Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Trailer lights / strobe warning lights

• 26-11-2018 9:15pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 131 ✭✭

Hi ,i am wiring and plant trailer 11×6 and was going to install led amber strobe lights at the back of the trailer. Was told today that they have to be red lights to be fitted to the rear of a trailer. Do they have 2 be red strobes?
    (It will also have led tail and indictator lights and led side markers on the mudguards. )
    Thanks for any input

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,586 ✭✭✭newmember2

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,933 ✭✭✭jmreire

Joe390 wrote: »
    Hi ,i am wiring and plant trailer 11×6 and was going to install led amber strobe lights at the back of the trailer. Was told today that they have to be red lights to be fitted to the rear of a trailer. Do they have 2 be red strobes?
    (It will also have led tail and indictator lights and led side markers on the mudguards. )
    Thanks for any input
    Google " irish rules of the road trailer lights" Its all there what you need to know.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 131 ✭✭Joe390

jmreire wrote: »
    Google " irish rules of the road trailer lights" Its all there what you need to know.

Thanks for your reply, but I can't find anything on it . I've been searching for awhile and can't find anything regarding this.
    Thanks again

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,155 ✭✭✭✭Del2005

Thanks for your reply, but I can't find anything on it . I've been searching for awhile and can't find anything regarding this.
    Thanks again

The 2nd post has the statute on vehicle lighting, that's all you need.

Thanks . Have fitted 2 strobes today they work great . Very effective. Only problem is that I can't syncronise them . They have 5 wires red (power) black (ground ) yellow is to change flash pattern. There is also a grey and white wire.
    Thanks for any imput

Hi got the strobest fitted today . Am very happy with them. Only problem is that I can't syncronise them. They are 5 wire stobe red (positive) black (negative) yellow (change flash pattern ) there is also a white and grey wire. I can't figure it out. Any input on this . . Thanks

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,065 ✭✭✭✭Wishbone Ash

.. Was told today that they have to be red lights to be fitted to the rear of a trailer. Do they have 2 be red strobes?....
    41. (1) (a) A vehicle shall not be equipped with lighting which when lit shows any light to the front of the vehicle except a white or yellow light.

(b) The provisions of paragraph (a) of this sub-article shall not apply as respects direction indicators.

(2) (a) A vehicle shall not be equipped with lighting which when lit shows any light to the rear of the vehicle except a red light.

(b) The provisions of paragraph (a) of this sub-article shall not apply as respects:—

(i) lighting used for the internal illumination of the vehicle;

(ii) lighting used for the illumination of a taximeter;

(iii) direction indicators;

(iv) identification mark lighting;

(v) reversing lamps;

(vi) lighting used for the illumination of a notice on a large public service vehicle giving information as to the route or destination of the vehicle;

(vii) lighting used on a vehicle being driven by a member of the Garda Sh in the performance of his duties as such member;

(viii) a lamp fitted to a goods vehicle and intended and used only for the purpose of facilitating unloading while the vehicle is stationary;

(ix) a ploughing lamp fitted to a vehicle used for agricultural purposes and used only for the purpose of facilitating ploughing or other similar operations.

(3) (a) For the purposes of sub-article (2) of this article "reversing lamps" means not more than two lamps fitted to a vehicle and designed to show, when lit, a white or yellow light to the rear of the vehicle and complying with the provisions of this sub-article.

(b) The lamps shall be so constructed that they cannot be switched on otherwise than either—

(i) automatically by the selection of the reverse gear of the vehicle, or

(ii) by the operation of a control by the driver of the vehicle, being a control which serves no other purpose and which is accompanied by a device, visible to the driver at all times while he is in the driver's seat, to indicate when the lamp is lit.

(c) Where two lamps are fitted, they shall be as nearly as possible of the same power, each lamp being of a power not exceeding 24 watts.

(d) Where only one lamp is fitted, it shall be of a power not exceeding 24 watts.

42 Restrictions on flashing lights.

42. No lamp (other than direction indicators) fitted to a vehicle shall show or be constructed or adapted so as to be capable of showing a flashing light unless such light is invisible to persons outside the vehicle.
    Red non-flashing lights to the rear only (except indicators, reversing lights etc. (Section 41 (b)2 and Section 42.)

The act was amended several times but the allowance of flashing lights wouldn't apply in an ordinary plant trailer unless you are directly involved in road works.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,933 ✭✭✭jmreire

Hi got the strobest fitted today . Am very happy with them. Only problem is that I can't syncronise them. They are 5 wire stobe red (positive) black (negative) yellow (change flash pattern ) there is also a white and grey wire. I can't figure it out. Any input on this . . Thanks

Are they red ones?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 104 ✭✭Farfromhome02

Red at back
    Orange on sides
    White for reg
    Get some of the 3m reflective tape as well
    Orange for side again
    Red for back
    Handy stuff

jmreire wrote: »
    Are they red ones?

Nope orange. So are these illegal now?

Red at back
    Orange on sides
    White for reg
    Get some of the 3m reflective tape as well
    Orange for side again
    Red for back
    Handy stuff
    Yes 3m tape is great stuff . Have used it before and will be using it again.

Nope orange. So are these illegal now?
    (Amber ;))

They were never legal unless the vehicle is involved in specific duties which exempted it from the regulations. For example breakdown recovery vehicles may use flashing amber lights but only while in the act of actually recovering the vehicle from the road. When travelling to the rescued vehicle or after depositing it, they must not be used.

(Amber ;))

They were never legal unless the vehicle is involved in specific duties which exempted it from the regulations. For example breakdown recovery vehicles may use flashing amber lights but only while in the act of actually recovering the vehicle from the road. When travelling to the rescued vehicle or after depositing it, they must not be used.

Yes opps amber ;-)
    If the trailer is being pulled by a tractor are they legal as it is a slow moving veichle and the tractor needs a beacon . And also I see lads putting them in the front grill of tractors . Are these legal either . Sorry for all the questions just wondering if there ok or not. Thanks again

Yes opps amber ;-)
    If the trailer is being pulled by a tractor are they legal as it is a slow moving veichle and the tractor needs a beacon . And also I see lads putting them in the front grill of tractors . Are these legal either . Sorry for all the questions just wondering if there ok or not. Thanks again
    I know beacons used to be illegal on tractors (on public roads) and had to be disconnected when imported. I also recall the IFA lobbying to have the legislation changed to include tractors but I'm having trouble locating any Statute Instrument which allowed that change. The original 1963 regulations have been amended so many times that it is difficult to follow the changes.

The legislation does say that any flashing amber lighting must be placed on the center of the roof (my lay man's version) so I'm unsure about grill mounted lighting.They must also be mounted at least 1270mm above ground. I see them regularly fitted to the grills of tractors engaged in hedge cutting but perhaps they fall under the exemption of 'road maintenance vehicles'.

The fact that a vehicle is slow moving is not a reason in itself to have flashing lights. Bicycles are generally described as slow moving vehicles but are not required to have flashing lights (they can be either steady or flashing).

I know beacons used to be illegal on tractors (on public roads) and had to be disconnected when imported. I also recall the IFA lobbying to have the legislation changed to include tractors but I'm having trouble locating any Statute Instrument which allowed that change. The original 1963 regulations have been amended so many times that it is difficult to follow the changes.

The legislation does say that any flashing amber lighting must be placed on the center of the roof (my lay man's version) so I'm unsure about grill mounted lighting.They must also be mounted at least 1270mm above ground. I see them regularly fitted to the grills of tractors engaged in hedge cutting but perhaps they fall under the exemption of 'road maintenance vehicles'.

The fact that a vehicle is slow moving is not a reason in itself to have flashing lights. Bicycles are generally described as slow moving vehicles but are not required to have flashing lights (they can be either steady or flashing).

Thanks for that. "Amber flashing beacons are now required on all tractors when used on a public road with the exception of vintage tractors but they can only be used in vintage rallyes or the likes". I know that as at a fair day that the rsa stand was there I asked and that was the reply. I and many other neighbours got beacons fitted.

As always thanks for shedding light on this.
    Just wondering if I should remove them again or what would happen if I got pulled over?
    Thanks again

f
    ...As always thanks for shedding light on this.
    Just wondering if I should remove them again or what would happen if I got pulled over?...
    I don't think I shed much light on the subject - probably muddied the waters more like it! If you have standard red rear lights in addition to the amber you'll be in a much better position than someone with no lights. Most Gardai won't know the specifics of the regulations anyway but, if the trailer has to be tested, it may not pass.

I still can't find the Statute Instrument regarding beacons on tractors but the RSA site says what you said above:
    Agricultural tractors and self-propelled agricultural machines must be equipped with full lighting systems (including side lamps, head lamps, rear lamps, stop lamps, direction indicators and number plate lighting) at all times and not only during lighting up hours. However an exemption is being provided from this requirement for agricultural tractors and self-propelled agricultural machines manufactured or first registered prior to 1st January 1980 and also to any agricultural trailer, fully mounted agricultural equipment or piece of interchangeable towed equipment being drawn by or attached to them provided such a vehicle or combination of vehicles are being used during daylight hours only.

Agricultural tractors and self-propelled agricultural machines must also be fitted with a flashing amber beacon, with an exemption from this requirement being provided for vintage agricultural tractors taking part in vintage rallies.

In instances where an agricultural tractor or self-propelled agricultural machine has its lights obscured by an agricultural trailer, piece of interchangeable towed equipment or fully mounted agricultural equipment drawn by or attached to it (either on the front or to the rear of the vehicle), such an agricultural trailer, piece of interchangeable towed equipment or fully mounted agricultural equipment must be fitted with a lighting board displaying the required lighting.

Agricultural trailers and interchangeable towed equipment must be equipped with side lamps, rear lamps, stop lamps, direction indicators and identification mark lighting. They must also be fitted with a marker lamp on their right hand side if, when coupled to an agricultural tractor, the overall length of the combination exceeds 10 metres. Marker lamps fitted to trailers manufactured on or after 1 January 2016 must comply with modern UN/ECE specifications.

Agricultural trailers with a Design Gross Vehicle Weight (DGVW) exceeding 3,500kg must also be fitted with reflective rear markings and those with a DGVW exceeding 3,500kg and forming part of a combination of vehicles exceeding 10 metres in overall length must, in addition to the reflective rear markings, be fitted with reflective side markings. Rear and side markings fitted to trailers manufactured on or after 1 January 2016 must comply with modern UN/ECE specifications.

A rear ‘LONG VEHICLE’ marking must also be fitted to agricultural trailers forming part of a combination of vehicles exceeding 13 metres in overall length.

Note that the reflective and ‘LONG VEHICLE’ marking requirements do not apply to pieces of interchangeable towed equipment where the ratio of the Design Gross Vehicle Weight (DGVW) to the unladen weight is equal to or greater than 3.0, i.e. to equipment such as slurry tankers, fertiliser or manure spreaders and grain chaser bins etc.

fI don't think I shed much light on the subject - probably muddied the waters more like it! If you have standard red rear lights in addition to the amber you'll be in a much better position than someone with no lights. Most Gardai won't know the specifics of the regulations anyway but, if the trailer has to be tested, it may not pass.

I still can't find the Statute Instrument regarding beacons on tractors but the RSA site says what you said above:

Sounds thanks for that . Yep the trailer has led tail and indicator lights . Led side marker lights on the mudguards and then the 2 amber strobes near the middle at the back under the floor.
    I think I'll be leaving the lights as is as no one should hit it with all the lights and reflectors that's on it now . As you said the guards probably won't pay to much attention if they see a few lights and reflectors.
    Tried out lights tonight in the dark and there looking good and are very clear Anyways.

OK thanks again. ;-)