Advertisement
If you have a new account but are having problems posting or verifying your account, please email us on hello@boards.ie for help. Thanks :)
Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Is it possible to go from (OL) Irish to (HL) Irish after the junior cert?

Options
  • 02-11-2018 6:07pm
    Registered Users Posts: 3

Hello, I have just done (OL) Irish for the Junior Cert and I am currently in 4th year. If I were to spend my free time studying Irish for the rest of the year, is it possible for me to move back into the (HL) class?

I believe I have the aptitude for it, but I am unsure if the (HL) class has moved too far ahead for me to be able to catch up.

Has anyone on this site heard of people moving from the (OL) class to the (HL) class and doing well? or should I just focus on improving my other subjects? Thank you all very much for taking the time out to read this.
    Tagged:

Comments

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 27,160 CMod ✭✭✭✭spurious

Why didn't you do HL in the Junior? Did you get an A in OL?

You should talk to your teacher about this. They are the one knows whether you are likely to be able for HL at LC or not.

It annoys me so much when schools allow students capable of HL do OL at JC instead. By taking OL in Irish you automatically put yourself in the bottom 40-50%.

• Registered Users Posts: 3 finnjo

Thank you for the reply, Spurious.

My decision to drop down to (OL) was very short-sighted and I hope to make amends this year by going over last years (HL) material. I got an A in (OL) Irish, which I now hope will sway my teacher to let me give (HL) a shot. I am going to talk with my teacher about it as soon as possible as I don't mind the extra workload if it means getting into the HL class.