Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Online fund it appeal for Irish man drowned off Brighton Pier during storm Callum

• 15-10-2018 5:17pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 904 ✭✭✭

On Friday night a man was swept from the Palace Pier. He was seen clinging to girders before being washed away and is feared drowned.

An air-sea rescue operation was launched but called off two hours later as conditions worsened.

A Coastguard helicopter and lifeboats from Shoreham and Newhaven were directed to the scene in 70mph winds. Sea conditions were so poor the Brighton inshore lifeboat could not be launched.

Despite frantic rescue efforts involving more than 50 people, only a pair of trainers were recovered.

Eyewitness Steven Reader, 17, from Doncaster, said: "We heard a scream and saw him go over. He was caught by a gust and didn't stand a chance."

Mr Banks, 33, and two pier security guards attempted a rescue from an inspection gantry under the pier.

He said: "We threw him a line with a torch tied to the end to weigh it but the wind kept taking it away."

Seconds later, the man was washed into the sea as they watched helplessly.

Mr Banks continued: "We saw him in the water bobbing up and down and he was still alive at that point.

"We had sight of him for maybe a minute and a half before he started to drift out and disappeared."

Nick Halford, deputy manager of the Palace Pier, denied the man had been blown off the pier and said there were no plans to close the attraction during stormy weather.

He said: "I don't believe the weather has been bad enough to think about closing the pier. It's something we look at on a day-to-day basis."

https://www.justgiving.com/crowdfunding/dooley?utm_id=106&utm_term=R7Ar5vwaY

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 904 ✭✭✭pure.conya

The man has no family to help repatriate the body to Tullamore. He had a young son in his early 20's that's just had a newborn baby so he's not able to carry it all on his own. Donations are gratefully recieved by his friends, work colleagues and those that knew him who are all doing what they can to bring Davey home.

Donations are coming in slow but steady, thanks to anybody on boards that's donated to get this Irish man repatriatrd asap x

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,149 ✭✭✭Allinall

What are they repatriating?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,300 ✭✭✭✭razorblunt

I don't mean to be crude but has the body been found?
    Would the Govt not step in to help repatriate his body?

RIP, by the way.

razorblunt wrote: »
    I don't mean to be crude but has the body been found?
    Would the Govt not step in to help repatriate his body?

RIP, by the way.

the OP sounds like almost false news it is so different to what appears to have happened.

It seems he was washed to sea from the beach and recovered about thirty minutes later by the lifeboat. Unfortunately he was pronounced dead when they returned to Brighton marina.

https://www.theargus.co.uk/news/16981955.man-drowns-near-brighton-palace-pier/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 325 ✭✭M.Cribben

Is the OP trying to pull a pure con, ya?

• Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 25,948 Mod ✭✭✭✭Neyite

The Kevin Bell Repatriation Trust is a charity who bring remains home from abroad for families. They should be able to sort out the red tape involved and the money raised could be donated to them for future repatriations.

I know of two cases personally that they assisted the family in, and they are amazing.

Allinall wrote: »
    What are they repatriating?

His body obviously

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,474 ✭✭✭Obvious Desperate Breakfasts

Neyite wrote: »
    The Kevin Bell Repatriation Trust is a charity who bring remains home from abroad for families. They should be able to sort out the red tape involved and the money raised could be donated to them for future repatriations.

I know of two cases personally that they assisted the family in, and they are amazing.

Yeah, they are brilliant. I sadly know a young person whose body was repatriated from the antipodes recently with the help of that charity. OP, they’re your guys!

M.Cribben wrote: »
    Is the OP trying to pull a pure con, ya?

I wish it was a con job but unfortunately our mate drowned and that's on top of 2 friends suicides and a family bereavement in 3 days last week, it sucks big time but I'm getting thru it :(

Neyite wrote: »

I've passed this info onto his best mate who's trying to do his best organising what he can, thanks x

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,143 ✭✭✭misstearheus

Get onto the Kevin Bell Trust those are the people that ya need.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,465 ✭✭✭✭GreeBo

Why was he on a pier in 70mph winds?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 5,106 ✭✭✭PlaneSpeeking

GreeBo wrote: »

You ever been to Brighton Pier ?

There are roads in Dublin that are nearer to the water. Would you blame someone killed there by saying "what was he doing by the Point in 70mph winds ?"

Lay off the victim blaming eh ?

Kicked in a bob or two OP. Condolences.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,783 ✭✭✭GoneHome

At 2 am !!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,900 ✭✭✭✭Riskymove

he wasn't actually on the pier, he was on the beach

I think we all have a good idea as to why..... but it doesn't really matter does it? He is dead and the family need to try and arrange repatriation

Kicked in a bob or two OP. Condolences.

Thanks so much, peoples generosity is truly gracefully recieved, it's looking like we'll get his body home early Nov so as most can appreciate its a long time to have to wait to bury your Dad/friend, thanks from everybody that ever met Davey as he really was such a great guy, a talented musician, doting father and grandfather, always smiling and there for his family/friends <3

There are roads in Dublin that are nearer to the water. Would you blame someone killed there by saying "what was he doing by the Point in 70mph winds ?"
    Ehh...yes I would.
    Thats why we have weather warnings.

I'll blame the "victim" as he was a victim of his own stupidity.

Spare a thought for the emergency services who had to risk their lives to try to save this "victim", maybe throw a few bob their way.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,979 ✭✭✭Eddie B

Ehh...yes I would.
    Thats why we have weather warnings.

I'll blame the "victim" as he was a victim of his own stupidity.

Spare a thought for the emergency services who had to risk their lives to try to save this "victim", maybe throw a few bob their way.

Jesus, there's always one hateful idiot, needs to have something to say. Stupidity! You'd know all about that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73,544 ✭✭✭✭colm_mcm

After Hours plumbs new depths..

colm_mcm wrote: »
    After Hours plumbs new depths..

I can't believe you sunk to such callous puns.

Eddie B wrote: »
    Jesus, there's always one hateful idiot, needs to have something to say. Stupidity! You'd know all about that.

Without resorting to personal attacks, why don't you enlighten me as to what he was a victim of so? Brexit perhaps?

It would be very hard enlighten the likes of you. The man had a fall and was caught by a wave, and pulled out to sea. There was over fifty people at the scene, when the incident occurred. He was one of the nicest people you could ever meet. Never had a bad word to say about anyone. Would raise everyone's spirits, and not the opposite.None judgemental, and certainly wouldn't see himself as superior to others.

So what's your story then?

This thread was started to try help bring Dave home. If you want to be helpful then please donate. If not, and you'd rather talk about wether he was a victin or not, then kindly start a new thread on the subject. I'm sure you won't knock as much Craic out of it as here, but entertained none the less.

Half way there <3

It's looking like we'll get Daveys body home to Tullamore early Nov sometime <3

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,220 ✭✭✭jiltloop

Some people just need to be banned from the internet, seriously. :mad:

pure.conya wrote: »
    It's looking like we'll get Daveys body home to Tullamore early Nov sometime <3

That's great news. Thanks to all his friends over in the UK for organising everything, and to all that donated, to help bring Dave home.

Eddie B wrote: »
    That's great news. Thanks to all his friends over in the UK for organising everything, and to all that donated, to help bring Dave home.

Ya it's heartening to see the generosity of friends and strangers

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 5,106 ✭✭✭PlaneSpeeking

pure.conya wrote: »
    Ya it's heartening to see the generosity of friends and strangers

If we can't look after our own in bad times, it's a bad state of affairs alright.

That's it brother <3