Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

We can't talk the way we used to because of porn?

• 02-12-2018 1:21pm
    Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 55 ✭✭

I remember recently I heard someone say in a movie "are you and your wife sucking back the chardonnay?". I thought to myself people would never said that word for word these days. It's not that it would sound bad, it's just people would avoid the word "sucking".

I believe that all young people are now extremely aware of how something might sound sexual. And I believe that they're always conscious of how they word their remarks in order to avoid saying thinks that might sound sexual.

I remember once during a bit of banter a fella said to me "don't take it badly". I replied "I'll take it whatever way I want" and they all laughed. Another time a fella took something off me and when he wouldn't give it back, I shouted "give it to me, give it to me" and again they all laughed at me.

Another time during a rugby game I shouted "ref, but he pulled me" and the crowd laughed. Lately however, I was more careful when using a pipette in the lab; I said "when you take the liquid up" instead of using the word "suck"! Just goes to show!

Then there are those moments when a professor (who's old and therefore hasn't watched porn) will just say something as it is, and by chance it might sound sexual and you'll hear the giggling. It's a good way of knowing who in the room watches porn.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 40,061 ✭✭✭✭Harry Palmr

**** off would ya!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 340 ✭✭Dr_serious2

What are you on about? 😂

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,298 ✭✭✭Snotty

I remember once during a bit of banter a fella said to me "don't take it badly". I replied "I'll take it whatever way I want" and they all laughed. Another time a fella took something off me and when he wouldn't give it back, I shouted "give it to me, give it to me" and again they all laughed at me.

Are you sure you don't live in a Carry On film?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,245 ✭✭✭myshirt

Op, it's Christmas, this is a time for family and to be open and free.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 55 ✭✭UCD GroupThink

What are you on about? ��
    You no damn well what I'm on about.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 32,688 ✭✭✭✭ytpe2r5bxkn0c1

Jeez, give it a rest. You're overthinking everything.

Mix with a more mature group.

Yeah.

I think I'll go back to sleep.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 60 ✭✭Fordcspri23

Have a **** op, same goes for the rest of ye.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,737 ✭✭✭Yer Da sells Avon

Another time during a rugby game I shouted "ref, but he pulled me" and the crowd laughed.

If another player jumped on your back during a rugby game, would you **** his cock, or would you just leave him there?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,440 ✭✭✭The Rape of Lucretia

You see a lot worse than that for real and it isnt just for a laugh. I was watching some rugby a couple of weeks ago, ground full, kids and all there, and right in the middle of the game, seemingly with the ref OK with it, one guy got down on his knees, put his hands between the legs of two others still on their feet, he grabbed their crotches, stuck is head between their buttocks, the two standing guys bent over, and they all started shoving. No shame at all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 281 ✭✭GMSA

I'm eating/having my breakfast Kate.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,698 ✭✭✭Signore Fancy Pants

This fking dickhead again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,423 ✭✭✭✭Outlaw Pete

Nonsense, absolute nonsense.

Anyway, enough Boards for me for today. I'm off into town for a facial.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,158 ✭✭✭Trigger Happy

Nonsense, absolute nonsense.

Anyway, enough Boards for me for today. I'm off into town for a facial.

Can I come?

Of course. We can get some cream pies before the facials sure.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,737 ✭✭✭Yer Da sells Avon

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,254 ✭✭✭Kevin Finnerty

I read that as 'We can't walk the way we used to because of porn'. Thought to myself that lad's torn himself silly.

In all seriousness, I do think porn is an issue for those with little lads, for obvious reasons.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,858 ✭✭✭Church on Tuesday

There's just something about a rainy Sunday and Boards....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,417 ✭✭✭ToddyDoody

Chewbacca wrote: »
    This fking dickhead again.

In school a teacher shouting 'spread' to a group of girls was good enough to get a laugh from the dickheads.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,279 ✭✭✭✭Sleeper12

Yes porn has ruined my life. I no longer come in the back passage. It's now called the lane. I still use the back door from time to time but people think I'm odd when I do. Sometimes I use a raincoat and sometimes I don't

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,162 ✭✭✭Ozymandius2011

I'm not sure this is a change. When I was at Mass in second level at my school in early 1990s we used to giggle when "the angel of the Lord came onto him" or "I will make you fishers of men" was read out from readings or Gospels.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 32,688 ✭✭✭✭ytpe2r5bxkn0c1

When a neighbour asked for an example of a Double Entendre I said I'd give her one and everybody laughed. The age of innocence is long dead.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,172 ✭✭✭EPAndlee

Porn has done nothing but bad things for me, any time I have sex with the missus I can never get passed the buffering stage

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 87 ✭✭Women without Makeup

myshirt wrote: »
    Op, it's Christmas, this is a time for family and to be open and free.

But isn't everything on pornhub free?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,394 ✭✭✭Pac1Man

But isn't everything on pornhub free?

You'll pay for the tab when you meet Jesus.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 350 ✭✭Biodegradable

Can't say things like "I love the feel of that in my mouth" anymore. Certain foods are enjoyed more because of the texture than the way they taste.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,196 ✭✭✭✭jimgoose

Your sister.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,707 ✭✭✭Bobblehats

Of course. We can get some cream pies before the facials sure.

You don’t bring me golden showers anymore

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,812 ✭✭✭✭sbsquarepants

I It's a good way of knowing who in the room watches porn.

Another good way is to look around the room, and all the people you see.....they're the ones.

Is this what occupies the mind in UCD?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,196 ✭✭✭✭jimgoose

Is this what occupies the mind in UCD?

Yeah, except in the Philosophy Department. They ask "Why would you like fries with that?"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,633 ✭✭✭✭Widdershins

When I was in secondary school porn wasn't as prevalent or seen as a universal thing but for example half the class laughed whenever the science teacher said "Organism". Sniggering at the most innocent phrases as an adult kind of hints at inexperience and backwardness I think.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,643 ✭✭✭✭the beer revolu

Yes, the double entendre was only invented after the Internet.