Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

8 x 5 livestock box

• 13-10-2018 6:49am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,005 ✭✭✭

I’m the market for a new trailer. Looked at a Murphy’s (Kerry) livestock trailer. They look as if they’d be a very easy tow with a car. Not too tall behind it. Any opinions on them ? Would only be using them with sheep.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 367 ✭✭farming93

I have the exact one I pull it on a 1.9 l golf I could fit 13 ewes around the 70kg weight in it ,and pull it with ease . I bought mine from a crowd in bunclody.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,244 ✭✭✭sea12

farming93 wrote: »
    I have the exact one I pull it on a 1.9 l golf I could fit 13 ewes around the 70kg weight in it ,and pull it with ease . I bought mine from a crowd in bunclody.

I have the Ifor williams 8x5 double decks and put it behind the car. Lovely trailer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,147 ✭✭✭Hard Knocks

sea12 wrote: »
    I have the Ifor williams 8x5 double decks and put it behind the car. Lovely trailer.

How much sheep can you carry in it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,005 ✭✭✭Green farmer

farming93 wrote: »

I’m had a few different ifors down the years, but was impressed how compact the murphy trailer was. Just looking for the easiest pulled but still well built trailer I can get.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,244 ✭✭✭sea12

How much sheep can you carry in it?

About 35 ewe lambs and about 24 Hoggets

Anyone try the decks in Murphy’s ? Do the sheep run up it easily ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,458 ✭✭✭hopeso

Would something like this be a good option for towing behind a car? They come in 10 and 12 foot versions too... Getting in to clean them would be a bit awkward, though....

https://www.donedeal.ie/trailers-for-sale/2018-ifor-williams-ta5-8x5-4-hr-livestock-trailer/17921262

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 1,916 Mod ✭✭✭✭Albert Johnson

Those half height type trailers look the business and are bound to be much more aerodynamic than a conventional cattle trailer.
    Despite this I'm of the opinion that a normal full height trailer would be a better option for most lads.
    Being only that height limits there use to sheep or calves, I use my cattle trailer to transport different bits and pieces as well as livestock. This could also limit the trade in value down the line compared to a standard trailer.
    I'd also imagine that only small quantities of these types are sold annually, therefore second hand versions could be very hard to source. Buying new would probably mean spending the price of a conventional trailer as most of the material costs would be the same.
    I have a 12×6 full height trailer with decks and find that loading and unloading the decks can be a pain. Crawling on your hands and knees to push sheep in and out is bad enough occasionally but would be a nightmare for me fulltime. Perhaps a good dog would alleviate the problem for some.
    I think an 8×5 with fold up decks would be a far more versatile tool than a 10 or 12 foot version of the above.

I looked at the low roof trailers and was tempted alright. But wouldn’t be able to do the other odd jobs with one. Narrowing down field of trailers alright. Trying to avoid the heavily pulled ones. All a balancing act. No perfect one hat fits all trailer out there.

If it's only for sheep, an Ifor Williams general purpose trailer with the optional mesh sides and loading ramp might work? It would be a lot lighter than a livestock trailer, and have practically no wind drag......

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,820 ✭✭✭kk.man

I’m the market for a new trailer. Looked at a Murphy’s (Kerry) livestock trailer. They look as if they’d be a very easy tow with a car. Not too tall behind it. Any opinions on them ? Would only be using them with sheep.
    Bought a second hand ifor last year. Cost me 2k but I sold my airlight for good money. The 8x5 has aluminium floor with decks and wooden back over ramp. I went for this model as I believe it lighter to tow than the newer ones. I have never looked back and it carried 3 fr bullocks 420kgs one day from the mart. Absolutely delighted with it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,985 ✭✭✭Dickie10

bought a 8 x5 double deck ifor williams two years ago off westwood in Naas. around 5900. great trailer i use for sheep 90 % of time. buy a brand new trailer its only job for peace of mind

Dickie10 wrote: »
    bought a 8 x5 double deck ifor williams two years ago off westwood in Naas. around 5900. great trailer i use for sheep 90 % of time. buy a brand new trailer its only job for peace of mind

Absolutely fine trailer. I’m a big ifor fan. Only downside of the ifors is the decks can only be factory fitted when new. Some of the competitors can after fit the decks a year or two down the road if you needed them. Depends on the towing vehicle as well. A double deck of lambs plus trailer will come in around 2Tonne, which is too much for my car .

hopeso wrote: »
    If it's only for sheep, an Ifor Williams general purpose trailer with the optional mesh sides and loading ramp might work? It would be a lot lighter than a livestock trailer, and have practically no wind drag......

Was thinking about that as well. I priced up a nugent with cage /ramp / loading gates. There’s only around a grand in the difference between that and a dedicated livestock trailer. For something you’d keep for years thought the livestock trailer was the way to go. But look, if you gave 10 farmers the choice of 10 difference trailers, I’m sure you could get 10 different answers !!! So it’s just all a personal choice really. No right or wrong answer

There's no simple answer.... But, for ease of pulling behind a car, the general purpose trailer would win hands down.
    As for purpose built livestock trailers, the Ifor Williams would be about the easiest pulled. But, what kills a car is pulling the height of the trailer into the wind. I think they're all built to 6' internal height now. If you're going for the livestock trailer, get one with an opening flap at the front, to let at least some of the airflow through.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,985 ✭✭✭Dickie10

my old passat was bet from pulling trailers so i wasnt buying a new car and dogging it pulling trailers. i would be headed to feed mill every fortnight or so for 1.5 ton of meal from about July - March between finshing cattle , weanlings and store lamb/sheep meal so went down route of a jeep, we probarbly should have had one years before. picked up a 97 land cruiser prado for 1500, tax was 333 and insurance 300. passed MOT the last two years , spent about 200 on it before MOT

Dickie10 wrote: »
    my old passat was bet from pulling trailers so i wasnt buying a new car and dogging it pulling trailers. i would be headed to feed mill every fortnight or so for 1.5 ton of meal from about July - March between finshing cattle , weanlings and store lamb/sheep meal so went down route of a jeep, we probarbly should have had one years before. picked up a 97 land cruiser prado for 1500, tax was 333 and insurance 300. passed MOT the last two years , spent about 200 on it before MOT

Ah fair enough. Every case is different. My circumstances mean I’ll only be towing lambs into a light trailer. I plan to stick about 1/3 or 1/2 a tonne under the towing capacity of the car, without hopefully doing any damage. If I had cattle, I’m sure I’d be thinking differently. would be looking at the options of a Jeep, as their the only things able to cope with serious weight.

After looking at low roof, single axel and double axel trailers out there, ended up buying an ifor regular 8x5 ifor with front flap. Felt it most suited all the various jobs and number of lambs I need to carry. Much appreciated for everyone’s help. Thanks !!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,820 ✭✭✭kk.man

After looking at low roof, single axel and double axel trailers out there, ended up buying an ifor regular 8x5 ifor with front flap. Felt it most suited all the various jobs and number of lambs I need to carry. Much appreciated for everyone’s help. Thanks !!!
    Very good Green. The bigger box has more uses alright like bringing lengths of timber etc. If you went with the flap it must be new?
    Just mind it like a hawk they are well sought after by criminals.

Well wear.... You won't regret buying an Ifor!

Thanks lads !!!

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 1,916 Mod ✭✭✭✭Albert Johnson

hopeso wrote: »
    Well wear.... You won't regret buying an Ifor!

I second the well wear but I'm afraid we'd differ on regreting buying an Ifor Williams. In the OPs case a few lambs won't be too severe on it but I wouldn't rate Ifor's build quality.
    There only a sheep trailer in my opinion, the frame isn't up to hauling heavy cattle. The sides bulge out and the floor members sag. This becomes apparent when you try to put in the runners for the decks in a trailer used mostly for cattle. The whole frame warps out of square, the few times I've seen decks to fail and collapse have all been Ifor Williams, I'm convinced it's due to the sides of the trailer flexing and the cross members becoming loose.
    I also feel the fixtures and finish of the trailer leave a lot to be desired. The latches on the dividing gate are more suited to the door of a chicken coup than restraining heavy cattle. The dividing gate as well as the loading gates are also not up to the job as the steel just isn't in them.
    Ifor Williams are undoubtedly immensely popular and the price both new and second hand reflects this. I believe that for anything above occasional work with sheep an Ifor Williams is like using a bra strap in place of a chain. Thus I wouldn't invest in one due to the reasons above, I wish the OP good luck with his purchase and hope it serves him well for many years to come.