Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Crash advice needed please

• 08-10-2018 8:18pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,086 ✭✭✭

Hi all, I seek the wisdom of the divine, all knowing poster of the motors forum.

grovel grovel

basically, a neighbour has come home drunk, run his car up on my gate-post and destroyed it as well as warping the fence somewhat with the impact.

Gardi arrived, lifted the guy out of his house and kept him overnight. Now he was vary apologetic, both him and the wife repeatedly saying sorry that night and he called down the next day to repeat it.

I have no reason to believe he will not address the damages, but a while back I posted about getting rear ended and some with a more cynical outlook educated me on the dangers of being too nice. :o

So what steps do I take now? My gate is screwed up, I can't park my car in the garden so have to leave it on the street. I don't like that as a previous car was badly scratched sitting on the street. I can't really afford to fix the gate and wait for recompense but don't really want to be hassling the guy so soon.

Any advice?

https://ibb.co/nNeLeU
    https://ibb.co/g0d2tp
    https://ibb.co/evZaDp
    https://ibb.co/dEyDzU
    https://ibb.co/ffhj69
    https://ibb.co/gnu8Yp

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,869 ✭✭✭✭fritzelly

On to your home insurance, give them his details and let them sort it out
    If he ends up paying to avoid the insurance hike premium (like that's not gonna happen anyway) then you've lost nothing.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,350 ✭✭✭doolox

If you can get access to his insurance details from his car. I'd report and make a claim against him for the damages.

Your house insurance should also be called on to get an expert opinion on the cost of fully restoring your fence and gate.

This was not in any way your fault and I would not let the man fix the stuff himself or get someone to fix the damage. He may not pay full costs involved, without an expert opinion and input a substandard job may be done.

You may end up partially paying the full costs of full restoration of the damaged property if you cannot force full payment from the car crasher.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,086 ✭✭✭soups05

erm, yeah, small problem there. no house insurance :( broke ass student these last few years so been barely managing to meet mortgage etc. house insurance was not something we could manage these last couple of years

his car left on back of tow truck, never thought of getting ins details

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,072 ✭✭✭sunnysoutheast

soups05 wrote: »
    Hi all, I seek the wisdom of the divine, all knowing poster of the motors forum.

grovel grovel

basically, a neighbour has come home drunk, run his car up on my gate-post and destroyed it as well as warping the fence somewhat with the impact.

Gardi arrived, lifted the guy out of his house and kept him overnight. Now he was vary apologetic, both him and the wife repeatedly saying sorry that night and he called down the next day to repeat it.

I have no reason to believe he will not address the damages, but a while back I posted about getting rear ended and some with a more cynical outlook educated me on the dangers of being too nice. :o

So what steps do I take now? My gate is screwed up, I can't park my car in the garden so have to leave it on the street. I don't like that as a previous car was badly scratched sitting on the street. I can't really afford to fix the gate and wait for recompense but don't really want to be hassling the guy so soon.

Any advice?

If you want to be nice given it's a neighbour get a quote from whoever you believe will do the job well and present it to the neighbour expecting full cash payment in the hand in return and get it fixed.

If there's any messing about - "get multiple quotes" etc. - just claim off his insurance.

He's screwed already now the Guards know about it, plus his insurance company may well chase him for their outlay given he was drunk. Not your concern.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,869 ✭✭✭✭fritzelly

erm, yeah, small problem there. no house insurance :( broke ass student these last few years so been barely managing to meet mortgage etc. house insurance was not something we could manage these last couple of years

his car left on back of tow truck, never thought of getting ins details

Does your mortgage not require it?
    On to his insurance then and hope he has some.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,363 ✭✭✭✭bazz26

The OP's home insurance company will want nothing to do with it and rightly so, they will tell him the guilty party's car insurance company should cover the cost of replacing/repairing the gate.

OP, during the time that the neighbour apologies did he mention anything about getting your property fixed? Did you take photos of the damage at the time of the accident? Did you get the Garda's name and incident number?

It sounds like you don't really want any hassle which is ok, I understand that you have to live next to the people and don't want grief but unfortunately there are people out there who will take full advantage of your passive nature. I'd get a quote for repairing your property and give him the opportunity to pay it or go through his insurance. If you hear nothing after a week then I'd be dealing directly with their insurance company. In the meantime get his insurance details from the disc in the windscreen of his car in the event you have to claim.

fritzelly wrote: »
    Does your mortgage not require it?
    On to his insurance then and hope he has some.

oh that is a whole other problem, cancelled ppi in 2010, did a mortgage review last week and found out they cancelled house ins, life ins but left ppi in place, when i was not working ffs. in the middle of getting it sorted when this came up

cheers bazz, i added images to the op. no access to his car now, it was towed off the gate that night. (i may post video if i can figure how to up to youtube lol.)

I really am too damn passive for my own good sometimes. but as you say i gotta live near him so don't want an ongoing feud starting.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,072 ✭✭✭sunnysoutheast

cheers bazz, i added images to the op. no access to his car now, it was towed off the gate that night. (i may post video if i can figure how to up to youtube lol.)

I really am too damn passive for my own good sometimes. but as you say i gotta live near him so don't want an ongoing feud starting.

Do you have any pictures/proof of the damage including the car that caused it?

the proof is in the images in the op, plus i have a combo of dashcam and phone vids showing the car on the gate along with the tow truck taking it off. my former editing software has failed me so am searching for a method to join them and up to youtube at the mo

If you want to be nice given it's a neighbour get a quote from whoever you believe will do the job well and present it to the neighbour expecting full cash payment in the hand in return and get it fixed.

If there's any messing about - "get multiple quotes" etc. - just claim off his insurance.

He's screwed already now the Guards know about it, plus his insurance company may well chase him for their outlay given he was drunk. Not your concern.

This is the advice I would follow, OP. But I'd get a quote on it sooner than later. Is it possible the towtruck was organised by the gardai (as he was drunk)? They might have access to it and can let you know who the insurer is perhaps?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,760 ✭✭✭Effects

It doesn't look like you can't park your car in the driveway. Maybe just that you can't close the gate.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,055 ✭✭✭Eggs For Dinner

bazz26 wrote:
    The OP's home insurance company will want nothing to do with it and rightly so, they will tell him the guilty party's car insurance company should cover the cost of replacing/repairing the gate.

If he had comprehensive house insurance, they would happily look after him and pursue the 3rd party for recovery afterwards. I know it doesn't help the OP, just a general point

Effects wrote: »
    It doesn't look like you can't park your car in the driveway. Maybe just that you can't close the gate.

unfortunately the angle of the post makes it sway in the wind and the post on the other side is broken which leaves a jagged edge which would shred the tyre.

so i would have to gamble between flat tyre or scrape down passenger side of car.

the gate is not as wide as it looks, its just normal car width

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,760 ✭✭✭Effects

Just get someone with an angle grinder to sort it out in the short term. Cut off the gate and post. That'll leave you with access to your drive at least, and won't cost much.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,205 ✭✭✭cruizer101

Off topic I know but OP get yourself house insurance. I would nearly make that more of a priority than paying the mortgage.
    Life insurance is mostly for the the bank, they want it so if you die they still get paid.
    But house insurance is for you, if house burned down tomorrow you still owe the bank the mortgage but no have no house.

Back on topic, get the drivers insurance and contact them.
    Are you sure he is insured, if he drink drives wouldn't be so sure he doesn't break the law in other ways, you may have to contact MIBI if not.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Music Moderators, Politics Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 22,360 CMod ✭✭✭✭Dravokivich

the proof is in the images in the op, plus i have a combo of dashcam and phone vids showing the car on the gate along with the tow truck taking it off. my former editing software has failed me so am searching for a method to join them and up to youtube at the mo

Why would you put it on youtube? Just make sure any images or videos you take are backed up and accessible to you, while ready to share with any assessor or insurance agent. I wouldn't go posting stuff around. Especially as it has already received garda attention.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,235 ✭✭✭✭Cee-Jay-Cee

If he starts a 'feud' over having to pay for damage he caused then you don't want him as a friend or a neighbour so I wouldn't worry about what he thinks or feels. Present him with a quotation to get the fence fixed and simply tell him you cant park your car on your own property until its fixed and you would rather it done now than any time later. If he doesn't then go through his insurance, you can get details of same from the Garda

bump to update, things went downhill fast.

So about three weeks before xmas the idiot came along and offered €140 to me, "stick it in your pocket, tell the landlord you don't know what happened to the gate". I was not pleased. I pointed out that I own the damn house and he should have sorted the gate by now.

he replied" how do you know it was me? there's no proof". I warned him I would claim form his insurance if he tried that messing. He walked away like I insulted him.

So today the Garda dealing with it finally came down and took my statement. He told me the guy was giving him the runaround, promising to come make a statement, supply details etc. As he was leaving I heard him shouting up to the idiot that he was still waiting on details form him.

ten mins later there is a knock at the door, it's the idiot. He was giving out to me that I made a statement, complaining that I never gave him a chance to fix the gate etc. Then he jabbed me in the face with some papers he had, I recoiled and bounced my back off the handle of the front door.

He started screaming at me that I would regret crossing him, I was a dead man walking, he would burn down the house etc, etc. I am no hard man but out of sheer shock I started shouting back about how he had a nerve, painting himself as the victim when he is just a drunk who could have killed someone and he is lucky he is not in jail.

He was quick to walk away when I raised my voice, he must have thought I was going to back down. He found out that when pushed I can scream a hellva lot louder than him lol.

So now I sit here, with a small paper cut on my face, a bad back from hitting the door, waiting on the garda to come back for another statement. witness intimidation? assault? those were the suggestions of the garda who answered the phone in the station when I rang.

This fool tried to shame me by shouting about being a cop lover in front of the whole street, now it's going to backfire on him big time.

Happy New year all,hope it gets better from here on.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 19,482 Mod ✭✭✭✭slave1

Just say exactly what happened, this guy is a piece of scum, let the guards deal with him and it’s looks like he is not going to do any repairs for you, get his car insurance details and phone his insurer

just waiting on garda to arrive, not able to drive down as my back is too sore. although it happened at one pm and still no sign so i suspect he is done for the day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,617 ✭✭✭ba_barabus

**** him, go to the station and make a complaint of assault. Contact his insurer and ride him sideways for it.

just waiting on garda to arrive, not able to drive down as my back is too sore. although it happened at one pm and still no sign so i suspect he is done for the day.

You're being too nice..... and the Gardai aren't taking it seriously enough. He's escalated it too far with going for you.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 19,482 Mod ✭✭✭✭slave1

Go to the station, do not be embarrassed about being scared of this guy, don’t wait for Garda to call to you, go now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,512 ✭✭✭KaneToad

ba_barabus wrote: »
    **** him, go to the station and make a complaint of assault. Contact his insurer and ride him sideways for it.

Probably just a figure of speech above. But, don't try and take him for all he's worth. Don't over egg any claim you have. The correct course of action is to have your property returned to its former state in as prompt a manner as possible.

Definitely follow up on the assault. It's a separate (criminal)) issue. There is one clear a$$hole in this story. Don't descend to his level. You have to live there. If this yoke can convince others that you are harshly treating him due to his little 'mishap', he may gain popular support in the community. If you behave impeccably throughout others will see him for what he is.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,367 ✭✭✭DaveyDave

Hopefully it gets sorted and there isn't too much trouble. Might be worth getting one of those camera doorbells, maybe see if they can record video? Wouldn't want any of that intimidation nonsense.

KaneToad wrote: »
    Probably just a figure of speech above. But, don't try and take him for all he's worth. Don't over egg any claim you have. The correct course of action is to have your property returned to its former state in as prompt a manner as possible.

It was more referencing the OPs previous statements of just wanting the fence straightened out, while I wouldn't over egg anything I'd certainly want a proper job done and would insist on such.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,684 ✭✭✭✭Samuel T. Cogley

Just on the threats etc. might be worth getting the ol' house insurance in order just in case there is further damage.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

Install some CCTV cameras if you have some cash to spare.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,749 ✭✭✭corks finest

bump to update, things went downhill fast.

So about three weeks before xmas the idiot came along and offered €140 to me, "stick it in your pocket, tell the landlord you don't know what happened to the gate". I was not pleased. I pointed out that I own the damn house and he should have sorted the gate by now.

he replied" how do you know it was me? there's no proof". I warned him I would claim form his insurance if he tried that messing. He walked away like I insulted him.

So today the Garda dealing with it finally came down and took my statement. He told me the guy was giving him the runaround, promising to come make a statement, supply details etc. As he was leaving I heard him shouting up to the idiot that he was still waiting on details form him.

ten mins later there is a knock at the door, it's the idiot. He was giving out to me that I made a statement, complaining that I never gave him a chance to fix the gate etc. Then he jabbed me in the face with some papers he had, I recoiled and bounced my back off the handle of the front door.

He started screaming at me that I would regret crossing him, I was a dead man walking, he would burn down the house etc, etc. I am no hard man but out of sheer shock I started shouting back about how he had a nerve, painting himself as the victim when he is just a drunk who could have killed someone and he is lucky he is not in jail.

He was quick to walk away when I raised my voice, he must have thought I was going to back down. He found out that when pushed I can scream a hellva lot louder than him lol.

So now I sit here, with a small paper cut on my face, a bad back from hitting the door, waiting on the garda to come back for another statement. witness intimidation? assault? those were the suggestions of the garda who answered the phone in the station when I rang.

This fool tried to shame me by shouting about being a cop lover in front of the whole street, now it's going to backfire on him big time.

Happy New year all,hope it gets better from here on.
    FFS, straight to gardai, assault charges will make him coo the fcuk on,and keep him away from your door,put up CCTV,maplins sold my buddy a hard drive,3 cameras for around e250 2 yrs back, stopped her ex damaging her car etc,just an idea

So, the Garda finally got back to me. Or to be more accurate I phoned enough times to catch him in office. He generally seemed to not give a ****, has promised to "have a word with him" in the next few days.

I am disgusted, disappointed and feeling really worthless right now. I have seen his type before, this will end in violence one way or another.

Soups05, there is nothing else to do than to report him again and again every time he threatens you. The other choice is to fall down to his level which can't really be recommended. I have done it before after years of petty intimidation and it solved the issue for good in my case but if that also fails you'll have to move as you have burned the bridges with the cops too.

Some uncivilised people can just be plain nasty and horrible.

samih wrote: »
    Soups05, there is nothing else to do than to report him again and again every time he threatens you. The other choice is to fall down to his level which can't really be recommended. I have done it before after years of petty intimidation and it solved the issue for good in my case but if that also fails you'll have to move as you have burned the bridges with the cops too.

Some uncivilised people can just be plain nasty and horrible.
    Camers,cameras, camera's

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,060 ✭✭✭Kenny Logins

Camers,cameras, camera's

The middle one.

Camers,cameras, camera's

The middle one.
    Fat fingers,fat fingers,and the middle one to you

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,688 ✭✭✭✭mickdw

Just get his car insurance details even if it means waiting for his car to return.
    I note that your fence was pretty rough prior to accident but considering his attitude, I wouldn't spare anything in replacing it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,632 ✭✭✭Aint Eazy Being Cheezy

Any joy soups?

I contacted his insurance company, they took my "version" of events and said they will speak to their client. in the meantime they sent out a form for me to fill out and requested photos and a quote for repairs.
    The next day his wife came down, all apologetic and offered 250 to sort it out. I informed her that a guy was due to come give me a quote and we could talk after that.
    Yesterday the colossal ass came up himself, apologised and told me he will have a man here in next three days to sort out the gate. I warned him it better be down right or am not accepting it but he just said his guy is a tradesman.

I know in my heart he has no "guy" or he would have sorted it ages ago, just trying to rush the guy i contacted for a quote so I can get it sorted.

• Administrators, Business & Finance Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 16,957 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭Toots

I wouldn't be letting his guy anywhere near it. He'd probably make a dogs' dinner out of it and then you'd be left with a gate and fence still broken and the offending party claiming he'd done his bit by having it "fixed".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,080 ✭✭✭Vic_08

I contacted his insurance company, they took my "version" of events and said they will speak to their client. in the meantime they sent out a form for me to fill out and requested photos and a quote for repairs.
    The next day his wife came down, all apologetic and offered 250 to sort it out. I informed her that a guy was due to come give me a quote and we could talk after that.
    Yesterday the colossal ass came up himself, apologised and told me he will have a man here in next three days to sort out the gate. I warned him it better be down right or am not accepting it but he just said his guy is a tradesman.

You are being too nice again.

This is the classic behaviour you get with scummers, they try to be pals with you, then threats if that doesn't get them off the hook, if you won't back down to the threats then it's apologies and pals again. It's all a ploy to wriggle out of their responsibility.

Do not let him or any of his mates near your property, just follow through with the insurance claim.