Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Modern IPhones and Farming-your experiences.

• 07-11-2018 8:51pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,803 ✭✭✭

Hi all,currently have an IPhone 5 and am slow to get the upgrade I am entitled to as I like the fact that the IPhone 5’s are a reasonably sturdy phone and when they have an otterbox cover on them they can survive getting dropped out of a pocket etc
    How do the new phones like the iPhone 7 do when used in a farming environment?.....
    Was in Vodafone shop today and Sales person said even if you wanted one you can’t get a ‘new’ IPhone 5 now as Apple have discontinued them and he reckoned I should go for best available modern upgrade I can get and just ‘mind it’ on the farm.
    Thanks for anyone’s experiences with IPhones on farm.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,611 ✭✭✭Mooooo

Get a defender cover for it. The only way to protect em. If you can get an upgrade for free may as well get it, keep the 5 as a back up then. I use Samsung's and tbh it's generally a fair wallop to finish em or bad luck. Cow kicked in parlour one day and leg came beyond the stand and hit the phone in my pocket and cracked the screen. Could be worse a few inches over I'd of been castrated

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,748 ✭✭✭ganmo

My advice would be get what ever one is free on your plan, keep using your current one(make sure it’s backed up) and when or if it fails you have a fone ready to go.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,556 ✭✭✭simx

Have an iPhone 8 and otter box on it and it’s grand, good case and be sound

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,243 ✭✭✭GrasstoMilk

Had a iPhone 6s. It got a lot of hardship, no cover ever on it just gorrilla glass. Got 2 years from it. Was due an upgrade so changed it to a samsung s9. Miss the I phone already the, a much better phone I reckon

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,721 ✭✭✭✭_Brian

iPhone 6s.
    Great phone, keep it in a case, been dropped plenty of times and no problems.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,844 ✭✭✭49801

What about a old style brick phone instead of smartphone?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,431 ✭✭✭Mortelaro

Had a iPhone 6s. It got a lot of hardship, no cover ever on it just gorrilla glass. Got 2 years from it. Was due an upgrade so changed it to a samsung s9. Miss the I phone already the, a much better phone I reckon

I'm the opposite, I changed to an s9 and find it a lot faster than my old iPhone 6s
    I wouldn't go back
    The 6s last march kept shutting down in the cold :eek:
    Bixby I find a lot better than Siri
    I've her reading the time on the alarm and the news first thing
    I've an otter box defender on it

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 1,916 Mod ✭✭✭✭Albert Johnson

I had a Samsung 6s I think, great phone that never missed a beat for over 2 years. The battery life and general speed deteriorated towards the end but was still serviceable. An otter box case and tempered glass saved it from a good few knocks. Once it was taken out of the case it would have passed for new, the otter box is worth every penny in my opinion.
    I got a new Hauwai something or other on an upgrade and I'm sorry I bothered. My old phone was a far superior one, I'm getting used of the different layout but would revert to the Samsung in a heartbeat. Most of my daily duties are hands on and the phone would get moderate abuse despite my best intentions. The sales rep telling you to mind it is of little help. Accidents and wear and tear happen. A phone like everything else is bought to be used, it's not an ornament.
    I couldn't get an otter box to fit the new phone so opted for a knock off version. Time will tell but I don't think it offers the same protection as the genuine article. The tempered glass is already cracked and the whole case seems less sturdy than the previous one. I'm paying insurance every month if the worst happens but there's probably some built in loophole for the service provider. The next phone I have will be a Samsung, I've tried a good few phones and that was fair ahead of the rest. Ease of use, reliability and durability are paramount for me and the Samsung offer all the above.

You should do the maths on the so called upgrades
    A new S9 is less than 540 euro on the Spanish amazon site with a full 2 yr guarantee serviceable in Ireland

45 a month on a 2yr contract assuming 25 of that is for the phone and 200 up front is 800 for the phone

Obviously you can get a 'free phone' on an upgrade but not a really good one
    The buy it yourself maths works on those too as you are paying extra monthly for your 'free phone'
    Its far from free

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,563 ✭✭✭mayota

Mortelaro wrote: »
    A new S9 is less than 540 euro on the Spanish amazon site with a full 2 yr guarantee serviceable in Ireland

45 a month on a 2yr contract assuming 25 of that is for the phone and 200 up front is 800 for the phone

The buy it yourself maths works on those too as you are paying extra monthly for your 'free phone'
    Its far from free

And also forgetting to change to SIM only plan when contract is up.

I got the s9 free with the upgrade, no 200 up front or whatever. Unlimited data and calls. Three is only crowd with coverage around here tho. Wouldn't get the upgrade unless the phone was free

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,983 ✭✭✭✭tuxy

Mooooo wrote: »
    I got the s9 free with the upgrade, no 200 up front or whatever. Unlimited data and calls. Three is only crowd with coverage around here tho. Wouldn't get the upgrade unless the phone was free

Are you sure it's free when the bundle plan costs more then the sim only plan?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,633 ✭✭✭✭Buford T. Justice XIX

Its far from free

I bought my S8 15 months ago from Amazon.it when my mobile provider said I had 15 months to wait for an inferior phone to what I had. Cancelled the plan when the contract was up, moved to 3 with unlimited broadband and free calls and texts.

I'd be very wary of getting the phone company upgrades when I can get the phone and plan separately for way less.

The S8 is a fantastic phone, have an Otterbox Defender case and screen protector and extremely happy with it. But if you're farming, you'll need an extremely good case to keep dirt and dust out whatever phone you get.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,803 ✭✭✭Bleating Lamb

Thanks for the replies,I’m actually out of contract now so maybe I should look at getting a sim only package.....
    Have never bought anything off Amazon,would it be difficult to order a phone from their Spanish site as someone suggested?

It's the same process no matter what EU site you buy from with amazon. If you have ordered from the UK site before the same login details will work. You may need to get your browser to translate the language for you or you may not as everything is in the same place as the English site.

Usually it's a 24 month contract so calculate how much it will cost you for 24 months with the bundle then calculate 24 months + cost of phone with sim only.
    Sometimes the bundle will work out ok so it's best to calculate yourself first.

Which plan is that? The cheapest I can see the S9 on three for is 299 and it's 45 a month for 24 mths
    That's 780 for that phone :eek:

The S8 is 'free' alright but on a 24mth contract so not free at all when you're paying 45 or 60 a month for something that's 25 or 30 SIM only

45 a month business plan. What price is the sim plan that would be unlimited calls text and data?

25 ex vat for business solo
    Are you sure it's an S9 and not an A9?

25 ex vat for business solo
    Are you sure it's an S9 and not an A9?

Yeah s9. Timing came right as old phone had been smashed so went with it. Haven't taken insurance out on any phone yet and haven't had to pay for one yet anyway

That's mad
    One of the lads here wanted a note 9 and three business wanted 45 and 324 ex vat
    You are essentially getting a phone worth €540 for 500
    They are making no money on it
    In fact a loss!
    That's very very unusual!
    They offered me an s9 for 200 and €45 a month and that was in September
    I got it from Amazon instead and stuck with my 25 monthly SIM only unlimited everything
    Its unlocked aswell

That's mad
    One of the lads here wanted a note 9 and three business wanted 45 and 324 ex vat
    In fact a loss!

How did you figure out how much the three are paying for the phone wholesale?

tuxy wrote: »
    How did you figure out how much the three are paying for the phone wholesale?

I've no idea,just guessing that they'd have a 15 or 20% margin and took the cheapest amazon price which itself is at least 150 cheaper than retailing in ireland

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,396 ✭✭✭✭Timmaay

Thanks for the replies,I’m actually out of contract now so maybe I should look at getting a sim only package.....
    Have never bought anything off Amazon,would it be difficult to order a phone from their Spanish site as someone suggested?

What I do is keep an eye out on the bargain alerts forum when I know my phone on its last legs, and when a decent offer pops up I go buy then, someone else will post fairly quickly if there are any hoops to jump through etc with any of them European Amazon's or other websites.

That's mad
    In fact a loss!
    That's very very unusual!
    They offered me an s9 for 200 and €45 a month and that was in September
    I got it from Amazon instead and stuck with my 25 monthly SIM only unlimited everything
    Its unlocked aswell

Email i got for the upgrade had s9 free, s9 plus 180 ex vat and note 9 299 ex vat. Said it included an 80 euro business customer discount.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,083 ✭✭✭bogman_bass

You should get an 8 for €99 with an upgrade.
    Get an otter box defender case. It has to be a defender anything else isn’t fit for farming IMO.

An older model isn’t going to last any longer so you might as well get one with a good camera and the power to run apps quuckly

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,264 ✭✭✭Cran

Hi all,currently have an IPhone 5 and am slow to get the upgrade I am entitled to as I like the fact that the IPhone 5’s are a reasonably sturdy phone and when they have an otterbox cover on them they can survive getting dropped out of a pocket etc
    How do the new phones like the iPhone 7 do when used in a farming environment?.....
    Was in Vodafone shop today and Sales person said even if you wanted one you can’t get a ‘new’ IPhone 5 now as Apple have discontinued them and he reckoned I should go for best available modern upgrade I can get and just ‘mind it’ on the farm.

I got an iPhone SE basically an iPhone 5 with new software & get to use same otter box. Have a 7 for work and find it bulky when on the farm

Email i got for the upgrade had s9 free, s9 plus 180 ex vat and note 9 299 ex vat. Said it included an 80 euro business customer discount.

Interesting, are you vat registered?
    The lady I spoke to in Limerick was 324 ex vat for the note 9
    The main website and Facebook links are now giving out the s9 I notice alright on a €60 a month tarrif
    Looking into your deal
    Doing the sums,Tesco who use the three network do unlimited everything for €15 a month,so the wholesale price charged by three to them has to be lower
    That would put the cost of the s9 from three on the 45 tarrif to be at least 30×24 or 720
    So you are actually paying over the odds by about €200 for your S9 and I'm paying 120 a year too much
    Three are no eejit it seems

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 518 ✭✭✭farmersfriend

30 a month, u can get it for 20 @ month for first six months, 30 thereafter. I find it great, unlimited data calls n texts

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,458 ✭✭✭hopeso

Firstly, the iPhone 7 and above now come with dust and water protection, which has to be an advantage on the farm...Secondly, it's already been mentioned, but the iPhone SE is the newer version of the iPhone 5. Same size, but better performance. However, it was discontinued from the Apple line up recently, but will still be available to buy from third party retailers for another while, if you have a look around....Lastly, if you decide to buy from Amazon in Europe, the biggest problem will be that the charger will have the European 2 pin plug, and the phone language may be set to the language of the country it was sold in... You can get an adopter for the charger, and the language can be re-set...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,748 ✭✭✭ganmo

hopeso wrote: »
    Firstly, the iPhone 7 and above now come with dust and water protection, which has to be an advantage on the farm...Secondly, it's already been mentioned, but the iPhone SE is the newer version of the iPhone 5. Same size, but better performance. However, it was discontinued from the Apple line up recently, but will still be available to buy from third party retailers for another while, if you have a look around....Lastly, if you decide to buy from Amazon in Europe, the biggest problem will be that the charger will have the European 2 pin plug, and the phone language may be set to the language of the country it was sold in... You can get an adopter for the charger, and the language can be re-set...

all phones come with usb chargers so the adapter shouldn't be that big an issue

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 12,756 Mod ✭✭✭✭blue5000

I had a Samsung galaxy for about a month until the terrier sank his teeth into it. Got an iphone SE as an upgrade last year, can't fault it as it's still in the box until the Nokia dies.

If the seat's wet, sit on yer hat, a cool head is better than a wet ar5e.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 714 ✭✭✭feelgoodinc27

Does anyone know if upgrades with IFA Telecom are cheaper from them directly or are they the same price as Vodafone?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 786 ✭✭✭Cattlepen

I’ve always used the otter box defender for the Ifone’s but I find the dust and dirt get in behind the screen after a bit of time. They do make the phone virtuallly indestructible.
    Has anyone used the really tuff looking smartphones you see advertised on farmers weekly? I think CAT do on too

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,633 ✭✭✭✭Buford T. Justice XIX

Does anyone know if upgrades with IFA Telecom are cheaper from them directly or are they the same price as Vodafone?
    The IFA price plans are cheaper from poorer data allowances. So if you use your phone for internet a lot you'll probably have to buy a data package add on as well and you're up to the Vodafone package price.

Iirc from when I looked a good while back, their phones are the same price as the Vodafone ones.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,998 ✭✭✭farawaygrass

I had an iPhone 6 that got water damaged and had to replace with an iPhone se. Love the se, have a standard otter box cover and tempered glass which needs replacing every few months. Problem I had with the iPhone 6, and practically every new smart phone is the size. If wearing jeans they don’t sit right In you pocket and god help you if you are bending down a lot. The phone keeps digging into your hips. Sorry to hear they are discontinuing the se/smaller phones.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 483 ✭✭pms7

Had an Otterbox Defender (bought in Adverts.ie for€20) on my S5, great job as I tend to drop phones.
    Just got an S7 Active on Ebay for €280, it is a ruggedised version of the s7, so no need to get a case for it, supposed to have shatterproof screen, bigger battery. Were only ever sold in US. Find there is good value in new phones that are unsold and sitting in a warehouse for few years. Most people that go to phone shop want latest phone, in last few years there isn't a huge difference between new and model 2 years ago. €10 with 48 sim only gets me 360 minutes, unlimited texts and 3 GB data.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,458 ✭✭✭hopeso

pms7 wrote: »
    Had an Otterbox Defender (bought in Adverts.ie for€20) on my S5, great job as I tend to drop phones.
    Just got an S7 Active on Ebay for €280, it is a ruggedised version of the s7, so no need to get a case for it, supposed to have shatterproof screen, bigger battery. Were only ever sold in US. Find there is good value in new phones that are unsold and sitting in a warehouse for few years. Most people that go to phone shop want latest phone, in last few years there isn't a huge difference between new and model 2 years ago. €10 with 48 sim only gets me 360 minutes, unlimited texts and 3 GB data.

I never heard of 48 before...I just done a quick search, and I must say they offer great value! Is the coverage and service good?
    One slight concern I have though, is it says.... '48 is Ireland's first online youth mobile network.' I mightn't quite qualify..... lol

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 483 ✭✭pms7

hopeso wrote: »
    I never heard of 48 before...I just done a quick search, and I must say they offer great value! Is the coverage and service good?
    One slight concern I have though, is it says.... '48 is Ireland's first online youth mobile network.' I mightn't quite qualify..... lol
    With them since start, about 4 years, originally a part of O2, now on 3 network.
    2 issues I have had,
    1, data abroad can be tricky to get going, local apns can override your settings, need to be able to correct that, failed last year even though onto them every day for a week. Got it going this year.
    2, on my wifes samsung, the tesco mobile apn replaces one on phone every few weeks, need to manually change. They say its a samsung problem, I 'm not sure..

Don't worry about not being young, they dont look for your birth cert! Marketing gimic

Coverage is same as 3, support is good, but by email only.