Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Car stolen but recovered - next steps?

• 24-11-2018 2:42pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,085 ✭✭✭

Hi all, I need some advice on next steps with my insurance company

My 08 320i coupe was stolen a few weeks ago but was recovered the next day parked up in an estate - they robbed mine and another, both recovered

They drilled through the barrel on the driver side door and not sure then if they boosted the signal from my keys in my house, or used some computer thro the obd port - my keys were not taken.

I had an assessor come out and the recommendation was to flip it, trade it in with the faults and get a newer car.

I don't have the money to change and it looks like the barrel plus keys etc will be over a grand. Also there's a kick or misfiring now when I drive so that's probably coils/injectors which could be expensive, this wasn't the case prior to the car been stolen.

I'm fully comp with full no claims protection but most of the times when I speak to the insurance company they've not been helpful about my options - I've the Garda reference number etc etc

Anyone been in this situation and able to offer any advice on what should I do next? I feel I'm getting hamered on this and told to take the hit which I think is unfair.

Appreciate any advice, thanks in advance

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 104 ✭✭Farfromhome02

I would get rid of the car as well, unfortunately your going to get f all for it
    Would you just try sell the way it is
    Get yourself a cheap runaround till you have the funds for something that suits
    I sold a car with shot locks after been broken into as well
    Insurance companies only want your ££££££
    No interest in helping you or anyone for that matter

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,599 ✭✭✭newmember2

Are locks and keys not on some policies?

Is it the ignition barrel that’s damaged?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,055 ✭✭✭Eggs For Dinner

I'm not sure what you mean by options. If the car can be repaired, your insurance will pay for that. If it is uneconomical to repair it, it will be written off, Cat C or D.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,128 ✭✭✭Emmersonn

I'm not sure what you mean by options. If the car can be repaired, your insurance will pay for that. If it is uneconomical to repair it, it will be written off, Cat C or D.
    And the op will be screwed by his insurance company for the next few years. Just remember it is his no claims bonus which is protected and not his renewal premium.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,508 ✭✭✭KevRossi

Can I ask which insurance company and broker are you with?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,085 ✭✭✭BeanFlicker

Thanks for your replies, here's some follow ups -
    I would get rid of the car as well, unfortunately your going to get f all for it
    Would you just try sell the way it is
    Get yourself a cheap runaround till you have the funds for something that suits
    I sold a car with shot locks after been broken into as well
    Insurance companies only want your ££££££
    No interest in helping you or anyone for that matter

Yea I was offered very little all as a trade in which makes me think it wasn't worth it. It seems the least hassle option tbh but's it's annoying as I'd be taking a few K hit. Also just to note - without me putting in a claim, the car doesn't go down as Stolen as it was Recovered
    newmember? wrote: »
    Are locks and keys not on some policies?

Yea it's on my policy but it would be a claim against it which would also effect the history of the car
    Is it the ignition barrel that’s damaged?

No damage to the ignition barrel, they drilled through the driver side door barrel which is damaged & needs replacing, and was told they need to re-program the keys too which is costly

It could be 2-3k to get the car right, for a car worth 5k if these issues were not there, would that be considered as uneconomical to repair? I take it my premium would rocket?
    Emmersonn wrote: »
    And the op will be screwed by his insurance company for the next few years. Just remember it is his no claims bonus which is protected and not his renewal premium.

Yea I didn't cop this about my no claims bonus, re: that renewal premium would rise. I have over 10 years no claims so never been through this before
    KevRossi wrote: »
    Can I ask which insurance company and broker are you with?

I'm with 123.ie, which is underwritten by RSA Insurance

Emmersonn wrote: »

And you know for a fact that this ALWAYS happens???

Utter nonsense

Thanks for your replies, here's some follow ups -

Yea I was offered very little all as a trade in which makes me think it wasn't worth it. It seems the least hassle option tbh but's it's annoying as I'd be taking a few K hit. Also just to note - without me putting in a claim, the car doesn't go down as Stolen as it was Recovered

Yea it's on my policy but it would be a claim against it which would also effect the history of the car

No damage to the ignition barrel, they drilled through the driver side door barrel which is damaged & needs replacing, and was told they need to re-program the keys too which is costly

It could be 2-3k to get the car right, for a car worth 5k if these issues were not there, would that be considered as uneconomical to repair? I take it my premium would rocket?

Yea I didn't cop this about my no claims bonus, re: that renewal premium would rise. I have over 10 years no claims so never been through this before

My opinion for what it's worth
    Get rid of it!
    Don't go wasting 2/3 on grand on it

If it was me and I didnt care about the car (which it sounds like you dont) I just leave it with the busted lock and drive on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,508 ✭✭✭KevRossi

That's part of your problem, I know from others that they are a total pain if trying to process a claim. That's how they operate.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,983 ✭✭✭✭tuxy

If it was me and I didnt care about the car (which it sounds like you dont) I just leave it with the busted lock and drive on.

And the misfiring? Would that bother you?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 612 ✭✭✭KevinCavan

KevRossi wrote: »
    That's part of your problem, I know from others that they are a total pain if trying to process a claim. That's how they operate.

Who are the best companies to get insured with?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,219 ✭✭✭pablo128

tuxy wrote: »

Misfiring can happen any car. Just bring it to a garage and have it looked at. It's a 10 year old car. Parts are going to fail from time to time.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,983 ✭✭✭✭tuxy

pablo128 wrote: »
    Misfiring can happen any car. Just bring it to a garage and have it looked at. It's a 10 year old car. Parts are going to fail from time to time.

But it was caused by damage done during the theft and he doesn't have the money for repairs.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,128 ✭✭✭Emmersonn

And you know for a fact that this ALWAYS happens???

Utter nonsense
    And you obviously have never made a "NO Blame" claim.:P

But it was caused by damage done during the theft and he doesn't have the money for repairs.

He doesn't know if it was caused by the theft. Just that the problem was there afterwards. If the car hadn't been stolen, and started chugging or missing, would he still sell the car because he couldn't afford to repair it?

To the OP, in your case I would have the lock disconnected from the mechanism on the inside and blank the lock off. It simply won't work then and you can use the remote on your key to open the car.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,800 ✭✭✭tretorn

Does anyone know who are the better Insurance companies to go with.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,102 ✭✭✭✭Del2005

tretorn wrote: »
    Does anyone know who are the better Insurance companies to go with.

None. They all screw policy holders on renewal so that's how much they care about their customers.

Like del said
    None!!!!!!!!
    All the same
    Profits

Not a hope the insurance company would pay to fix that anyway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 937 ✭✭✭kerten

I had a friend who had a 2 grand worth car insured with RSA with his long years of NCB. He damaged car himself by hitting a wall and claimed from insurance. Cost of repair was 2300 Euro and RSA wanted to write it off. He insisted on repair and RSA accepted it with their authorized repairer.

He had NCB protection but he was afraid of inflated premium at renewal like OP. Fast forward couple of months and his premium increased %10 only. So risk of inflated premium may not be as bad as it is speculated here due to small claim(2-3k) involved.

kerten wrote: »
    I

He had NCB protection but he was afraid of inflated premium at renewal like OP. Fast forward couple of months and his premium increased %10 only. So risk of inflated premium may not be as bad as it is speculated here due to small claim(2-3k) involved.

And you'll find that the insurer probably had a 10% rate increase across the board anyway

Thanks again for the replies.

Decision has been made - I'm going to trade it in for something else as I don't want a claim against my name, or the car.

That leads to my next question.....

Can anyone recommend good Car Dealerships in Dublin? I'm hoping to get somewhere with 12-24 month warranty for a bit of piece of mind.

Has anyone dealt with Capital Motors, or ASL Motors for example? Seem to have a decent range but all UK imports but v well spec'd

My budget is 15/16k TOTAL, which includes the 3k for trade in which a few places have offered me.

I've been looking at the following cars:
    - BMW 3 or 5 Series: 2011-2012
    - Opel Insignia: 2013 - 2015
    - Mazda 6: 2013 - 2015
    - Passat CC: 2012 - 2015

Anything else I should be looking at, and from above list, any thoughts?

Cheers!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,155 ✭✭✭StereoSound

I really like those Mazda 6's. Think they are stunning looking.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,263 ✭✭✭✭Borderfox

Passat CC is nice just don't get black

Thanks again for the replies.

Decision has been made - I'm going to trade it in for something else as I don't want a claim against my name, or the car.

That leads to my next question.....

Can anyone recommend good Car Dealerships in Dublin? I'm hoping to get somewhere with 12-24 month warranty for a bit of piece of mind.

Has anyone dealt with Capital Motors, or ASL Motors for example? Seem to have a decent range but all UK imports but v well spec'd

My budget is 15/16k TOTAL, which includes the 3k for trade in which a few places have offered me.

I've been looking at the following cars:
    - BMW 3 or 5 Series: 2011-2012
    - Opel Insignia: 2013 - 2015
    - Mazda 6: 2013 - 2015
    - Passat CC: 2012 - 2015

Anything else I should be looking at, and from above list, any thoughts?

Cheers!

Get a car for 5/6 k and keep the rest of your money
    As usual get one with as much service history as you can and pay a mechanic to view it with you
    It's your money though so up to yourself

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 302 ✭✭dmcsweeney

If you are buying a 3 or 5 series it'll most likely be diesel so avoid pre March 2011 cars with the worst of the timing chain issues. I bought a 13 520d nearly 2 years ago from Cambridge Motor Company. I got a pretty poor trade in value but the price of the new car was very competitive and they were good to deal with. Automatic is really the only way to go in the 5 series but if you fancy a manual version they tend to be far cheaper due to lack of demand. To be honest, at 3k for an almost 11 year old petrol BMW as a trade, even with no issues I'd bite their hand off. Good luck with it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,387 ✭✭✭redcup342

kerten wrote: »
    I had a friend who had a 2 grand worth car insured with RSA with his long years of NCB. He damaged car himself by hitting a wall and claimed from insurance. Cost of repair was 2300 Euro and RSA wanted to write it off. He insisted on repair and RSA accepted it with their authorized repairer.

Wait till he tries to switch company :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,525 ✭✭✭ION08

Apologies for my naivety but if a car is stolen and later recovered, are you obliged to take it back??

Car to me would be tainted and I wouldnt want it back.

I’d be looking for a payout and insurance company can do what they please with THEIR car.

ION08 wrote: »
    Apologies for my naivety but if a car is stolen and later recovered, are you obliged to take it back??

Car to me would be tainted and I wouldnt want it back.

I’d be looking for a payout and insurance company can do what they please with THEIR car.

You cannot abandon your vehicle to insurers. If it can be repaired economically, that will be the outcome. However, if they pay you in full for the vehicle and it is then recovered, the vehicle stays with the insurer to do with as they wish (including selling it back to you if you want it)

redcup342 wrote: »
    Wait till he tries to switch company :pac:

Yeah he is stuck with that company for 5 years now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,525 ✭✭✭ION08

You cannot abandon your vehicle to insurers. If it can be repaired economically, that will be the outcome. However, if they pay you in full for the vehicle and it is then recovered, the vehicle stays with the insurer to do with as they wish (including selling it back to you if you want it)

Sureley you'd be given a choice. As in the insurance company asking, do you want your car back?

They can repair it but that doesn't address the fact that some scumbag was hockeying around in your pride & joy smoking a joint and that your car is now branded as a Stolen Recovered vehicle which severely impacts its residual value.

Who picks up the bill for those costs that aren't as immediately tangible as the price of replacing a door lock and a broken alloy?

If my car was stolen and later recovered from scum hole. I wouldn't want it back regardless if the broken bits "can be repaired" .... I would fully expect to be given the choice of whether I actually want the car back or not.

Is that not how it works?

ION08 wrote: »

Is that not how it works?

In a short answer, No.

You have a contract with your insurer to cover the cost of repair to your vehicle if it is stolen, or the cost of replacement should it not be recovered or if it is uneconomical to repair as a result of the theft. If you want more than that, sue the person who stole your vehicle

pablo128 wrote: »
    Yeah he is stuck with that company for 5 years now.

That is not the case for all alternative insurers you may look to switch to. Some ask about any claims in the last 3 years, while others will disregard non-fault claims

Not to be cynical eggs for dinner but I wouldnt trust a word a insurer said or told me
    Brother had trouble with one a few year ago and they tried to charge him extra for an error that was caused by one of their staff
    Only for the recorded phone call they would have milked him like a diary cow

In a short answer, No.

You have a contract with your insurer to cover the cost of repair to your vehicle if it is stolen, or the cost of replacement should it not be recovered or if it is uneconomical to repair as a result of the theft. If you want more than that, sue the person who stole your vehicle

What happens if the car is now marked on reports that it may have been stolen etc?

I went to view a few cars today, told them about it being stolen/barrel/misfiring etc - then, the last place I went to done a motorcheck.ie on my car - this turned up a Condition Alert that I wasn't aware about - says the car may have been damaged, stolen, used as a guards vehicle or subject of a write off. Under, Reported Stolen was No so the Condition Alert must be from pulse system?!

Spoke with insurance company then who said to call the guards to get it removed, I'll call them tomo to see what they say. If they won't remove it the car will be left with the condition data which is ****

• Closed Accounts Posts: 292 ✭✭Graniteville

Sell the car at auction and then be a cash buyer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,763 ✭✭✭Muckie

Something similar happened to me a few years back.

Had a 95 Subaru Impreza, feckers got into the car and wrecked the door and ignition barrel.

Managed to find the car the next day, rolled down the road (they gave up trying to start it) had a hidden kill switch.

So didnt bother letting the insurance company know.

Replaced a few blown fuses, ordered barrels and keys off ebay.
    (drove for a few days with fork, starting the car!)
    Then replaced them.

Repair job is possible, would get a good mechanic to give the car a look over if you want to keep it.