Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Can I SORN a UK reg'd vehicle in Ireland?

• 04-11-2018 9:22pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11

Hi Folks,

I am looking at buying an English reg Jeep in Ireland.
    Even with the VRT paid it would recognize a substantial saving on a similar model here. The jeep has been parked up at the owner's [not a dealer] house just south of the border.

I am aware of the 30 day limit on importing, the NCT inspection, VRT process etc..

The problem is, the VRT is quite high & I would not have the funds to pay the VRT
    for at least 2 months. Is it possible that once I receive the V5 back I can declare it of the road until I pay the VRT?

Will the Motor Tax office here be aware I have bought it, or does the V5 just get sent to my address,
    and if not will they go by the date the jeep was signed into my name when I go to VRT it?

Also, no matter how many times I read the VRT thread, I am still confused as the the actual process when it comes to the transaction & the V5 form, ie: " The seller will tear a section off & send it back to England " etc..

The seller just says he has the form there & I can go away with it?!?

The fact that he is living in the South & has had the jeep here for some time
    makes me concerned the jeep could have already been flagged by the revenue/guards as being here over 30 days and I might be liable for
    any fees in relation to this, or maybe I am just overthinking it.

Any advice, besides talking me out of not buying it!

Thanks.

J.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,482 ✭✭✭✭bazz26

You need the entire V5C registration document from the seller to VRT it here. The DVLA in the UK will not send you a new V5 registration document if your not a UK resident.

I cannot see how you can declare a non Irish registered car off the road in Ireland given it's not registered here. If VRT isn't paid then it won't be issued an Irish registration number. Just be aware that they look for proof of when the car entered the country when you go to VRT it to make sure it entered within the 30 day rule i.e. dated sales invoice and ferry ticket otherwise they go off the last time it was taxed in the UK.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,586 ✭✭✭newmember2

Firstly, find out exactly when the seller brought in the car.
    You could try VRTing it and when it comes to the payment part make sure your card is declined. This may fulfill the having the car inspected within the timeframe condition. Come back at later date and make the payment.
    If seller has the complete logbook then no worries - take it with you to the VRT.
    A certificate of permanent export from the DVLA will do instead if the logbook isn't available.

The main thing you need (that you don't seem to have) is a date of importation into the state to tell the VRT people.

SORNing the vehicle with the DVLA will just make you not liable for the UK tax on the car.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11 J Lochlan

Thank you for the replies.

Looks like having a dated bill of sale or receipt from the seller is the key here whether it's from a dealer or just a hand written & signed slip of paper.

J.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 585 ✭✭✭alpahaeagle

Please bear in mind the VRT follows the car not the owner...So if th ecar has been in the south for qa while its does not matter if you only just buy the car you will be charged the full amount + late fee.

So if the car was registered to export you most likley have to pay all plus late fee.

I bought a uk reg car here and when I went to VRT I was been charged late fees for two years.

Also please beaware that by law he is unable to sell you a UK reg car here in rep.

" Also please be aware that by law he is unable to sell you a UK reg car here in rep. "

434 ads for UK reg'd Cars in all counties other than Ulster as of now on DoneDeal.

" registered to export "

Do you mean, If the car had been bought in the UK & the buyer told the seller he was exporting it to

Ireland, this would have to have been registered with the the DVLA as being exported from the UK.

Surely unless a UK resident is emigrating to, or an expat is returning to Ireland to live, they would just Ferry it over with the V5 still in their own name & either VRT it, or sell it on with the V5 doc that has their UK address, no?

So could you not asume that this is the case with 99% of those UK reg'd cars on sale in the rep?

If I bought a car & the VRT wanted late fees I would have had a second hand dealer
    buy it back from me just over the border for 1euro, & sell it back to me [or a relative] for a euro & give him 50 quid for his trouble, & a fresh bill of sale.

How much did your late fees total?

0.15% per day of the VRT amount owed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,760 ✭✭✭✭Marcusm

J Lochlan wrote: »
    Hi Folks,

I am looking at buying an English reg Jeep in Ireland.
    Even with the VRT paid it would recognize a substantial saving on a similar model here. The jeep has been parked up at the owner's [not a dealer] house just south of the border.

I am aware of the 30 day limit on importing, the NCT inspection, VRT process etc..

The problem is, the VRT is quite high & I would not have the funds to pay the VRT
    for at least 2 months. Is it possible that once I receive the V5 back I can declare it of the road until I pay the VRT?

Will the Motor Tax office here be aware I have bought it, or does the V5 just get sent to my address,
    and if not will they go by the date the jeep was signed into my name when I go to VRT it?

Also, no matter how many times I read the VRT thread, I am still confused as the the actual process when it comes to the transaction & the V5 form, ie: " The seller will tear a section off & send it back to England " etc..

The seller just says he has the form there & I can go away with it?!?

The fact that he is living in the South & has had the jeep here for some time
    makes me concerned the jeep could have already been flagged by the revenue/guards as being here over 30 days and I might be liable for
    any fees in relation to this, or maybe I am just overthinking it.

Any advice, besides talking me out of not buying it!

Thanks.

J.

Part of the statutory off road notification is a statement that the car is parked up in the U.K. which would be false.

NCTS May also look for evidence that the car was garaged in the U.K. and not brought into Ireland immediately upon purchase or else the VRT is backdatEd and a penalty imposed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 701 ✭✭✭Theanswers

Is it a mainland UK address or NI?

If NI, it doesn't need a ferry receipt. Only Invoice.

If mainland UK, use a friends address from NI and send the v5 to swansea in the post, like they would if they purchased the car. Fresh v5 will come back and just write up a invoice from your friend with a recent date.

Problem solved.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,586 ✭✭✭newmember2

J Lochlan wrote: »
    ...I would have had a second hand dealer
    buy it back from me just over the border for 1euro, & sell it back to me [or a relative] for a euro & give him 50 quid for his trouble, & a fresh bill of sale

if you can do this then you're sorted.

Theanswers wrote: »
    Is it a mainland UK address or NI?

If NI, it doesn't need a ferry receipt. Only Invoice.

If mainland UK, use a friends address from NI and send the v5 to swansea in the post, like they would if they purchased the car. Fresh v5 will come back and just write up a invoice from your friend with a recent date.

Problem solved.

The jeep is at a Rep of Irl address, its a UK reg, the owner is English & I think its either his or his sisters name on the V5, its has been parked up there a year & has no mot or tax.

Its not a case of me having brought in a UK reg'd jeep to Ireland, driven it around for months & now have decided to VRT it.

I just want to buy it & VRT it without the drama of paying for unused ferry receipts & all that nonsense.

It has cleary been parked up, [he has 2 other cars to use] . I have had a mechanic look at it & the jeep is sound, but not having the full 2 grand to hand immediately to pay the VRT means I need a work around for a couple of months. I could buy it & then collect it later, but I think the guy needs the space asap & he is not short of other buyers interested.

What are the people like in the VRT & NCTS places, from reading other threads it would appear like most civil service staff it can depend on who you get on the day? They get to decide which parts of the book they want to follow or ignore, while any rational argument from me could be rendered void at their whim.

NCTS are just the administrators/facilitators of VRT, they just follow the rules set out by Revenue. Rules have gotten a lot stricter on VRT in recent times so I don't think they are as slack behind the counter as they used to be.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 816 ✭✭✭zurbfoundation

Sorry to hijack etc - but I have a question in or around this subject.

I see a UK reg-ed car everyday at my work (in the Republic) now for over a year. It is showing as SORN in the UK. What is the legal status of it now. In the case that the Garda can now see the status of UK vehicles (I have heard, unsure if its actually true) - MOT, Tax etc via ANPR. I am presuming in that case the SORN status would also show.