Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Passed test, new licence is wrong, back on provisional

• 09-10-2018 11:34am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 466 ✭✭

Got my license a few days ago and have just realised the DOB is hugely wrong.

I've rang the NDLS who want me to post my license into them and I should get a new license in the next 2 weeks. So now I'm back on my provisional?

Quite pissed about this because if i didn't ring them:
    I have no valid insurance as the license is not me (wrong DOB)
    Technically if a garda stops me I'm not the actual person (mistake in the license)
    I got told over the phone it's valid to drive, which is BS.
    This might be a rant yes, but I can't really drive now for two weeks due to their mistake. Is there any where I can complain about this or just though ****?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,101 ✭✭✭Rulmeq

moloner4 wrote: »
    I got told over the phone it's valid to drive, which is BS.
    When I last renewed my licence, I got one of the first credit card sized ones, so because it was novel, I guess lots of people were getting them for funzies or whatever, so the wait was nearly 3 months.

They kept saying, I'd be grand, drive on, no problem what-so-ever. Except when I asked what do I do if I'm stopped by the Gardai, and asked to produce... Never got a proper answer out of them.

As it happens I didn't get stopped, so I guess I'm not much help to you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 743 ✭✭✭KeithTS

Can you get them to issue you a letter stating you passed and you're waiting o your license?

If stopped surely that will suffice if it's like the official cert you get when you pass the test?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 466 ✭✭vg88

KeithTS wrote: »
    Can you get them to issue you a letter stating you passed and you're waiting o your license?

If stopped surely that will suffice if it's like the official cert you get when you pass the test?

Got told i need a valid licence on me to drive, but got told it's up to the garda on duty...

Rulmeq wrote: »
    When I last renewed my licence, I got one of the first credit card sized ones, so because it was novel, I guess lots of people were getting them for funzies or whatever, so the wait was nearly 3 months.

They kept saying, I'd be grand, drive on, no problem what-so-ever. Except when I asked what do I do if I'm stopped by the Gardai, and asked to produce... Never got a proper answer out of them.

As it happens I didn't get stopped, so I guess I'm not much help to you.

It felt like they wanted to say you'll be grand, just don't get caught....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,253 ✭✭✭witchgirl26

OP - do you have a copy of the cert showing you passed your test? If so, then you can produce this if stopped by a Garda and note that you are waiting on your full licence to be delivered. It's not fully correct but most will understand. Also - what did you do when you were originally waiting for your new licence? Just do the same. It doesn't have to be a big issue.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,190 ✭✭✭✭Sleeper12

You were issued with a full driving licence. This is valid. As a matter of fact I don't see how the learner permit is valid now that you have been issued with a full licence.

They did not revoke the license. All they are doing is correcting the dob. Your licence is valid. If you lost your licence & had to get a replacement you still have a valid licence while you are waiting for the replacement.

OP - do you have a copy of the cert showing you passed your test? If so, then you can produce this if stopped by a Garda and note that you are waiting on your full licence to be delivered. It's not fully correct but most will understand. Also - what did you do when you were originally waiting for your new licence? Just do the same. It doesn't have to be a big issue.

I'll try to ring insurance and see if they'll let me drive with wrong dob, if so that's the plan.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,041 ✭✭✭✭Wishbone Ash

Sleeper12 is correct. Your licence has a unique number assigned to you. That's what is important - not the physical licence. There's no way any Garda would pursue this. There's a massive difference between not physically having a driving licence and never having had a driving licence in the first place.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,795 ✭✭✭Isambard

Sleeper12 wrote: »
    You were issued with a full driving licence. This is valid. As a matter of fact I don't see how the learner permit is valid now that you have been issued with a full licence.

They did not revoke the license. All they are doing is correcting the dob. Your licence is valid. If you lost your licence & had to get a replacement you still have a valid licence while you are waiting for the replacement.

this . Your license is still valid just you don't have it on your person. It's just a hard record of what the computer says you are licensed for

OP - just to add that returning your licence because of an incorrect DOB, is no different than returning it because of a change of address or to have another category/categories added after passing a further test/tests. It happens all the time. don't worry about it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,063 ✭✭✭UrbanFret

How will the guard know what your date of birth is anyway. You're stressing over nothing . If you are stopped you have x number of days to produce it. Nothing to worry about

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,465 ✭✭✭✭cantdecide

You have been issued your full entitlements. Copy the licence before returning it. It's very unprofessional but it happens all the time. Strictly speaking anyone that has a licence stolen or lost and drives without a licence on their person is breaking the law but funnily enough you never hear about the courts being filled with people being boned over silly technicalities. The law is full of conflicts which the guards counteract with some common sense. Just go with it. You're nearly there.

I'll try to ring insurance and see if they'll let me drive with wrong dob, if so that's the plan.

I'm not saying keep the licence at all. The DOB is wrong so the licence is wrong. But like others have said, it's like getting a change of address done. You have to send back your licence for that but it doesn't mean you don't have one. You don't need to contact your insurance at all.

You're overthinking this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 148 ✭✭Fieldsman

Moloner I think I know whats wrong. You might be a bit too exact or too fussy

Fieldsman wrote: »
    Moloner I think I know whats wrong. You might be a bit too exact or too fussy

No I'm not.i rang the insurer and they said I'm not insurered until it's the correct DOB. They'll only accept my full licence when it matches the details from the provisional.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,190 ✭✭✭✭Sleeper12

No I'm not.i rang the insurer and they said I'm not insurered until it's the correct DOB. They'll only accept my full licence when it matches the details from the provisional.

I think your learners permit is void now that you have a full license. I could be wrong but I dont see how you can have both valid at the same time.

For what it's worth the turnaround time is usually pretty good. If you posted it back yesterday you could have the amended license by Firday or Monday

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 440 ✭✭Boxcar_Willie

We're you not asked to surrender your learner permit when you applied for a driving licence ?

So per their system, you may not be as a full licenced driver until they've gotten the updated licence but surely they'll still cover you if you meet the criteria of the learners permit?

Went to ndls centre, applied for a new license as i didn't want to send it by post. Bizzare part is i get a new license in 8 days, but they didn't take the older wrong one.

Insurer this afternoon said until i physically have the correct license i can't drive, while ndls said it wasn't an issue...

So per their system, you may not be as a full licenced driver until they've gotten the updated licence but surely they'll still cover you if you meet the criteria of the learners permit?

Thats what i got over the phone , so techinally i need someone to still travel with me.

We're you not asked to surrender your learner permit when you applied for a driving licence ?
    I still have various provisional licences from different categories. I was never asked to surrender them. (May have changed in recent years).

Thats what i got over the phone , so techinally i need someone to still travel with me.

Is that really a big issue though until your full licence is sorted? I mean yeah it's a bit annoying all right but it's hardly the end of the world for 2 weeks. You've presumably been doing that for at least 6 months so the extra won't make a mad difference.

Mistakes happen - they completely messed up the spelling of my address on my licence when I switched the the card format. And while it's annoying that you have to send it back and get everything sorted, if you let things like that really get to you, it's just not good for your own mental health.

Is that really a big issue though until your full licence is sorted? I mean yeah it's a bit annoying all right but it's hardly the end of the world for 2 weeks. You've presumably been doing that for at least 6 months so the extra won't make a mad difference.

Mistakes happen - they completely messed up the spelling of my address on my licence when I switched the the card format. And while it's annoying that you have to send it back and get everything sorted, if you let things like that really get to you, it's just not good for your own mental health.

Just wanted to know if i could or couldn't drive, as in the op i said it's a bit of a rant.

I get two licenses now so I'm happy :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,279 ✭✭✭TheRiverman

Common sense would say that your date of birth should be corrected immediately while you wait at the NDLS,but unfortunately common sense is not common at all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,641 ✭✭✭✭ohnonotgmail

Common sense would say that your date of birth should be corrected immediately while you wait at the NDLS,but unfortunately common sense is not common at all.

They dont have the facility to print licences at the NDLS centers. the printing is done centrally.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,561 ✭✭✭con___manx1

I lost my licenece before and got stopped by the gardai. Didnt get a new one before the 10 days and ended up in court over it. I went to the gardan station the garda said i can see here on the system that you have a licence but unfortunatly you didnt produce it. Dirt bag.

Exactly. The NDLS said I shouldn't worry about this when they wanted me to post in my license but I knew it was a load of BS.