Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Speeding fine as non-intercept by squad car

• 31-10-2018 12:22pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6

Hi everyone.
    My friend was driving my car, It was around midnight on very quite road(no other traffic), he was doing something like 65 km/h in 50 zone, then he noted that white car is following him, he assumed that probably he need to speed up a bit (what an idiot). So by the next traffic light, which was shortly after, he realized that it was garda squad car (not traffic corps)
    They stopped besides and looked like they have zero interest in him.
    I am wondering, will the squad car pull you over in such scenarios ? (my understanding is that they don't have advanced speed detection systems) Or if he was never stopped, it means that he was lucky?
    I am worried that I might receive a fine and points on my name, not really sure what to do in such scenario

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 462 ✭✭com1

they would have pulled him over if they were interested in him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,594 ✭✭✭tossy

Did they wink at you or him when they stopped beside you at the lights ? if so i'd say your grand. Tell 'your friend' to take her handy in future.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,039 ✭✭✭✭zell12

Contact your insurance company and inform them the car that they insure was used to deliberately breach the RTA and that you view this as acceptable - "he was doing something like 65 km/h in 50 zone"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6 amobile

I'm simply wondering how squad garda is operating on patrol. Read a lot of stories about non-intercept here on boards. My concern is simple, I'm trying to understand will I get a surprise or not and what should I do then, obviously a friend not gonna deny that he was driving

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,795 ✭✭✭Isambard

I wouldn't worry about things until they happen, don't want an ulcer do you.

Should you get a fine, you return it with the name and details of the guy who was driving.

The Gard was using his discretion given the road conditions with any luck.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,083 ✭✭✭freddieot

I got a fine for a non-intercept a few weeks ago. Unmarked car for sure as I did not see him and it was about 9:00 on a Saturday morning on an almost empty back road (93 in an 80 zone). Probably passed him out...Back number plate was in the frame etc.

I was speeding so I paid the fine.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,936 ✭✭✭ewj1978

Completely diferent Freddie. That was a camera van. The OP wsn't stopped and didn't receive an on the spot fine from the guards. He has nothing to worry about.
    He's a plank for letting his mate drive his car around though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,083 ✭✭✭freddieot

It was not a camera van. It was an unmarked car that I rather foolishly passed out. I can almost picture where \ when it happened.

I travel that route every 2 weeks or so for the last 15 years.

Thanks guys, will wait and see what gonna happen next

freddieot wrote: »
    It was not a camera van. It was an unmarked car that I rather foolishly passed out. I can almost picture where \ when it happened.

I travel that route every 2 weeks or so for the last 15 years.

Not 100% sure, but I heard that unmarked cars are used for road policing and have same equipment(puma I believe), so they don't need to stop you.
    My case was a normal marked squad car.