Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Landrover Defender

• 10-12-2018 6:33pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,754 ✭✭✭

Anyone owned one? I am tempted to buy a cheap one as I don't have any big requirement for a car at the moment and it might suit my meager needs.

My concerns are: cost of tax; cost of fuel; heating

I have noticed a couple of 1980s imports that are vrt exempt and €50 tax cos they are considered classics... Very tempting. I believe the general tax rate is about €1000

I've owned a jeep wrangler and an fj cruiser in the past, so familiar with Noddy car handling, but that was on a different continent, so cost was less of a factor.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,754 ✭✭✭Bluefoam

I think the heating is the thing that most concerns me...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,560 ✭✭✭porsche boy

You would be happier with almost any other 4x4. The defender is cramped, noisy, not very water tight, heavy to drive, uncomfortable in the extreme and honestly impossible to drive without winding down the drivers window.
    A Cherokee, Pajero, Landcruser etc would be more comfortable and practical.
    In its defence the defender would be the most composed on the side of a muddy mountain but that's about all it has going for it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,280 ✭✭✭✭Eric Cartman

defenders command mad money because loads of people want them. You'd actually be better off getting one of the discovery 2's dropped on a disco 1 1979 chassis , heres one : https://www.donedeal.ie/vintagecars-for-sale/land-rover-discovery-td/20441543

heating and aircon, lots of insulation, cheap tax, more manageable.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

I've driven the old school Defenders on farms but would not like to drive them as a daily driver.

If you post your requirements maybe we can help you find a suitable alternative?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,754 ✭✭✭Bluefoam

Ah jaysus lads... I was asking about the potential heating on a crappy defender, not a list of suitable SUVs for an accountant and their family. I'm well aware that a Skoda Octavia would be a more sensible option.

My requirements are: a fun car for having fun in, driving around, rare roadtrips... I don't need to worry about kids. 1 passenger is grand, a second would be a bonus... refinement is not high on my priorities. While it'd be my only car, daily driver would not be an accurate description.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,226 ✭✭✭Stallingrad

Bluefoam wrote: »
    Ah jaysus lads...

Just trying save you from yourself! :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,617 ✭✭✭ba_barabus

I've owned a jeep wrangler

Why not go for it's slightly bigger brother and get a Jeep Cherokee.

More reliable than a Defender, more comfortable, good heater, lots of parts and can be modded easily. Available in a straight 6 or diesel form. Neither are cheap to tax unless you go commercial but then again good examples can be found so cost is all relative.

Ignore the comedy price of this example, clean ones can be found for a lot less.

Food for thought?

https://www.carandclassic.co.uk/car/C1062520

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,102 ✭✭✭✭Del2005

My requirements are: a fun car for having fun in, driving around, rare roadtrips... I don't need to worry about kids. 1 passenger is grand, a second would be a bonus... refinement is not high on my priorities. While it'd be my only car, daily driver would not be an accurate description.

I've never driven one but I have never heard anyone who has say its a fun car on the road. Off road it can be fun, on the road it's far from fun or comfort. It's a 70 year old design.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,503 ✭✭✭✭Mad_maxx

Unbelievable to hold their value, owned an 03 defender from 05 to 08, awful to drive, bad gearbox as well, they are not mechanically thar reliable but have such a timeless look and a big following, it's all ignored

Buy an old massey Ferguson 165, more comfortable.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,503 ✭✭✭✭Mad_maxx

Del2005 wrote: »
    I've never driven one but I have never heard anyone who has say its a fun car on the road. Off road it can be fun, on the road it's far from fun or comfort. It's a 70 year old design.

They are fun in a rugged way.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,696 ✭✭✭dhaughton99

I always see a silver one parked outside the neighborhood car mechanic. A beautiful looking machine but I assume it’s always getting fixed. The thing that I wonder about is the 2 sets of ear protectors he keeps on the back head rest.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,140 ✭✭✭James Bond Junior

Just don't. We had one in the family, awful pig of a yoke.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,849 ✭✭✭✭AMKC
    Ms

Sure you might as well get a Lada Niva. Get it imported from the Uk. It might be a bit better than the Defender.

I have an uncle that had one. He said it was great off road but terrible on road, terrible hard on fuel and not very reliable. The ride in it was terrible too. He has since gone and got a Suzuki with huge big wheels on it just for off roading in. The model before the Jimny.

Live long and Prosper

Peace and long life.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,292 ✭✭✭0lddog

Can they be hired ?
    Maybe a week with one would
    XXXXXXXXXXXXXX
    OP