Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Vigilantism

• 18-11-2018 11:06pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 215 ✭✭

I remember in the late 90s communities took matters into there own hands in relation to drug dealers.

With many areas around the country getting out of control with anti social and criminal behavior, do you see vigilantism making a comeback in Ireland?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,709 ✭✭✭✭Larbre34

Its not gone away you know.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,077 ✭✭✭questionmark?

I remember in the late 90s communities took matters into there own hands in relation to drug dealers.

With many areas around the country getting out of control with anti social and criminal behavior, do you see vigilantism making a comeback in Ireland?

There is a risk of direct action particularly in rural areas where farmers with access to guns may end up using them on intruders due to the lack of Garda resources.

In town people hardly talk to their neighbours never mind work with them to take action against scumbags.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,124 ✭✭✭jonon9

giphy.gif

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 61,272 ✭✭✭✭Agent Coulson

Guardian angels and there red berets were all the rage in the 80’s even good old Gay had them on The Late Late.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 498 ✭✭zapitastas

There is a risk of direct action particularly in rural areas where farmers with access to guns may end up using them on intruders due to the lack of Garda resources.

In town people hardly talk to their neighbours never mind work with them to take action against scumbags.

There was already a vigilante group set up in a cavan border town called swanlinbar. Just so happens the members also had firearms. Funnily enough the spate of criminality subsided with the armed community response

If the Gardaí are scattered too thin in rural areas, then communities will end up having to safeguard themselves. With particular emphasis on an alleged ethnic minority.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 74 ✭✭Jessie Belle

Well I had pumpkin risotto and falafel today....was yum.....ooops wrong thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,282 ✭✭✭✭RobbingBandit

Fear not citizens we still walk among you

Come gather round children it's high time ye learned bout a hero named homer and a devil named Burns.

Well I had pumpkin risotto and falafel today....was yum.....ooops wrong thread

Hilarious. Take a hike.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,482 ✭✭✭Gimme A Pound

zapitastas wrote: »
    a cavan border town called swanlinbar.
    Each time I read that, I hear the theme tune from The Good, The Bad and The Ugly.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 74 ✭✭Jessie Belle

Hilarious. Take a hike.

Take one yourself on your horse Bertie

I don't know if the guards are cowardly or just ill equipped, but I can understand why it's resorted to. Ideally it shouldn't be, but there's a good explanation for it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,077 ✭✭✭questionmark?

zapitastas wrote: »
    There was already a vigilante group set up in a cavan border town called swanlinbar. Just so happens the members also had firearms. Funnily enough the spate of criminality subsided with the armed community response

Just Googled that and see they were group. Any idea of they are still in operation?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,551 ✭✭✭AllForIt

It's always the lower working classes that get involved in vigilantism, you know for the craic like.

lot of those vigilantes were.....strong on the national question... as i recall

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,857 ✭✭✭TheQuietFella

I knew a guy from a fishing community who threatened a drug dealer
    that they would bring him out to sea and drop him over the side if he
    ever appeared again in his community. :cool:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,181 ✭✭✭CinemaGuy45

I knew a guy from a fishing community who threatened a drug dealer
    that they would bring him out to sea and drop him over the side if he
    ever appeared again in his community. :cool:

I knew a guy who had a friend and that friend had a sister who had an ex that knew a fella that chopped up two scumbags and put their body parts into the foundation of a famous Dublin building.

The guards are meant to know all about it but it would be too expensive to dig up the foundation and without the body parts, they have never been able to charge your man.:cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,010 ✭✭✭kildare lad

I worked with a bloke that got put out of an area in dublin when he was younger for drug dealing etc...hes a reformed character now but he reckons if you tried that vigilante stuff now you wouldnt be long getting shot dead. I also worked with a fella from ardoyne that left the north cos he was gonna get kneecapped for being a "hood" as they say up there. Tbh the stories he was telling me , he probably deserved it though.He goes back there now and again but keeps his head down. His brother got shot a few years ago and was lucky he wasnt killed.

While i think vigilantism might work in some cases , it didnt stop drugs in dublin in the 80s or 90s. For any drug dealer they'd shoot there was always someone else to take their place. And as we've seen in the recent feud , drugs gangs have no problem shooting " republicans" which would have been unheard of 20 years ago,or shooting innocent family members just to make a point. I see vigilantism as a failure of the garda and the courts to do their job and lock up scumbags. i do be scratching my head sometimes reading the papers , lads with 50 or 60 convictions out committing crime, how are they let get that many???

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,100 ✭✭✭✭Del2005

Wasn't it only drug dealers that didn't support a trans national parties paramilitary wing that got dealt with by the "vigilantes"?

No because the anti social element are more organised now so they can get bigger numbers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,628 ✭✭✭klaaaz

Vigilantism will never be tolerated by the Gardai(FFG directed) as it shows them in a bad light in controlling criminal behaviour. The Gardai and their political masters who don't live in criminal infested areas will not go after the criminal elements who have caused a reign of terror, there are no votes to be obtained by FFG there. They have been known to crack down on vigilantes as vigilantes are an easy target rather than Mr Joey the drug lord terrorising his community, it's a class thing.

Vigilantism every time. Can't lose. Never mind those politically correct muppets who make those facile distinctions between a pediatrician and a pedophile. Like, PED. Duh. We all know they're the same. How slow are these people?

Paediatrician attack: 'People don't want no paedophiles here'

With the fact that Gardai are radically understaffed and overwhelmed, the fact that the government dont give a shíte, and the fact that there is increasing apathy and disillusionment with the institutions and government by the people then id say yes i think at some stage people will take law into their own hands. Sad day if it happens but when you are failed by the people you elect then its no surprise

klaaaz wrote: »
    Vigilantism will never be tolerated by the Gardai(FFG directed) as it shows them in a bad light in controlling criminal behaviour. The Gardai and their political masters who don't live in criminal infested areas will not go after the criminal elements who have caused a reign of terror, there are no votes to be obtained by FFG there. They have been known to crack down on vigilantes as vigilantes are an easy target rather than Mr Joey the drug lord terrorising his community, it's a class thing.
    The reality though is that the guards would be only too delighted to nail the scum terrorising various communities, but they are too under resourced, which is hardly their fault. The legal system is a big barrier also to getting these lowlives appropriately penalised.

Who here would be a guard and what would they do better?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,472 ✭✭✭✭Grayson

Vigilantism will never be tolerated by the Gardai(FFG directed) as it's a crime.

Fixed that for you.

Neighbourhood watches are fine. Keeping an eye out is fine. If you see a crime call the police. No-one should ever get involved unless a life is on the line.

Also, the gardai have massively invested in going after drug dealers. Look at the arrests they make every week. They have regular patrols where this stuff is the worst. They have cars with submachine guns in them in places. They do go after these guys and to say otherwise is just insulting to the gardai who do this dangerous work every day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,634 ✭✭✭✭Graces7

Vigilantism every time. Can't lose. Never mind those politically correct muppets who make those facile distinctions between a pediatrician and a pedophile. Like, PED. Duh. We all know they're the same. How slow are these people?

Paediatrician attack: 'People don't want no paedophiles here'

THis exemplifies why vigilantism is never ever acceptable.

And yes it happens in rural areas... One place I lived, deep rural, and a man was seen selling drugs to kids every weekend locally.
    He also actually rammed my car driving incapably...stoned. I had tried to get justice on that but the gardai just shrugged.

He lived in a rental cottage high on a slope, clearly visible from the lane. One day when I drove past it was a burned out ruin.. I was told the parents did not like him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,845 ✭✭✭timthumbni

The fact is that because there is a want for drugs amongst a certain percentage of the population vigilantism will never work in that issue.

In NI we recently had people who went after online paedophiles and even that was stopped by do Gooders who were more worried about the well being not of the children but on these pathetic nonces.

Of course If you were going after one of the biggest culprits of child abuse in the island of Ireland you would be heading direct to your local church with a pitchfok.And as we know huge swathes still send their wee ones off to this organisation weekly. Almost laughable if it wasn’t so serious.

Grayson wrote: »
    Fixed that for you.

Neighbourhood watches are fine. Keeping an eye out is fine. If you see a crime call the police. No-one should ever get involved unless a life is on the line.

Also, the gardai have massively invested in going after drug dealers. Look at the arrests they make every week. They have regular patrols where this stuff is the worst. They have cars with submachine guns in them in places. They do go after these guys and to say otherwise is just insulting to the gardai who do this dangerous work every day.

What does one do when the Gardai do not come and prosecute a crime? There are no-go areas in Dublin for example where families living there are terrified of scum living within the community. If the Gardai enter said area, they have to come in big numbers with the Public Order Unit as backup. When they do not come which is a common occurrence, vigilantes fill that void and also some families move away to escape the violence hence the area becomes worse for the remaining occupants.

Gardai don't prosecute crimes.

maybe this will help.

In the criminal justice system, the people are represented by two separate but equally important groups: The police, who investigate crime, and the district attorneys, who prosecute the offenders. These are their stories. DUN DUN

btw, you said they do nothing. Now you're saying they go in heavily armed. Which is it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,435 ✭✭✭Austria!

Do we have to supply our own knobs?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,317 ✭✭✭✭seamus

There are no-go areas in Dublin for example where families living there are terrified of scum living within the community.
    Are there? Are there really?

Aside from halting sites and a couple of notorious streets there are no areas in Dublin that are a law unto themselves.

This hyperbole about no-go areas needs to just piss off. You're living in one of the safest and most peaceful countries in the world, not fvkcing Johannesburg.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 827 ✭✭✭pxdf9i5cmoavkz

seamus wrote: »
    Are there? Are there really?

Balbriggan.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,974 ✭✭✭Chris_Heilong

As the Gangs are getting more diverse in their violence the need for a stronger opposition may be the only option but only as a last resort, the Gardai are not prepared for where we are heading.

btw, you said they do nothing. Now you're saying they go in heavily armed. Which is it?

You don't seem to understand. It takes resources for Gardai to enter an area and investigate a crime, those resources are not there hence lack of crimes being investigated. You never answered the question, if the Gardai don't investigate the crime, who will?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,555 ✭✭✭Roger Hassenforder

Cops arent the problem

"Justice" system is.

Scrotes are racking up the convictions, not a bother on them. A few weeks inside is a mere inconvenience, but also a chance to network

You don't seem to understand. It takes resources for Gardai to enter an area and investigate a crime, those resources are not there hence lack of crimes being investigated. You never answered the question, if the Gardai don't investigate the crime, who will?

You said the gardai "Won't". Then you said when they go in they go in force and that there are no-go areas.

There's no "no-go" areas. There are areas where gardai go in cautiously and with greater force but they still go in there.

The gardai do investigate crime. Asking a question about who should do it when they don't is silly.

You said the gardai "Won't". Then you said when they go in they go in force and that there are no-go areas.

There's no "no-go" areas. There are areas where gardai go in cautiously and with greater force but they still go in there.

The gardai do investigate crime. Asking a question about who should do it when they don't is silly.

Haha, very funny.

Across the water is a typical example of what goes on here. Cutbacks in police funding has left places lawless.
    https://www.bbc.com/news/av/uk-46261480/hartlepool-the-town-where-police-don-t-come-out

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 933 ✭✭✭El_Bee

It never works because if it's one of the vigilantes kids or one of their friends/families kids flying around in robbed cars then they're essentially untouchable.

Also, as far as Gardai are concerned, as much as we can level legitimate criticism at the force in general, the courts are far more responsible, guys with DOZENS of convictions stroll out free men after being arrested, the following terms are used to get these guys off
      Battling Addiction
      Learning difficulties (this is a favourite but essentially means they did nothing at school and were kicked out early)
      Family Issues
      Difficult Home Life
      Trying to get Back on Track
      Disadvantaged
      Fell in with the wrong crowd
      Vulnerable young man

Haha, very funny.

Across the water is a typical example of what goes on here. Cutbacks in police funding has left places lawless.
    https://www.bbc.com/news/av/uk-46261480/hartlepool-the-town-where-police-don-t-come-out

Did you actually find an article from another country to prove that something happens here?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,143 ✭✭✭Auguste Comte

Vigilantism is anti social criminal behaviour.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,300 ✭✭✭✭razorblunt

I fully agree.

In my community petty vandalism, such as graffiti is down 80%, while heavy sack beatings are up a shocking 900%.