyway so I am kind of used to it.

Most of the trouble was North Drogheda.
    Moneymore and Cement road in particular.
    I wouldn't be mad on Marley's lane either.

But most of the headline news was usual scumbag trying to kill scumbag stuff.
    Scary, but unlikely to directly affect you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,678 ✭✭✭✭EmmetSpiceland

The accent is a crime in itself.

“It is not blood that makes you Irish but a willingness to be part of the Irish nation” - Thomas Davis

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,208 ✭✭✭LuasSimon

Still plenty decent parts to Drogheda particularly south of the Boyne but there’s no doubt the ever growing traveller community are having a serious impact on law and order in the town .

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,208 ✭✭✭LuasSimon

https://m.independent.ie/irish-news/five-arrested-and-garda-viciously-assaulted-after-public-order-incident-at-drogheda-pub-38392037.html

What moral less free legal aid solicitor will be lining up to represent these feral yobs ?
    Hardly what Drogheda needs with the fleadh starting .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,170 ✭✭✭enricoh

LuasSimon wrote: »
    https://m.independent.ie/irish-news/five-arrested-and-garda-viciously-assaulted-after-public-order-incident-at-drogheda-pub-38392037.html

What moral less free legal aid solicitor will be lining up to represent these feral yobs ?
    Hardly what Drogheda needs with the fleadh starting .

A cultural diversity incident, our new brothers from balbriggan came down to enrich the fleadh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,707 ✭✭✭Bobblehats

enricoh wrote: »
    A cultural diversity incident, our new brothers from balbriggan came down to enrich the fleadh.

“I f**king love my young drillers. Good enough for em f**ing pigs. Feckkkkk these guys are dumb. They done skiddy bop on the pigs head””

No description required there then. Definitely not our lingo anyway :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,707 ✭✭✭Bobblehats

If there’s any justice they’ll be doing diddley squat in a prison cell

Is the video online anywhere? :confused:

Sick of the scum around the place. Would love to see the Gardai really doing a number on them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 933 ✭✭✭El_Bee

Is the video online anywhere? :confused:

Sick of the scum around the place. Would love to see the Gardai really doing a number on them.

Ah here they're only kids, we were all young once nobody's perfect you know, if the gardai get tough on people we won't be far from nazi germany.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,211 ✭✭✭✭Suckit

I remember seeing the Gardai get tough on a few heads in Lansdowne Road.. Mightn't be a bad thing to recreate some of those baton moves when required.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,518 ✭✭✭✭dudara

Closing this thread as there is already a thread on this topic in CA.

Normally I would move and merge, but as this thread pre-dates the latest thread, the merge wouldn’t make sense.

dudara