Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Please help

• 17-10-2018 5:04pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 71 ✭✭

I really need some advice, I don't know what to do..

I have a dog, a labxcollie, he's 1, had him since a pup and he has behavioral issues. He barks and lunges at people when we are on walks, he pulls, he will bark and seemingly act aggressive toward people he doesn't know, he's broken loose a couple of times and has ran up to people barking at them and lunging at them, I thought this was just a misdirection of his over-excitement and not knowing how to react around people as I haven't been able to socialize him properly due to living rural, and I suspect this is the cause of his behavior.

I just have no control over him and I anticipate it will get worse. I feel like I have failed him and I am in bits over it. Dog warden wants me to surrender him. I know he will be pts. I don't want to do this, he is my responsibility and I can't just give him up and punish him for my failings. Dog warden said he is not the right dog for me as I can't control him and should look into getting a different dog, my heart is broken, I can't just give up on him and I don't want to but I don't know what else I can do for us.

I have rang a couple dog trainers, awaiting calls back, will this help? What can I do? I'm at my wits end.

TIA

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 656 ✭✭✭AryaStark

You need to try to see a behaviourist for the dog. I am sure that once you have the appointment and are working on the issue you can discuss with the warden and get an extension to sort things out.

There are others on the forum who will help with details of professional behaviourists or trainers.

You should probably try a harness so that the dog can't slip out of it... It will help while you sort the issue. No dog is untrainable and yours is still a baby. Best of luck.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,480 ✭✭✭wexie

neveah123 wrote: »
    I have rang a couple dog trainers, awaiting calls back, will this help? What can I do? I'm at my wits end. TIA

It might do, depending on the qualifications and skills of the dog trainers involved and the commitment you are willing to make to it.

Maybe post what part of the country you are in and you might get some recommendations. Not all dog trainers are alike and this sounds like you might need someone who actually knows what they are doing.

I can tell you that it will take consistent work though, I have a collie cross that was badly abused as a pup and it has taken years to get him to where he is now.

It's very rewarding though.

AryaStark wrote: »
    You should probably try a harness so that the dog can't slip out of it...

A good idea, but make sure you get a front latching harness, with a regular where the lead is on their back it can just cause them to pull more.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,974 ✭✭✭jimf

first thing try to relax easy for me to say

but dogs do and will pick up on your anxiety as far as failing him will you stop its clear to see you love him

post your area some of the other lads on here have recommended trainers in their area before

nothing beats a recommendation different trainers have different methods

I always find a puller is best controlled on a short leash

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 71 ✭✭neveah123

You need to try to see a behaviourist for the dog. I am sure that once you have the appointment and are working on the issue you can discuss with the warden and get an extension to sort things out.

There are others on the forum who will help with details of professional behaviourists or trainers.

You should probably try a harness so that the dog can't slip out of it... It will help while you sort the issue. No dog is untrainable and yours is still a baby. Best of luck.

I have a K9 harness, he still pulls, a halti head collar is the only thing that doesn't allow him to drag me down the road, but he's getting bigger and stronger and pulling with that on now too. I muzzle him on our walks in case he gets loose so I have to feed the halti through the basket muzzle and it just irritates him to bits..

wexie wrote: »
    It might do, depending on the qualifications and skills of the dog trainers involved and the commitment you are willing to make to it.

Maybe post what part of the country you are in and you might get some recommendations. Not all dog trainers are alike and this sounds like you might need someone who actually knows what they are doing.

I can tell you that it will take consistent work though, I have a collie cross that was badly abused as a pup and it has taken years to get him to where he is now.

It's very rewarding though.

I am in Kilkenny. I am willing to try anything, whatever it takes, but the dog warden persistently told me that he is not the right dog for me as I can't control him at the moment, and I am fearful he is right, that he's not suited to my personality, but I am willing to change myself in order to keep my dog in line, I just don't know where to start and need guidance. I am weary of spending a lot of money on a trainer that doesn't know what they're doing so any recommendations would be greatly appreciated.
    wexie wrote: »
    A good idea, but make sure you get a front latching harness, with a regular where the lead is on their back it can just cause them to pull more.

Can you recommend one? What are they called? The generic non pull harnesses?
    jimf wrote: »
    first thing try to relax easy for me to say

but dogs do and will pick up on your anxiety as far as failing him will you stop its clear to see you love him

post your area some of the other lads on here have recommended trainers in their area before

nothing beats a recommendation different trainers have different methods

I always find a puller is best controlled on a short leash

Thank you, yes I do have a short leash, he just gets so excited and wants to get about quicker than I am able to walk so he pulls me to where he wants to go. He's just rearing to go, I had a secluded place I could let him off to run wild without fear of bumping into anyone else but now that I've witnessed him approach and bark at people I am too afraid to let him loose.

Can you recommend one? What are they called? The generic non pull harnesses?

Just something like this : https://www.ebay.ie/itm/No-Pull-Front-Clip-Pet-Dog-Harness-Mesh-Padded-Nylon-Quick-Fit-Adjustable-S-M-L/202010337143?hash=item2f08c11f77:m:ma0hKKrbak1ahaEKIsrxd2A:rk:4:pf:0

A front clip harness, see how the lead attach to the front rather than between the shoulder blades? Means that if he pulls he'll be pulled sideways (which ever side the lead is on). I've found it to be very helpful.

If he's really persistent (and strong) you could try using one of these :

https://www.amazon.co.uk/Company-of-Animals-HH022P-Headcollar/dp/B004OB1F6O

But I've somewhat mixed feelings about them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,053 ✭✭✭Bells21

A harness alone won't solve the issue of why your dog is lunging at people. You obviously want the best for your dog so I would recommend getting a professional who uses positive, force free methods, involved. Once they have gotten to the underlying issue of why this is happening then ask advice on a harness.
    A suggestion in a meantime, I would avoid walking your dog in an area where you are likely to come across things that trigger this behaviour. Your dog will stress and so will you. That's not nice on either of ye. Do some basic training at home or use some puzzle toys to drain energy. If you can find a place where you know you're unlikely to bump into anyone then walk there until a professional can guide you on how to sort the issue.

Citizen Canine based in Wicklow pop up for Kilkenny when I searched on APDT Ireland.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 244 ✭✭Immaculata

I'd suggest that as your young dog is barking and lunging at other people (not dogs) that he's stressed by the nearness to other humans. Or he's trying to protect you. Or both.

As other commenters have suggested, looking for help from a good trainer is probably the best idea, and a short leash would be good too. It might be discouraging you from walking him, all this trouble, but regular exercise to keep him a bit tired is a good idea. I'd suggest investing in a good pulling-discouraging harness to make him a little easier to handle, as others have said.

I'd suggest every time someone appears in your dog's field of vision, you call your dog's name, or blow a whistle, and give him a tiny treat to eat and some affection. Basically, you want to distract him and also make him associate other humans with good things happening. If he's off leash, blow a whistle and when he comes over, give him the treat and the praise and good strokes. I know it doesn't sound like much, but I have found it works. Every time I walk my dogs, I blow the whistle and give them a treat at the beginning, just to refresh their memories :) and then repeat it if they happen to go jump on anyone - although that really never happens anymore.

Plenty of pet shops and supermarkets have little dog treats designed as training aids, or you can slice up sausages into thin 'coins', or just break up a few doggie biscuits into pieces.

Remember, he's only barking and lunging - he's not actually hurting anyone, so I'm kinda surprised that the dog warden wants you to surrender the dog. For what? Although I know it can feel like one long stressfest, walking a dog who is noisy and running up to people, and you certainly want to start to encourage him into a better pattern of behaviour, to make life less worrying for both of you.

Your dog is very young and you obviously care for him. So there's plenty of time for you and him to work together for a more peaceful future. Wishing you all the best.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,274 ✭✭✭cocker5

OP

Firstly ... Breath... take a step back - please do not heed what your dog warden is telling you (and what get another dog?? I mean seriously what a gobsh*te) this is not the answer... your only passing off the problem.. unfortunately OP he is this way due to lack of training and I’m sorry to say but it’s your responsibility to fix this .. and I sense from your posts you know this

The answer is proper training and I think you know this, the dog is 1 still very young and it appears you haven’t been successful in instilling the basics

Secondly - a harness imo is the worst thing you can use .. try a dog matic head collar

http://www.dogmatic.org.uk/

Get a halti training lead clip it on to the head collar AND normal neck collar then there is no way your dog can break loose

https://www.equipetstores.com/halti-training-lead.html?gclid=CjwKCAjwu5veBRBBEiwAFTqDwcv1L1UvIQMaQUR2q5EcKH40dcfPHfg3W96e7-dUgmTugUfTzyGFkhoCD00QAvD_BwE

Posters on here should be able to advise on a good trainer locally.. you need to work on socialization techniques

Is he hyper.. look at diet.. what are you feeding him? Poor diet can lead to hyperness

Look at exercise needs? Really how much exercise does he get daily? Lots of dogs especially as pups can behave madly with not the right amount of exercise

Mental stimulation.. what trucks have you taught him? Tire his brain out?

If you address all of the above and get a trainer with proper advice he could be a totally different dogs in a few months

It’s takes lots of patience , consistency and effort ... but so so rewarding OP

forgot to ask is he neutered

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 9,790 Mod ✭✭✭✭DBB

Bells21 wrote: »

Citizen Canine based in Wicklow pop up for Kilkenny when I searched on APDT Ireland.

If you can get Emmaline of Citizen Canine Ireland to come and help you, you will be putting yourself in one of the best pairs of hands in the country. She's fantastic.
    Don't give up hope just yet op, until you get help from someone as good as Emmaline, you certainly haven't exhausted all avenues :)

Bells21 wrote: »
    A harness alone won't solve the issue of why your dog is lunging at people. You obviously want the best for your dog so I would recommend getting a professional who uses positive, force free methods, involved. Once they have gotten to the underlying issue of why this is happening then ask advice on a harness.
    A suggestion in a meantime, I would avoid walking your dog in an area where you are likely to come across things that trigger this behaviour. Your dog will stress and so will you. That's not nice on either of ye. Do some basic training at home or use some puzzle toys to drain energy. If you can find a place where you know you're unlikely to bump into anyone then walk there until a professional can guide you on how to sort the issue.

Thank you, I contacted Citizen Canine today and left a message. Hopefully she gets back to me soon..
    Immaculata wrote: »
    I'd suggest that as your young dog is barking and lunging at other people (not dogs) that he's stressed by the nearness to other humans. Or he's trying to protect you. Or both.

As other commenters have suggested, looking for help from a good trainer is probably the best idea, and a short leash would be good too. It might be discouraging you from walking him, all this trouble, but regular exercise to keep him a bit tired is a good idea. I'd suggest investing in a good pulling-discouraging harness to make him a little easier to handle, as others have said.

I'd suggest every time someone appears in your dog's field of vision, you call your dog's name, or blow a whistle, and give him a tiny treat to eat and some affection. Basically, you want to distract him and also make him associate other humans with good things happening. If he's off leash, blow a whistle and when he comes over, give him the treat and the praise and good strokes. I know it doesn't sound like much, but I have found it works. Every time I walk my dogs, I blow the whistle and give them a treat at the beginning, just to refresh their memories :) and then repeat it if they happen to go jump on anyone - although that really never happens anymore.

Plenty of pet shops and supermarkets have little dog treats designed as training aids, or you can slice up sausages into thin 'coins', or just break up a few doggie biscuits into pieces.

Remember, he's only barking and lunging - he's not actually hurting anyone, so I'm kinda surprised that the dog warden wants you to surrender the dog. For what? Although I know it can feel like one long stressfest, walking a dog who is noisy and running up to people, and you certainly want to start to encourage him into a better pattern of behaviour, to make life less worrying for both of you.

Your dog is very young and you obviously care for him. So there's plenty of time for you and him to work together for a more peaceful future. Wishing you all the best.

It has been discouraging me from walking him, and I know he needs the exercise as he is quite energetic, a couple weeks ago a dog ran out of a garden and attacked us while my dog had his muzzle on and wasn't able to defend himself and I was quite shaken up after this, so with that and the negative interactions he has when we pass other people has just made it very difficult for me to get up and go with him as I am constantly anticipating him acting out. I know dogs can pick up on their human's emotions as well so I feel like I'm in a viscous circle.

When I see someone coming toward us in the distance I would try distract him with my voice/treats but he just doesn't relax and becomes irate. I have a dog whistle, and I will try what you have said.

Dog warden wants me to surrender him, I assume, because the reason the dog warden was called was that my dog broke off his collar in the garden and ran down to my neighbors who has a young child and began barking at them, as he does with everyone. The neighbors got a shock and I feel absolutely dreadful that this happened, I have been crying all day.

When I have visitors to the house, a person my dog hasn't met before, I will put the leash on him to control his interaction, and he lunges and barks trying to get over to them, obviously visitors feel threatened by this which I completely understand, but I have noticed once I let him get close enough to smell their feet etc he's fine, he calms down and there's no more barking or lunging. But I can't do this with people I meet on the street or the neighbors..
    cocker5 wrote: »
    OP

Firstly ... Breath... take a step back - please do not heed what your dog warden is telling you (and what get another dog?? I mean seriously what a gobsh*te) this is not the answer... your only passing off the problem.. unfortunately OP he is this way due to lack of training and I’m sorry to say but it’s your responsibility to fix this .. and I sense from your posts you know this

The answer is proper training and I think you know this, the dog is 1 still very young and it appears you haven’t been successful in instilling the basics

Secondly - a harness imo is the worst thing you can use .. try a dog matic head collar

http://www.dogmatic.org.uk/

Get a halti training lead clip it on to the head collar AND normal neck collar then there is no way your dog can break loose

https://www.equipetstores.com/halti-training-lead.html?gclid=CjwKCAjwu5veBRBBEiwAFTqDwcv1L1UvIQMaQUR2q5EcKH40dcfPHfg3W96e7-dUgmTugUfTzyGFkhoCD00QAvD_BwE

Posters on here should be able to advise on a good trainer locally.. you need to work on socialization techniques

Is he hyper.. look at diet.. what are you feeding him? Poor diet can lead to hyperness

Look at exercise needs? Really how much exercise does he get daily? Lots of dogs especially as pups can behave madly with not the right amount of exercise

Mental stimulation.. what trucks have you taught him? Tire his brain out?

If you address all of the above and get a trainer with proper advice he could be a totally different dogs in a few months

It’s takes lots of patience , consistency and effort ... but so so rewarding OP

Dog warden wants me to call him next week when I have made a decision about what to do with him, said he cannot force me to surrender him but if he is called about the dog again he will just involve the guards immediately, court will follow etc. Everything he said to me is leaning toward me surrendering him. I asked if I was to take this option would he be rehomed with a better suited owner (as he is adamant my personality is not suited to the dog) and he said he will more than likely be pts. I cannot allow that happen, I am fully aware that he has been in my care since he was a pup and he's my responsibility, and any behavioral issues that have arisen are ultimately down to me, so I want to get as much info, advice etc I can so I can sort this out. Moreso than my understanding of my role/responsibility, I love the dog more than I could ever explain. He is my entire life, and I don't know what I would do without him. Thinking about it just makes me cry.

He is a high energy dog, he's not uncontrollably hyper with me, but he's just so playful and has lots of energy. I have him on Eukanuba dry food, top it off with a bit of wet food so he doesn't get bored.. sometimes I will give him sardines, mince, eggs..

Tomorrow I am just going to bite the bullet and try get back into a regular routine of walking & exercise.. Thank you so much for your comment.
    forgot to ask is he neutered

No he's not neutered, I have no way of getting him to a vet... God I sound so irresponsible having him..

DBB wrote: »
    If you can get Emmaline of Citizen Canine Ireland to come and help you, you will be putting yourself in one of the best pairs of hands in the country. She's fantastic.
    Don't give up hope just yet op, until you get help from someone as good as Emmaline, you certainly haven't exhausted all avenues :)

I have read good things about Emmaline, left her a VM today.. Just hope I can get the money up to see her ASAP

Thank you all for your comments thus far, I am feeling more confident about our future already..

if im totally honest I think you are dealing with an arsehole of a warden which is not helping you either

technically your dog has done no harm dogs bark that's what they do he hasn't bitten anybody

do you have anybody that could walk with you to take the dogs space if he gets giddy

what I mean is to walk in front of him he thinks its ok to be in front

the ideal walking on a leash dog will be ever so slightly behind your inside leg with no extension of the leash

OP I’m still not understanding why the dog warden is involved at all?

We’re you reported?

Ok on his food .. move him off that food it’s pretty awful OP. Don’t feed wet either unless high quality.. as most of crap

https://www.allaboutdogfood.co.uk/dog-food-reviews/0099/eukanuba-growing-puppy-medium-breed

Move him to a high quality food or move him to RAW

You need to increase his exercise and mental stimulation

Thank you all for your comments thus far, I am feeling more confident about our future already..

Good!
    I think the dog warden is being a bit unfair on you, and not helping your confidence.
    For what it's worth, the harness you're using at the min is no good at all for helping control a pulling dog. As others have suggested, a front-connecting harness should really help, but there are good ones and middling ones. Emmaline will advise you on this. You can also use a combo of front-connection harness and headcollar, and agree with Cocker1 that the Dogmatic is yer only man in this regard.
    I admire you for sticking with your dog op. You clearly want to do what you've got to do here, and indeed you have a lot of work ahead, but your enthusiasm and dedication is one of the important cornerstones of success :)

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,442 ✭✭✭Choc Chip

Hey OP, I really hope Emmaline gets back to you and you can arrange to see her soon.

You mentioned having a dog run out on top of you and your poor dog was attacked. That's not going to help him, even if he can't do damage with the muzzle on. If you live in a rural area where dogs are liable to run out of their gardens, is there somewhere you can take him to walk where that won't happen? A field, or a neighbour's field?

I was out today on our roads and had dogs run out on me 5 times in 90 minutes. Luckily mine are good with other dogs, but it's a situation that can easily go wrong and it's not going to help your stress levels at all. I'm not suggesting letting him off-lead in a field, just going somewhere that you're less likely to meet people / other dogs, where you can see them coming, have space to move away and can ask them to get a hold of their dogs before you get close.

Choc Chip wrote: »
    If you live in a rural area where dogs are liable to run out of their gardens, is there somewhere you can take him to walk where that won't happen? A field, or a neighbour's field?
    I'm not suggesting letting him off-lead in a field, just going somewhere that you're less likely to meet people / other dogs, where you can see them coming, have space to move away and can ask them to get a hold of their dogs before you get close.

I'd absolutely second this, at least until you get to see Emmaline or whoever you end up getting. This is a standard "first aid" step to take prior to getting help, simply to stop any repeat incidents, each of which is sending your dog's behaviour further down an unwanted path. It will also help prevent any further pressure from the dog warden.
    Even if you don't have access to private land, I'd be tiring him out playing fetch/scent games/scatter feeding/interactive toys in your garden, and if you've got to go out for walks, do so at quiet times. If you see a person coming, turn around and move away as soon as you can. This is just a temporary measure until you get help.
    Treating his unwanted behaviour requires a more nuanced approach than simply trying to stuff food into him when you see a person coming. The first steps are going to involve giving your dog some (maybe lots of?) distance from people, allowing him the space he needs to learn better coping skills with people far away, before attempting to allow any closer interactions/approaches. Otherwise, if he's too close to people too soon, he's getting too wound up to bother with food rewards, which leaves you powerless to teach him anything useful.

if im totally honest I think you are dealing with an arsehole of a warden which is not helping you either

technically your dog has done no harm dogs bark that's what they do he hasn't bitten anybody

do you have anybody that could walk with you to take the dogs space if he gets giddy

the ideal walking on a leash dog will be ever so slightly behind your inside leg with no extension of the leash

Warden told me it's only a matter of time before he bites someone.. I was in a right mess, bawling etc, I'm sure he thinks I am ill-equipped to ever handle my dog appropriately. He called the guards, said it was because I was so upset, guards spoke to me privately to make sure I was okay in myself. Told me that the warden cannot forcibly remove my dog, they were very calm and helpful with me. When they left, I went back over to the dog wardens in their van and they asked what the guards said. Told them they were just making sure I was okay, to get him a better collar & make sure he is properly secured in my garden so as to avoid another incident. Warden was like.. is that all? I said well, yes.. and that you can't forcibly remove him from my possession and explained to me the implications of another incident, or if he bit someone.. He seemed quite miffed that they didn't put pressure on me to sway toward surrendering the dog. I'm guessing he was expecting them to back him up in that regard.

No I've nobody to walk with me, unless I have a visitor, it's just me and the dog really.
    OP I’m still not understanding why the dog warden is involved at all?

We’re you reported?

Ok on his food .. move him off that food it’s pretty awful OP. Don’t feed wet either unless high quality.. as most of crap

https://www.allaboutdogfood.co.uk/dog-food-reviews/0099/eukanuba-growing-puppy-medium-breed

Move him to a high quality food or move him to RAW

You need to increase his exercise and mental stimulation

I have him on a tether out in my garden as it is not an enclosed garden, he got loose, I have been unwell so I did not notice he had gotten loose until wardens knocked on my door. When I opened the door they told me he was chasing cars and attacking people and trying to attack the wardens. At this stage I went into a panic as I thought he had actually attacked someone but it seems he only did his usual running up and barking. Apparently he was barking at my neighbor and her young daughter outside their house. Neighbor called the warden. It took me a while to get the dog back inside the house. He was just running around and barking at everyone on the road.

I thought Eukanuba was a good quality food. I started introducing raw food into his diet, minces etc. Vet told me Eukanuba was good and to keep him on it and stop giving mince, as he was having some allergy issues which turned out to be the trees in the garden.
    DBB wrote: »
    Good!
    I think the dog warden is being a bit unfair on you, and not helping your confidence.
    For what it's worth, the harness you're using at the min is no good at all for helping control a pulling dog. As others have suggested, a front-connecting harness should really help, but there are good ones and middling ones. Emmaline will advise you on this. You can also use a combo of front-connection harness and headcollar, and agree with Cocker1 that the Dogmatic is yer only man in this regard.
    I admire you for sticking with your dog op. You clearly want to do what you've got to do here, and indeed you have a lot of work ahead, but your enthusiasm and dedication is one of the important cornerstones of success :)

I put the K9 harness on him for more control, to hold onto if we come across people on our walks and he begins lunging, but I have been using the halti-head collar, but he drags his face along the ground with it on. I have to muzzle him as well in case he gets loose so I put the basket muzzle over the head collar. I know it's a lot going on but I just needed to make sure I can control him, and if he ever were to get out of my control he would be muzzled.. Is the dogmatic the same as a halti head collar? I'm looking up harnesses and a training lead now..

Thank you that means a lot.
    Choc Chip wrote: »
    Hey OP, I really hope Emmaline gets back to you and you can arrange to see her soon.

You mentioned having a dog run out on top of you and your poor dog was attacked. That's not going to help him, even if he can't do damage with the muzzle on. If you live in a rural area where dogs are liable to run out of their gardens, is there somewhere you can take him to walk where that won't happen? A field, or a neighbour's field?

I was out today on our roads and had dogs run out on me 5 times in 90 minutes. Luckily mine are good with other dogs, but it's a situation that can easily go wrong and it's not going to help your stress levels at all. I'm not suggesting letting him off-lead in a field, just going somewhere that you're less likely to meet people / other dogs, where you can see them coming, have space to move away and can ask them to get a hold of their dogs before you get close.

There's very little enclosed areas where we won't come across anyone else. Lots of cattle fields but I wouldn't let him loose near any farmers' livestock, as he tries to herd them. Last winter when the cattle weren't in the fields I felt more comfortable letting him off leash, but he's a lot bigger now. I am just afraid of letting him off now in case I can't get him back if we come across anyone. I've gotten to the stage now where I will only walk a certain short loop of the area as there's not as many people, but the roads are quite narrow, so if I do end up seeing someone coming towards us I walk the other way.

That was nice of the guards :)
    However, be aware that the wardens can fine you if your dog is running around not "under effectual control", and indeed could impound him whilst awaiting you to reclaim him. Make sure your microchip certificate and dog license are all in order. Don't give them any other route to come at you.
    The Dogmatic is a far better design than the Halti head collar. I've yet to meet a good dog trainer who likes the Halti headcollar! But, regardless of brand or design, you've got to go through a process of habituating your dog to happily wearing one. There should be videos on you tube that'll show you how to do this, slowly but surely.
    Use a long line attached to his K9 harness to allow him space to run around without giving him total freedom.
    I would have close to zero confidence that changing his food will make much difference to his problem behaviour tbh. Eukanuba ain't the best food out there, but it certainly ain't the worst either. By all means, look into a change of food at some stage if budget allows it, but it wouldn't be my top priority right now, for this problem.
    One step at a time op... The first things you need to do is prevent further escapes, prevent any more meetings with people, find alternative ways of exercising him for now, and get help!

Op the vet is incorrect it’s a poor quality food click on the link I provided and read for yourself - crap food will lead to poor behavior

Don’t mix nuts and raw meat .. commit to one or the other OP bit if stay o nuts please get a higher quality product

Google is your friend here - google the food read reviews for yourself please don’t reply just on what your vets says do your own research .. vets are not always correct

OP can I ask why you would get a big dog with no secure garden? Sounds like the dog is seriously lacking physical and mental stimulation to be honest

Regardless of what happens I wouldn’t be letting the dog warden near the dog when they are talking about putting him
    To sleep .. ridiculous he just needs training

Just to add .. OP if you decide to feed raw it’s not just mince .. you need to feed complete .. you’ll need to do your research on this too

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 267 ✭✭coathanger

Hi, a few suggestions for you , until Emmeline comes to see you both. I have used her & found her excellent.
    In the meantime, I would get a lunge lead , so he is on the lead, but he has freedom to run , speak to your local farmers, there may well be some fields free of livestock at this time.
    Also I would enclose the garden, it will cost you but it will be well worth it for your piece of mind & hopefully save repeat visits from the dog warden & guards.
    Also, maybe have a look at agility items for use in your own garden, he’s a very high energy dog , this may help to channel his energy & you can make your own agility items cheaply (I have done this )
    Finally food games, snuffle mats, treat balls, toilet roll food games. If you need any help with these, pm me, as I have made some dog games for my 3.

Hang in there, it will get easier.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 539 ✭✭✭bertsmom

Op easier said than done but do try not to stress. My dog was exactly as you describe a few years ago. He would just be so full of energy (Springer Spaniel).
    My dog also is reactive to other dogs in that when on a walk he lunges and barks. Its tempting to stay away from the world and keep him just in your house but thats never a good option it would drive him demented with boredom.
    I literally used to have to steel myself before walking him but now I dont overthink it. What I did was nutered him (not because of this just researched it) and now I walk him in my local park (where dogs are supposed to be on a lead but rarely are). I have him on a harness connected to a flexi lead and let him flex and sniff as we go. When I see a person approach I stand at the side and hold his harness firmly. I ask them to put a lead on their dog once they are within hearing distance and if they have one they usually oblige. I always say thanks as some people do seem to find it insulting. If they dont have a lead I just say "my dog is reactive to others so can you keep yours away please" again ya gotta smile and thank or they get huffy!
    If its a person approaching with no dog if my dog was reacting id just smile and reassure them with "he will bark but dont worry I'll hold onto him" or something.
    No my dog is older its all much calmer but I know its very stressful at the time but you just got to build your confidence and its very positive to get the trainer that people on thread have recommended.
    Just one thing please if you do think it cant work out its not doable for ye please please reach out to a rehoming rescue NOT the dog warden. I kno of a rescue here in Galway that are very good and id say there are many more around the country.
    Chin up and good luck just remember though if you have a reactive dog you HAVE to be a proactive owner for both your sakes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,688 ✭✭✭VonVix

I'm a big fan of this harness, it clips on the side rather than the front. I have found it most effective personally speaking, mainly as the front clips I have come across tend to shift around on the chest. https://www.amazon.co.uk/Ancol-Pure-Dog-Listeners-Training/dp/B005QLZHII/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1539814533&sr=8-1&keywords=side+pull+harness I have not really seen anyone mention this type of harness before in general no-pull harness recommendations, hopefully there isn't a reason for that, but if there is I'd love to know lol!

[Dog Training + Behaviour Nerd]

VonVix wrote: »
    I'm a big fan of this harness, it clips on the side rather than the front. I have found it most effective personally speaking, mainly as the front clips I have come across tend to shift around on the chest. https://www.amazon.co.uk/Ancol-Pure-Dog-Listeners-Training/dp/B005QLZHII/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1539814533&sr=8-1&keywords=side+pull+harness I have not really seen anyone mention this type of harness before in general no-pull harness recommendations, hopefully there isn't a reason for that, but if there is I'd love to know lol!

Heh heh.... Had a nerd-level discussion about these lately. Reviews were very mixed!
    But! I've always found that all brands suit some dogs... What works great on many dogs doesn't work/fit well on some... And other harnesses that seem average on most dogs work great on some!
    Like a lot of things, there's no one-type-fits-all with harnesses!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 945 ✭✭✭Always Tired

Just read that you have him tied up in the garden. That is at the root of the problem. Dogs left like this are miserable and often become aggressive and territorial. For any dog to be left alone like this is pretty much the worst punishment you can give. For a puppy it is pretty much the worst thing you can do socialization-wise.

And he's not neutered, either?

I'm actually surprised people don't see how right the dog warden is. The dog is tied up alone all day and ignored to the point he can break free and terrorize the neighborhood without the owner even noticing. You have to be responsible for your dog even if you are unwell, if you're too unwell to mind him then you need to arrange someone else to mind him.

You say the dog is your whole life but he's left tied up instead of being with you, his family. That doesn't wash for me. His behavior has nothing to do with his food, that's ridiculous. It's because he's tied up and not being sociaized or trained, and can't be happy that way.

I know you don't want the dog put to sleep. But if he's able to break free from his chain (which he will always want to do because he is so miserable being on it) he could easily meet a very painful death beneath the wheels of a car.

You must take him off that rope. Any trainer you contact will tell you that first off, and if they are really honest they'll tell you it's a waste of money to try and train him if he's gonna be tied up. I've never seen a chained up dog that doesn't have behavior issues, though often the owner thinks it's fine. Because the dog is left outside they don't notice/care.

Just read that you have him tied up in the garden. That is at the root of the problem. Dogs left like this are miserable and often become aggressive and territorial. For any dog to be left alone like this is pretty much the worst punishment you can give. For a puppy it is pretty much the worst thing you can do socialization-wise.

And he's not neutered, either?

I'm actually surprised people don't see how right the dog warden is. The dog is tied up alone all day and ignored to the point he can break free and terrorize the neighborhood without the owner even noticing. You have to be responsible for your dog even if you are unwell, if you're too unwell to mind him then you need to arrange someone else to mind him.

You say the dog is your whole life but he's left tied up instead of being with you, his family. That doesn't wash for me. His behavior has nothing to do with his food, that's ridiculous. It's because he's tied up and not being sociaized or trained, and can't be happy that way.

I know you don't want the dog put to sleep. But if he's able to break free from his chain (which he will always want to do because he is so miserable being on it) he could easily meet a very painful death beneath the wheels of a car.

You must take him off that rope. Any trainer you contact will tell you that first off, and if they are really honest they'll tell you it's a waste of money to try and train him if he's gonna be tied up. I've never seen a chained up dog that doesn't have behavior issues, though often the owner thinks it's fine. Because the dog is left outside they don't notice/care.

He is only out on the tether for a couple hours throughout the day. He isn't left out and ignored all day. He is in with me more than he is out. No I have no one to look after him if I am unwell, if I did I would do it. You are mistaken if you think I am one of those people who leave their dog chained in a garden their entire life. The neighbours dog comes over to play with him so he wants to be out waiting for her, or going to the toilet or rambling about playing. Do you not let your dog out in your garden ever? I am sorry that it doesnt wash with you but you are ill informed. I understand today was my fault I should have been appropriately supervising, I know that. Im looking for advice moving forward and you just seem to want to have a go.

Again, thanks to everyone else for the support and advice yee have given me. I am so grateful.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,324 ✭✭✭Tilikum17

The puppy was clearly never socialised. I have two dogs. One I got about 3 years ago. Never socialised. He’s 10 now & can’t be let off lead near another dog as he just bolts for them. He never bit but he barks running up to them which obviously could frighten an owner. I have a 6month old staffy. He goes to puppy day care 2-3 times a week. He is incredible with other dogs. Uses up all his energy in there.

How often do you walk the dog?

I would get a trainer. Send him to puppy day care. Spread his food out around the back garden which will teach him to use his nose & occupy his mind for 30mins. Rather than him scoffing in down from a bowl in 15 secs.

OP I use both of these .. and no the harness will no help your dog right now

You’ve already been advised a harness isn’t what he needs - gives more leverage to pull

The dog magic head collar will stop all pulling

OP I use both of these .. and no the harness will no help your dog right now

You’ve already been advised a harness isn’t what he needs - gives more leverage to pull

The dog magic head collar will stop all pulling

Multiple people have advised op try a front-connection harness, which is entirely appropriate and would be the majority of certified trainers' first port of call before opting for a headcollar, (a) because the front-connection harness works great on most pulling dogs, and (b) there is no process of habituation to go through, which makes life easier for everyone.
    The harness the op linked to is one of the more readily available front connection harnesses. The whole idea behind the front connection is that it significantly reduces the dog's leverage to pull.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,555 ✭✭✭Ave Sodalis

neveah123 wrote:
    No he's not neutered, I have no way of getting him to a vet... God I sound so irresponsible having him..

Just on this, there's a page on Facebook called Ferry Dogmothers that organise lift for dogs. Usually they're rescue dogs, but I've seen them organise a few lifts for vet visits too. It might be worth explaining your situation to them and seeing if they can help you get to a vet?

My last dog was a barker and if she got out of my garden she would run barking at people - she was a collie lurcher mix and the barking was excitement and not aggressive at all.

It didn't happen often but the dog warden called to the house one day as I had been reported. He gave me a warning and said he would take the dog to be destroyed (his words) if he was called again - I was so angry and explained she has never but or attacked anybody. He said that if people feel afraid he has the right to take the dog.
    I was shocked - she didn't get out again.

I live in the county and have a husky - we have a large garden so I got my girl a long (30metre) lead that she used when she wanted to sit in the garden outside the kitchen (the back of the garden is secure but not accessible when you are in the kitchen)... she loved it and always wanted to go out that side even though she knew she would be on the chain.

I have now had the front of the garden secured so she cannot get out. It just took time and a good bit of money. It is unfair to judge the op on tying her dog when it wants to be outside - she didn't say it is out all day.

Didn't actually see that when I first read the OP post that the dog was being left tied outside for periods of time.
    Op to be brutally honest it really doesn't sound like this is a good time in life for you to have ANY dog. Would you consider rehoming him?
    If you can't get him to a vet for simple neuturing what happens if he needs to go for health problems? If you are unwell maby you need to focus more on becoming well and let the dog go to be properly socialised and get the exercise and play time he needs with someone that can give him all this.
    I really am not having a go at you, I can see you are in knots but I think that a one year old dog has a much better chance of being socialised and finding a good home than a four year old with dog with problems.
    Please consider REHOMING but not with the dog warden.

I don't want to say too much OP as there is already so much info here and I don't want to confuse you. I think the main thing is to get hold of Emmaline. You obviously want to make this work with your dog and she's the one that can help you do that. I don't think you need to consider rehoming just yet.

What I really wanted to add is that a lot of people think neuturing will solve or reduce aggressive tendencies in dogs but thats not always the case. You have to understand where the aggression is coming from because if it's coming from a place of nervousness and fear then neuturing can actually make that worse. Emmaline should be able to help you figure that out.

My own vet warned me of this when I was getting my nervous terrier neutured but I went ahead anyway because it was an adoption requirement. I realise my mistake now of course as he got quite a lot worse after.

Just on this, there's a page on Facebook called Ferry Dogmothers that organise lift for dogs. Usually they're rescue dogs, but I've seen them organise a few lifts for vet visits too. It might be worth explaining your situation to them and seeing if they can help you get to a vet?

Wow thank you so much! That is very helpful, thank you.
    My last dog was a barker and if she got out of my garden she would run barking at people - she was a collie lurcher mix and the barking was excitement and not aggressive at all.

It didn't happen often but the dog warden called to the house one day as I had been reported. He gave me a warning and said he would take the dog to be destroyed (his words) if he was called again - I was so angry and explained she has never but or attacked anybody. He said that if people feel afraid he has the right to take the dog.
    I was shocked - she didn't get out again.

I live in the county and have a husky - we have a large garden so I got my girl a long (30metre) lead that she used when she wanted to sit in the garden outside the kitchen (the back of the garden is secure but not accessible when you are in the kitchen)... she loved it and always wanted to go out that side even though she knew she would be on the chain.

I have now had the front of the garden secured so she cannot get out. It just took time and a good bit of money. It is unfair to judge the op on tying her dog when it wants to be outside - she didn't say it is out all day.

See in my eyes I don't see his barking behavior as aggressive because I know him, I would obviously not like to take any chances and realize this behavior needs to be corrected, but I think it's excitement as well, thought for a while it could be that he is possibly trying to herd the people he sees, cars etc. as he seems to be more of a collie than a lab.

That's exactly what I have, I didn't think I gave the impression my dog was chained up out the back and ignored his whole life. He's absolutely spoilt rotten and is always with me, and I am beginning to realize that could be part of the problem now too, I need to be more firm and assertive with him, and not allow him to be the boss.
    bertsmom wrote: »
    Didn't actually see that when I first read the OP post that the dog was being left tied outside for periods of time.
    Op to be brutally honest it really doesn't sound like this is a good time in life for you to have ANY dog. Would you consider rehoming him?
    If you can't get him to a vet for simple neuturing what happens if he needs to go for health problems? If you are unwell maby you need to focus more on becoming well and let the dog go to be properly socialised and get the exercise and play time he needs with someone that can give him all this.
    I really am not having a go at you, I can see you are in knots but I think that a one year old dog has a much better chance of being socialised and finding a good home than a four year old with dog with problems.
    Please consider REHOMING but not with the dog warden.

It would absolutely break my heart to rehome him, and run the risk of him being pts at some stage and I wouldn't know. I understand I don't have the means to facilitate these appointments but if it was a medical emergency I would literally do everything I could to get him to a vet, even if I had to carry him there myself. My dog has helped me with my illness in more ways than I could tell you, I love and need him & I will do anything I can to keep him happy, healthy and out of trouble. I'm doing the best I can with what I've got. Even this whole process is helping me become more determined and confident within myself, I realize I have to change my ways in order to help him change his. I've been thinking a lot and I know I need to change too, and I will do it. Thank you, and yes if it really did come down to that I would definitely not be handing him over to the dog warden.
    I don't want to say too much OP as there is already so much info here and I don't want to confuse you. I think the main thing is to get hold of Emmaline. You obviously want to make this work with your dog and she's the one that can help you do that. I don't think you need to consider rehoming just yet.

What I really wanted to add is that a lot of people think neuturing will solve or reduce aggressive tendencies in dogs but thats not always the case. You have to understand where the aggression is coming from because if it's coming from a place of nervousness and fear then neuturing can actually make that worse. Emmaline should be able to help you figure that out.

My own vet warned me of this when I was getting my nervous terrier neutured but I went ahead anyway because it was an adoption requirement. I realise my mistake now of course as he got quite a lot worse after.

Emmaline called me today and I have organised to meet her next week. I'm definitely more confident now about getting us to where we need to be, so surrendering/rehoming is out of the question for me.

And yes, I see where you're coming from because I have thought of that myself. I wouldn't have him fixed until I knew he was comfortable and happy enough around other people, I wouldn't want to add to any of his insecurity or fear.

Emmaline called me today and I have organised to meet her next week.

Ah I'm absolutely delighted to read this update! The best thing you can do now Neveah is stop fretting about the past. Things will only get better from here now that you've enlisted the right kind of help. Good luck!

OP I can totally see you are doing the best you can with what you've got. I really don't mean to offend you.
    The very fact you are on here looking for advice (and following up on it) is testament to that.
    I wish you the best of luck and I hope ye both have a long and happy life together. Hope something really positive comes from your sessions with Emmaline and fair play for asking for help and not letting yourself get snowed under. Best wishes