Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Farm van

• 02-12-2018 8:45pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 151 ✭✭

Hello,
    Im thinking of buying a van for general day to day farm work and occasionally to pull a small trailer.

In order to be able to tax this commercially, is a herd number. required, or some proof that a commercial vehicle is required?
    To tax as a private vehicle, i dont thin k would be possible when i already have a car registered?

What is the annual commercial tax cost?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,808 ✭✭✭✭Water John

You're motor tax is with the County Council. They don't care what enterprise you are at. FBD would probably insure you or €7/800. But then my farm is with them too. Running costs would be 100% a farm expense. You may also get two thirds of the car running costs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,219 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

You will have to get the guards to sign a form. This can be downloaded online.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 748 ✭✭✭valtra2

jobseek wrote: »
    Hello,
    Im thinking of buying a van for general day to day farm work and occasionally to pull a small trailer.

In order to be able to tax this commercially, is a herd number. required, or some proof that a commercial vehicle is required?
    To tax as a private vehicle, i dont thin k would be possible when i already have a car registered?

What is the annual commercial tax cost?

Got a van taxed the other day. Needed van weighed, herd number and a headed letter from Dep of ag with my name on it and herd number. And ppsn. All depends where you go. That was carlow. Oh ya and grass to sign form

valtra2 wrote: »
    Got a van taxed the other day. Needed van weighed, herd number and a headed letter from Dep of ag with my name on it and herd number. And ppsn. All depends where you go. That was carlow

Jaysus. That was an ordeal.

whelan2 wrote: »
    Jaysus. That was an ordeal.

I know and I had a van before so did not think I had anything to do. Was after buying different van

My dad got a jeep a few weeks ago we just downloaded a form he brought it to local garda station and got it signed and went into tax office. Job done. This was in louth

I did the same but got told I needed all this so went off and got it. Went to local co-op and got it weighted and printer was not working so they hand wrote it and they would not accept that. I was not best pleased when I went back the 3rd time with it printed only to be told from a different person at the counter that the handwritten would have done.

They should be all singing from the same hymn sheet imo. Total joke

I know. They are off my Christmas card list.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 151 ✭✭jobseek

Thanks, i dont have a herd number, it is in my dads name

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,563 ✭✭✭mayota

Use that number.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,082 ✭✭✭enricoh

Total joke having to weigh the van- Google would tell you the weight in 10 seconds.
    I've an auris carvan n changed from commercial to private tax. E380 v e333. Dont have to go to the local mafia (sorry doe centre!) every year now just nct it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,120 ✭✭✭✭elperello

Go to your local authority website, motor tax section.
    There will be a list of requirements for first time taxing a van in your name.
    Just get all that stuff together in a file and then go to the motor tax office.
    You only need to do this once. For next year and subsequent years you can renew online.

elperello wrote: »
    Go to your local authority website, motor tax section.
    There will be a list of requirements for first time taxing a van in your name.
    Just get all that stuff together in a file and then go to the motor tax office.
    You only need to do this once. For next year and subsequent years you can renew online.

Yes but I had a van and this was just a new van I had bought.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,778 ✭✭✭Dakota Dan

I've a 00 Yaris here 1 litre petrol, over the last 4 years she's after drawing some ration, just dropped the back seats and load up 8 25kg bags. Funny enough the front shocks failed the nct this year and back shocks were A1.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,334 ✭✭✭✭wrangler

Dakota Dan wrote: »
    I've a 00 Yaris here 1 litre petrol, over the last 4 years she's after drawing some ration, just dropped the back seats and load up 8 25kg bags. Funny enough the front shocks failed the nct this year and back shocks were A1.

Shocks can be bad or good and still pass as long as they're equal, I got my old hilux serviced, and no one at the garage when Icollected it, It went for test the next day and passed.
    A few days later the mechanic phoned saying he had my shocks, I said but it has passed the test, he said look at them and make up my own mind, when I looked at them tehy were pure rust and when he took them off there was feckall resistance in them.... strange eh

wrangler wrote: »
    Shocks can be bad or good and still pass as long as they're equal, I got my old hilux serviced, and no one at the garage when Icollected it, It went for test the next day and passed.
    A few days later the mechanic phoned saying he had my shocks, I said but it has passed the test, he said look at them and make up my own mind, when I looked at them tehy were pure rust and when he took them off there was feckall resistance in them.... strange eh

Our land cruiser passed and there was no brake lights or back lights working on it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,801 ✭✭✭148multi

If you work with your dad on farm and need van for it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,120 ✭✭✭✭elperello

Yes but I had a van and this was just a new van I had bought.

That's the system.
    Once you get a different van, new or used you have to go through the process again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,721 ✭✭✭✭_Brian

Friend just got a berlingo passenger, had heavy tint fitted on windows and throws seats down.

Allot less flaff, carries a good load, tows a trailer, put up seats and carries passengers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 352 ✭✭Nobbies

Our land cruiser passed and there was no brake lights or back lights working on it

P.m me the c.v.r.t place you went to.i must go there as the last place condemned mine.

_Brian wrote: »
    Friend just got a berlingo passenger, had heavy tint fitted on windows and throws seats down.

Allot less flaff, carries a good load, tows a trailer, put up seats and carries passengers.

Most farms don't need a jeep, I had a fiat 128 here for years that did a lot of towing until an agitated cow and calf in a 8 by 5 trailer started to sway and put us all into the ditch.
    Suppose the law wouldn't allow that now

_Brian wrote: »

We had to take the tint off the windows of land cruiser a few years ago in test.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,721 ✭✭✭✭_Brian

We had to take the tint off the windows of land cruiser a few years ago in test.

He just has the heavy tint on the rearmost windows to obscure the gear he carries.
    Not on front door windows or windscreen

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 286 ✭✭breakemall

enricoh wrote: »
    Total joke having to weigh the van- Google would tell you the weight in 10 seconds.
    I've an auris carvan n changed from commercial to private tax. E380 v e333. Dont have to go to the local mafia (sorry doe centre!) every year now just nct it.

Are you sure about that? I tax a crew cab privately but it still has to be CVTR'ed annually, plus the tolls insist on charging as a commercial because it is still a "commercial" vehicle just used privately.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,778 ✭✭✭Dakota Dan

Correct the front shocks had only 3% imbalance. The rear shocks are solid.

I think only tinted glass is allowed, fif it's possible to take it off they're supposed to tell you to...... in the front anyway

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,546 ✭✭✭✭Reggie.

No tint allowed on Windows in front of a A pillar

Reggie. wrote: »
    No tint allowed on Windows in front of a A pillar

Ye was on drivers and passenger windows. Was on it when we got it and a fecker to take off

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,546 ✭✭✭✭Reggie.

Ye was on drivers and passenger windows. Was on it when we got it and a fecker to take off

Sometimes it leaves glue stuck to the window

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 101 ✭✭mozil

breakemall wrote: »
    Are you sure about that? I tax a crew cab privately but it still has to be CVTR'ed annually, plus the tolls insist on charging as a commercial because it is still a "commercial" vehicle just used privately.

Is it insured commercial or private breakemall?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 286 ✭✭breakemall

mozil wrote: »
    Is it insured commercial or private breakemall?

That was another nightmare as the insurance company's could not square the circle with some saying they would not insure it because it is a commercial and others would not insure a commercial for just private use... in the end I managed to get private insurance through a commercial broker if that makes sense?

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 1,916 Mod ✭✭✭✭Albert Johnson

Most farms don't need a jeep, I had a fiat 128 here for years that did a lot of towing until an agitated cow and calf in a 8 by 5 trailer started to sway and put us all into the ditch.
    Suppose the law wouldn't allow that now

Sometimes the law might have a point tho, I'm no great lover of the RSA or other enforcement agencies but they have a job too do.
    The above towing combination may have done the business but when the literal push came to shove it wasn't up to the task. I'm not here to lecture anyone as I'm not without sin when it comes to towing and overloading.
    I towed with a nissian Almera and looking back it was lunacy, a heavy cattle trailer and 25 big ewes. Having to get a good run at hills and feeling the arse of the car being pushed on coming into corners wasn't that much fun, there were times when stopping probably wasn't an option if it came to it.
    Regards the fish tailing and watching the ditch getting closer through the passenger side window as you were brought along for the ride I'll sacrifice fuel efficiency with the Jeep any day over that craic.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,872 ✭✭✭Fann Linn

That's probably part of the reason why that neck of the woods is known as 'Bandit Country'.

Sometimes the law might have a point tho, I'm no great lover of the RSA or other enforcement agencies but they have a job too do.
    The above towing combination may have done the business but when the literal push came to shove it wasn't up to the task. I'm not here to lecture anyone as I'm not without sin when it comes to towing and overloading.
    I towed with a nissian Almera and looking back it was lunacy, a heavy cattle trailer and 25 big ewes. Having to get a good run at hills and feeling the arse of the car being pushed on coming into corners wasn't that much fun, there were times when stopping probably wasn't an option if it came to it.
    Regards the fish tailing and watching the ditch getting closer through the passenger side window as you were brought along for the ride I'll sacrifice fuel efficiency with the Jeep any day over that craic.

The car would get the 12 by 5 sometimes if the jeep wasn't here but at least there's brakes on that, the 8 by 5 was home made, no brakes.
    Only draw sheep now too

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,801 ✭✭✭148multi

Think it's 75% of light has to be able to pass through the tint to be legal.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 120 ✭✭galwayhillbilly

Slightly off topic. Has anyone noticed, that more lads using the tractor to bring stock to the mart since the towing and trailer laws have tightened up. No towing licence needed and if you have a vintage tractor you don't even need lights during the day! I also notice some lads who used to have jeeps, now using cars and vans with smaller trailers obviously to keep the combined weight below the 3.5 tonnes. I think those of us in our late 30s early 40s should be given an amnesty on this trailer licence it would be much safer to have less tractors and small vehicles towing on busy mart days.
    Going back to the topic I think a van is more versatile for farm use I would put 10 bags of nuts in the back of a car with flip down seats but not a sick ewe or calf needing to go to the vets or 10 square bales of straw which I would do with a van. You can't hose out the back of a car so easy. Also it's easier to justify your motoring expenses with revenue with a van than a car. If you need a car for family use and can't afford a second vehicle fair enough.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,345 ✭✭✭Grueller

Slightly off topic. Has anyone noticed, that more lads using the tractor to bring stock to the mart since the towing and trailer laws have tightened up. No towing licence needed and if you have a vintage tractor you don't even need lights during the day! I also notice some lads who used to have jeeps, now using cars and vans with smaller trailers obviously to keep the combined weight below the 3.5 tonnes. I think those of us in our late 30s early 40s should be given an amnesty on this trailer licence it would be much safer to have less tractors and small vehicles towing on busy mart days.
    Going back to the topic I think a van is more versatile for farm use I would put 10 bags of nuts in the back of a car with flip down seats but not a sick ewe or calf needing to go to the vets or 10 square bales of straw which I would do with a van. You can't hose out the back of a car so easy. Also it's easier to justify your motoring expenses with revenue with a van than a car. If you need a car for family use and can't afford a second vehicle fair enough.

Just be aware that the ifor/nugent/tuffmac etc cattle boxes are often illegal behind a tractor as well.
    The hitch is rated at 3.5 tonnes on the trailer. If the trailer plus its load exceeds this it doesnt matter if a 300hp tractor is pulling it, its illegal.
    Example: 4 x 700kg sucklers =2800kg plus 1000kg for the trailer is 3800kg. Load exceeds hitch rating.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,611 ✭✭✭Mooooo

What kind of running costs would be associated with older jeeps, say 8 years +. Looking to change car here in the new year and majority of work is farm related. A share of carrying stuff from coop and a bit of off-road at outfarm for calves etc. Small amount of trailerwork. Know a few lads who've bought older machines and have replaced them with similar vintage or repaired but eventually went with newer machines due to on-going costs to keep on the road. If something is reliable I'd be keeping it long term, so dillemma is buying something older and hoping for the best or something newer with hopefully less issues. See9ng landcruisers advertised for 10k at 12 years old and 200k miles on em seems too much at that age. Seating position in pickup types, older ones anyway, is poor also for the back

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 1,916 Mod ✭✭✭✭Albert Johnson

I'd frequent at least one mart a week here in the Northwest and I'd say tractors and trailers make up less than 10% of traffic at our local mart. Some of these would be towing specialist tractors trailers as opposed to Ivor Williams, Nugent and so on. Jeeps are very much still in the majority as towing vehicle's locally.

As regards the trailer licence I believe having passed a test before towing has some merit. I tow trailers multiple times a week and decided to get a category B licence for peace of mind. I can't say that gaining the licence improved my driving although it did refresh some of the legislation involved. I would be of the opinion that the test would be of more addition to a novice or younger driver.
    The process of getting the licence is reasonably straight forward and not as costly as I first thought. I think it cost in the region of 400 euro all in when I done it 2 years ago. I would encourage anyone thinking about it to do it sooner rather than later as the process will only get more complicated with time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,503 ✭✭✭✭Mad_maxx

Mooooo wrote: »
    What kind of running costs would be associated with older jeeps, say 8 years +. Looking to change car here in the new year and majority of work is farm related. A share of carrying stuff from coop and a bit of off-road at outfarm for calves etc. Small amount of trailerwork. Know a few lads who've bought older machines and have replaced them with similar vintage or repaired but eventually went with newer machines due to on-going costs to keep on the road. If something is reliable I'd be keeping it long term, so dillemma is buying something older and hoping for the best or something newer with hopefully less issues. See9ng landcruisers advertised for 10k at 12 years old and 200k miles on em seems too much at that age. Seating position in pickup types, older ones anyway, is poor also for the back

You will get a good 2006 landcruiser for around 6 - 7 k, donedeal prices are too ambitious.