Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Invasion of flat caps and wrangler jeans...?

• 08-12-2018 11:35am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,412 ✭✭✭

Traditionally the capital would get infested with the above on this day every year. Not living up there anymore but just wondering has this tradition declined...?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 16,620 ✭✭✭✭dr.fuzzenstein

Maybe not since the line-dancing craze has subsided. They blend in now. Makes them far more dangerous because hard to spot. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,995 ✭✭✭Sofiztikated

Haven't seen a pair of wranglers in forever.

Crosshatch jeans and superdry jackets is the go to uniform now.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,217 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

Wrangler jeans are an affront to God and man.

Rejoice in the awareness of feeling stupid, for that’s how you end up learning new things. If you’re not aware you’re stupid, you probably are.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,928 ✭✭✭✭Panthro

Levis for life.
    I'm kidding I can't afford levis
    Penny's finest

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,024 ✭✭✭Carry

Wibbs wrote: »

Why? :confused:

*typing while scraping off the mud on my wellies*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,122 ✭✭✭BeerWolf

fb3b107a6fd142091a24e728b6f18875--chubby-fashion-fat-fashion.jpg

IMG_6391-12-433x650.jpg

Sexy!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,365 ✭✭✭✭McMurphy

Good pair of Tommy Hilfiger Jeans will stand by you for years, I've tried all the others, and none last as long (or make my hole look so good) as a pair of Tommys.

**pats own arse**

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,181 ✭✭✭CinemaGuy45

BeerWolf wrote: »

IMG_6391-12-433x650.jpg

Sexy!

What city are you in there?

Anybody know who this guy is?

georgerrmartin.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,966 ✭✭✭gifted

georgerrmartin.jpg

Donal Skehan...let himself go since he moved to LA

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 755 ✭✭✭Vita nova

Road-Hog wrote: »
    Traditionally the capital would get infested with the above on this day every year. Not living up there anymore but just wondering has this tradition declined...?

December the 8th as a major shopping day started to die when the schools stopped closing for the 8th (religious feast) and department stores stopped having sales. Add to that, internet shopping and increased shopping options closer to home and now it's just like any other shopping day. I read that in Dublin city centre it's no longer even in the top ten days in December in terms of footfall and I'd imagine it's similar for other cities.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 359 ✭✭peter4918

georgerrmartin.jpg[/QUOTE]

I think that is George RR Martin author of Game of Thrones

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,628 ✭✭✭orourkeda1977

Maybe not since the line-dancing craze has subsided. They blend in now. Makes them far more dangerous because hard to spot. :D

Insidious culchie. That's some al Qaeda culchiness.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,412 ✭✭✭Road-Hog

Vita nova wrote: »
    December the 8th as a major shopping day started to die when the schools stopped closing for the 8th (religious feast) and department stores stopped having sales. Add to that, internet shopping and increased shopping options closer to home and now it's just like any other shopping day. I read that in Dublin city centre it's no longer even in the top ten days in December in terms of footfall and I'd imagine it's similar for other cities.

I wasn’t really looking for a serious analytical response.....more a bit of reminiscing about days of old...!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,363 ✭✭✭✭bazz26

Just another Healy-Rae at the Dail day so. :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,417 ✭✭✭ToddyDoody

Road-Hog wrote: »
    Traditionally the capital would get infested with the above on this day every year.

Dublin - a true beacon of light for the rest of us.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,412 ✭✭✭✭endacl

peter4918 wrote: »

I think that is George RR Martin author of Game of Thrones Beatles producer in pirate mode.
    Funnier, but a little lateral.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,888 ✭✭✭Atoms for Peace

Thanks to Ryanair it's now actually cheaper to fly to a proper city rather than going to Dublin. ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,060 ✭✭✭✭TheValeyard

georgerrmartin.jpg

latest?cb=20180311113301

[Wiener, wiener wiener, wiener wiener (continues in background)]
    One wiener, next to another wiener
    [Wiener, wiener wiener, wiener wiener (continues in background)]
    Two wieners alongside yet another wiener
    [Party, wiener party, wiener party, party party, wiener party, wiener wiener (continues in background)]
    Soft wieners, nice and soft, non-erect wieners!
    [Keep them flopping, flopping wieners, floppy floppy, dangle wieners, dangle dangle (continues in background)]
    Five wieners in my face

All eyes on Kursk. Slava Ukraini.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 71,186 ✭✭✭✭L1011

The December 8th invasion was only when it was on a weekday and the rural schools had it off (and very few city ones did). This is a weekend, what little is left of it won't happen.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,547 ✭✭✭✭Poor Uncle Tom

Wibbs wrote: »

If I didn't have the Wranglers I'd have be nakkid since the 1960's

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 975 ✭✭✭decky1

Ah the ould Wrangler great jeans but Levis were always nice and soft to the touch.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,858 ✭✭✭Church on Tuesday

Yup because all of us who hail from the country must be backward, knuckle dragging Neanderthals enthralled by the spectacle of the "Big Shmoke".

I do like wearing flat caps though. Very comfy. Fashionable too. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,935 ✭✭✭donegal_man

You're more likely to see a flat cap and bushy beard on some urban hipster now than on any self respecting rural dweller.

I hate to break it to you but Guiney's is no longer the universal fulcrum of haute couture fashion. If a strapping young Garda needs a new pair of slacks so he can meet a nice young nurse at a dance of a Thursday night in Barry's hotel then Amazon seem to have it covered.

Plus a train ride no longer feels like the orient express rolling into Istanbul at 4AM in the fog, and the idea of clutching onto a set of rosary beads for dear life while battling through the hordes of murderous marauding jackeens is no day at the beach either.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 229 ✭✭John Sacrimoni

Rumour has it they have actual shopping centres outside Dublin now, shocking.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,970 ✭✭✭6541

Jackeens are a plague. 5 am drunken contribution...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,286 ✭✭✭✭RobbingBandit

Nuttin beats a ramble to the big smokkkkkkkke, but whatch out for the chinamen and themlike.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,453 ✭✭✭RabbleRouser2k

Rumour has it they have actual shopping centres outside Dublin now, shocking.

Amazon, ebay, shopping trips to New York, the weakened £ have all changed things.

I've gotten some great deals from online that cut a solid 100 euros (maybe more) off of my Christmas spending. I can sit at my computer and get a deal on ebay, or Amazon that's half price compared to the local shopping centres.

Folks I know who were spending, on average, €50 every two months on contact lenses, are now spending €15 for the same prescription, but buying online. (Lenses do the same job-totally legit).