Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

log splitter

• 30-11-2018 12:29am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 343 ✭✭

What log splitter are ye using.
    Thinking of purchasing rather than making one.

what works best for you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,122 ✭✭✭TomOnBoard

feartuath wrote: »

what works best for you.

Get one that:

1. splits both horizontal and vertical
    2. Automatically returns at the end of the power stroke
    3. 2-speed splitting action
    4. Over-powered for your needs (you will eventually come across the knotty lump from wood hell)

I have a Woodline. Awesome.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,129 ✭✭✭✭patsy_mccabe

I saw a Malone one working recently and it was very low to the ground. Ideally for your back, the table should be 1 metre from the ground.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,937 ✭✭✭SmartinMartin

I just use a fiskars X27. The really knotty ones get left for outdoor fires. I'd love eventually to get a tractor splitter for the back of the 135 though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,046 ✭✭✭✭Say my name

Whether it's a private or a company made, make sure the wedge doesn't go all the way down to the table.
    *Safety feature for those who like to keep their fingers.

Patsy is on the ball about the table being a metre high. I can't see how some manufacturers think they're better lower down than waist high. Maybe for the real big rounds ok but generally no.
    A table beside the splitter with the rounds loaded where you could just slide them across would be a nice addition too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 509 ✭✭✭wayoutwest

+ 1 for Fiskars x27 - nice light and effective axe that is not as tiring to use compared with the conventional splitting maul, unless the rings are really tough.
    One of these three lads usually does the trick.
    20180318_173742.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 939 ✭✭✭Aravo

Have one here on back of tractor. Great job. Table height at waist is very important. Any big heavy bits are left till end if help is about to lift.

The ram on ours can be moved to a higher level if some bits don't fit. All such bits are left till the end.

No automatic return on it. And when splitting, you only usually need to split a little bit and return back up a bit and split again. Returning automatically means that you may be splitting thin air a lot of the time.

Persons should have their hands away from wedge all the time. Biggest issue would be when moving the timber and the initial split and not at the bottom of the wedge.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 509 ✭✭✭wayoutwest

feartuath wrote: »

what works best for you.

PTO, electric or petrol engine ?
    What size (diameter + depth) are rounds that you are you going to be splitting ?
    Amount of annual use ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,335 ✭✭✭✭wrangler

Whether it's a private or a company made, make sure the wedge doesn't go all the way down to the table.
    *Safety feature for those who like to keep their fingers.

Patsy is on the ball about the table being a metre high. I can't see how some manufacturers think they're better lower down than waist high. Maybe for the real big rounds ok but generally no.
    A table beside the splitter with the rounds loaded where you could just slide them across would be a nice addition too.
    `

Gave into buying one recently. 5 ft wide table, lovely to have the space
    Slow compare to the axe but very easy on ya.
    I've long pipes for putting the post driver on the front loader so I leave the log splitter freestanding and work it beside the front bucket, It can then tip into the wood shed.

I find with firewood handling is the most important thing. Have a think about the number of times you are handling the firewood. I try and fully cut everything in the field during the summer. No messing driving through muddy fields.
    I puit all small logs into meal plastic bags and up onto the trailer. The bigger logs then are stacked at the sides of the trailer. They slide straight off then onto the logsplitter. The shed where I store them has a low roof so all logs have to be carried in by wheelbarrow. If the roof was higher then I'd use the bucket of the loader.
    I have plastic pallets, the open mesh type - plenty of holes on the top, on the floor then so no damp getting up. Air gets under the timber then so well dried.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,332 ✭✭✭emaherx

wrangler wrote: »
    `

Gave into buying one recently. 5 ft wide table, lovely to have the space
    Slow compare to the axe but very easy on ya.
    I've long pipes for putting the post driver on the front loader so I leave the log splitter freestanding and work it beside the front bucket, It can then tip into the wood shed.

Slow compared to axe for smaller amounts, but I find I get more done with splitter for larger lots.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,005 ✭✭✭Green farmer

I saw a Malone one working recently and it was very low to the ground. Ideally for your back, the table should be 1 metre from the ground.

I have one, but never found the table to be a issue on it. Easy to lift stuff up onto, especially big rounds. If it was high, you’d only be gripping the timber at the bottom as opposed to the side or top, which is safer imo. Also being a compact splitter you can maneuver it onto the arms of the tractor as well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 352 ✭✭Nobbies

Have one from Carroll engineering in cavan here. 5foot wide table.great for building up a amount to keep u splitting.

Nobbies wrote: »
    Have one from Carroll engineering in cavan here. 5foot wide table.great for building up a amount to keep u splitting.

That's the one I have too

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 343 ✭✭feartuath

wayoutwest wrote: »
    PTO, electric or petrol engine ?
    What size (diameter + depth) are rounds that you are you going to be splitting ?
    Amount of annual use ?

looking at tractor driven.
    lots of mature trees near yard that the next storm could take

Malone,Kentec are in stock near me.

Moyvalley Engineering here

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 328 ✭✭newholland mad

Have one of these here 2 years now, delighted with it hasn't failed even on the knottiest of logs. Until it arrived I sawed the rings thinly for ease of chopping but now saw logs 15 inches way faster. https://www.donedeal.ie/otherfarming-for-sale/mb-log-splitter/19319379?campaign=3

Nobbies wrote:

Just after looking at their facebook page. Having a wide table would be great. Just split and slide across a new bit. I've seen some other makes with little spikes on the table under the wedge to hold the timber in place. Would be a lot harder to move bits around. Some great companies out there making stuff.

I made a logsplitter. Works grand. Two hand operation, auto return and all.

Aravo wrote: »
    Just after looking at their facebook page. Having a wide table would be great. Just split and slide across a new bit. I've seen some other makes with little spikes on the table under the wedge to hold the timber in place. Would be a lot harder to move bits around. Some great companies out there making stuff.

Even whenit flies on the wide table it doesn't fall to the ground

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 973 ✭✭✭sonnybill

I bought Malone last January too and it’s a great yoke

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,937 ✭✭✭SmartinMartin

I made a logsplitter. Works grand. Two hand operation, auto return and all.

Pics and a how-to-build would be nice!

This is the valve I used;
    https://www.ebay.ie/itm/Flowfit-Hydraulic-Log-Splitter-Auto-Kick-out-Control-Valve-3-4-ports-ZZ005421/311015488817?hash=item4869f7bd31:g:-OAAAOSw-OpazNO0:rk:1:pf:0

I don't have instructions on how to build but it was fairly straight forward. I used an IPE 200 beam as the main part. The cylinder was a 3.25" dia by 12" stroke industrial type, I got for free. In fact most of it was made from scrap.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,605 ✭✭✭gctest50

Build it horizontal, then next year you can add on an automated saw above it

gunther for the future :)

UmAPopa.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,005 ✭✭✭Green farmer

We used to have a home made one as well. Most important thing is the measurements are bang on, because if it’s slightly off, the machine will bust itself themself apart, we’ll thats what happened ours anyway.