Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Kross Kommunity Kostumes: Halloween in the North

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,676 ✭✭✭✭NIMAN

When I was growing up, every Halloween you'd see loads of costumes which were grand back in the day but which wouldn't be tolerated now.

Likes of Hitler, Jimmy Savile, load of blackface ones etc. Basically certain people would set out to get attention. You get the gist.

I think maybe this photo is something similar. Guys probably think its funny, but now the PSNI are treating it as a hate crime.

OTT perhaps?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 95 ✭✭PapaOscar

Gang of lads on the piss.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,989 ✭✭✭✭Peregrinus

Nah, this is not people dressing up as bogeymen from the past and going from door to door. This is people parading themselves as racist bigots and terrorists outside a community facility serving an ethnic and cultural minority which is often the target of hate crimes. Not the same thing at all.

And this didn't happen on Hallowe'en. It happened on the same day that a gunman murdered 11 people in a synagogue in Pittsburgh, though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,003 ✭✭✭✭Realt Dearg Sec

NIMAN wrote: »
    When I was growing up, every Halloween you'd see loads of costumes which were grand back in the day but which wouldn't be tolerated now.

Likes of Hitler, Jimmy Savile, load of blackface ones etc. Basically certain people would set out to get attention. You get the gist.

I think maybe this photo is something similar. Guys probably think its funny, but now the PSNI are treating it as a hate crime.

OTT perhaps?

Yeah it's political correctness gone mad. I mean back when the stories about Savile came out people were much less easily offended than the hate crime snow flakes around today. Course folks were tougher back then. In 2011.

Seriously, there was never a time when "loads" of people were going around dressed as Hitler and in blackface at Halloween. That's just complete nonsense.

Yeah it's political correctness gone mad. I mean back when the stories about Savile came out people were much less easily offended than the hate crime snow flakes around today. Course folks were tougher back then. In 2011.

Seriously, there was never a time when "loads" of people were going around dressed as Hitler and in blackface at Halloween. That's just complete nonsense.

There are people still dressing as saville ive seen it this week, along with lads in full republican paramilitary gear, one or two bin ladens aswell. Are you really offended by this?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,989 ✭✭✭✭Peregrinus

PapaOscar wrote: »
    There are people still dressing as saville ive seen it this week, along with lads in full republican paramilitary gear, one or two bin ladens aswell. Are you really offended by this?
    Mildly. But I am more than offended by Ku Klux Klan parades outside Islamic Community Centres. These two things are not the same at all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,122 ✭✭✭BeerWolf

They're spooky ghosts!

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 12,853 Mod ✭✭✭✭riffmongous

PapaOscar wrote: »
    Yeah lads in republican gear going posing for photos outside an orange lodge mightnt go down too well either.

It's mad that there are so many of them too, not just one or two attention seeking eejits but a large gang of them

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,802 ✭✭✭✭suicide_circus

BeerWolf wrote: »
    They're spooky ghosts!
    Wooooooooo!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,707 ✭✭✭✭Mr. CooL ICE

t

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,564 ✭✭✭✭whiskeyman

Things are just always on a different level up North.

Coincidentally they also happened to bump into the girlfriend of the leader of the UK white nationalist National Front party while they were on their merry way

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,043 ✭✭✭✭TheValeyard

Usually they just wear orange sashes and bowler hats.

All eyes on Kursk. Slava Ukraini.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,893 ✭✭✭Canis Lupus

Just dressing up as Spanish priests.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 145 ✭✭BoneIdol

There's lots of connections between the KKK and the Orange Order. The hillbillies that started the KKK are from the same stock as the ones that ended up in Ulster.

https://seachranaidhe1.blog/2015/11/06/orange-bandsorder-historic-link-to-glasgow-klan-of-the-kkk/amp/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,293 ✭✭✭✭Mint Sauce

Bin Laden and Jimmy Savelle, whislt its degress of Humor, I am not going to be to offended by it, dressed up as the KKK outside an islamic centre though is far far from offending snowflakes, its incitment to hatrid.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,684 ✭✭✭✭Samuel T. Cogley

You read the Journal too then :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,736 ✭✭✭Irish Guitarist

If all they did was stand there posing for a photo they shouldn't be charged with a 'hate crime'.

Mint Sauce wrote: »
    Bin Laden and Jimmy Savelle, whislt its degress of Humor, I am not going to be to offended by it, dressed up as the KKK outside an islamic centre though is far far from offending snowflakes, its incitment to hatrid.

I wonder what would happened if you went out near the trade center sites dressed as bin laden?

Or walked down Camden Street dressed as a Black and Tan.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,189 ✭✭✭✭Sleeper12

NIMAN wrote:
    OTT perhaps?

2nd year in a row this place has been targeted though. Wasn't there a pigs head left outside last year?

• If all they did was stand there posing for a photo they shouldn't be charged with a 'hate crime'.

Of course they should be. Do you not even vaguely grasp what they have done? Stood outside a place of worship dressed as KKK members (if you’re not aware a group who are well known to be intolerant and racist) for whatever reason I don’t know.

I only wish they’d done it in a black neighbourhood in the US they’d have been mowed down like my lawn Saturday morning.

• I wonder what would happened if you went out near the trade center sites dressed as bin laden?

probably shot. :pac:

If you're lucky!

BoneIdol wrote: »
    Or walked down Camden Street dressed as a Black and Tan.

They would probably get cheered.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,293 ✭✭✭✭Mint Sauce

Halloween party in Belfast as Bin Laden, compared to Bin Laden near the WTC is a little different though.

KKK are well known for their religious hatred, and racist views, so I stand by my original comment.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,736 ✭✭✭Irish Guitarist

The police in the North aren't so quick to charge the fuckers who build massive bonfires with Irish flags on them with hate crimes.

The same lads as these most likely.

Exactly. The murder of those three Quinn children put a bit of a damper on traditional targets for a night-time loyalist petrol bombing. And then those dastardly Taigs actually closed down their papist church in Harryville, thus bringing to an end a few years of Saturday night attacks on massgoers (the bags of urine fired at massgoers, and shortly afterwards at the school children in Holy Cross primary school, being a classy touch).

At every turn, their nighttime fun is being undermined by all these politically correct types. And now somebody is giving out when they dress up in KKK outfits outside a Muslim centre. The whole world is gone mad with political correctness! Does nobody feel sorry for these poor loyalists who merely want to show their loyalty to Queen and country? What will they do now for fun?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,070 ✭✭✭Franz Von Peppercorn

True. Kill All Taigs seems acceptable enough discourse up there.

Kill all travellers seems to be acceptable down here. We're all a pack of **** really.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,070 ✭✭✭Franz Von Peppercorn

Kill all travellers seems to be acceptable down here. We're all a pack of **** really.

Er, no it isn’t.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 129 ✭✭Topdolla

Am I the only person on this side of the border who got one of these costumes for tomorrow???

https://www.costumesinireland.ie/horror-halloween/78-ku-klux-klan-costume.html

:cool::cool::cool:

Topdolla wrote: »
    Am I the only person on this side of the border who got one of these costumes for tomorrow???

https://www.costumesinireland.ie/horror-halloween/78-ku-klux-klan-costume.html

:cool::cool::cool:

When I click on the link it flashes up 'last time added to a cart 22-11-2017'

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 129 ✭✭Topdolla

When I click on the link it flashes up 'last time added to a cart 22-11-2017'

Ya got me, I didn't buy one haha...
    but come on they should not be selling this or have 57 of them in stock :confused:

They are the exact costumes these guys in the photo are wearing, talk about enabling.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,684 ✭✭✭✭Samuel T. Cogley

Topdolla wrote: »
    Ya got me, I didn't buy one haha...
    but come on they should not be selling this or have 57 of them in stock :confused:

They are the exact costumes these guys in the photo are wearing, talk about enabling.

Given the last time they sold one - curiously after haloween and the stock level - it doesn't look like they are selling.