Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Antibiotics and pub

• 09-11-2018 4:27pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 3,181 ✭✭✭

Just checking for a real-world practical answer not scaremongering from the little girl's blouse brigade.:D

Started a course of antibiotics for one week one in the morning and one in the evening.
    Want to go out with a few lads from work to the pub this evening.

If I skip the evening tablet have a few pints and resume in the morning will it do any real harm?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,531 ✭✭✭Car99

Just bin the Anti B's and go on the lash for 8 days. All be grand.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 32,688 ✭✭✭✭ytpe2r5bxkn0c1

Just checking for a real-world practical answer not scaremongering from the little girl's blouse brigade.:D

Started a course of antibiotics for one week one in the morning and one in the evening.
    Want to go out with a few lads from work to the pub this evening.

If I skip the evening tablet have a few pints and resume in the morning will it do any real harm?

Not being smart but it will usually be clearly stated on the information supplied with the medication. Generally, one missed dose won't do any harm, but do not take a double dose to make up for it. But, check what your particular prescription states.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,423 ✭✭✭corner of hells

We're not allowed give medical advice in AH however I can give vetinary advice.
    Grind up the tablets and snort them , I mean get your dog to snort them.
    Don't stick them up your arse , they'll be a pain the hole.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,361 ✭✭✭✭Mrs OBumble

Read the data sheet for your AB. If it didn't come with the box, then google for it.

We cannot tell you without knowing what particular drug it is, and what it's being used on you for.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,500 ✭✭✭✭DEFTLEFTHAND

It's your own call I suppose. I was on them for a chest infection last March.

We had a friends wedding that month and I drank steadily throughout the day and night. I had no issues what so ever, didn't feel anything different.

But that's just a personal experience. There's a reason why people are generally advised not to drink on them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,340 ✭✭✭✭Dial Hard

Flagyl is pretty much the only antibiotic you can't drink on and you can't drink on it at all, so don't think skipping one tablet is going to solve your problem.

Any of the "regular" ones, take the evening tablet as normal and have your few pints.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,423 ✭✭✭corner of hells

It's your own call I suppose. I was on them for a chest infection last March.

We had a friends wedding that month and I drank steadily throughout the day and night. I had no issues what so ever, didn't feel anything different.

But that's just a personal experience. There's a reason why people are generally advised not to drink on them.

You do know it's February now.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,181 ✭✭✭CinemaGuy45

Read the data sheet for your AB. If it didn't come with the box, then google for it.

We cannot tell you without knowing what particular drug it is, and what it's being used on you for.

Thanks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

Don't skip a dose, there is a reason you were asked to take two a day.
    The therapeutical dose must be maintained for the cure to work.

biko, protecting people from themselves since '05

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,621 ✭✭✭facehugger99

You may possibly feel the urge to masturbate furiously after a couple of pints..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,618 ✭✭✭✭kneemos

What have you got?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,211 ✭✭✭✭Suckit

From QI
    https://youtu.be/Tt181R-UEHc?t=2395
    - Apart from some special circumstances, it is on the whole OK to drink while on antibiotics. The reason why people think that you should not is that when antibiotics was first being used it was to cure syphilis. The patients would still be infectious for the first week, so were told not to drink because they were more likely to have sex while drunk. This has since passed down and has become a "tradition" in a way. The main reason that people are told not to drink when on antibiotics is because doctors prefer people not to drink because it is better for them. However, the are some antibiotics like Flagyl which will make you vomit if you take them with alcohol.

kneemos wrote: »
    What have you got?

The infection or the Antibiotics?

biko wrote: »
    Don't skip a dose, there is a reason you were asked to take two a day.
    Don't be daft and just do it.
    The therapeutical dose must be maintained for the cure to work.

biko, protecting people from themselves since '05

Thanks, I kind of knew the answer already I will wait until next weekend.

The weather is shi*e anyway.:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,618 ✭✭✭✭kneemos

The infection or the Antibiotics?

Infection of course.

kneemos wrote: »
    What have you got?

Throat infection feeling much better now but I guess the beer might knock me backwards.

You may possibly feel the urge to masturbate furiously after a couple of pints..

What other way is there to masturbate?

Suckit wrote: »
    Is this really true?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,057 ✭✭✭.......

I ring the chemist and ask if I can drink with an antibiotic when an antibiotic happens to coincide with a planned night out.

Usually much giggling and teasing ensues and they tell me its grand to have a few but not to go overboard.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,166 ✭✭✭Fr_Dougal

Unless it’s Flagyl you’ll be grand.

I’m a doctor so I know what I’m talking about.

Also, that will be €55 please.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,555 ✭✭✭Roger Hassenforder

Dont skip the dose.
    As far as i can remember from med school* its the sulphur/sulphanate based antibiotics that are dangerous to drink with. The rest are grand. You'll do more damage mixing shots and shifting skanks.

*this may not be at all true

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,214 ✭✭✭cbyrd

Are you afraid they friends will think you're pregnant and spend the evening slagging you?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,570 ✭✭✭Ray Palmer

Generally there is no problem with drinking and taking antibiotics. The main reason for the instruction was so people wouldn't pass on STDs while still infectious. The instruction stuck out of habit more so than any real reason

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,315 ✭✭✭Pauliedragon

Just be careful not to do a Neil Prendeville and **** all over the bar or something.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,759 ✭✭✭✭bodhrandude

Wouldn't Antiquities and Pubs be a better thread title. :)

If you want to get into it, you got to get out of it. (Hawkwind 1982)

Ray Palmer wrote: »
    Generally there is no problem with drinking and taking antibiotics. The main reason for the instruction was so people wouldn't pass on STDs while still infectious. The instruction stuck out of habit more so than any real reason

That referred to old style penicillin based Antibiotics. Metronidazole and
    tinidazole when combined with alcohol regularly cause serious reactions including fast or irregular heartbeat, headache, dizziness or drowsiness. Linezolod and doxycycline also interact with alcohol - especially fermented alcohols. So the type of Antibiotic is critical to the advise.