Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Minor Irish Celebrities who need to stay visible

• 18-12-2018 2:24pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 655 ✭✭✭Bellerstring

I wanted to see if anybody out there is aware of the constant publicity that some Irish celebs need, and seemingly spend a huge amount of time generating, with their friends in the press.

I'm particularly referring to Kathryn Thomas.
    She seems to be in articles every second day with
    non-stories about her baby's first Xmas, photos of her baby beside the Xmas tree, how her home used to be "party central" at Xmas, but this year is going to be a quiet family thing, about how she doesn't give a sh1t about turning 40, about how she's full steam ahead for her wedding next year...
    Jesus, enough already.
    This constant publicity actually makes me hate this woman.
    I swear, I don't seek out these stories, they're constantly appearing in my news feed.
    Anybody else with similar experiences..?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 938 ✭✭✭Ruraldweller56

Mconor. Jesus I abhor that man.

His face is everywhere.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 850 ✭✭✭what the hell!

Anna Geary. Good god.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,300 ✭✭✭✭razorblunt

Bressie.

He's waiting patiently for the next bandwagon

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 468 ✭✭w/s/p/c/

Vogue Williams. The indo seem to write an article on her every time she has a bowel movement.

Angela Scanlon, radiates smugness from every pore.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 616 ✭✭✭Jrop

Pippa and Brian Ormonde

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,324 ✭✭✭Tilikum17

Jrop wrote: »
    Pippa and Brian Ormonde

Brian Ormonde lol. What an absolute ****bird.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,213 ✭✭✭✭freshpopcorn

Kathryn Thomas used be fine when she presented No Fronttears but ever since all she does is yells and shouts like and angry school teacher!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 616 ✭✭✭Jrop

Tilikum17 wrote: »
    Brian Ormonde lol. What an absolute ****bird.

You're dead right. I had the misfortune of attending a charity do where he was the MC. Pinochio was less wooden

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,055 ✭✭✭JohnnyFlash

Angela Scanlon, radiates smugness from every pore.

Absolute minx.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,404 ✭✭✭✭vicwatson

I wanted to see if anybody out there is aware of the constant publicity that some Irish celebs need, and seemingly spend a huge amount of time generating, with their friends in the press.

non-stories about her baby's first Xmas, photos of her baby beside the Xmas tree, how her home used to be "party central" at Xmas, but this year is going to be a quiet family thing, about how she doesn't give a sh1t about turning 40, about how she's full steam ahead for her wedding next year...
    Jesus, enough already.
    I swear, I don't seek out these stories, they're constantly appearing in my news feed.

Couldn’t agree with you more, sick to **** looking at and listening to her all over the place

Those Garrihy sisters especially the one who's appeared on the scene lately doing impressions. Which aren't any way similar.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,404 ✭✭✭✭vicwatson

Eoin McDermott - resorts to calling for a ban on fairytale of New York, a nobody wanting to be a somebody

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,576 ✭✭✭Rows Grower

vicwatson wrote: »
    Couldn’t agree with you more, sick to **** looking at and listening to her all over the place

I thought it was just me, she's like the new Twink or that other dopey one Brunker that won Miss Ireland in about 1922.

"Very soon we are going to Mars. You wouldn't have been going to Mars if my opponent won, that I can tell you. You wouldn't even be thinking about it."

Donald Trump, March 13th 2018.

Kathryn Thomas used be fine when she presented No Fronttears but ever since all she does is yells and shouts like and angry school teacher!

Kathryn Thomas was never fine..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 83 ✭✭vonlars

Jedward must be running low on funds of late. They've been searching 'Jedward' and DM'ing anyone who has tweeted about them to create a Jedward Renaissance of sorts :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,856 ✭✭✭irishguitarlad

What would happen to these people if everyone in society decided to just ignore them? Do you think they could reintegrate into society and do normal Jobs? Or would they just slowly become less and less like a solid substance and vanish into the nothingness of which they spout and live by?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,467 ✭✭✭✭salmocab

Mconor. Jesus I abhor that man.

His face is everywhere.

Who? I presume you got caught by autocorrect but I can’t think who you mean, possibly Mc Gregor?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,013 ✭✭✭✭James Brown

I remember in the run up to one Christmas the Sunday Indo did a full two page spread on a Christmas dinner party consisting of people only famous for being in the Sunday Indo. Various names you'd only know from society/gossip columns written in the indo. There was about eight of them and it was their insights on current events and photos of them around a big dinning table. I remember genuinely not knowing anything about them other than they appeared in the Sunday indo from time to time having been out for a night or dating some other no mark. I suppose it's like Hotpress. Every few years theres a new shower the paper promotes for some reason, certainly not talent.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,359 ✭✭✭realdanbreen

Jesus, enough already.

What! Kathryn Thomas had a baby! God she kept that very quiet.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,732 ✭✭✭BarryD2

She seems to be in articles every second day with non-stories about her baby's first Xmas, photos of her baby beside the Xmas tree, how her home used to be "party central" at Xmas, but this year is going to be a quiet family thing, about how she doesn't give a sh1t about turning 40, about how she's full steam ahead for her wedding next year...

It takes two to tango. You could also point your finger at the media whether print, broadcast or social and their insatiable appetite for cheap & easy copy. The sort of light & fluffy stuff that's easy to churn out and easy for most people to glance over in the hairdressers or wherever. Fills up the pages.

These 'celebs' are just part of the media food chain and you're the customer/ consumer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 938 ✭✭✭Ruraldweller56

salmocab wrote: »
    Who? I presume you got caught by autocorrect but I can’t think who you mean, possibly Mc Gregor?

Yes that guy who does be in the wrastling

What! Kathryn Thomas had a baby! God she kept that very quiet.

I suppose I was a teenage lad and found her kind of hot on the beach in some foreign country.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,790 ✭✭✭✭BattleCorp

As long as I don't have to ever ever ever ever see or hear of Al Porter again, I'll be happy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,637 ✭✭✭✭ohnonotgmail

BattleCorp wrote: »
    As long as I don't have to ever ever ever ever see or hear of Al Porter again, I'll be happy.

I hadn't heard anything about him for months until you mentioned him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,872 ✭✭✭✭AndyBoBandy

Do I recall seeing endless stories a few years ago from/about Katheryn Thomas about how she finally found love etc... and was singing from the rooftops about how happy she was. But then when she broke up with DreamLover she wanted her privacy respected? Was he a Garda or something?

We could also really do with another batsh1t crazy Danny Healy-Rae story about now!! It seems like an eternity since we heard from our man in the fairy circle!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,417 ✭✭✭ToddyDoody

how her home used to be "party central" at Xmas, but this year is going to be a quiet family thing

Are you sure that was Kathryn Thomas? Sounds a bit like auto pilot.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,839 ✭✭✭✭padd b1975

Gerry Ryan's children.

All of them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,951 ✭✭✭B0jangles

Those Garrihy sisters especially the one who's appeared on the scene lately doing impressions. Which aren't any way similar.

They are seriously woeful - I saw a couple and it was about the standard you'd get in the average secondary school - but instead of an impression of that wagon of a geography teacher, it's Noirin O'Sullivan.

Just... awful, awful stuff.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6 AllThoseLies

Norah Casey

In recent years she has become a regular ‘misery slot’ celebrity due to her never ending catalogue of sad stories. No matter what you have experienced in your life you can be sure Norah has experienced it too. I reach for the remote as soon as she’s introduced as a guest on TV/Radio.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,987 ✭✭✭mikeym

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 850 ✭✭✭what the hell!

mikeym wrote: »

Yep Saturday morning breakfast- thank god I'm not up that early!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 498 ✭✭zapitastas

I remember in the run up to one Christmas the Sunday Indo did a full two page spread on a Christmas dinner party consisting of people only famous for being in the Sunday Indo. Various names you'd only know from society/gossip columns written in the indo. There was about eight of them and it was their insights on current events and photos of them around a big dinning table. I remember genuinely not knowing anything about them other than they appeared in the Sunday indo from time to time having been out for a night or dating some other no mark. I suppose it's like Hotpress. Every few years theres a new shower the paper promotes for some reason, certainly not talent.

I think I might have seen the same article. Was a celebrity solicitor , think his name was Gerald Keane. Horrid little runt

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,551 ✭✭✭AllForIt

we need to talk about Brendan Courtney

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73,520 ✭✭✭✭colm_mcm

zapitastas wrote: »
    I think I might have seen the same article. Was a celebrity solicitor , think his name was Gerald Keane. Horrid little runt

The ladies love him for whatever reason, his current squeeze is a buxom 35 year old Swede.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 498 ✭✭zapitastas

colm_mcm wrote: »
    The ladies love him for whatever reason, his current squeeze is a buxom 35 year old Swede.

I just googled him and that came up. WTF. He is in his 60s and looks like a rat in an over starched shirt

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,315 ✭✭✭Sam Hain

colm_mcm wrote: »

Don't think he is, thought his new bird was some Irish/ Italian yank with 4 kids.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,676 ✭✭✭✭NIMAN

AllForIt wrote: »
    we need to talk about Brendan Courtney

Regularly pimps his family out now for attention.

Add in our rugby players too, they are the new celebs. If they or their WAGs do anything, we have to hear about it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73,520 ✭✭✭✭colm_mcm

Sam Hain wrote: »
    Don't think he is, thought his new bird was some Irish/ Italian yank with 4 kids.

You are correct, he was only going on about the last one a few months ago how great she was and that he was taking the house off the market.
    He’s very much dressing more his age with the new one.

Actually, no the Swedish one is the one for the last 2 years, Italian one was before that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,301 ✭✭✭Flesh Gorden

Eoghan McDermott and Bressie

I don't listen to him, but they've been playing ads for his show constantly at every ad break for the past few months on 2FM.

His numbers must be very low for the amount of forced promotion and attempts to show 'how much craic he is' on the air.

Absolute cringe worthy shíte in those ads and a lot of it is sucking up to his idol Bressie aka yer man who's always pouting at things.

Even calling Bressie an average musician is giving too much credit, when you hear the current standard of Irish music.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,249 ✭✭✭ Crosby Muscular Stalker

BattleCorp wrote: »

bet soon enough he'll be on D'arcy's show or the LLs in the misery slot and he'll try the "depression" "alcoholic" "unable to get a grip with his sexuality" card and try to get sympathy and while people cant stand him, indo/rte and others will try and push him as a "conquering his demons hero"

B0jangles wrote: »
    They are seriously woeful - I saw a couple and it was about the standard you'd get in the average secondary school - but instead of an impression of that wagon of a geography teacher, it's Noirin O'Sullivan.

Just... awful, awful stuff.

the female Cian Twomey....but uncle/godfather Ian Dempsey has her/her sisters back

Amy Huberman is always desperate to be visible ditto the so sue me wan and those "beauty/influencer" blogger twits who all seem to have an air of self importance and think theyre saving the world with their thoughts/life

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,858 ✭✭✭✭Arghus

Ah, as long as Al Porter stays under that rock I can put up with nearly anyone else. If you don't listen to much radio or watch an inordinate amount of Irish TV then nearly all of these names are really, really easy to avoid.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,067 ✭✭✭✭fryup

ian o'doherty a journalist/social commentator who has the balls to speak his mind and go against the grain when needs be, i find myself nodding in agreement with him most of the time

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 655 ✭✭✭Bellerstring

BarryD2 wrote: »
    She seems to be in articles every second day with non-stories about her baby's first Xmas, photos of her baby beside the Xmas tree, how her home used to be "party central" at Xmas, but this year is going to be a quiet family thing, about how she doesn't give a sh1t about turning 40, about how she's full steam ahead for her wedding next year...

It takes two to tango. You could also point your finger at the media whether print, broadcast or social and their insatiable appetite for cheap & easy copy. The sort of light & fluffy stuff that's easy to churn out and easy for most people to glance over in the hairdressers or wherever. Fills up the pages.

These 'celebs' are just part of the media food chain and you're the customer/ consumer.
    I agree it takes two to tango, but I just wonder about the time spent eeking out her crappy little "look at me and my wonderful life" philosophy.
    Does her management, Noel Kelly, be on to her every day saying "stay in the limelight", "get more stuff out there"
    "Make it seem like you're the only new Mother in the world and we're hanging on to every word"
    Just wait til she gets married.
    The best wedding everrrrr..